We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

A R Plumbing & Heating

Logo on white
Profile thumb logo leter

4.9

35 Reviews

About

We are a small family business that has been trading for 17 years. We offer a high quality, honest and reliable service to all of our customers, with a personal touch that you don't tend to get from larger companies.

The business consists of myself ( Andy Rudgewick) and my son Chris, who is also fully qualified for gas.

We have gained over the years a full and comprehensive knowledge of domestic gas boiler installation, repair and servicing.

We are also fully qualified commercial heating engineers, offering service, break down and installation of indirect and direct fired heating appliances, overhead radiant heating and "U" tube heaters.

We offer a design and installation service for under floor heating.

We offer a full bathroom installation service including tiling and wet rooms.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Underfloor heating
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
  • Heating contractors

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
  • More Services

    • commercial heating engineers

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

4.9
35 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Boiler issue
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found AR Plumbing & Heating via the Viessman Boiler website as a registered installer. From first contact Andy could not have been more helpful, attempting to first try to resolve the issue over the phone. When it became clear that the issue would need further inspection, Andy was able to fit me in good time and was also very clear with the pricing. During the fault finding Andy took the time to explain what he had found and what was needed to fix the issue and again was clear in costs to fix. Once everything was remedied Andy checked I was okay with everything that had been completed. Extremely happy with the service and have already booked A R Plumbing and Heating to complete further work.
pash_ttwhich26/10/2018
Chelmsford, Essex
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found AR Plumbing & Heating via the Viessman Boiler website as a registered installer. From quote to completed job, Andy & his "boys" were both professional & friendly. Andy even gave me a follow up call about a week later just to see how I was getting on with my new boiler. I will definitely be recommending this company to family & friends. Thank you AR Plumbing & Heating from one very satisfied Customer
Karen C08/10/2018
Professional and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted new gas boiler (Viessman) and new hot water tank (Gledill Esprit), very neat work and completed in 2 days. Would thoroughly recommend A.R. Heating & Plumbing for central heating upgrades. A very trusted trader!
Chris, Essex26/06/2018
My toilet now works!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you to Christopher and his offsider for coming so quickly to repair the valve in my toilet. I rang at 12noon and the boys arrived at 2.30pm and able to have the repairs completed in no time. Like most customers, I had a few 'while you're here can you tell me about....' questions and queries about various other issues in the house. Christopher was so obliging and went out of his way to explain about noisy fill valves, combi boiler heaters, gas piping and meters. I have a standing quote for the extra repairs, so will ensure that the landlord approves the work and arrange them to come back. Highly professional and recommend
Dr Louise R03/05/2018
Professional & tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy was informative & totally professional and kept his work area clean and tidy, reliable & dependable.
Margaret, Peveril30/01/2018
Thorough, Brilliant Job, Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were lucky to spot an A R Plumbing vehicle drive beside us, quickly noting their contact details. Andy, the owner paid a personal visit to diagnose the problem and offered a very quick installation date as we required a new boiler/cylinder. He and his team provided a thoroughly professional and quality job, to a very accurate quote and on schedule. They think outside the box, are flexible, informative and very friendly. We recommend fully.
Steve, Essex20/10/2017
Polite and Pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found the fitters very polite and pleasant, very good at what they did. I will certainly use them again.
Catherine Joan, Essex05/09/2017
1st class service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team fitted a completely new gas central heating system (during the hottest week of the year since 1976) in our very old cottage. All pipework was well thought out and sympathetic given the obstacles etc. Great communication from receiving the quote through to completion.Thoroughly recommend!
Diamond041202/08/2017
Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, knowledgeable service. Knew the problem & how to sort it. Very clean service all round & will use for all future plumbing work.
Kevin, Essex24/07/2017
Friendly & Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All tradesmen were friendly & informative. All work was well organised and carried out efficiently with the minimum of disruption. We have no hesitation in recommending them to others.
Nick, Chemlsford17/07/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent advice on a new boiler. Installation went to plan and Andy and his team were professionals throughout. Have already recommended them to family.
Eve, Essex02/06/2017
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We previously had a new boiler fitted by A R Plumbing on recommendation and were very happy with their work so we decided to use them to do our bathroom this time. Very pleased with the outcome.
Gencer, Essex28/04/2017
Excellent work and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy quoted for a complete central heating installation with Viessmann boiler, internet thermostat and 9 radiators. His price was in line with the average of the quotes we received, but the offered specification was exceptional. We only had to wait 2 weeks for the work to begin, and it was completed on schedule in 5 days to a very high standard. The work areas were left clean and tidy. Also he has responded very quickly and effectively to problems (firstly a delay getting the gas meter installed by SSE, then a problem with the thermostat - neither a consequence of Andy's work). The end result is excellent. Thank you Andy!
Charlie15/03/2017
Excellent work, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy installed our new wall mounted boiler at the end of September 2016. From start to finish everything was done in a very efficient manner with no mess and with a friendly and informative attitude. His visit to assess the job and his quote, which was concise and comprehensive, were done promptly. He made an excellent recommendation for a Viessmann boiler and a location that exactly met our requirements. As a trained Veissmann installer he is able to offer a 10 year parts and labour guarantee on the boiler. He also recommended a power flush of our system. Communication via email and text was excellent. The work was carried out on time and very efficiently over 2 days. All areas were covered to ensure carpets and flooring were protected and there was no mess for us to clear up when he had finished. Andy has some excellent equipment, and the power flush, which took most of the first day, was so effective that the water ran as clear as drinking water when he had finished. The boiler was fitted exactly where we wanted it and the area where the old floor standing boiler had been was made good ready for decorating. Andy also recommended and fitted a magnetic system cleaner to keep the system clear of debris that requires servicing only once a year. Overall, we were extremely satisfied with A R Plumbing and Heating and would not hesitate to recommend them.
Mel Stevens25/11/2016
New Bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service, very reliable, knowledgeable and friendly. Work was of a very high standard, my bathroom now looks like a hotel bathroom! It was nice to deal with a small family run business that really cares about the customer. Would highly recommend.
natashasquirrell05/11/2016
Outstanding job by Andy from AR Plumbing & Heating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a gas pipe leakage under the kitchen unit and it is in a awkward position due to poor access. The proposal from other Gas engineer is to run a brand new gas pipe from the main on other side of house which is very costly due to the long distance. Andy made an assessment and he is highly confident that the problem is local pipe leakage under the concrete floor. He took a lot of trouble to remove the kitchen unit and drilled through the concrete to find the leakage pipe section and replaced it with a new pipe. We are very pleased with Andy for his superb job and he also saved us a lot of money on the new pipe. Andy is very friendly and efficient and he is a trustworthy individual. Highly recommended. Outstanding work! Big thank you to Andy!
Chiang28/10/2016
Boiler service and gas fire fix
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm very pleased with the service and professional manner with which Andy and his son carried out their work. I was given a number of points of advice on my heating system which was very useful. Andy also managed to service and return my gas fire to working order without any further visits or new parts. Appointment was easily organised over email and they arrived promptly as arranged. Would definitely recommend.
Richard C03/10/2016
Very Satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Within three weeks of moving into our new home the boiler failed with no pressure therefore no hot water. Panic! Contacted AR Plumbing & Heating in the morning and Chris attended promptly that afternoon. A leaking heating pipe was discovered which repaired and the boiler pressure re-set in no time. Very pleased with the response and the work was carried out quickly without fuss for a reasonable price.
Martin C04/09/2016
Highly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hired plumber through recommendation and after getting the estimate and advise I was happy to give key and job got finished as promised in 4 days. Removed old free standing boiler replaced water tank emersion and other connecting jobs.
Gilda, Essex11/08/2016
Wonderful job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't recommend them enough. They have done a brilliant job. Clean and tidy and very helpful. Explained everything in full about boiler instructions. Very pleased in all they did.
Jackie, Essex04/04/2016
Superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A R Plumbing & Heating are reliable, efficient and punctual. They installed a new boiler for me. Very professional and polite. Itemised & transparent quote, not overpriced. Very pleased, would definitely recommend.
Louise, Essex07/03/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional
Nigel, Essex29/02/2016
Excellent throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial consultation offering suggestion to finished job, Andy was helpful, efficient, completely trustworthy and tidy. I also liked the fact he would be doing the work personally. The new heating system has transformed our house.
Lisa, Essex04/01/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did exactly what we required.
Derek, Surrey07/09/2015
Efficient and professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended, will certainly use them again.
Peter, Essex05/08/2015
Bathroom Refit - very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are so pleased with our new bathroom. Before starting the refit Andy went through the total refit with us answering questions and offering advice on products, prices etc. Both Andy and his son Chris are professional and polite arrive on time and get straight on with the job. From start to finish the job went well there were problems with a towel rail that I ordered online as it had a few faults but Andy was very helpful with advice and arranged to come back and fit it when we were happy with the product. The plasterer and electrician Andy uses are very good too and I have since had them back for another job. We are so pleased with our new bathroom and would recommend Andy anytime...I have recommended him to a friend already who was very pleased with Andy's work. Previously we used Andy to fit a toilet and sink in our cloakroom and were very happy with his work and are very pleased we used him to fit our bathroom.
Tanya A21/06/2015
Second to none
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has done all manner of work for us over a number of years, from small to major work. In every case the quality is spot on and his attention to detail first class. Will continue to recommend him. Great work!
MikeW104/03/2015
New Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't fault the workmanship, everything was explained clearly and precisely. Would not hesitate to recommend Andy to friends and family. Everything was left tidy with no mess or fuss. Professional workmanship and knowledge was second to none. Thank Andy and team.
DonnaHF19/11/2014
Efficient & helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Commenced work on 10 November to convert shower room to wet room. The whole process took about a week and I would recommend to others.
Valerie, Essex10/11/2014
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Informed us they were running late because of traffic. Friendly. Explained everything about job. Did everything to a very high standard. Clean, tidied up well after job. Was recommended to them by a friend, no hesitation to recommend them again.
Jacqueline, Essex03/11/2014
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A knowledgeable central heating engineer and plumber. Clean worker, cleared up every day. Very good detailed estimate. Thoroughly recommended.
Susan, Essex30/10/2014
EXCELLENT WORKMANSHIP -HIGHLY SKILLED AND RELIABLE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A R Plumbing & Heating was recommended to me by a friend of mine and I have no hesitation to recommend this Family Business to all my friends and contacts. Initial contact and first visit was professional and friendly. We received helpful advice and a quick response to what we wanted to achieve. The estimate for the costs for the project arrived in no time, excellent value, and work began when agreed. Excellent time keeping, hard working, attention to detail whatever the challenge, clean and tidy and meticulous work. I cannot but admire the effort put into what seems the company's priority "a job well done to the customer's specifications and requirements". All in all, a very pleasant and indeed more than satisfactory experience. Thank you to Andy and Chris for all your hard work. A team I can only recommend! .... and I have another bathroom to refurbish .... .
RitaMc14/10/2014
Excellent professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has already completed several jobs for us in the past and has always been very prompt and professional. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him as he always does an excellent job without any bother or mess
Tracy, Essex26/09/2014
A new bathroom in safe hands
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy refit our en-suite to a high standard and went out of his way to find items to achieve the look we were after. Reliable and very tidy in their work, Andy and Chris are nice guys who didn't grumble when we changed our minds about the tiling edge half way through the job, and even made suggestions on finishing touches which improved the look at minimal cost. Very professional in all correspondence. We will use them again!
lizandjam03/09/2014
Knowledgeable & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neat, tidy & well finished workmanship. Showed high level of professional knowledge. Thoughtful & helpful in all aspects of the job. We were extremely pleased with the results & would have no hesitation in recommending A R Plumbing & Heating.
Joe, Essex11/08/2014