We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Abbey Driveways (Bournville) Ltd

Profile thumb cimg2359

5.0

101 Reviews

About

Abbey Driveways (incorporated 11 February 2009) is a family run company with over 30 years expertise as a block paving and Tar Macadam specialist company. We are unrivalled when it comes to the versatility for providing the optimum surfacing solution across a broad spectrum of domestic and commercial construction applications.

Whether you require premium aesthetics to frame the finest contemporary or traditional architecture, or a robust, technically engineered surface for heavy loading applications, Abbey Driveways range of block paving and Tar macadam will provide the ideal solution for your project.

We only use the best products on all jobs and our staff are trained to the highest standards. We allow rainwater to soak into the ground at source, where it replenishes the water table, this ensure's an ideal sustainable drainage (SuDS) solution. This improves water quality, helps to mitigate the risk of any potential flooding and creates a healthier natural environment.

What we do

  • Patios and driveways

    • Driveway installation and maintenance
    • Patio installation and maintenance
    • Natural stone surfacing
    • Porous surfacing
    • SUDS compliant surfacing
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Building construction contractors

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • Builders

  • Cleaning services

    • Stone cleaning
    • Hard floor cleaning
    • Jet Washing
  • Landscape contractors

    • Drystone walling
    • Hard landscaping
    • Irrigation systems
    • Sheds and shed bases
    • Turfing
  • More Services

    • tarmac
    • blockpaving
    • tarmacadam
    • tar macadam
    • driveway
    • drives

Customer reviews

5.0
101 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Abbey Driveways on the strength of the reviews here, and were very happy with their work. They relaid our patio and reset the bricks on our garden path. Excellent communication from quote to completion, a competitive price, friendly workmen, good supervision from Jake, good relationships with local suppliers (Wythal Landscapes) and quick high quality work.
louisedickson19 Posted on 18/08/2012 , work completed 18/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This team is fabulous. A wonderful job, very professional, tidy and efficient. We lost our Internet service and Jake realised they had accidentally cut through a cable. Any one can make a mistake, but few tradesman would have so readily admitted it and offered to pay for rectifying the damage. In the event, there was no cost involved, Virgin came out and fixed it, but we admired their honesty and integrity. We would readily recommend Abbey Driveways.
Calpol Posted on 31/07/2012 , work completed 31/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Employed Abbey Drives to replace existing tarmac drive. Provided no fuss consise quotation (other companies not so clear and chased to try and undertake work). Turned up promptly at agreed time and worked quickly and efficienty throughout. Team tidy and polite. Tarmac completed by 2nd team from Tar Drives, again efficiently, Jake from Abbey Drives supervising throughout the process. Highly recommended + minimum impact on the neighbourhood (did not annoy them as others tend to do to obtain more work)
tommy24 Posted on 02/06/2012 , work completed 02/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Since the drive and walling was done, several people have knocked our door to ask who did the work: It looks really good. The drive is mainly tarmac with a block paved area in front of the house and a separate block paved path accross the lawn with steps down through a a retaining block wall. Recomendations on the layout made by Abbey before and during the job contributed to a better appearance than we had originally envisaged. The work was done to a high standard, with a good depth of compacted roadstone and well rolled layers of tarmac for the drive.
cartwrir Posted on 19/02/2012 , work completed 19/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his team laid a new patio for me in july 2011.His quote was extremely competitive(even cheaper than the firm who offered a cheaper deal for cash so we don't need to involve the VAT man !!)and all work was carried out to an excellent standard, I was dreading the work being done since there was a lot of soil to move etc and it all had to come through the kitchen,i needn't have worried, there was no mess whatsoever.The team were efficient and prompt throughout,and several small extras were done at no extra cost I would'nt hesitate to recommend them.
kgt Posted on 18/02/2012 , work completed 18/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I employed Abbey Driveways to remove a existing tarmac driveway and lawn, and lay a simple block paved drive, about 3 cars wide in total. Quote was competitive but sensible, and given in writing without fuss. The work was completed ahead of schedule, the quality was excellent and various finishing touches were completed without hint or request from myself. Throughout the works, Jake and his team were very polite, very efficient and left the area clean & tidy at the end of a shift. I manage construction projects for a living, so I know good work when I see it. I would thoroughly recommend Abbey driveways for this kind of work.
Mark Garner Posted on 14/04/2011 , work completed 14/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Abbey around three years ago to lay a new block paved drive, having found them via a local consumer champion's radio programme (Ed Doolan). Theirs was easily the best quote, and Jake and his team did an excellent, professional job. Thoroughly recommended.
travisroberts Posted on 13/04/2010 , work completed 13/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Driveway block paved. Excellent job, high quality workmanship and professional friendly workers. Very highly recommended.
Clive Moody Posted on 03/12/2009 , work completed 03/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted this firm as a result of its two separate 5-star ratings in Which Local. Even though they are some 25 miles from my house they were prepared to visit, and then produced the best price out of four quotations. They started promptly on the agreed date and completed the job in less than the agreed time (four and a half days against five estimated). Throughout the week all four staff - including the boss, Jake Cockayne, who was on site most of the time - were polite and well-behaved. The work was impeccable, with great attention to detail, and numerous small extras were added, at no extra charge, to improve rainwater drainage. They are probably the best firm in the building trade I have ever employed.
mrs. Walker Posted on 12/09/2009 , work completed 12/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very co-operative & skilful. Paved terrace.
Peter Lorton Posted on 28/04/2009 , work completed 28/04/2009