We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

The English Garden Company Limited

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 08:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb logo

4.7

132 Reviews

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

We are an award winning, family run garden and tree company. Established in 1974.

Expert and pro-active care for your gardens and trees using the latest practices and products.

Our staff are fully qualified and passionate about beautiful gardens, lawns and trees.

We are a ‘one stop’ shop for all our client’s garden and tree needs.

If you care about your garden and trees, please call 01707 645069 to book a free consultation.

What we do

  • Gardeners and landscape designers

    • Garden maintenance
    • Planting
    • Hedge trimming
    • Lawn treatment
    • Garden clearance
  • Tree surgeons

    • Tree reductions
    • Stump grinding
    • Tree removal
    • Tree thinning
    • Tree planting
  • Landscape contractors

    • Turfing
    • Irrigation systems
    • Decking
    • Artificial lawns
    • Hard landscaping
  • More Services

    • tree reports
    • garden design and build
    • pressure washing
    • logs

Customer reviews

4.7
132 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.5
Sort by
Good work ethic and great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good communication with the office and work carried out when promised with very efficient and friendly workers. Job was done with constant consultation with us to ensure it was what we wanted. The final result was very satisfactory and all mess cleared to leave a great looking garden. From the outset the tree surgeon gave you confidence in him and his knowledge, which was reassuring and removed any concerns we had about the job.
Customer in Hertfordshire21/08/2019
Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The English garden company landscaped my back garden in the most satisfying and perfect setting. Neil and his team are very professional with a great communication set up with calls, emails, text and meeting which were so vital to get it to my own fabulous stunning and relaxing garden. The team goes out of their way to help.
Marie, Middlesex19/08/2019
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job - work was done very efficiently, quietly (well as far as that is possible) and tidied up - would not hesitate to use again and we already had them up for new job.
K, London19/08/2019
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following a visit to our garden, a comprehensive quote was provided and the team turned up on time and carried out the work to a very high standard, clearing everything up and clearing all rubbish from site. Would recommend.
Gareth, Hertfordshire05/08/2019
3rd time used
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The re-turfing of the back lawn. Making a wild flower patch, was done to an impressive standard - it's the third time we've used Neil & his team & it won't be the last time!
B, London15/07/2019
Simply superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Garden makeover & renovation carried out in a very friendly, efficient thoughtful and professional way. Amazing transformation in one day and delighted with the results.
John, Hertfordshire10/07/2019
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very satisfied with all aspects of the service received.
D, Hertfordshire08/04/2019
Prioritised jobs to sell us plants
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used the English Garden company to maintain our garden. They didn't do jobs that they said they wold do (e.g. turn compost) and prioritised what they wanted to do rather than what we asked. The motive seems to be to sell plants. They planted a small hedge and charged us £1400 without warning us of the cost.
Customer in Greater London27/03/2019
The trader replied (on 05/04/2019)
We are sorry we did not inform you of the price of the Box hedging & topiary plants. We had offered suggestions to your wife twice and had given options to replant the originally poorly planted beds prior to sourcing the Box plants. We agreed to undertake the work under your existing maintenance agreement, it would be normal practice to quote the works first, as a separate project but this way it saved you any additional labour charges. Upon reflection we should of given a cost of the Box & topiary plants and for that omission we apologise. We are now looking at our procedures to ensure that any additional works like these that are carried out during the maintenance, that the client is always made aware of the plant costs. It is irrelevant, but the charge for the plants used were substantially cheaper than similar available online as we pointed out, plus we guarantee for a period of 12 months under our maintenance. Our brief when we took on your garden in October was to renovate the gardens, substantial work which with the exception of one remaining bed, we had achieved, I had several discussions about our progress with your wife. Turning the compost bins was not a priority and we would of been actioned once we had the gardens up to standard. As a goodwill gesture have arranged a 25% credit off your March invoice and again apologise for not informing your wife on the cost of your Box plants.
Many years of helpful use
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this firm for many years. They are professional and efficient - both in arranging the work and carrying it out. The work is always done by the same person who knows our garden and trees very well. I have complete confidence in them.
Jane, London09/02/2019
Good manner - did what they could
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carried out tree works on a TPO council pine tree at rear of and off our property. The tree has not been looked after by the council. Budget given, schedule met, only council who caused delays. It was an ugly tree which over hang our garden and blocked out the sun. Great company - they build rapport and make sure you are satisfied.
Shelley, Hertfordshire10/01/2019