We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Advanced Vehicle Workshop

Profile thumb wtt profile picture
4.8

93 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

With 45 years of experience, AVW has a wealth of knowledge that can benefit you! We have a team of well-qualified, longstanding, informative staff headed by the founder Tim Bartlett.

We specialize in VW, Audi, Seat, Skoda, and Porsche (but can turn our hand to most vehicles!), allowing for an in-depth understanding of a wide range of technical issues.

Motorhomes are also welcome! We have been fixing VW campers from the beginning and as our customer base has expanded to bigger more complex campers so have we!

We are proud of the service that we provide and the reputation we've built over the years. Contact us directly by calling or visit our website to find a booking/estimate form.

What we do

  • Garage related services

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • MOT testing stations
    • Wheel alignment
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Power transmission services
    • Battery servicing
  • Motor vehicle mechanics

    • Car and commercial vehicle repairs
  • More Services

    • vehicle service
    • electrics
    • diagnosics
    • engine
    • gearbox etc

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
93 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.6
Sort by
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class service was always. AVW always go the extra mile and are totally trustworthy.
David, Gwynedd Posted on 29/02/2016 , work completed 29/02/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional service at a reasonable price.
Haf, Gwynedd Posted on 23/02/2016 , work completed 23/02/2016
Well explained, well qualified
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having taken my car to AVW for many years now I cannot fault their service and attention to detail. Free courtesy car is always welcome as it keeps me mobile!
Ivan, Gwynedd Posted on 23/02/2016 , work completed 23/02/2016
Fantastic.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They went above and beyond what was required of them. Prompt and professional.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/02/2016 , work completed 22/02/2016
Car service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trustworthy service. Reliable and helpful customer service. You feel they are very honest and pay attention to detail.
Einir, Gwynedd Posted on 19/02/2016 , work completed 19/02/2016
Prompt & very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Van broke during a holiday, very helpful on the phone and fitted me in, no problems. Full description of what was done over phone and very reasonable pricing.
Alex, Cheshire Posted on 19/02/2016 , work completed 19/02/2016
Stay Well Clear
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having read the shinning reviews and believing the mechanic hand an intimate knowledge of the vehicle, I had taken my van in to have an informal inspection. (The Inspection failed to notice a key part of the suspension was severely compromised) But was recommended to have a new used engine installed.I agreed...Installation took significantly longer then quoted; this was considered during final billing.But poor quality of work meant Oil Leaks, coolant Leaks, overheating, clutch slip, cold starting issues... All of which meant multiple visits and more outlay. I feel have been very fair with these issues. Finally I had noticed a snapped bolt head (high tensile) had been left in the engine bay a few months after the install. If had paid more attention to this i probably would of noticed this came from the engine mount and the rest of the bolt was stick in the block, I probably would of also noticed the other bolts did not have any thread lock applied. Instead the engine fell out whilst driving.I will not be retiring to AVW, they are expensive, wasn’t amazed by customer service and ultimately very sloppy if not dangerous. 29/02/2016: I was invited back to AVW and was assured that issues that resulted from works completed have been treated very seriously. Issues are to be reviewed by all staff members in the monthly team brief to help move the business forward. Costs from resulting damages have been reclaimed despite falling outside of the warranty. Would like to thank AVW for dealing with the issues quickly and professionally.
J.K. Palmer Posted on 18/02/2016 , work completed 18/02/2016
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 29/02/2016)
19/02/2016: We are understandably concerned with the issued raised and are sincerely apologetic. We have begun to look into the matter and will do our up most to resolve the issue as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience. AVW 29/02/2016: Having contacted Mr. Palmer following his complaint regarding work performed on his vehicle in February 2015. It appears that on this occasion, our work was indeed not up to our usual high standards and have therefore compensated him for the cost of repairing the fault. We are grateful for online feedback and are aware that it may not always be positive. Furthermore it has been documented within our complaints procedure and will be discussed at our next staff meeting to aid ongoing quality improvements and ensure an instance such as this does not re-occur. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, AVW
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service in every way.
Pip, Gwynedd Posted on 12/02/2016 , work completed 12/02/2016
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out efficiently and all explained on collection of vehicle.
Iona, Gwynedd Posted on 11/02/2016 , work completed 11/02/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The garage owner picked my car up outside the house in the morning and delivered it, having completed the work, in the evening. I have always found them to provide an excellent and efficient professional service. Backed by knowledgeable and experienced staff in their field.
Alan, Gwynedd Posted on 08/02/2016 , work completed 08/02/2016