We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Alan Cook Removals & Storage

Profile thumb wp 20161123 09 13 50 pro  002
4.6

73 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–12:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

What makes our traders different?

Removals is an industry that Which? Trusted Traders has a strong focus on reducing consumer detriment in, due to the nature of it's work / audience of customers. Which? Trusted Traders carries out due diligence on all our endorsed businesses, and we want our consumers to continue to make the right choices about the companies they choose to carry out jobs, especially with removal businesses. We have a useful article to let you know exactly what you can expect from our traders, find it under the 'advice' section of our website. Did you know Which? Trusted Traders work with a number of competent persons schemes to help raise standards within the home improvement and motoring sectors. For more information please check out our relationships page.

About

Professional, friendly and experienced Removal Service,
Whether you are moving locally, or to the other end of the country, we can help with all aspects of your move - from a personalised Packing Service, Dismantling and reassembly of your larger items, to the Removal itself, we are here to help your move go smoothly.

Call us on 01508 520631, to speak to our friendly Team, and book a Quotation Appointment, to meet us and discuss your removal requirements.

Cotmer Storage Ltd T/A Alan Cook Removals & Storage

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
    • International removals
  • More Services

    • in house furniture moves collection delivery of items.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.6
73 reviews
Customer Service
4.6
Quality
4.6
Value
4.6
Sort by
Very courteous and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed with this company from start to finish, everyone I dealt with in the office were courteous and efficient, and even the removal guys themselves were extremely pleasant and dealt with our removal very quickly and efficiently. One of the nicest companies I've come across in a very long time.
Kim in Norfolk Posted on 03/05/2022 , work completed 21/03/2022
Exceptional service, professionalism and courtesy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sincere thanks to Alan Cook Removals for our house move in April 2022. All aspects of the service were outstanding from the initial contact by Keith (a veritable 'oasis of calm') who visited to quote for the move, to Ross in the office for his brilliant customer service, and to Adam and Callum - who did the hard work moving us - with a smile - on the day. Nothing was too much trouble, and any concerns, such as moving certain delicate items, to restricted vehicle access were listened and responded to positively without any hesitation, giving us complete faith in the quality and professionalism of the company. Alan Cook demonstrated exceptional service, professionalism and courtesy, and I would have absolutely no hesitation in using the company again and recommending to others.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 27/04/2022 , work completed 06/04/2022
Efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional and efficient service. The crew were pleasant, polite and friendly and handled our worldly goods with care. Excellent service and good value.
Sheila and Andy in Norfolk Posted on 02/04/2022 , work completed 16/03/2022
Simply outstanding service from beginning to end
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the survey, conducted by Andy, to the packing, by Terry, and the move, by Mark, Callum, Brad and Ollie, our experience was of outstanding service. As a military family we have moved all over the world, so have lots of experience of packers and movers, and this move, at our own expense, was the smoothest and best experience we’ve had. Clear communication from Holly in the office meant we knew who to expect, and when. The guys worked hard and were happy to help with little bits and pieces which needed a second set of hands. Plenty of banter helped the alleviate some of the stress. They prepped both houses with blankets and film to prevent damage to flooring and loading and unloading was seamless with everything going where it was supposed to. I would not hesitate to recommend the company to anyone asking for moving advice.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 24/03/2022 , work completed 22/03/2022
A Thoroughly Unpleasant Experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed this firm after obtaining estimates for removal and part-storage, as we moved temporarily into smaller accommodation. On the day of the storage removal, the crew decided they also wanted to take and pack our remaining furniture, regardless of the fact this was not due to happen until several days later. After several phone calls, they reluctantly agreed to do the work as planned, though the crew made it clear they were not happy. This was our first warning that things were unlikely to turn out well. A few days later we discovered we needed some tools out of storage - 'no problem' we were advised, so we arrived on the appointed day, to be told that the forklift driver was not available. It took two fifty mile round trips before we finally got these back. During the intervening period, we received several harassing phone calls demanding immediate card payment for storage charges - we pointed out that we had not received any invoice and paid immediately on receipt by BACS. This did not stop the calls, however. On arranging collection, the company demanded twice the amount shown on the estimate, saying they had made a 'mistake' on their pricing. When we refused to pay this amount, they stated they would retain our goods unless we paid it in full. Though they fully admitted their 'mistake', they were adamant it was us who had to pay for it! We found Cooks to be arrogant, deeply unpleasant and thoroughly unprofessional people, who we could not recommend to anybody.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 22/03/2022 , work completed 17/12/2021
Fantastic moving experience with helpful, friendly and dedicated staff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a great moving experience with Alan Cook Removals. From the initial survey when Keith was very knowledgeable and helpful passing on a lot of additional useful information, to calls with the office to get removals booked even as our dates kept moving, to a great 3 days with Chris and Olly who got us moved. They both delivered exactly as promised, taking great care of our belongings to get them from A to B safe and sound and whilst doing so were friendly, kind and helpful. It was the best part of the (overall very stressful) moving experience by far so hope they move into Estate Agents and Conveyancing soon...! Would highly recommend and I congratulate them on the service they offer. Matt
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 02/12/2021 , work completed 26/11/2021
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cooks were brilliant from start to finish. All staff were friendly helpful and efficient. I can't thank them enough for taking such good care of our furniture, in store and on delivery. Well done to you all.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 27/10/2021 , work completed 01/10/2021
House Sale Removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service that I received from Alan Cook Removals and Storage was seamless and stress free. I had a survey done a few weeks before I was due to move and was given clear information about how the packing and move would be carried out. The packer arrived the day before the move and wrapped the paintings, breakables and small items and a small team arrived on the move day and worked quietly and systematically through the house. Quite painless, all I had to do was make cups of tea. They did exactly what they said they would do and were pleasant and courteous throughout. My belongings have been taken to storage whilst I look for a new home and I look forward to seeing the chaps again with my boxes and furniture in due course. Definitely recommend this company to anyone moving in the future.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 24/10/2021 , work completed 07/10/2021
Hard working, nothing too much trouble.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although we moved about 3 months ago now, I promised to leave a review. We were moving from Hampshire to Norfolk, we have a lot of 'stuff' 23 years of too much stuff, however, Paul and Jay took it all in their stride, they were severely undermanned for this job, probably due to the stamp duty deadline and so many people needing to move before the end of the month which was the following day. It was a two-day move due to the distances involved, they worked tirelessly very late into the evening, emptying the garden contents after what was already a very long day emptying most of the house. We had some very large potted plants but they just got on with it and got them onto the lorry, how I don't know, but everything survived. The following day final bits like our bed etc. were cleared then the long drive to Norfolk, at the other end another late finish to get unpacked, some extra local guys were available to assist them this time, nobody moaned they just got on with it a very relaxed atmosphere, which is what we needed as everybody was tired. Moving is very very stressful especially this one as it was up to wire as too if it was even going to get over the line in time, but Paul and Jay, kept us all calm, with their polite manner and just got on with it, they worked incredibly hard. I would definately recommend Alan Cook Removals and sing high praise to Paul and Jay.
Paul in Norfolk Posted on 27/09/2021 , work completed 29/06/2021
A house move involving 2 part-loads to 2 different destinations.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Todd Jone of AJCook Removals is a manager with a fully operational brain. Whereas other Trusted Traders quoted £2500 for this move, AJCook wanted less than half that because Todd saw it could be achieved in two-part loads - and achieved it was without a hitch. The guys involved were friendly, helpful and efficient. They treated the delivery as if we were their sole clients and put everything in the place we elderly folk designated. Our furniture was handled with care and the entire operation was faultless. When booking we were told ' Now you can put your feet up and let the guys do the work' - they were absolutely right.
Customer in Essex Posted on 15/09/2021 , work completed 15/09/2021
Thank you Alan Cook for a fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot thank you enough for the great service we received from you and your staff during our recent move from Grantham to Lowestoft. Your men arrived punctually and were cheerful in spite of the early hours of the morning. Smartly turned out and polite, they worked quickly and carefully and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. I can't praise them enough. We have moved several times over the years and never have we had such an efficient service. You should be rightly proud of yourselves. We can truthfully recommend you. Not one item was damaged or missing as has happened to us in the past. The young men deserve the highest praise and were a credit to you! The first time a move has been so stress-free.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 08/09/2021 , work completed 27/08/2021
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were extremely pleased with the service provided by Alan Cook Removals and Storage. Our move couldn't have gone better. The crew members were helpful, professional and very hard-working. Our move to a different part of the country went very smoothly and was stress-free, thanks to the crew. We had originally planned to do the packing ourselves but last minute, due to medical reasons, we were unable to do so. The company immediately provided the full packing service. It was also a pleasure to deal with the office staff. The various services they offered were clearly explained. Additionally, our initial removal date had to be changed last minute, and we were immediately provided with an alternative date.
(your username) Posted on 04/09/2021 , work completed 17/08/2021
Moving made stress free
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were packed and ready to go on the moving date. The team of five were brilliant and so good with three inquisitive terriers. It could have been stressful for them but Kevin found treats and they won't forget that in a hurry. The poor team had loads of pots and garden statues but soldiered on regardless I apologise for that and also my vast extensive wardrobe. Promise I have sent loads to the charity shop a lesson is don't dispose of until in new home as much more will go.
Julie in Suffolk Posted on 02/09/2021 , work completed 24/08/2021
No stars, do not use their insurance - Any damage to your belongings will be assessed by how much you could sell your items on Ebay without delivery!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our most recent experience with Alan Cook Storage in Lowestoft, which was an 'accessible' storage unit was distressing, frustrating and never to be repeated! We had the majority of our furniture in store with them for almost 5 years. But around 18 months to 2 years ago, we added a Sofa bed which was approx 9 months old and a couple of Ikea tables. We were in 3 Storage units inside the building, and, they kept asking would we consider moving into a 'Container' outside. As we knew our build project was nearing the end, we agreed to them moving us into the container, but I was present when this took place. Immediately we all noticed that the Sofa Bed had been damaged by Vermin and the then Manager, took photos and suggested waiting until the furniture was delivered to us before making an Insurance Claim, as there may be other things to claim for. When we went into store, we were given the opportunity of paying an additional £20 per month on top of our storage costs to cover 'all eventualities' which we did....so, over the storage period we paid in excess of £1000 for additional insurance over and above their included insurance. When the furniture was delivered recently. we made the Claim for the £495 Ikea Sofa Bed, which is what it would cost us to replace it 'like for like' which is what they state. I was told that the Claim had been rejected because Vermin damage was excluded from the Policy!! Then, much toing and froing, the Insurance Company said they would offer £200! AVOID
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 17/08/2021 , work completed 26/05/2021
Great work in difficult conditions
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Impressions from the initial survey visit were very positive; professional, experienced, understanding the human side of moving house. Comms with the office (Xavier and Todd) were again very professional and helpful. In advance of the move, ample cardboard boxes, tape and wrapping paper were provided. The boxes are all recycled which I think most people would see as a plus these days. On the removal day, we had three small lorries, due to limited access at our new home. The crew was Olly, Dan and Dan. They were very cheerful and efficient and got everything loaded with no problems, including dozens of outdoor plant pots with plants of all sizes, some rather prickly (sorry!). At our new home, they offloaded everything safely and efficiently, despite having to deliver most items of furniture up an exterior staircase in monsoon rain conditions. By the end the guys were soaked to the skin but they remained cheerful and professional. Our overall impression is that this is the best kind of family business, where personal service and customer satisfaction are really important. We are very happy with the experience and would recommend Cooks Removals unreservedly.
Paul in Suffolk Posted on 20/07/2021 , work completed 08/07/2021
Complicated Move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan Cook assisted us in moving the contents of our late mothers' house to several different locations. It was a complicated move, we colour coded all the items and when the items were collected from the house the lads knew exactly what to do. The lads were clean, friendly and professional adhering to all the covid regulations at the time of the move. Thank you to all the team, including all the office team and background staff.
Customer in Southend-on-Sea Posted on 17/07/2021 , work completed 15/07/2021
Long distance move mad easy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan Cook Removals did a great job packing and moving our belongings out of the house we had owned for 20 years into storage for a couple of weeks and then transporting everything from Suffolk to Scotland. All the staff worked tirelessly and with good humour, even unloading some of it when they arrived at our new house at 7.30pm after a long journey. Administration was also excellent with all our questions and changes dealt with pleasantly and efficiently. Thank you for making our move easy.
Anne in Suffolk Posted on 07/07/2021 , work completed 10/06/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were so pleased that we chose to use Alan Cook Removals for the packing and removal of our belongings into storage. They honoured their quotation and were really helpful all the way through the difficult times that moving brings. The packers were efficient and respectful of our belongings. The removal guys were similarly helpful and friendly and respectful and they all worked really hard. We were so comforted to have such a thorough and knowledgeable team to take care of all our belongings. We look forward to using them later when we have all our belongings moved down to the West Country.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 29/06/2021 , work completed 03/06/2021
The got the job done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had several heavy items of furniture and more than a dozen very heavy boxes and several bags and crates to be moved, removing me from Norwich to Swaffham. The team arrived very promptly and set to the task at once, ensuring that all items to be moved arrived safely at my new home; they were very helpful in ensuring that items were placed as I wished. I had suggested at Cavendish Court how they may negotiate the building to best advantage when moving items, especially furniture, but the team were determined on their own approach. I believe that the manager of Cavendish Court had lodged a complaint with Alan Cook with regard to the team's attitude, which I can only remark that while that may have been her experience it was not mine. The team worked very hard and fulfilled all that I required of them.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 15/06/2021 , work completed 03/06/2021
Professional and very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would 100% recommend Alan Cook removals. Both of the guys we so professional and helpful. They moved us with ease and in a really quick time frame. Nothing was too much, they would assist with wrapping any loose items, covering and taking care of larger and valuable items. They made sure they put everything in the correct room once we were in the new property. Excellent all round and will definitely use again for any future removals 5*****
Ellie in Norfolk Posted on 07/06/2021 , work completed 28/05/2021
Alan Cook home removals excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an extremely positive experience choosing Alan Cook removals for our recent home move. They were very professional from the outset. The quote estimate was within our expected range, we hired boxes and were always dealt with professionally and politely. Three guys moved us from a large 4 bed house with 3 vans, all of which were filled. The calmness and assuredness of the staff certainly took a lot of the stress away from what can be a very stressful day. Everything ran like clockwork in no small part down to the removals team who had us fully installed in our new home by mid-afternoon. I would highly recommend this company.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 04/06/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked for the quotation and from then onwards received excellent customer care. I was kept informed and given good advice before the actual move. On the day of my move the men were on time and set about the task with a cheerful willingness which impressed my son and daughter as well as me. Every care was taken with my belongings and, because it was during a national COVID lockdown, of my family and me too. They took a lot of strain out of a very stressful day and with their never failing sense of humour the whole operation was made so much easier. When they reached my new property they were faced with a very difficult situation caused by the seller before I arrived. They deal with this with tact and in a professional manner while they waited for me to arrive. Overall I have nothing but praise for everyone involved, be they administration or the men on the day.
Grace in Norfolk Posted on 04/05/2021 , work completed 29/03/2021
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Another great service from Alan Cook! We were moved into the store by Alan Cook and could not fault the service. The team were polite, efficient and made the process stress free. We always recommend Alan Cook to our friends and family and look forward to using their services again in the future!
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 17/04/2021 , work completed 08/04/2021
Efficient removals service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The removal team (2) arrived promptly at 8.30 and loaded our belongings (we had used our own boxes) efficiently and with care. By mid morning they were packed up ready to go and arrived at our new house before noon. The unloading was even more quick as the team were joined by 4 others (who were awaiting access to another house where a delivery was scheduled). By 2pm everything was unloaded, in the right rooms and set up. We could not have asked for better service from a good humoured and friendly team. We would recommend Alan Cook Removals.
Christopher in Norfolk Posted on 13/04/2021 , work completed 29/03/2021
Excellent removal company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had excellent service from Alan Cook removals who packed and moved our belongings to Somerset earlier this year. Everything was done on time and as promised. The staff were efficient, hard-working friendly and courteous and I would highly recommend them.
Helen in East Suffolk Posted on 07/04/2021 , work completed 09/02/2021
Alan Cook House Removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish a thoroughly professional job. Admin staff were polite and informative, with regular updates about availability during the final days of setting a completion date. Martin and his team were remarkably efficient and professional, and even made us a cup of tea until we found the kettle! Good humoured and polite, they made the day as stress free as it possibly could be. Excellent!
Customer in Shropshire Posted on 03/03/2021 , work completed 23/02/2021
Removals from Suffolk to South Wales
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cooks (Britannia) moved us from Suffolk to Bury St Edmunds, in dreadful weather in early February. The guys were fantastic and worked like careful Trojans. They were cheerful and professional and were really good at checking with us about what we wanted every step of the way. No problems at all.
Customer in Bridgend County Borough Posted on 25/02/2021 , work completed 10/02/2021
First Class Service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a removal firm at quite short notice and because of the number of completions taking place we struggled to find someone on the day we needed. Luckily for us Alan Cook Removals had a vacancy. From the on site survey to the move itself, everything about them was first class. Quick to respond to emails, polite and friendly staff and a very competitive price. I cannot fault them!
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 10/02/2021 , work completed 01/02/2021
Removers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moving house is very stressful and the three young men we had to move us were very efficient and cheerful. They made our day less stressful. Thank you Alan Cook Removers.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 03/02/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
Be Warned - Look Elsewhere.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had the misfortune of asking Alan Cook Removals to carry out our recent move and how we rue that day. One broken promise after another from staff who were totally unprofessional, rude, arrogant and just don't seem to care. Eventually, we reluctantly ended up having to agree to them picking our furniture up one day earlier than planned, taking it into storage and then delivering it to our new address some days later, (although not on the day they had initially agreed). They seemed to think that they were doing me a big favour by not charging for the weeks storage, big wow! What about the other £750+ I had to shell out due to the fact that everything had to be put into storage and then be brought out again. Their attitude of 'If you don't like it then find someone else to move it' was thrown down like a gauntlet and I just wish that time had permitted me to do just that. The chief villains - Jamie, Russ or Ross, Liz and Todd. The Good guys - The team of three hard working lads who packed up our belongings, two of whom (Chris and Kieran) also delivered them to our new address just as the snow started to fall. To them I say a big thank you. Don't say you haven't been warned! Do yourselves a favour and look elsewhere.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 28/01/2021 , work completed 20/01/2021
Excellent removals service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked this removal company after getting the standard number of quotes and using a comparison site. They moved me from my 4 bed detached to a smaller property just around the corner. This company stood out because they took the trouble to visit my property to properly assess what was required. Everything was explained in a professional and friendly manner and I felt properly looked after throughout the whole process - from the initial visit to the final box being offloaded. The two young men on the day were very accommodating despite the terrible weather. Everyone I had contact with within the company were excellent and I thoroughly recommend them.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 26/01/2021 , work completed 05/01/2021
Alan Cook Removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend this company to any people looking for a removal company. They went out of there way to get us in before Christmas despite being fully booked, and their crew were excellent, they put down carpet protection in both houses, and nothing was too much trouble. They were helpful and friendly, and speedy. Very good value and excellent service, I couldn't ask for more.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 06/01/2021 , work completed 11/12/2020
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't recommend Alan Cook Removals highly enough. From the first quotation to the packing and moving over two days they handled my move cheerfully, helpfully and with expertise. When I got part way through unpacking, gasping for a cup of tea, I found they had actually packed the kettle, two mugs and the tea together in the same box - how's that for service! I will definitely use them again.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 22/12/2020 , work completed 16/12/2020
Fantastic end to end service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The process from quote to move was clear, friendly and professional. The administration and customer service over the phone was reassuring and helpful at a very stressful time. On the moving days ( we had a 2 day move) the guys were friendly, respectful and worked so hard. We used Alan Cook 11.5 years ago when we last moved and they were as good then as this time. I would have no hesitation to highly recommend.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 19/12/2020 , work completed 17/12/2020
Careful, thorough and very friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have moved quite a few times over the years and have used many removals companies. This time we chose Alan Cook, and we found them to be far, far better than anyone we have used before. Before we moved they took care to prepare a detailed appraisal of our requirements. This ensured they had enough van space and enough manpower to do the job properly. Getting a firm moving date was a nightmare, but the admin team were really understanding and caring as they cancelled each provisional booking and penciled us in for another one, keeping us informed about availability and so on. The team that move us were fantastic. They were very friendly, hard working and took real care of our property. They completed the load on time at 12:00 noon, and made sure that, when they unloaded, everything was in the right place, beds were assembled and so on. Their service was remarkable. But so was the price, they actually quoted the lowest price of the three companies who quoted. It is now 2 weeks since we moved and we are almost straight. Thank you Alan Cook for brilliant service and brilliant value, You have to be the very best I have ever used. I wish I had discovered you 40 years ago.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 03/12/2020
Excellent House Move Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Alan Cook Removals & Storage for our mum’s house move and contents into storage. The service from quotation stage to the move itself was excellent. The team are friendly, helpful with any queries we had and on the day, the removal guys were prompt, professional and made our mum at ease with the whole process. We’d highly recommend their services.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 12/12/2020
Great team!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two great hardworking employees had the house empty in two hours, caring and kind. Good off load, very careful and helpful Great company highly recommended good value for money too!
Customer in Lincolnshire Posted on 14/12/2020 , work completed 11/12/2020
Stressful Long Distance Move made Easier
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We sold 2 houses and bought our new home in the middle of a pandemic so you can imagine the additional stresses moving from North Norfolk to Dorset brought with it. Martin Driver/Loader and his mate arrived bang on time at 7:30 am, loaded and left Norfolk by 10:30am down to Dorset and all unloaded by 10:30pm the same day. Cannot praise the guys efforts enough, nothing too much trouble. We’re glad to be in our new home and delighted with the whole professional service provided by Alan Cook Removals. From the initial competitive quotation, through to the return of the wardrobe boxes deposit, every aspect bang on. Thank You.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 27/11/2020 , work completed 23/11/2020
Efficient removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The removal team from Alan Cook were brilliant from the initial point of contact to the final collection of boxes after our move. Everyone we had contact with was friendly and helpful. The day we moved we had terrible weather....it rained constantly but none of the team grumbled, they just got on with the job very efficiently. When the furniture was moved into our new house they assembled the beds and arranged the furniture in the lounge so that we had somewhere to sit and relax that evening. I highly recommend them as a removal firm!
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 22/11/2020 , work completed 21/10/2020
Great removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The removal men were great! They were careful with my stuff, cheerful, polite ,quick and nothing was too much trouble for them. They made what could have been a very stressful experience a very pleasant experience. Thank you
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 19/11/2020 , work completed 16/11/2020
Efficient and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Britannia Cooks did a three-day move for us. Throughout the process they have all been friendly and helpful, from the initial visit for a quote to offering advice on how to pack certain items over the phone. The people doing the actual moving did so quickly while still being careful with all our belongings and keeping the house clean. They turned up at the expected time on each of the three days, and finished in good time each day as well. They went out of their way to make the stress of moving as calm and stress-free as it could be. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone moving!
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 10/11/2020 , work completed 23/10/2020
My stressful home move made easy with Cooks removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having not moved home in 17 years I was not looking forward to what can be a very stressful time. I had booked packers to come in which relieved a lot of pressure. This service was well worth the extra cost as all was wrapped and packed very efficiently with not a single thing broken in the move. When the moving day came the two removal men arrived promptly and efficiently started to move the contents of my home. I had lived here for a long time and it was quite emotional but the men were so kind and understanding. During the move I was given a courtesy call from the office to check progress and cannot fault the staff in the office who arranged the move from the man that came to assess the move and what was required to the call handler. Every member of staff were polite and friendly. I would highly recommend the service.
Sylvia in Norfolk Posted on 06/11/2020 , work completed 30/10/2020
Very efficient house move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a family we were impressed by the efficiency with which the house move was completed, particularly as it spanned 2 days, being a move of over 100 miles. The staff were very approachable and responsive to our needs, meaning that we could stay the last night in our home with necessary appliances still there while the bulk of items were already packed into the lorry. The removal lorry reached our new address in good time with the result that it was fully unloaded by 3.15pm. In doing this the staff accommodated a cleaning company being in our new home at the same time. It was a most satisfactory return to Norfolk!
Martin in Norfolk Posted on 02/11/2020 , work completed 30/09/2020
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really good service from start to finish. Starting with the video survey, very accurate estimation of how many boxes we would need. Prompt arrival on moving day and really efficient and careful movers, mindful of Covid precautions. Picked up boxes shortly after and we got full refund on box deposit. Very pleased with the service and good communication at all stages.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 30/10/2020 , work completed 02/10/2020
Fantastic service as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a struggle to exchange contracts, it all went mad in the last few days. Todd at Alan Cooke worked his magic and organised us removals with four days notice. The guys arrived at 8 am, packed everything with care and finished with just as much care as they started Couldn't recommend them more.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 20/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
Unfortunately would not recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Alan Cook removals to remove our furniture whilst we had some work done on our property. We have used them in the past and have had no hesitation in recommending them in the past. The pick up and storage was fantastic but unfortunately the delivery back into the property was a totally different service. One of the chaps wasn’t happy it was a 3 storey property and the whole job was rushed taking an hour off the original pick up. This resulted in a door frame being badly damaged when the individual was trying to jam the sofa through the lounge door in the incorrect position as soon as he turned it around it wasn’t a problem, walls and ceiling scraped that had been freshly painted. I have completed the customer service form and they haven’t even had the decency to contact me to discuss coming to rectify the damage. I will certainly not be recommending this company again.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 14/10/2020 , work completed 08/10/2020
Outstanding removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have never written a review before - but am doing so only because our move was made to go so well. Everything was performed calmly and patiently always asking us what we wanted; therefore no damage to property or goods and they reduced the stress to us and this was despite a drive of 125 miles from Wymondham to Amersham and unloading in torrential rain. Boxes and tape were provided, including wardrobe boxes, at no extra cost, in good time for us to pack everything and label it. Well done and thank you.
Mike & Saida Posted on 16/09/2020 , work completed 27/08/2020
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was completed on time, no breakages, they also helped put together furniture, it was nice to have happy and helpful people doing this. I have recommended them to friends and they have used this company and have said such a reliable company and nice people to deal with.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 27/08/2020 , work completed 20/08/2020
From Suffolk to Scotland
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service all round. Delivery of boxes before move. Wrapped all huge mirrors and mirrored furniture. Covered my mattress and took down my ottoman bed and rebuilt the other end. They were careful helpful organized on time.the two guys were lovely.would i use them again deffently. Would i recommend them deffently. Job well done .
Customer in Highland Council Posted on 26/08/2020 , work completed 20/08/2020
Move of business premises
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can certainly recommend Alan Cook removals. This wasn't the easiest of moves especially as the new premises has no lift which made the transporting of heavy filing cabinets very challenging. All the crew were helpful, accommodating and cheerful. The move was certainly less stressful because of their professionalism.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 20/08/2020 , work completed 18/08/2020
Great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our move was carried out in a swift and professional manner. The staff were great, polite and courteous at all times and took great care with our furniture.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 10/08/2020 , work completed 07/08/2020
Stress free removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan Cook Removals recently moved us from Suffolk to Aberdeenshire. All of the contact we had with the staff was very positive. The removal team were extremely courteous and very hard working. This was a big move for us and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it all was in the end mainly due to the removal company who provided us with full packing service and even moved my car for me. I would have no hesitation in recommending them to family and friends and I can be very fussy.
Customer in Aberdeenshire Posted on 07/08/2020 , work completed 23/07/2020
First Rate Removals Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I’m not one for putting pen to paper; however, sometimes in life a service provider does exactly what they say they will do and to be honest Alan Cook Removals company exceeded our expectations. Firstly, when our pre-move survey was conducted it was done in a professional but friendly manner, the guy had what I would classify as being real charisma and to be fair the price that was quoted was great too. On the day of our move, Jamie and his crew arrived bang on time and they introduced themselves to us and conducted a tour of the house so that we could explain what was what. Coverings were placed on the floors and stairs and they were all very thoughtful and careful with our possessions. Glass shelves and glass tops were all packed safely away and everything that needed to be protected/covered was done without any fuss. The guys worked extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble and we even shared a few jokes and had a laugh with one another. To be perfectly frank, I can’t praise this firm enough they were absolutely first class and my wife and I highly recommend this removals firm to anyone. Jeff and Carol, Bacton, Norfolk to Worlingworth, Suffolk
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 29/07/2020
Helpful and thorough removals firm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan Cook Removals packed and moved us from a 5 bed house to a 4 bed house (plus nearby storage). They were helpful, friendly and professional from the moment we called for a free quote, to the check-in call a few days before the move, to the move itself. They were careful to listen to what we needed and always asked for clarification if needed. Whenever we asked for help with something the crew were kind and courteous. The move days were so smooth and basically easy - almost entirely thanks to their stress-free, professional and friendly approach to the move.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 20/07/2020 , work completed 22/06/2020
Good Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time, 2 polite workers, nothing was too much trouble. Took the time to remove all furniture and help me pack up a few items. I have in the past recommended them to friends who have also used them, all very pleased.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 16/07/2020 , work completed 13/07/2020
Honest, hardworking and kind.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The price was fair and reflected the standard of work. Excellent communication in particular during the lockdown was invaluable with the changing conditions. The day arrived and they promptly worked very hard moving our home out smoothly and without breaking and bashing. Hitch off waiting for keys at the destination was patiently dealt with. Masks were tolerated despite the two flights of stairs they kept to the request from the manager, not me by the way, to wear them at all times despite being out of breath and very hot! In particular they were very kind during a personal incident, remained calm, understanding and professional. I'd recommend this company to my own family, I've no complaints and that's a first of nine or more previous moves.
Customer in Essex Posted on 04/06/2020 , work completed 14/05/2020
Excellent Service throughout.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan Cooks provided an Excellent service in what were exceptional circumstances. Due to the pandemic lockdown and the need for 2 days to complete our house move because of the distance, our furniture was collected but could not be delivered until restrictions were lifted. During this time our furniture was safely stored even our pot plants were watered. We were kept fully informed and had our furniture delivered as soon as it was safe to do so. The staff were all friendly while being professional. Great service.
Customer in Torbay Posted on 04/06/2020 , work completed 26/05/2020
House move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was my second house move with Alan Cook Removals. I did not hesitate in booking them again as I find them to be a totally professional company. The quote I was given was the most competitive and that was the price I paid. Boxes etc. were delivered to help with the move a few weeks in advance. On the actual day of moving the lads turned up on time, were a pleasure to be around and did not stop all day. All my belongings arrived at the new property in first class condition and were carefully placed where I requested. I would certainly recommend Alan Cook Removals to anybody and will definitely use their services again if I ever have to move house again!
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 11/03/2020 , work completed 17/02/2020
Excellent Removals Firm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having recently moved house which by definition is a very stressful time, our move was made so much better by the very professional and friendly staff of Alan Cook Removals. We used Alan Cook after a recommendation from a friend. From the first visit to give us a quote, to the actual end of the move, I have nothing but praise. The removals team on the day of the move were all very courteous and friendly and were extremely careful with all our possessions both in loading to the unloading and placing the belongings in all the right rooms at our new home. Thank you Alan Cook Removals and all your staff you are a credit to the industry. Highly Recommended.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 10/03/2020 , work completed 24/02/2020
Dire Service from Start to Finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company moved us from France and had our possessions in store for 12 months at quite a cost per month. We never received an inventory as we were promised either. After we instructed them to remove our things from store to our new house we found many missing items some of which held great sentimental value, and were irreplaceable. They had not stacked or stored things properly and some of the fragile pack had been poorly done. On the initial move they were 9 hours late in arriving at our French home and we got no info from them as to what was going on. They have finally offered us some compensation but it does not cover the cost of replacing the lost and broken items. All in all an experience which was most upsetting. These people are supposedly Which? Trusted Traders! That was why we had selected them in the first place. We have since found even more missing and broken. All in all they had over £10,000 from us for the two moves and storage. An appalling service not to be recommended.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 04/12/2019 , work completed 25/10/2019
The trader replied (on 11/12/2019)
We understand that things did not go to plan for you relocation, and when you returned to the UK we dealt with those issues and rectified the problems at that time. Upon delivery of your goods from storage we also dealt with you on a personal one-to-one level to offer yet more compensation which was over and above what the Insurers would have settled at, to which you were completely satisfied with and accepted. On this occasion we didn't get things right, which is not our usual standard, but we dealt and rectified those issues in a professional and personal level. This review is not true to the service you received, nor does it highlight the way in which we dealt with your issues once we were made aware of things not going to plan. We move over 1500 customers each year, and to have very few issues across those moves is a credit to our standards and professionalism.
Professional, courteous and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Alan Cook to move two van loads to our new home. They were on time, quick and efficient. The move went without a hitch, with no damage to the furniture or the walls! Throughout the day they were courteous and hard working- job done by 3pm. Having moved several times over the last few years we found them by far and away the best removal guys. Would recommend them wholeheartedly- a very professional outfit.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 14/07/2019 , work completed 05/07/2019
Care with storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used this company to put two loads into storage - the first for one year and the second for 2 months. Whilst packing the second load the men rushed and left behind our canteen of cutlery and some boxes, which happily were looked after by relatives. When the load was returned to us a few items were missing, and still are, namely a large 3ft x 4ft ornate mirror, a heat mat sideboard protector, a kick-along hop up and a box of fabrics containing discontinued curtain hooks which I need. Some small items have been broken. I was given a smaller mirror along with some cds, which I returned as they were not mine. I have been chasing these items since July but with no luck. I have been offered £100 goodwill compensation, which I have refused. How can you lose a mirror of that size? I was never given an inventory for either load. If putting items into storage make a record of every item and get it signed for. Hopefully you will not have the same experience as me.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 22/06/2019 , work completed 26/11/2018
Brilliant Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our team from Alan Cooke were brilliant. From the friendly competitive quote and the men on the removal day. They made what was seeming like a stressful day to a very easy and relaxing day. The team were extremely professional and very funny. They put us at ease and nothing was too much trouble. all I had to do was make the tea :-) I would recommend Alan Cooke to anyone. Thanks again and hopefully we will get your boxes back to you soon!!
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 18/06/2019 , work completed 31/05/2019
Outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My daughter engaged the company to move furniture from the family home to her new house. We cannnot praise the team highly enough, the two young men who carried out the work were great, they were polite, careful, hard working and excellent in every way. We would not hesitate to recommend Cooks and will definitely use them again.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 15/06/2019 , work completed 14/06/2019
Excellent Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Alan Cook Removals recently and could not praise them enough. The estimator Keith and the removal team Reggie and Jamie were extremely professional and nothing was too much trouble or effort for them. On the day they worked so hard from start to finish and they made a stressful experience of moving house into an easy one. Would definitely recommend!
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 05/06/2019 , work completed 25/04/2019
Made amends for mistakes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I entered a review of this company complaining of the poor admin and communication. I have to say since then the company has made a goodwill gesture to try to offset the stress we were caused. I feel that in light of this I can up rate their service to an extra star. The admin has now I trust been rectified and the communication problems I experienced been addressed. The actual removal itself was superb and I feel certain that the company will not allow the situation I experienced to be repeated.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 19/12/2018 , work completed 23/10/2018
Best in East Anglia
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic is all I can say. Fantastic, great, very good.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 19/12/2018 , work completed 18/12/2018
Lousy Admin and communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We hired this firm to move us from France to the UK. The van was over 6 hours late arriving and despite ringing their office several times to see why we were given no information by the office. The office staff were at times rude and impatient. When eventually the moving team arrived they worked tirelessly and had a friendly disposition. Due to the poor communication from the office staff we had a lot of needless stress. We were told that they would give us a discount due to the problems the delay caused us. Three weeks later we have heard nothing
Harnser48 Posted on 13/11/2018 , work completed 13/11/2018
brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just wanted to drop you a quick line to say what a brilliant job you all did it the removal of my parents home. From your prompt and professional response and organisation, to Keith and his spot on assessment, finishing with the wonderful removal guys themselves. If I ever need to recommend a removal company to anyone you will be first on my list. Thank you for making a very difficult time for me and my family so stress free.
Sam Posted on 12/04/2017 , work completed 12/04/2017
Very Professional and Friendly Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a one day move from Norfolk to Derbyshire. Andy visited and quoted in a professional and friendly manner. This was replicated by the office and the removal staff on the day. We had an early start and a late finish and the whole hassle of moving was minimized. I do not usually write reviews but feel I ought to share our experience with others. Bryn Derbyshire
Bryn G Posted on 09/01/2017 , work completed 09/01/2017
Excellent home removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home removal
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/11/2016 , work completed 03/11/2016
Reduce the stress of moving
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of household goods from a 3 story townhouse to detached bungalow plus packing of breakables.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/09/2016 , work completed 09/09/2016
Friendly and approachable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used for dismantelling of beds and wardrobes - put back together at other end , plus general removal. They worked cleanly and tidily
Christine, Suffolk Posted on 01/04/2015 , work completed 01/04/2015