We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

David Aldrich Designs Ltd

Logo on white
Profile thumb header

4.9

20 Reviews

About

As an Independent Furniture and Spatial Designer I help my clients make their homes look their best and function so they compliment their lifestyle instead of limiting it. Far more than just a Kitchen, Bedroom and Bathroom Design Service, I can help you work out what you want your home to achieve and then design, source and project manage to make it happen.
By being independent I am able to source the right products for you rather than being limited to specific suppliers. Having worked for both DIY and high-end bespoke suppliers in the past I am aware that most of the services give the impression you are buying your products from a designer, when all to often you are actually having your rooms designed by a salesman!
I studied Furniture Design because I got a kick out of making a difference in people's lives through good design. It's the same reason I'm still doing it today, just ask my clients!
If you have a project that needs a bit more creative thinking please give me a call.

What we do

  • Interior designers

  • More Services

    • spatial planning
    • sourcing
    • project management

Customer reviews

4.9
20 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.7
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David is a patient genius and I can't recommend him more highly. David's service is primarily to help his client make the best of the indoor space they have, whether you're starting from scratch with an extension for example, or you're working with existing room/s. David assisted us over an 18 month period to bring together the planning, design, sourcing and finally fitting a beautiful kitchen and bathroom. Without him it would most certainly have been more expensive, less practical and less beautiful. He worked in partnership with our builders and architect, was pro-active, very frequently went the extra mile and turned a vision into a reality. We couldn't have done it without him. I would have uploaded a photo but my picture exceeded the Which Local 4mb limit!
cdegrasse30/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had been living in our house for a few years with a separate toilet, airing cupboard/boiler room and family bathroom which we really wanted to knock into one big and luxurious family bathroom but we were totally daunted by it all. We had an idea of what we wanted but also felt a huge pressure of getting it right, especially as it was not going to be a low cost fix. David was great at listening to our ideas whilst also enhancing them in ways we thought would not be possible. Yes there is a fee involved but as he is not tied down to one product or company range he can really think out of the box and provide a design that is perfect for the space. We are truly delighted with our bathroom, the photos are on his website, and it is a joy to use each day. In the past David has also helped us in designing the layout of our utility room and we are currently working on another smaller project where he has designed some new built in wardrobes for our bedroom. I am I will be placing another positive review about that soon as they are due to be fitted at the end of June 2013.
Lynchy05/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David helped us with the interior design for our side return/ extension and new family bathroom. You always wonder whether using a designer will be worth the fee. In David's case- absolutely!!! He saved us his fee several times over. His knowledge of where to source quality products without paying exorbitant prices is in itself worth a lot. He is fantastic to work with. He really listened to what we wanted and came up with some great design ideas/ improvements for things we hadnt thought of. His 3d models were great, and really helped usunderstand the options. His technical drawings also made dealing with the builders much simpler. I felt like we weren't just another job to David and that he really cared about helping us get the end result we wanted. We are delighted with our kitchen/ bathroom. I would highly recommend David.
sarahisabellegray04/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David designed a magnificent kitchen for us for a very reasonable fee. We highly recommend him.
GaMi29/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David designed a new kitchen-dining room for me. It involved knocking down a wall and removing a chimney. He produced incredibly detailed designs combining my wishes with his knowledge of regulations, products and possibilities. He came up with very good ideas to improve the lean-to just outside the kitchen. He managed the whole project and liaison with the builder, plumber, electrician and decorator as well as the suppliers. That sometimes required persistence! It was a pleasure to work with him and I am delighted with my new kitchen-dining room and lean-to. I would happily use his services again and can recommend him.
manon10/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David put together designs for both a new bathroom, which involved a lot of reconstruction, and a new kitchen. His plans took into consideration all of our requirements, plus his own excellent ideas. We were impressed not only with the quality of his designs, but his professionalism and his attention to detail. I am sure that we wouldn't have had the same results if we had only gone to bathroom and kitchen fitters. We are delighted with our two new rooms, and would recommend David's services to anyone.
cyclinglynn07/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
While David himself doesn't sell or fit kitchens, he is a very talented kitchen designer and very pleasant to do business with. He designed a kitchen for us and we were very pleased with the service he provided. He really knows kitchens and provided us with lots of practical yet stylish design ideas and gave us plenty of information on where to source cabinetry, appliances, etc. He is also good on technical aspects of the job, such as those relating to extractor fan types and positioning.
Roxane's mum08/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have recently used David Aldrich Designs to design additional storage for our utility room and for a cupboard to be built around a new American fridge freezer and am absolutely delighted with the results. The individual service we received demonstrated their depth of experience of design and they generated storage solutions that I had not thought of and that are perfect for our requirements. We were so pleased with the designs that I asked them to go ahead and get quotes for the work and used their joiners that they have worked with previously I believe on numerous occasions. David came to our house when the joiners came to do the final measurements and really took the pressure off me by assisting me in making technical decisions. We had the work completed several months ago now and we are still absolutely delighted in the workability of the design and the service we received. We are now using them to design a bathroom for us which we are very excited about.
Lynchy26/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David designed my kitchen for me and I was extremely pleased with his service. His suggestions after discussing my requirements were evidence that he understood what I wanted and he made me aware of things I wouldn't have thought of. After the design he also helped me source the cabinets etc - always giving me the choice but guiding me regarding possible options. During the kitchen fitting he was always available to answer any questions - although my builders were very pleased with his detailed installation documents. I'd recommend David to anyone looking to get that little bit extra from their kitchen installation.
Mikedm23/01/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company designed my kitchen to an excellent standard. Although I had an idea of what I wanted, David was able to give very pracical advice and be empathetic to my ideas for the style and atmosphere of the room. He has an extensive knowledge of products in every price range and gives impartial comment on the advantages and disadvantages of design details. He is both meticulous and inventive - not a common combination. A kitchen does not have to be expensive to look expensive!
Teresa Ford17/05/2010