We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Happy Dog Plumbing Limited

Profile thumb happydog ppmtransitionlogo
4.9

36 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:30
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are a family run plumbing & heating business based in Tooting SW17 South West London. Specialists in boiler breakdowns, repairs, installs and residential plumbing works.

We are Gas Safe registered, have fully qualified plumbers and member of the Chartered Institute of Plumbing and Heating Engineers.

We are proud to be Vaillant Advanced Installers, Worcester Approved Installers and Ideal Installer Connect members.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas emergencies
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Gas installers

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
36 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent work, accurate quote
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a kitchen tap removed and replaced. After their initial quote Happy Dog Plumbing asked us to send a photo of the sink/tap and cupboard under the sink, so they could confirm or amend the quote. They arrived on time, did the work to a high standard, removing excess copper piping not required by the new tap, checked where we wanted the tap lever to go, and left the kitchen clean and tidy. Excellent service, would definitely use them again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/09/2021 , work completed 13/09/2021
The trader replied (on 20/09/2021)
Thank you for your lovely comments, it really does mean a lot to us to know that our customers are happy with not only our workmanship but also our overall service. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the engineer who attended. Many Thanks Kate @ Happy Dog Plumbing.
Plumbing work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can’t recommend Ed at Happydog plumbing enough. He came to my rescue on two occasions and fixed both issues speedily and did a great job. Clearly great and meticulous at what he does and a top guy too. Very professional. Would use him again for sure.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/08/2021 , work completed 17/08/2021
The trader replied (on 18/08/2021)
Thanks for the glowing review and its lovely to know that our hard work and commitment to our customers is noticed and appreciated. Many Thanks from all The Happy Dog Team
Exellect, professional and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Which? trusted trader as I subscribe to Which? magazine. Phoned company, explained problem, Ed took my call, offered various solutions, explained costs and was very patient when answering my questions including Covid PPE as my wife has a limited immune system. We received a prompt email confirmation and Ed arrived on time, put on full PPE as promised. Work carried out with professionalism within budget. Can't recommend them enough.
Keith in Greater London Posted on 17/08/2021 , work completed 10/08/2021
The trader replied (on 18/08/2021)
Thank you for the kind words Keith, I know Ed will appreciate them and we are happy to know you would recommend/ use our services in the future should the need arise. Many Thanks, The HappyDog Team.
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy Dog installed a new boiler and overhauled our entire CH system in January 2020 and it has run flawlessly for 18 months. When fault codes showed in the boiler, they arranged for a manufacturer's engineer to come the same day and check the system. Ed, the boss of Happy Dog came round a few hour later to make the suggested adjustments, and suddenly we had hot water again. After having been unable to find a reliable plumber over many long years in South London, discovering Happy Dog (through a friend's recommendation) has been a revelation. They are not a low-budget firm, but you do absolutely get what you pay for. We recommend Ed Barros and Happy Dog without reservation.
Tom in Greater London Posted on 27/07/2021 , work completed 26/07/2021
The trader replied (on 29/07/2021)
Thanks for the glowing review Tom! We love hearing from customers and it is always nice to know that our levels of service are appreciated. Thanks from the Happy Dog Team
Annual heating service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy Dog were quick to respond to my request for a quote, which was supplied with a good amount of detail. The quote itself was reasonable and they were able to visit the following week. Martin completed the work, he arrived on time and was very personable. He completed the work in less time than anticipated and provided me with a good amount of information on items of note. I was supplied with a detailed certificate of the work done, the following morning. The team were able to quickly answer a couple of further queries. I'd be happy to use them again and would recommend to others.
Andrew in Greater London Posted on 08/04/2021 , work completed 07/04/2021
The trader replied (on 12/04/2021)
Hi Andrew, Thank you for your kind words and we will be sure to pass them onto the engineer. Hopefully you won't be needing our services any time soon, but should you have nay plumbing/heating issues, feel free to get in touch. Best Wishes from all the team at Happy Dog Plumbing.
Fast, efficient and pain-free Boiler replacement!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't recommend this company highly enough. They came recommended by a friend, and the main man Ed Barros was impressive from the moment he showed up to look at first the job (replacing a broken CH boiler) and give us an estimate. Clean overalls, plastic covers over his shoes on arrival, fast inspection. The price quote was competitive, we paid half up front, the other half on completion. Ed and his assistant showed up to replace the boiler, and overhaul the whole CH system. The whole job was done beautifully in a single (long) day's work. They were courteous, tidy, clean and efficient. The whole service was so impressive that we have used them since for several other small plumbing jobs: replacing radiator valves, bathroom taps etc. A fast reliable plumbing company who are pleasant to deal with and charge reasonable prices is such a rare find in London that I've given them five stars on all counts, without hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/11/2020 , work completed 09/01/2020
Tap Replaced Urgently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Realised my leaking tap had suddenly gotten much worse on a Thursday afternoon and would need urgent replacement - Happy Dog were able to replace the tap by the following morning which was not only very welcome (!) but incredibly impressive. Service and quality were first rate, even explained the process (simply due to my own curiosity) as he went along which I really appreciated as a fairly new first time buyer with a lot to learn. Bill was very reasonable too, less than I'd anticipated! Highly reccomended all round.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 03/07/2020
The trader replied (on 20/08/2020)
Thank you for your lovely review, we will pass your comments onto our Engineer who attended. Should you need us in the future, just give us a call or email. Many thanks The Happy Dog Team
Boiler installation - Ed turned was prompt for the initial consultation, reassuring in how he handled our queries which helped in the decision-making
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed and his team were prompt, effective and efficient in the way they worked, causing minimum disruption to our day. They also kept us informed throughout. On a wet Wednesday morning, they were thoughtful enough to put on disposable overshoe covers anytime they entered the premises. They tidied up and everything was put in its rightful place. There were no hidden extras and where an additional cost was likely to be incurred, it was noted in the quote and fully explained. Overall, we were content with the work carried out.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/04/2020 , work completed 11/03/2020
The trader replied (on 20/08/2020)
We hope you are enjoying your new boiler and thank you for such a lovely review of our boiler installation service. Don't forget if you do have any problems in the future, just give us a call, otherwise we'll see you next year for your annual boiler service! Many Thanks The Happy Dog Team
Happy Dog is second to none
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would recommend them to anyone at any time. They are good at maintenance and at emergency repairs.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/03/2020 , work completed 01/10/2019
The trader replied (on 08/04/2020)
Thank you for your kind words, we will certainly pass on your praise to our engineers. Many thanks The Happy Dog Team
Professional and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the prompt and pleasant service from Happy Dog Plumbing. Ed and Kate were responsive on telephone and on email; and able to plan visits within short order. Courtney (who attended my home) was polite and tidy, arrived on time and was really helpful in explaining what was required. Online payment facility was really effective too.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/02/2020 , work completed 11/02/2020
The trader replied (on 04/03/2020)
Thank you for leaving this review and I am glad that you were happy with our service. We have passed this on to Courtney and it definitely put a smile on his face!
Advice on boiler loosing pressure
Ed was amazing, my boiler was loosing pressure, he took the time and effort to go through the possibilities with me and then with close questioning and a process of elimination pinpointed the issue to a faulty pressure release valve - this was on the phone which helped to allay my anxieties just by answering my questions and explaining things to me. Ed was informative and courteous. I have recommended Happy Dog Plumbing to my family! Unfortunately he was fully booked for a week but the advise given was invaluable, anxieties allayed, invited me to call back should I need anymore advise. I would definitely recommend Happy Dog Plumbing.
Patricia Fernandes Posted on 26/11/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 02/01/2020)
Thank you for your kind words Patricia and it always puts a smile on our face when we can offer advice and help someone out over the telephone, thus saving the customer money/physical visit. We hope you managed to find a Gas Safe registered engineer to attend and resolve the issue permanently for you. You know where we are should you need our services or further advice in the future.
Completely unreliable
I contacted this company to see if they could fix my boiler. The person on the phone was very helpful and checked with the engineer to make sure that he had experience with the particular make and model. She came back to say it was all fine, but the first available appointment was Friday. Although it wasn't ideal, I was prepared to wait as I had read the reviews and thought they would be a reliable company. At that point I still had hot water but no heating. That night the boiler stopped working altogether, but I wasn't too concerned, as I thought the engineer would be coming on Friday. On Friday morning, the receptionist called to say that due to a family emergency the plumber was unable to work that day. I completely understood and would have been happy to wait until the beginning of the following week. However, the receptionist said that she was unable to arrange an appointment for me and suggested that I contacted a different company. I told her that I found this completely unacceptable. She implied that I was not a priority as my boiler was still partly functioning. I told her that this was no longer the case, and that I had been waiting for a long time even for my original appointment, but she was still adamant that she would not be able to guarantee having someone available to mend my boiler within the next few days. Although I accept that emergencies happen, I do think they should be better prepared so that they don't let down customers. This company is not reliable.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/10/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 24/10/2019)
Dear Sir/Madam, I am sorry that we were not able to visit you at the time arranged. Our engineer experienced a bereavement and was given compassionate leave and at the time we were not sure how much time he would need off work hence the uncertainty of when we would be able to visit you. We do of course have other engineers however our boiler breakdown specialists were all fully booked on similar emergencies. It was not the case that we did not think you were a priority but simply that we did not have another engineer to cover this job. We do not have enough engineers to have stand by cover for these sorts of emergency situations and these occurrences are rare. Again, I can only apologise and hope that you will give us the chance to redeem ourselves should you have any other plumbing or heating issues in the future and I am sure that you will join our growing number of happy clients. Ed Barros MD
Clean and Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team answered a call out to fix a leaking shower and replace a broken loo seat. The call out was placed very efficiently and at a time convenient to me. Saffron was very quick with the silicone and changing the loo seat, I was pleased with the job and will use the Happy Dog team again in future. I would happily recommend their services.
Sam, Wandsworth Posted on 28/08/2019 , work completed 28/08/2019
The trader replied (on 11/09/2019)
Thanks for such a lovely review and we're really pleased you liked our engineer Saphron! She joined us as an apprentice and completed her course with flying colors at the beginning of the year, so I will be sure to pass on your glowing review. The Happy Dog Team
My review.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, professional, price came in under quotation. High quality work & friendly. Thoroughly recommend, excellent service.
Guy, Surrey Posted on 28/08/2019 , work completed 28/08/2019
Helpful and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt help with faulty gas fire, thorough and confidence-inspiring servicing.
Richard, London Posted on 02/08/2019 , work completed 02/08/2019
Boiler repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company for many years - for small and larger projects - and I have always been completely satisfied with the results. This time I needed a minor repair to my boiler and it was carried out promptly as promised.
Customer in Richmond Posted on 31/07/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
The trader replied (on 05/08/2019)
The team here at Happy Dog Plumbing are thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we're proud to be your choice of Plumbing & Heating Engineer for when things go wrong. We're proud of our customer service for all our clients, new and old, and its lovely to hear you have always been completely satisfied.
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used this company for several years. Would highly recommend them. They always carry the work out to a high standard and do so promptly. Always scrupulous so that you do not have to pay unnecessary fees. I usually have the same workman who is always friendly.
Elizabeth, London Posted on 29/07/2019 , work completed 29/07/2019
The trader replied (on 05/08/2019)
Thanks for leaving a review, and mentioning our engineer's friendliness. We'll be sure to pass on your comments to him and do our best to book him again for your next appointment.
Cheaper than British Gas
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am a Happy Dog satisfied customer because workers were skilled, courteous, clean, and answered my questions satisfactorily. I accepted Happy Dog configuration of an affordable competitively priced new Worcester boiler, thermostat, Landlord Certificates and filters to give us 10 years guarantee which is 5 years longer and much cheaper than British Gas. Yes, I recommend Happy Dog.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/05/2019 , work completed 28/05/2019
The trader replied (on 03/07/2019)
Thank you! We are glad that you were happy with the work carried out!!
Great service - really cannot give enough praise
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Happy Dog Plumbing about a leaking combi boiler to ask if it could be looked into. Ed explained to me that he wasn't sure when he could book me in given the workloads they had, but agreed to visit and see how big a job it would be and then he could let me know when they could book me in. Ed visited a few hours later as arranged and inspected the boiler. He said it was something that could be fixed within 30 minutes, so agreed to do the work there and then - way above my expectations! Ed worked quickly and was really tidy (even covering his shoes despite it not being necessary!) and left me with a working boiler in no time at all. In short, a company who obviously know what they are doing, who are trustworthy and really efficient. I couldn't recommend them more.
P Lynch Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
Consistently excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Ed & his team on more than one occasion, and will be sure to use them again and will continue to recommend to my neighbours too. The whole experience from start to finish has been flawless and exceeded my expectations - not often you can say that these days. Everything has been just spot on, from the initial diagnosis of the issue, through to receiving comprehensive information & detailed costs well in advance, through to arriving on time when they said they would, clearing up after themselves at the end, and cracking on with the work whilst here. They're honest, decent, and very knowledgeable people, and worked to my timescales which I really appreciated, helping putting my mind at ease by explaining things to me & reassuring me along the way. I was worried one of the jobs I needed done would be too small for them, and I guess that if I had the skills, knowledge and tools then perhaps I could have tackled one of the jobs myself, but I don't have these. As such, choosing Happydog is, in my mind, a no brainer and risk free.
Craig T Posted on 21/09/2018 , work completed 21/09/2018
The Best in London By Far!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a problem with our toilet, where the cistern was not filling up. Having booked the appointment on our website, I spoke with the team the following morning, and sent pictures to help them diagnose and obtain the part. They confirmed pricing back on email (which was very balanced), and came out at short notice the following morning. Upon arrival Ed was brilliant, was passionate about what he did, even covered his shoes before coming in so as not to keep everything clean! Nice touch! It's so nice to see people who take pride in what they do, are honest and hardworking, but do a good job without it dragging on. In all my years in London, I've never used a firm as good as Happy Dog Plumbing and will only be using them from now on. Thank you for helping us out at short notice. 10/10!
Sanj G Posted on 07/09/2018 , work completed 07/09/2018
Excellent service - reliable, efficient and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
You know how, these days, as a consumer, you can feel as though traders are unreliable and not to be trusted? this company have restored my faith... I woke up this morning to no heating. One call later, Ed had agreed to bring round two heaters to lend me until they could come and fix the problem. However, while he was here, he checked the boiler and realised the problem was the condensing pipe. He suggested that I try to thaw it with my hairdryer, while he removed backed-up water from the boiler. And it worked! I was so delighted. No call-out charge, no parts to be paid for. Just honest, friendly, reliable and professional service. I can't recommend Permanex highly enough!
JoLamiri Posted on 02/03/2018 , work completed 02/03/2018
Excellent service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is so refreshing to deal with a professional plumbing company who are helpful, give advice over the phone to avoid costly call outs and go the extra mile to help their customers. Ed could not have been more helpful - and patient! - when my boiler broke down. He carefully explained what the problem was - how to possibly fix it and what the cost implications were if the problem continued. Highly recommended.
Victoria Posted on 22/02/2018 , work completed 22/02/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not only was Kate extremely helpful on the phone but Ed made time between appointments to drop by and get the boiler up and running and diagnose the problem - which after 3 weeks of no hot water or heating, I was incredibly grateful for! Also advised me to go straight to boiler manufacturer to get it fixed as it would cost me less. I can't recommend this company highly enough.
Amanda / Tooting Posted on 01/12/2017 , work completed 01/12/2017
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the service provided. Quick response and efficient fitting of the new boiler. I was impressed with the transparency and explanation given for the work completed. Would highly recommend!
Benmeadows28 Posted on 01/11/2017 , work completed 01/11/2017
Impressive work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed by the diligence, knowledge and friendliness of our plumber Farhad. He carried out the service but also fixed an issue with hot water pressure that I wasn’t expecting him to do. Great job!
John Beighton Posted on 18/10/2017 , work completed 18/10/2017
Speedy. friendly & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service we received from Ed was fantastic - he popped round straight away to see what the issue was when I failed to describe it clearly over the phone, ordered the necessary parts and then arrived and fitted them first thing the next morning - we really couldn't have asked for better service! Highly recommended!
Rachel238 Posted on 10/09/2017 , work completed 10/09/2017
Akward Install of a Vaillant Ecotec
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great install in a difficult location in the roof-space requiring some creativity with the flue work for the boiler. Ed and Martin were a pleasure to have in the house and got the job done on time in an efficient manner. We will be using them again!
chaseski Posted on 18/07/2017 , work completed 18/07/2017
Helpful and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company have provided a very helpful & efficient service, in installing a new boiler in my property - very happy with the results and I'd definitely use them again in the future.
Judith Posted on 07/04/2017 , work completed 07/04/2017
Quality plumbing service but pricey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an issue with a faulty radiator valve and the team at this company were very professional. As the part was not readily available, it did take over 2 weeks to resolve the matter and 3.5 hour of labour (plus small amount for parts) so overall a bit on the pricey side but we were happy with the end result and the customer service provided.
Oksana Posted on 23/03/2017 , work completed 23/03/2017
Helpful and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Ed and his company twice recently. Kate is very helpful on phone/email for appointments and to answer queries. Last week they fixed a leak under my bath, then came again today when a radiator suddenly fell off the wall. Everyone has been on time, polite and helpful.
rachelkamm Posted on 16/03/2017 , work completed 16/03/2017
Dependable and Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Edgar responded very quickly to my request for a boiler service and when it became clear it needed replacing, he acted equally quickly to quote for and install a new one. The cost of the service was waived in the circumstances, his quote was lowest and his payment terms were very helpful at an awkward time of the month.
PhilNaughton Posted on 09/03/2017 , work completed 09/03/2017
An actual Trustworthy Supplier!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After my builder had not only fitted the wrong radiators but also a leaking one, it was safe to say my faith in suppliers was at an all-time low. Permanex were a breath of fresh air from day 1, Ed kept me in touch throughout the whole experience. During a busy time for them in November, they were unable to fit the radiators for a week which left me without heating at one of the coldest times in the year - as you can imagine I was pretty agitated but Ed was really generous and offered his portable heaters until they were able to come in. It's safe to say that Permanex are incredibly professional and understanding and have ultimately restored my faith in traders in London.
Chris Dawson Posted on 28/12/2016 , work completed 28/12/2016
Professional, reliable and great value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Permanex in an emergency when water was dripping from my boiler. Ed was able to come the same day and having established that the boiler was still under warranty, referred me to the manufacturer, and didn't even charge me for the call out. I would definitely use them again.
C Rowe Posted on 24/11/2016 , work completed 24/11/2016
Excellent quality, well priced and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Permanex to do some fairly major works on our house - removing an existing back boiler, install and commission a new combi boiler, re-plumb most of the central heating system and fix some issues with gas leaking. They were very reliable, fast, courteous and clear about what they recommended. Would highly recommend using them in the future.
Alex Light Posted on 12/10/2016 , work completed 12/10/2016
Satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fixing boiler, mending tap
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/09/2016 , work completed 15/09/2016
Top Local Plumbers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of heating controls throughout the house
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/03/2016 , work completed 22/03/2016
Excellent firm of plumbers and builders
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They, and one man in particular, Farhad, restored to life a new boiler which another plumber had told us was irreparable. They have also done other plumbing work here.
Posted on 17/03/2016 , work completed 17/03/2016