We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Advanced Vehicle Workshop

Profile thumb wtt profile picture

4.8

91 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:30
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

With 40 years experience AVW has a wealth of knowledge that can benefit you! We specialise in predominantly VW, Audi, Seat, Skoda, and Porsche (but can turn our hand to most vehicles!), allowing for an in-depth understanding of a wide range of technical issues. We have a team of well qualified approachable staff headed by the founder Tim Bartlett.

Motorhomes are also welcome! We have been fixing VW campers from the beginning and as our customer base has expanded to bigger more complex campers so have we. We are proud to offer a comprehensive motorhome service and repairs.

What we do

  • Garage related services

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • MOT testing stations
    • Wheel alignment
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Power transmission services
    • Battery servicing
  • Motor vehicle mechanics

    • Car and commercial vehicle repairs
  • More Services

    • vehicle service
    • electrics
    • diagnosics
    • engine
    • gearbox etc

Customer reviews

4.8
91 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.6
Sort by
Disgraceful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initially very helpful but this garage has now had my car for nearly 6 months. When I call, excuses range from that the person working on the car is ill, to that they have been too busy. Now they have started ignoring my emails and hanging up when I call. If you value your time please avoid, disgraceful service
DanJ58 Posted on 05/04/2017 , work completed 05/04/2017
The trader replied (on 13/04/2017)
We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the length of time we have had your car with us here at AVW and for what seems like a breakdown in communications. We understand that our loan car is no substitute for your own but hope that you appreciate the service we provide free of charge to keep you on the road whilst this situation persists. Having initially carried out diagnostic work to determine the issue we decided that the best option was to exchange the engine with VW. We advised you that although your vehicle was under warranty it was unlikely that they would pay for the new unit given the incomplete nature of your service record. However we continued with the work under your instruction. Thus, before the warranty company would entertain the idea of providing a new unit we needed to strip down the engine for further examination at a cost to yourself, of which an outstanding balance remains. Therefore without confirmation from the warranty company and no definitive means of payment, the considerable amount of work remaining was put on hold. We hope you understand our dilemma and moving forward we can reach a solution as quickly as possible. Regards, Tim.
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent & efficient service at A.V.W.
Eric, Gwynedd Posted on 13/03/2017 , work completed 13/03/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from Jimmy who put himself out to ensure my car battery was fixed and my car is fully functional.
Alison, Lincolnshire Posted on 14/01/2017 , work completed 14/01/2017
Professional, quality work, honest, friendly.
Second time I've taken my car to avw and it won't be the last. Excellent customer service, friendly staff, top quality workmanship & always prepared to go the extra mile. In a nutshell, best garage.
Stewie-g. Posted on 30/12/2016 (Reviewer did not use service)
very professional!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Looked up a garage on the website that was recommended by 'Which'. The reviews were excellent, so decided to use them. Have already recommended them to colleagues.
Shell, Gwynedd Posted on 21/11/2016 , work completed 21/11/2016
Honest, highly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have received excellent service over many years. AVW are professional but also open and communicative. They also give good advice on options, and repair rather than simply being fitters. A proper car repairer.
Simon, Gwynedd Posted on 07/10/2016 , work completed 07/10/2016
Repair of my VW Touran Fresh Air Fan
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fault developed on holiday, fixed and ready for collection within 24 hours so we could continue to enjoy our holiday. These people really know what they're doing and we found the cost very reasonable. Thanks to everyone involved. Highly recommended.
Roy, Birmingham Posted on 27/09/2016 , work completed 27/09/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brake calliper seized when on holiday, rang 8.30 am and was told to drop in that morning. Was given a lift in to town to spend time while job done then picked up when ready. Great service and as far as I can tell good workmanship. Very pleased.
Graham, County Durham Posted on 05/07/2016 , work completed 05/07/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good work. Very satisfied.
Jim, Gwynedd Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
Excellent throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
See above.
Ievan, Gwynedd Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016