We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Abbey Driveways (Bournville) Ltd

Logo on white
Profile thumb cimg2359

5.0

96 Reviews

About

Abbey Driveways is a family run company with over 30 years expertise as a block paving and Tar Macadam specialist company. We are unrivalled when it comes to the versatility for providing the optimum surfacing solution across a broad spectrum of domestic and commercial construction applications.

Whether you require premium aesthetics to frame the finest contemporary or traditional architecture, or a robust, technically engineered surface for heavy loading applications, Abbey Driveways range of block paving and Tar macadam will provide the ideal solution for your project.

We only use the best products on all jobs and our staff are trained to the highest standards. We allow rainwater to soak into the ground at source, where it replenishes the water table, this ensure's an ideal sustainable drainage (SuDS) solution. This improves water quality, helps to mitigate the risk of any potential flooding and creates a healthier natural environment.

What we do

  • Patios and driveways

    • Driveway installation and maintenance
    • Patio installation and maintenance
    • Natural stone surfacing
    • Porous surfacing
    • SUDS compliant surfacing
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Building construction contractors

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • Builders

  • Cleaning services

    • Stone cleaning
    • Hard floor cleaning
    • Jet Washing
  • Landscape contractors

    • Drystone walling
    • Hard landscaping
    • Irrigation systems
    • Sheds and shed bases
    • Turfing
  • More Services

    • tarmac
    • blockpaving
    • tarmacadam
    • tar macadam
    • driveway
    • drives

Customer reviews

5.0
96 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Abbey drives ( Bournville Ltd )
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his team are very professional and a skilled company , had my drive block paved in less time than estimated and his prices are very reasonable I’d recommend this company to anyone for the work they do, Thanks Jake and your team.
John - Customer in West Midlands12/09/2019
Driveway reconfiguration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
5 years ago Abbeydrives redesigned my drive for me, at the time I was delighted with their professionalism and workmanship. The drive looks as good today as it did when first laid and I have been delighted with it. However, I have now extended the front of the house and eaten into some of the original design so I asked them to return to a) tidy up after the builders and b) alter the configuration slightly. Jake and his team are every bit as professional as they were 5 years ago and once again they have done a fabulous job. They arrived when they said they would, listened to my plans, offered advise to make the most of the drive, cleaned up after themselves and they stuck to budget. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending them - they are not the cheapest but they do provide quality workmamship that is standing the test of time and providing value for money. Jake and his team are a pleasure to work with
Rachel, West Midlands15/07/2019
1st Class Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his Team undertook a total revamp of my driveway a week ago. From start to finish a professional, first class service from the initial digging up of the old tarmac driveway, which was in a poor state, through to the fantastic new look block paved, some slabbing and total new fencing they have erected. Most clean working traders i have ever known, work in progress on a daily basis, all to quoted cost and in the most timely manner. I am so pleased i cannot believe the new look i have now got and ever thought could be achieved. I have had many compliments of the fantastic work Abberdriveways(Bournville) Ltd have done. I have already given Jake's number out, and would never hesitate recommending or re-using this Company, and will be utilising the maintenance service as and when required of the service they offer. Keep up the fantastic work Jake and the Team. Angela Fletcher, Kings Norton
Customer in West Midlands08/06/2019
Simply the Best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Why do I say "Simply the Best"? We wanted block paving to replace Tarmac our driveway along with substantial work at the back of the house to create a large paved area and walled steps down to the lawn. Because of ground sloping in different directions the work at the back was quite tricky. Firstly, this family run firm were very easy to do business with. They made it simple. They listened to our ideas, gave excellent advice every step of the way (which generally improved on our ideas), checked daily that we were happy with progress and were very happy to adapt to evolving ideas and wishes. The team functioned as a team. They were professional, courteous, tidy and reliable. Secondly, ours was a big job but the quality of the work is outstanding - The best we could have hoped for. I would not only have them back, but I have recommended them to others. Finally, a measure of their ethic is that they would take no money until we were completely happy. I cannot recommend Abbey Driveways strongly enough.
Customer in West Midlands22/05/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveways (Bournville) Ltd was recommended to us by neighbours. Dealing with Jake and the team was a pleasure. They were friendly, courteous and extremely hard working. We have already passed on the company details to friends and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone. Our new tarmac drive looks fantastic!
Customer in West Midlands20/03/2019
New Replacement Drive & Garden Area
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used Abbey twice before in previous houses we had no qualms about who we wanted to use. Jake & Kevin provided us with 60mm thick blocks instead of the cheap 50mm ones for longevity/durability (don’t sink afterwards), excavated & removed our old drive, part of the front garden (as we’d requested) edged all of the borders, created a new garden and properly membraned everything before laying all of the important foundation stone & a lovely finished driveway-flatter (as we’d hoped for) in just 3 days. The lads were a pleasure to have on site & they all worked really hard to deliver a top class job. We could probably have got a cheaper quote with sub-standard materials but the fact they included proper Aco Drains to ensure we didn’t flood-without even being asked which only confirmed what I already knew-top quality job, no sub-standard products, quality foundations & no corner cutting or bodges. Great lads, great firm & well worth waiting for a slot, which is a good indicator if you have to wait for a trader!! Very pleased.
Customer in West Midlands25/01/2019
Briiliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin and his team pulled up our front lawn and replaced with block paving. Kevin really took the time to understand what we wanted, kept us up to date on expected start dates and the job even ended up starting a day early. The job was done in an excellent way and we love the end result! Kevin and his team were very friendly and worked really hard during the job. They all worked extremely tidy. They went out of their way to ensure we were happy. I would firmly recommend this company to anyone. Excellent job! Thank you!
Customer in West Midlands25/01/2019
Amazing work from Kevin and his team.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin and his team completed a tarmac drive with a lovely border on my house not long ago, and to say the least it was an amazing job. The staff were very friendly and always willing to work whatever the condition. Nothing but professionalism and hard work. Thankyou all.
Customer in West Midlands25/01/2019
Superb job, cannot fault them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and Abbey Driveways were fantastic from the start. Jake was extremely helpful in finding the design we wanted and worked around a difficult shaped drive. The workers were clean and polite. The only times they stopped work was due to heavy rain and my neighbour also commented on how hardworking they were. We were very pleased with the job they did and would use them again if we ever needed to.
JoeBirmingham31/10/2018
Professional and reliable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his team provided a new drive for us. Jake was very professional. He arrived on time, listened to our wants and gave us good sensible advice. His written quotation arrived when he said it would. Jake kept us informed of the start date - he and his team arrived early on the agreed date and work started promptly. The job was completed to a high standard and on schedule. The site was left clean and tidy with nothing left for us to do. The neigbours have all admired our new drive and turf. Even casual passers bye have paused to comment! We would highly recommend Abbet Driveways (Bournville) Ltd.
Richardson16/10/2018
Good profession outfit.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great business you can rely on to deliver work at agreed price, time and quality. Jake came to quote us for work on our drive and steps. He gave us advice and informed us when he could do the work and the cost. When he started we were impressed with general attitude of Jake and his lads. The job itself was rather difficult, not very straightforward, but they produced a completed job of obvious quality. They also had concern for our neighbours, keeping any disruption to a minimum and acting with great diplomacy. Well done Jake and the lads. Thoroughly recommend.
West Heath29/09/2018
A fantastic experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Transformation of our driveway; from and existing tarmac to a block-paving. The entrance to the driveway was extended and a flowerbed area created. My experience of Abbey Driveways has been amazing (exceeded my expectations even though they came highly recommended). They were very helpful in the lead up to the job (it has some complexities and required liaising with a stone mason), they were efficient about scheduling in the job and the results were amazing. They completed it quickly, but their attention to detail, combined with their expertise was fantastic. They are clearly experts in this area and I would highly recommend them to anyone having this sort of work done. I would go so far as saying - don't go to anyone else other than Abbey Driveways. Thank you.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer08/06/2018
Strongly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Front driveway excavated, block paved and retaining walls reinstated. Kevin was in attendance every morning to touch base with me and listen to any feedback. Standard of work was excellent and all contractors were professional and friendly. Works was completed to time and on budget. I was impressed with the company from the moment I requested a quote to job completion - would highly recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer17/04/2018
Professionalism & job outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveways' were extremely courteous and conscientious. They always arrive on time, were very personable and I was contacted if the weather was against the work being carried out. I would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Olwen, West Midlands06/04/2018
Really impressed.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from start to finish. Not the cheapest but a first class job. Highly recommended.
Steven, West Midlands10/03/2018
Prompt, Respectful, Never Stopped, Hard Working.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin & Jake plus all the guys were polite, I was kept informed & at times I was asked to go & look at garden to confirm certain detail. They have done a wonderful job & I'm so happy with the result, looks brilliant.
Susan, West Midlands21/02/2018
They did exactly what they said they would do
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can highly recommend Abbey Driveways. From our first contact with Kevin they were totally professional and replaced our old tarmac and grass drive with block paving. They completed the job to an extremely high standard with exceptional organisation. Kevin was not pushy he listened to what we wanted and gave us good advice but most important he did exactly what he said he would.
Philip G 17/12/2017
Prompt and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveways, Kevin had put my mind at ease and as promised the company delivered very well. Everything was done promptly. There was no delay in digging, sanding and laying the driveway all was completed in 5 days including having fence panels and concrete slabs fitted.
Shabina, West Midlands10/11/2017
Fantastic work, very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the time we received the initial quote to receiving the bill, Abbey Driveways have been great. A professional service from an excellent team. The work has been carried out and finished to a very high standard - highly recommended!
Kathryn, West Midlands19/10/2017
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My drive has been totally transferred. Excellent job finished to the highest standard, most impressed.
Bernadette, West Midlands11/09/2017
Fabulous.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveways provided a first class service. In my professional career I get involved in constructing "driveways" of a much larger scale (motorways), and we rely on suppliers that we can trust and who can work with us to deliver our customers requirements. It is equally as important to find such suppliers in your home life, and I have to say that from start to finish it has been a pleasure to deal with Abbey Driveways, from the polite, fun and hardworking nature of the workforce to Jake's personal understanding of our needs and commitment to delivering a top quality product. Highly recommended. Thank you.
Pete & Liz, Birmingham30/08/2017
Excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely professional, friendly and most reliable team. They completed the job most efficiently and unrecognisably nice (path, driveway and steps). They finished in just two days and left the place tidy. Very satisfied with it all! Well done to Jake and the team!
Daniella, West Midlands30/08/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend Abbey Driveways (Bournville) highly enough. They gave excellent service in re-laying my driveway & were hard-working, professional, skilful and good-natured throughout. A top quality team.
Andrew, West Midlands16/08/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a patio in back garden. Staff were friendly and professional. Very respectful of my property. They done an excellent job and were accommodating when I made slight altercations to the design. I'm so so so happy with the finish. Will recommend to friends.
Janet, West Midlands14/08/2017
Brilliant job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really great job, better than what I was expecting. Great to deal with nothing too much trouble and really good guys working on the job. Highly recommended cheers
Nick H 01/07/2017
Excellent Workmanship.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a bad experience with a driveway company, Abbey Driveways (Bournville) Ltd restored my faith in tradesmen. They were prompt, professional, completed work to the highest standard. Would highly recommend.
Patricia, West Midlands27/06/2017
Excellent job, well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveways (Bournville) Ltd is a reliable company. Their team arrived and commenced work on the day as promised and completed the my driveway within the time promised. I am very pleased with the high professionalism of the Abbey team. I recommend them highly and without hesitation.
Lincoln, West Midlands23/06/2017
Excellent & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent and professional work. Rain stopped play for one day but Adrian, Dave and Tom worked extremely efficient as a team to get back on track. Consulted us all the way. Highly recommended. Very friendly team who made the whole process very easy. We are delighted with the brilliant work. Thank you to everyone at Abbey Driveways.
Rose, West Midlands05/06/2017
Great result.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having requested a few quotes to have our driveway re-designed we decided to appoint Abbey Driveways (Bournville) Ltd to carry out the work for us. They were recommended to us. They have been professional from start to finish, and we're very pleased with the job. We have already recommended them to a friend.
Susan, West Midlands18/05/2017
Fantastic & brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a great company & family run business!!! The team was amazing from start to finish. What a credit. All questions answered when asked & they were able to advise us if we were unsure what we wanted. I have already recommended the company to 3 people. Very impressed with the service very professional, polite & very caring team. Keep up the good work, you were amazing.
Lynn, West Midlands17/05/2017
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the way they worked. Discussed everything in detail to make sure it was to your liking. A pleasure to have met the team. Highly recommended.
Linda, West Midlands15/05/2017
Wonderful job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Abbey Driveways following a recommendation and reasonable quote. It was a big decision! We are absolutely delighted with the finished job. The team working on the job were prompt, courteous and extremely tidy. We would have no hesitation in recommending Abbey to others.
Graham, West Midlands12/04/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our new drive and brick walls from Abbey Driveways 16 months ago. Jake and his team did a fantastic job then and have just completed a beautiful base ready for our summerhouse. Great service, quality job.
Roger, West Midlands13/02/2017
Brilliant work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveway (Bournville) Ltd were extremely professional throughout the whole process. They kept in touch as to a likely start date, turned up bang on time and produced a very high quality job. Thanks to site foreman Adrian. In fact, we have enjoyed the whole process as it really has been painless. Would and have recommended the company to others.
Stephen, West Midlands09/02/2017
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from start to finish. Friendly, efficient & courteous attitude by all concerned! I would highly recommend this company.
Steven, West Midlands25/01/2017
Great team to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were dreading getting our drive done. We are having work done as part of a project to help with access for our disabled daughter. Right from the start they were clear and never pushy about anything. Explained everything, kept us aware of what's happening and were very respectful when our daughter was around regarding noise etc.
Chris, West Midlands20/12/2016
Brilliant job, very professional, nothing too much trouble.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveways (Bournville ltd) are second to none. Lovely bunch of lads who got on with the job in hand, they made sure any mess was kept to a minimum, I was informed every step of the way. Excellent. Would definitely recommend this company. Have had some very admiring feedback from. People passing the house and admiring the drive.
Christine, West Midlands07/12/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin and his team arrived on time every day. Worked hard, left everywhere clean and tidy. Men were all very professional and polite. Very helpful with our design ideas, very competitively priced, did a brilliant job which we are very pleased with. Totally transformed our front of house, would have no worries about recommending Kevin & Abbey Driveways.
Cheryl, West Midlands25/11/2016
Fantastic and would really recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial visit by Jake and his team, through to completion, the whole process of our new patio ran smoothly. We are delighted by the final result and can only compliment the whole team on their professional approach. Thank you
Q Ghfoor05/11/2016
Outstanding in every respect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Every aspect of the work was as we'd hoped with excellent communication along the way. Every phase of the job ran like clockwork led by Kevin, with a friendly team of highly competent workers who paid attention to the finest detail. Our driveway is amazing - exactly what we wanted. Many thanks to Kevin who managed every aspect of the project.
Elaine, West Midlands21/10/2016
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and the team have recently completed my new patio. It is so refreshing to find a trader who delivers on service, reliability and all at a fair price. Nothing was too much trouble from the initial quotation right through to completion of the job. I cannot recommend Abbey Driveways highly enough - give them a try, you will not be disappointed.
Rachel19/10/2016
Brilliant job first class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin and the lads at Abbey Driveways were brilliant from start to finish. We had a problem with a burst pipe which was Seven Trent's' fault and it had been leaking water in our driveway for months. Abbey Driveways totally transformed our swimming pool driveway into a work of art. We could not fault their great workmanship or work ethic. Superb job 10/10.
Roly, West Midlands28/09/2016
Complete transformation!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin was helpful and professional from the start to the finish of the job. He brought sample materials and kept in touch through the planning and ordering stages. The driveway looks fantastic and I am confident that it has been done to a really high standard.
Michelle, West Midlands22/09/2016
Second to none - brill
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed, recommend to anyone. No problems at all. From start to finish wonderful job - many thanks to the team.
Ron, West Midlands09/08/2016
Brilliant and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Every step of the way Kevin kept me informed of what was happening etc. All his workmen were polite and efficient and left no mess to clean up. I would definitely recommend them in the future. Very friendly and approachable.
Karen, West Midlands08/08/2016
Very satisfactory job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was carried out as promised at the times discussed and at a reasonable cost. All persons on the job worked well.
Gordon, West Midlands18/07/2016
A* Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We booked Abbey Driveways Ltd to do our driveway, and we are so delighted that we did. We have been really impressed by Kevin and the team by how professional they were, how prompt, how clean and how quick they are able to work. The materials they use are of such high quality and we could not recommend highly enough!
Louise12/06/2016
Delighted with my new drive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin and the team were fantastic. They turned up on or before time, lorries came and went like clockwork and I couldn't believe how hard they worked on three very hot days. Kevin kept me informed of what was happening, and checking with me that they were doing what I wanted. They've done a great job and I'm delighted with my new drive.
SueMelville10/06/2016
100% happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They turned up on time when they said they would and worked like Duracell bunnies the whole time and completed the work in no time at all. I am still shocked at how quickly they did the job and the end result wasn't compromised. It looks amazing we are really happy. Thanks Abbeydriveways for your superb service and workmanship. We would recommend them without a moments hesitation!
Kelley & John 01/06/2016
A quality job, professionally executed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I expected and received a high quality of workmanship from Jake and his team. They arrived on time, cheerfully undertook the particular details I wanted, worked quickly and efficiently and produced a first class result for a fair price. I would have no hesitation in recommending them or using them again.
John, West Midlands05/05/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional from start to finish, friendly and courteous team, clearly they took great pride in their work. 100%. Would recommend.
Linda, West Midlands23/04/2016
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake, Kevin and Team were fantastic from start to finish. On time, professional at all times, and all work carried out to a very high standard. Jake also made sure he called me each night to make sure all ok and what was happening next day.
Kevin, West Midlands08/04/2016
Fantastic after sales service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
18 months after my drive was laid we noticed a dip in one small area and we had a broken brick in a wall. We reported these to Abbey Driveways and they came out and made both repairs immediately without charge.
Alan, West Midlands03/04/2016
Super job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his team have done a fantastic job, we are very pleased.
Steve, West Midlands22/03/2016
Fantastic work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent job - completed to a high standard. Abbey Driveways are prompt, professional and reliable. I would recommend them without hesitation.
Michelle, West Midlands10/03/2016
Corisande Rd
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Many thanks to Jake and his team for an exceptional job . From helping provide samples , patiently discussing different designs through to sticking exactly to programme and providing a first class finished product , the service has been first class . Thanks again . Steve
StevenR21/02/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake & the team are very professional, prompt & polite, they have done an excellent job & they cleaned up every night.
Val, West Midlands01/02/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt, professional, & done a brilliant job. Jake & the team very polite & friendly.
Peter, West Midlands01/02/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really, really pleased with the professionalism, promptness and quality of work.
Jeffrey, West Midlands11/01/2016
Better Than What We Imagined
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had been planning to have a new drive and frontage for years. Jake came highly recommended from a member of the family. From our first meeting, we knew that we had found the right person. Professional from start to finish and all within the timescale advised. Would have no hesitation in recommending Abbey Driveways
Roger Shirley19/12/2015
I love my new drive!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his team are very professional, they communicated with us throughout the job, they arrived on schedule and worked hard for the duration of the job. I can't tell you how thrilled I am with our drive, and the customer service we received. We had it done two months ago and the quality is superb, I would highly recommend this company.
HappyCamper01/12/2015
Courteous and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team from Abbey Driveways were punctual, friendly and have definitely fulfilled their promise of a beautiful new private way at our property. Friendly and professional, their attention to detail is excellent highly, highly recommended!
Claire, West Midlands29/11/2015
First class.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional from start to finish. Everybody working for Jake were very courteous and efficient. Would not have the slightest hesitation in recommending Abbey Driveways.
Roger, West Midlands19/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Truly exceptional service
Ria, West Midlands08/10/2015
Great Drive, Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really impressed with Jake and his team at Abbey Driveways. We selected this company through a recommendation and we were glad we did. Drive looks excellent and communication throughout kept us informed every step of the way
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We can't praise Jake and his team highly enough for the Superb job of paving our very tired front garden. The earth moving lorry arrived at 7.10am and the team soon followed. The digger arrived soon thereafter and within an hour and a half the garden had been cleared and all the rubbish removed. From start to finish the whole operation was efficient and very well organised. It all went like clockwork. Jake also kept us involved at all times regarding the design. The times scale was down to as fine art. We also had favourable comments from the neighbours. It was a pleasure meeting them all and would have no hesitation in highly recommending Abbey Driveways.
Maurice, West Midlands25/09/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great work by Jake/Kevin and the boys. Lovely job. Very happy with end result.
Jean, West Midlands24/09/2015
Driving up standards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with the standard of workmanship & attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble & we were kept informed during every stage of the job. Appointments were kept punctually the standard of work was first class. No hesitation in recommending this trader to anyone else.
Alan, West Midlands13/08/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Re: Abbey Driveways (Bourneville) Ltd, I will certainly recommend Abbey Driveways (Bourneville) Ltd for the quick & professional work they carried out to my satisfaction.
Kenneth, West Midlands11/08/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Top class service. Ex workforce.
Michael David, West Midlands24/07/2015
Amazing job done by top class professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted Abbey Driveways (Jake) on recommendation. Jake was very professional and prompt to attend appointment for quotation, and had excellent ideas to transform my weed-ridden front garden into a wonderful maintenance free driveway. Date for works was agreed, samples provided. Workforce very polite and professional.
Kay, West Midlands28/05/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't express how professional the workmen carried out the work on my patio - driveway. Prompt at all times, I was most impressed with their dedication to their profession and I have no hesitation in recommending 'Abbey Driveways'.
Derek, West Midlands12/05/2015
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was carried out to a very high standard and with great care. I strongly recommend this trader.
Martyn, West Midlands30/04/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveways rebuilt and extended our patio. The work was of a very high standard and was excellently organised throughout. They Listened to and carried out all our requirements. Thoroughly recommended!
John, West Midlands28/04/2015
Excellent, prompt & very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a trader from yellow pages who failed to turn up on numerous occasions after they had dug up all my frontage. I saw this company Abbey Driveways (Bournville) LTD doing another job locally. They came and sorted me out. They did an excellent job & were fair priced. The men were courteous, very professional. I would not hesitate in recommending them and would use them again.
Mary, West Midlands01/04/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Abbey Driveways are an extremely professional company. They kept us well informed at all times. They called at the time they said they would. The job was done to a very high standard & the team were very polite & friendly.
Kenneth, West Midlands26/01/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did a fantastic job. All the lads were helpful and polite, everything went like clockwork and there was no mess or disruption of any sort. Jake was professional from start to finish.
Paul, West Midlands16/12/2014
Rarely been so impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose this business (via this site) after being unimpressed with the previous 3 contractors I had met. Jake immediately impressed with his professionalism, ideas and approach. The quote was not the cheapest but the overwhelming confidence I felt made it a quick decision for me to book him in for my driveway re-surfacing. They took all the hassle away from the pre-work (tree stump grinding) and rarely have I been so impressed with a team, who embodied efficiency, professionalism and respect. I could not be more satisfied with every aspect of the process, as the attention to detail and quality of workmanship is superb. On several occasions I changed my mind about the design, but there was no hint of frustration from Jake and the team . We discussed options together to find the best solution. I truly believe that their only concern was that I would be pleased with the end result. Customer satisfaction seems to be at the very core of the business model and this has been filtered down into each member of the team. Upon completion of the work, the road and my neighbours property were all thoroughly cleaned, and I was left with guidance on the care and maintenance of both the newly laid turf and the long term maintenance of the new driveway. I have been unbelievably impressed with the entire workforce and the transformation of my driveway in just a few short days. Not only would I not hesitate to recommend Abbey Driveways, but I will enthuse about them.
RachelW05/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his men have replaced my garden path with block paving and did an excellent job. My neighbour, seeing the quality of the work, asked Jake to replace a tarmac driveway with block paving and again this was done very well. I highly recommend Abbey Driveways.
swatson10/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his team have just completed work on both my driveway and fencing at the front and the patio at the back and I must say they've done a beautiful job. I was a little nervous about the access as they had to go through the house to get to the back garden, but there was very little disruption and they also actually finished early. A very well run job and very pleased with the results. Have pleasure in recommending.
Alex Oglesby09/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his team laid a block paved driveway and extended the drive at the same time. They were quick, efficient and kept us informed. We have had a number of people comment on the high quality of the drive and have recommended Abbey Driveways to a number of people. Jake also had some really ideas in terms of design.
chancenewt02/09/2014
Abbey Driveways brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his Team arrived at exactly the time they stated. Our old crazy paving was taken up and disposed of efficiently. A new wall was built which we are so pleased with as Jake did an excellent job of sourcing the bricks to match an existing wall. The block paving and new step are perfect, the whole job has been finished to a VERY high standard and the site was left clean and tidy at the end of each day. The whole team are courteous, professional and good value for money. Highly recommended.
CMR40005396526/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have to admit that I was apprehensive about having my driveway widened and updated! However, following several discussions with Jake, which included being given samples of suggested materials and tours of the local area to wiew examples of driveways, my concerns were abated. Abbey were not the cheapest quote - but they were the most realistic - in wiew of the work that was entailed. This included removing the old drive, removing existing walled areas to widen the drive, building retaining walls, block paving, fencing work and fitting a hand rail. The Team arrived promptly at 0745hrs each day (it was in December) and machines, lorries and deliveries came and went like clockwork. The Team weas hard working, professional, good humoured and tidy. Jake was in constant contact throughout - even on Sundays - to arrange the schedules and quality control the work. I am delighted with the completed job and have no hesitation in recommending Abbey Driveways.
petberjon09/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used this company after reading reviews here plus personal recommendation from a friend. So glad I did - the work (new block paved driveway) was carried out like a military operation with no mess and no disruption. Had several cheaper quotes but for this type of work I believe you get what you pay for and we were well pleased with the result. Have no hesitation in recommending
MaryJW28/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had several quotes for a new patio and relaying our block paved driveway including Abbey Driveways (on the basis of the Which-Local review). We chose Abbey partly on the basis of their competitive quote but particularly because Jake inspired us with confidence and gave us lots of good advice on the layout. His communication before during and after completion has been first class. The finished job was of a very high standard and we were consulted throughout on any queries. The work was completed swiftly and the workmen were a pleasure to have around. We are more than happy to recommend Jake and the company.
taylorknowle24/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Abbey Driveways on the strength of the reviews here, and were very happy with their work. They relaid our patio and reset the bricks on our garden path. Excellent communication from quote to completion, a competitive price, friendly workmen, good supervision from Jake, good relationships with local suppliers (Wythal Landscapes) and quick high quality work.
louisedickson1918/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This team is fabulous. A wonderful job, very professional, tidy and efficient. We lost our Internet service and Jake realised they had accidentally cut through a cable. Any one can make a mistake, but few tradesman would have so readily admitted it and offered to pay for rectifying the damage. In the event, there was no cost involved, Virgin came out and fixed it, but we admired their honesty and integrity. We would readily recommend Abbey Driveways.
Calpol31/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Employed Abbey Drives to replace existing tarmac drive. Provided no fuss consise quotation (other companies not so clear and chased to try and undertake work). Turned up promptly at agreed time and worked quickly and efficienty throughout. Team tidy and polite. Tarmac completed by 2nd team from Tar Drives, again efficiently, Jake from Abbey Drives supervising throughout the process. Highly recommended + minimum impact on the neighbourhood (did not annoy them as others tend to do to obtain more work)
tommy2402/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Since the drive and walling was done, several people have knocked our door to ask who did the work: It looks really good. The drive is mainly tarmac with a block paved area in front of the house and a separate block paved path accross the lawn with steps down through a a retaining block wall. Recomendations on the layout made by Abbey before and during the job contributed to a better appearance than we had originally envisaged. The work was done to a high standard, with a good depth of compacted roadstone and well rolled layers of tarmac for the drive.
cartwrir19/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jake and his team laid a new patio for me in july 2011.His quote was extremely competitive(even cheaper than the firm who offered a cheaper deal for cash so we don't need to involve the VAT man !!)and all work was carried out to an excellent standard, I was dreading the work being done since there was a lot of soil to move etc and it all had to come through the kitchen,i needn't have worried, there was no mess whatsoever.The team were efficient and prompt throughout,and several small extras were done at no extra cost I would'nt hesitate to recommend them.
kgt18/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I employed Abbey Driveways to remove a existing tarmac driveway and lawn, and lay a simple block paved drive, about 3 cars wide in total. Quote was competitive but sensible, and given in writing without fuss. The work was completed ahead of schedule, the quality was excellent and various finishing touches were completed without hint or request from myself. Throughout the works, Jake and his team were very polite, very efficient and left the area clean & tidy at the end of a shift. I manage construction projects for a living, so I know good work when I see it. I would thoroughly recommend Abbey driveways for this kind of work.
Mark Garner14/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Abbey around three years ago to lay a new block paved drive, having found them via a local consumer champion's radio programme (Ed Doolan). Theirs was easily the best quote, and Jake and his team did an excellent, professional job. Thoroughly recommended.
travisroberts13/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Driveway block paved. Excellent job, high quality workmanship and professional friendly workers. Very highly recommended.
Clive Moody03/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted this firm as a result of its two separate 5-star ratings in Which Local. Even though they are some 25 miles from my house they were prepared to visit, and then produced the best price out of four quotations. They started promptly on the agreed date and completed the job in less than the agreed time (four and a half days against five estimated). Throughout the week all four staff - including the boss, Jake Cockayne, who was on site most of the time - were polite and well-behaved. The work was impeccable, with great attention to detail, and numerous small extras were added, at no extra charge, to improve rainwater drainage. They are probably the best firm in the building trade I have ever employed.
mrs. Walker12/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very co-operative & skilful. Paved terrace.
Peter Lorton28/04/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took up and carted crazy paved and concrete area and laid ornamental slab patio
Peter Lorton21/02/2008