We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

A R Plumbing & Heating

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:30
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb logo leter

4.9

46 Reviews

About

We are a small family business that has been trading for over 20 years. We offer a high quality, honest and reliable service to all of our customers, with a personal touch that you don't tend to get from larger companies.

The business consists of myself ( Andy Rudgewick) and my son Chris, who is also fully qualified for gas and Oliver a fully qualified Plumber. My daughter Natasha also runs the office.

We have gained over the years a full and comprehensive knowledge of domestic gas boiler installation, repair and servicing. We are also qualified for oil boiler installation, servicing and repairs. We also specialise in domestic plumbing works.

We offer a full bathroom installation service including tiling and wet rooms.

We are a Viessmann and Grant accredited installers.
We are Gas Safe and OFTEC Registered.

We offer boiler swaps from £1,600.00 (all in).
We offer Full Heating systems including combination boiler and 8 radiators from £3,995.00 (all in).Contact us for more information.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Underfloor heating
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
  • Heating contractors

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
  • Renewable energy

  • More Services

    • commercial heating engineers

Customer reviews

4.9
46 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Fitted me in at short notice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended to Andy by a number of people after being let down numerous times by my plumber. His man turned up on time, did the job with no mess. He was polite and knew clearly what he was doing. I will be using again .
Customer in Essex11/06/2019
The trader replied (on 18/06/2019)
Thank you for your kind review. Glad we could assist. We will look forward to working with you in the future. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Excellent service with fair pricing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had a full boiler replacement and relocation. Pricing from AR Plumbing & Heating had beaten all competition including offering extra services and improvements to our radiators. Engineers had excellent peofessional manner and completed the job with no faults and minimal disruption. Very impressed with the quality and service and would be looking to use them for further jobs in the future.
Customer in Essex01/06/2019
The trader replied (on 12/06/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review. We are thrilled that you are happy with the works provided. We will look forward to working with you in the future. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Brilliant Boiler Installation. Highly highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Andy and his team when we needed our combination boiler changed. Andy was very knowledgeable, and gave us a quote to best suit our personal circumstances. He clearly explained all our options and advised us on which would best suit our needs. The engineers arrived on time, they were polite, well presented, worked tidily and quietly (my son is autistic and doesn't like drill noises) and the workman ship was second to none. The customer service we received was brilliant . Andy took the time to check we fully understood how to use the boiler and all the controls. He even called a couple of weeks later to check everything was working as we expected. Wouldn't hesitate to use A R Plumbing & Heating again and have recommended them to all my family and friends.
Customer in Essex23/05/2019
The trader replied (on 31/05/2019)
Thank very much for the kind review. We are pleased you are happy with your new boiler. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Sales spiel over substance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sales spiel over substance... ARPH happily quote that whilst they aren't cheap, their product recommendations and service levels are worth it... after all, you get what you pay for, right? Well, based upon recent experience, this couldn't be further from the truth, having been left without heating and hot water from Monday morning until Friday evening the whole install was shambolic, with excuse after excuse. They fused the new boiler, by installing an incompatible thermostat, when they tried to fix that, they accidentally caused fault elsewhere... I was left on Friday installing the thermostat via British Gas. This morning I received final invoice, at an additional cost £300+. I would strongly advise that you avoid this company at all cost, they clearly don't know what they are doing.
Customer in Essex23/05/2019
The trader replied (on 24/05/2019)
We are sorry that you are unhappy with the works provided. We quoted as requested. We advised that a Viessmann 35KW combi would be the best option as it is likely to help with the hot water issues you were experiencing. We would evaluate after installation and could quote for a mains booster pump if required. Quotation was accepted. On installation day you asked us to clarify if the mains pump was being installed. We advised it wasn't due to the advice offered at quotation stage. We did offer to abort works, but was asked to continue. We installed the boiler. We asked for the Hive thermostat you had opted to supply to reduce the installation cost. It was handed to us with no information and in a blank box. On installation it blew the PCB's on the boiler.We then realised you had provided the incorrect Hive. We did query before install that the model was correct, you confirmed it was. We immediately contacted our supplier in bid to source PCB's. League time was too long. We purchased another boiler and used the PCB'S from that. Unfortunately they were faulty, this was totally unforeseen. We immediately contacted Viessmann and the engineer attended and repaired and produced a report confirming that the boiler was working adequately and installed safely. We offered temp heaters and use of office showering facilities while you were compromised of services, you declined the offer. We fitted the correct Hive FOC and reduced your bill as a good will. We did everything we could.
Up to their usual high standards.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used AR Plumbing for some 12 years and have always found them to do a good job. We asked for a new boiler and a number of radiators to be replaced. We got a quote very quickly and were able to agree a date without difficulty some weeks in advance. The work was done with a minimum of fuss and noise which was particularly important as my wife is ill and finds it hard to cope with noise. They were as always polite and tidy. The work was completed to schedule and in line with the quote and we are very pleased with it.
Customer in Essex04/05/2019
The trader replied (on 20/05/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review. We are thrilled you are pleased with the new boiler. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Helpful and quick
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys arrived in good time to work on the bath - and did an expert job replacing a leaking overflow and resealing. They were quick, professional and left with everything clean and tidy. Thanks!
Customer in Essex15/04/2019
The trader replied (on 25/04/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you are pleased with the works we carried out. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Very good work all completed on time within budget by a professional team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the end result, the team are easy to work with and are very helpful. We would recommend them and use again.
Customer in Essex29/03/2019
The trader replied (on 04/04/2019)
Thank you so much for the kind review. look forward to working with you in the future. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating Team
Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used A R Plumbing & heating for several years. In addition to installing and servicing our boiler they also refitted our bathroom. Always pleased with their work. They are reasonably priced and stick to budget. Always very helpful and polite. Have recommended them to several people.
Customer in Essex18/01/2019
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the kind review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy turned up on time, carried out the work efficiently and charged a reasonable amount to do so. Exactly what you want from a plumber! Would recommend.
Customer in Essex18/01/2019
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the kind review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Heating System Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A R Plumbing & Heating fully installed a new heating system for us. Very knowledgeable staff. Worked very cleanly, provided good quality workmanship, very reliable and staff very friendly. Job completed on time and within quoted budget. Also a lovely point is they are a family run business so they make you feel like you are being very well looked after through the whole process from enquiry to installation completion. House is now lovely and warm. Would highly recommend. Thank you A R Plumbing & Heating!
Customer in Essex09/01/2019
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for the kind review. Very happy to be able yo provide you with a cosy home. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Excellent Workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had been dreading having a new bathroom for a very long time as I knew how disruptive it can be. I had no reason for concern, as ARP&H carried out a complete refurbishment in a most professional and efficient manner. The new bathroom is great!
Jill, Essex27/12/2018
Boiler issue
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found AR Plumbing & Heating via the Viessman Boiler website as a registered installer. From first contact Andy could not have been more helpful, attempting to first try to resolve the issue over the phone. When it became clear that the issue would need further inspection, Andy was able to fit me in good time and was also very clear with the pricing. During the fault finding Andy took the time to explain what he had found and what was needed to fix the issue and again was clear in costs to fix. Once everything was remedied Andy checked I was okay with everything that had been completed. Extremely happy with the service and have already booked A R Plumbing and Heating to complete further work.
pash_ttwhich26/10/2018
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for the kind review. Glad to be of assistance. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Chelmsford, Essex
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found AR Plumbing & Heating via the Viessman Boiler website as a registered installer. From quote to completed job, Andy & his "boys" were both professional & friendly. Andy even gave me a follow up call about a week later just to see how I was getting on with my new boiler. I will definitely be recommending this company to family & friends. Thank you AR Plumbing & Heating from one very satisfied Customer
Karen C08/10/2018
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much Karen C for the lovely review. Glad you were impressed with our service. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Professional and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted new gas boiler (Viessman) and new hot water tank (Gledill Esprit), very neat work and completed in 2 days. Would thoroughly recommend A.R. Heating & Plumbing for central heating upgrades. A very trusted trader!
Chris, Essex26/06/2018
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Chris for the very kind review. Glad to be of service. Kind regards A R Plumbing & Heating
My toilet now works!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you to Christopher and his offsider for coming so quickly to repair the valve in my toilet. I rang at 12noon and the boys arrived at 2.30pm and able to have the repairs completed in no time. Like most customers, I had a few 'while you're here can you tell me about....' questions and queries about various other issues in the house. Christopher was so obliging and went out of his way to explain about noisy fill valves, combi boiler heaters, gas piping and meters. I have a standing quote for the extra repairs, so will ensure that the landlord approves the work and arrange them to come back. Highly professional and recommend
Dr Louise R03/05/2018
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for the kind review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Professional & tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy was informative & totally professional and kept his work area clean and tidy, reliable & dependable.
Margaret, Peveril30/01/2018
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review Margaret. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Thorough, Brilliant Job, Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were lucky to spot an A R Plumbing vehicle drive beside us, quickly noting their contact details. Andy, the owner paid a personal visit to diagnose the problem and offered a very quick installation date as we required a new boiler/cylinder. He and his team provided a thoroughly professional and quality job, to a very accurate quote and on schedule. They think outside the box, are flexible, informative and very friendly. We recommend fully.
Steve, Essex20/10/2017
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review Steve. Glad to be of assistance. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Polite and Pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found the fitters very polite and pleasant, very good at what they did. I will certainly use them again.
Catherine Joan, Essex05/09/2017
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review Catherine. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
1st class service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team fitted a completely new gas central heating system (during the hottest week of the year since 1976) in our very old cottage. All pipework was well thought out and sympathetic given the obstacles etc. Great communication from receiving the quote through to completion.Thoroughly recommend!
Diamond041202/08/2017
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. Glad to be of assistance. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating
Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, knowledgeable service. Knew the problem & how to sort it. Very clean service all round & will use for all future plumbing work.
Kevin, Essex24/07/2017
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you the lovely review Kevin. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Friendly & Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All tradesmen were friendly & informative. All work was well organised and carried out efficiently with the minimum of disruption. We have no hesitation in recommending them to others.
Nick, Chemlsford17/07/2017
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the kind review Nick. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent advice on a new boiler. Installation went to plan and Andy and his team were professionals throughout. Have already recommended them to family.
Eve, Essex02/06/2017
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the kind review. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We previously had a new boiler fitted by A R Plumbing on recommendation and were very happy with their work so we decided to use them to do our bathroom this time. Very pleased with the outcome.
Gencer, Essex28/04/2017
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for the review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Excellent work and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy quoted for a complete central heating installation with Viessmann boiler, internet thermostat and 9 radiators. His price was in line with the average of the quotes we received, but the offered specification was exceptional. We only had to wait 2 weeks for the work to begin, and it was completed on schedule in 5 days to a very high standard. The work areas were left clean and tidy. Also he has responded very quickly and effectively to problems (firstly a delay getting the gas meter installed by SSE, then a problem with the thermostat - neither a consequence of Andy's work). The end result is excellent. Thank you Andy!
Charlie15/03/2017
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Charlie for the lovely review. Glad we could be of assistance. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating
Excellent work, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy installed our new wall mounted boiler at the end of September 2016. From start to finish everything was done in a very efficient manner with no mess and with a friendly and informative attitude. His visit to assess the job and his quote, which was concise and comprehensive, were done promptly. He made an excellent recommendation for a Viessmann boiler and a location that exactly met our requirements. As a trained Veissmann installer he is able to offer a 10 year parts and labour guarantee on the boiler. He also recommended a power flush of our system. Communication via email and text was excellent. The work was carried out on time and very efficiently over 2 days. All areas were covered to ensure carpets and flooring were protected and there was no mess for us to clear up when he had finished. Andy has some excellent equipment, and the power flush, which took most of the first day, was so effective that the water ran as clear as drinking water when he had finished. The boiler was fitted exactly where we wanted it and the area where the old floor standing boiler had been was made good ready for decorating. Andy also recommended and fitted a magnetic system cleaner to keep the system clear of debris that requires servicing only once a year. Overall, we were extremely satisfied with A R Plumbing and Heating and would not hesitate to recommend them.
Mel Stevens25/11/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Mel for the lovely review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
New Bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service, very reliable, knowledgeable and friendly. Work was of a very high standard, my bathroom now looks like a hotel bathroom! It was nice to deal with a small family run business that really cares about the customer. Would highly recommend.
natashasquirrell05/11/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Natasha. Glad you are pleased with the works. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating
Outstanding job by Andy from AR Plumbing & Heating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a gas pipe leakage under the kitchen unit and it is in a awkward position due to poor access. The proposal from other Gas engineer is to run a brand new gas pipe from the main on other side of house which is very costly due to the long distance. Andy made an assessment and he is highly confident that the problem is local pipe leakage under the concrete floor. He took a lot of trouble to remove the kitchen unit and drilled through the concrete to find the leakage pipe section and replaced it with a new pipe. We are very pleased with Andy for his superb job and he also saved us a lot of money on the new pipe. Andy is very friendly and efficient and he is a trustworthy individual. Highly recommended. Outstanding work! Big thank you to Andy!
Chiang28/10/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the kind review Chiang. Happy to help. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Boiler service and gas fire fix
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm very pleased with the service and professional manner with which Andy and his son carried out their work. I was given a number of points of advice on my heating system which was very useful. Andy also managed to service and return my gas fire to working order without any further visits or new parts. Appointment was easily organised over email and they arrived promptly as arranged. Would definitely recommend.
Richard C03/10/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the review Richard. Glad you are pleased with the service provided. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating
Very Satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Within three weeks of moving into our new home the boiler failed with no pressure therefore no hot water. Panic! Contacted AR Plumbing & Heating in the morning and Chris attended promptly that afternoon. A leaking heating pipe was discovered which repaired and the boiler pressure re-set in no time. Very pleased with the response and the work was carried out quickly without fuss for a reasonable price.
Martin C04/09/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Highly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hired plumber through recommendation and after getting the estimate and advise I was happy to give key and job got finished as promised in 4 days. Removed old free standing boiler replaced water tank emersion and other connecting jobs.
Gilda, Essex11/08/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review Gilda. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Wonderful job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't recommend them enough. They have done a brilliant job. Clean and tidy and very helpful. Explained everything in full about boiler instructions. Very pleased in all they did.
Jackie, Essex04/04/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for your review. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating
Superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A R Plumbing & Heating are reliable, efficient and punctual. They installed a new boiler for me. Very professional and polite. Itemised & transparent quote, not overpriced. Very pleased, would definitely recommend.
Louise, Essex07/03/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for the lovely review Louise. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional
Nigel, Essex29/02/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Nigel. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Excellent throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial consultation offering suggestion to finished job, Andy was helpful, efficient, completely trustworthy and tidy. I also liked the fact he would be doing the work personally. The new heating system has transformed our house.
Lisa, Essex04/01/2016
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Lisa. Glad you are pleased with the heating system. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did exactly what we required.
Derek, Surrey07/09/2015
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the review Derek. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Efficient and professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended, will certainly use them again.
Peter, Essex05/08/2015
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Peter. Glad to be of service. Kind regards A R Plumbing & heating
Bathroom Refit - very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are so pleased with our new bathroom. Before starting the refit Andy went through the total refit with us answering questions and offering advice on products, prices etc. Both Andy and his son Chris are professional and polite arrive on time and get straight on with the job. From start to finish the job went well there were problems with a towel rail that I ordered online as it had a few faults but Andy was very helpful with advice and arranged to come back and fit it when we were happy with the product. The plasterer and electrician Andy uses are very good too and I have since had them back for another job. We are so pleased with our new bathroom and would recommend Andy anytime...I have recommended him to a friend already who was very pleased with Andy's work. Previously we used Andy to fit a toilet and sink in our cloakroom and were very happy with his work and are very pleased we used him to fit our bathroom.
Tanya A21/06/2015
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you for the lovely review Tanya. Kind Regards A R plumbing & heating
Second to none
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has done all manner of work for us over a number of years, from small to major work. In every case the quality is spot on and his attention to detail first class. Will continue to recommend him. Great work!
MikeW104/03/2015
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Mike for the lovely review. Kind Regards A R plumbing & heating
New Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't fault the workmanship, everything was explained clearly and precisely. Would not hesitate to recommend Andy to friends and family. Everything was left tidy with no mess or fuss. Professional workmanship and knowledge was second to none. Thank Andy and team.
DonnaHF19/11/2014
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you Donna for the kind review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & heating
Efficient & helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Commenced work on 10 November to convert shower room to wet room. The whole process took about a week and I would recommend to others.
Valerie, Essex10/11/2014
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for the review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Informed us they were running late because of traffic. Friendly. Explained everything about job. Did everything to a very high standard. Clean, tidied up well after job. Was recommended to them by a friend, no hesitation to recommend them again.
Jacqueline, Essex03/11/2014
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for the review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A knowledgeable central heating engineer and plumber. Clean worker, cleared up every day. Very good detailed estimate. Thoroughly recommended.
Susan, Essex30/10/2014
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for your review. Kind Regards A R plumbing & Heating
EXCELLENT WORKMANSHIP -HIGHLY SKILLED AND RELIABLE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A R Plumbing & Heating was recommended to me by a friend of mine and I have no hesitation to recommend this Family Business to all my friends and contacts. Initial contact and first visit was professional and friendly. We received helpful advice and a quick response to what we wanted to achieve. The estimate for the costs for the project arrived in no time, excellent value, and work began when agreed. Excellent time keeping, hard working, attention to detail whatever the challenge, clean and tidy and meticulous work. I cannot but admire the effort put into what seems the company's priority "a job well done to the customer's specifications and requirements". All in all, a very pleasant and indeed more than satisfactory experience. Thank you to Andy and Chris for all your hard work. A team I can only recommend! .... and I have another bathroom to refurbish .... .
RitaMc14/10/2014
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for your review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Excellent professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has already completed several jobs for us in the past and has always been very prompt and professional. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him as he always does an excellent job without any bother or mess
Tracy, Essex26/09/2014
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for your review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
A new bathroom in safe hands
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy refit our en-suite to a high standard and went out of his way to find items to achieve the look we were after. Reliable and very tidy in their work, Andy and Chris are nice guys who didn't grumble when we changed our minds about the tiling edge half way through the job, and even made suggestions on finishing touches which improved the look at minimal cost. Very professional in all correspondence. We will use them again!
lizandjam03/09/2014
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for your review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating
Knowledgeable & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neat, tidy & well finished workmanship. Showed high level of professional knowledge. Thoughtful & helpful in all aspects of the job. We were extremely pleased with the results & would have no hesitation in recommending A R Plumbing & Heating.
Joe, Essex11/08/2014
The trader replied (on 20/03/2019)
Thank you very much for your review. Kind Regards A R Plumbing & Heating