We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Alexandra Locksmiths

Profile thumb image

4.9

32 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–22:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–22:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–22:00
  • Thursday 08:00–22:00
  • Friday 08:00–22:00
  • Saturday 08:00–22:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Alexandra Locksmiths provide a complete locksmith and security service for homes and businesses.

We have been recommended in the Evening Standard and most recently we have been approved by the consumer experts Which?

We are a family run Master Locksmiths Association (MLA) approved company, helping secure London over two decades. We offer a quality, comprehensive and efficient locksmith service in London and the surrounding areas. We can help find the best security options for you and your home or business.

Free No Obligation Security Surveys
Door & window locks supplied, fitted, opened & replaced
High security Banham and Ingersoll lock specialists
Window security grilles, fixed bar grilles, door security gates and collapsible grilles
PVCU door locks opened, repaired and replaced
Insurance approved 5 lever BS3621 deadlocks fitted
Safes
Intercom systems and access control
Police vetted Locksmiths

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Safes
    • Access control
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • UPVC lock specialists
  • Security equipment suppliers and manufacturers

    • Intercom systems
  • Smart Homes

    • Security
  • More Services

    • collapsible grilles
    • bar gates
    • window grilles

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
32 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.7
Sort by
Front door lock replaced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul changed the old, faulty, front door lock, and replaced it with an auto deadlock. He answered the questions I had about which lock to install. He worked professionally, and the lock was quickly replaced. He was happy to spend time showing us how to use the new lock. We are very satisfied with the work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/02/2021 , work completed 23/02/2021
Excellent Locksmith
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Banham nightlatch on my front door snapped and I remembered I had Paul's details as he had done a wonderful job a couple years ago supplying and fitting security grilles in my house. After leaving a message with Paul, he was very responsive and managed to see me on same day and did a great job. He was prompt, friendly very careful in his work. I would highly recommend him as the first person to call if you need the best in the business! He is someone you can trust!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 17/12/2020
Really pleased with work and great advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul was really easy to liaise with and gave us lots of helpful advice. He was punctual and did a great job - all very neat. Thanks!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/12/2020 , work completed 11/12/2020
Efficient, friendly and sensible
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My front door lock started to stiffen up. And I also had some trouble with my back door and a window. It was great to call and have the work done the next morning. It was done well and the repairs to my back door and window, done to great quality!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/11/2020 , work completed 05/11/2020
Excellent job, prompt and well managed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed two locks replacing but it was not urgent. Paul was efficient, providing a quote with options very quickly and then arranging to come the next day. He did an excellent job including providing as many keys as I needed. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/11/2020 , work completed 06/11/2020
Replaced two locks. Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Paul for a quote to replace two locks after moving in to my new flat. He gave me a very reasonable price and came the next day to get the locks sorted. He was very professional, the installation took less than 10 minutes, and he gave me advice on the different types of locks and what insurance companies look for. He even serrated the keys to make it easier for me to distinguish them. Will definitely contact him again the next time I need a locksmith.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/11/2020 , work completed 03/11/2020
Great prompt service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a problem with a Yale lock on my front door which was sometimes jamming for no reason that I could tell. I checked out locksmiths on Which? Trusted Traders and found Alexandra Locksmiths not far from me. I called and explained the problem, and Paul arrived promptly and sorted out the lock as far as we could without completely replacing it. He was knowledgeable, helpful and efficient and I can certainly recommend him if you are looking for a good locksmith.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/11/2020 , work completed 02/11/2020
Fast response and great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I enquired about a broken door lock and Paul responded immediately. He assessed the job accurately, was able to pop round that same day, and provided a decent price for the work, which he stuck to. He ensured I checked the doors afterward and that I was happy with the work. I would highly recommend Alexandra Locksmiths.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/10/2020 , work completed 07/10/2020
Excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had been having problems with our security lock. Paul came within 24 hours, and despite a really difficult problematic lock, put in a new insert and brought not only the keys that came with the new lock but also the extra keys I had requested. Excellent in every respect. I recommend Paul most highly. If you need a locksmith, call Paul.
Judith in Greater London Posted on 23/09/2020 , work completed 23/09/2020
Professional, efficient, courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul fitted two internal door locks this morning. I was very impressed with his courtesy, professionalism and expertise. He arrived on time, wore a mask, did a good job and tidied up after him. He also adjusted one of my existing keeps, so it was in line with the lock, free of charge. I would not hesitate to recommend him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/09/2020 , work completed 14/09/2020
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently moved house and needed a variety of locks changed including a number of stuck bolts and doors. Paul responded quickly to my email and arranged to visit to talk through our options. He turned up on time and looked at all our doors and locks and then went through the options available to us and the pros/cons of different lock types and brands. He also talked through more general security advice for our house around lighting and gates. He then gave us a quote for the work to replace and upgrade our locks. When it came to installation, he installed everything efficiently and left our house very tidy afterwards. He took the time to talk through each of the new locks and how they worked and the new keys. I would highly recommend Paul in future. I can't fault his work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/01/2020 , work completed 12/12/2019
Clean and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul was very professional and considerate throughout. Came on time, focused on the work, and cleaned up afterwards. Enjoyed meeting him and will be glad to use him again for any other locksmith needs.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/09/2019 , work completed 24/09/2019
Brilliant work for new lock!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul was absolutely brilliant throughout. I emailed him and he was very quick at responding and fix a date for his visit. He was on time and really nice. He explained very well what my options were for my new lock and did a great job. I would definitely request his services again if I needed to.
Cecile, Greater London Posted on 05/09/2019 , work completed 05/09/2019
Very helpful - would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul replaced a broken lock on a back door. He came on time and fitted around my work schedule. He was polite and knowledgeable about different types of locks. He worked quickly and cleaned up after himself. He even fixed the back door hinges (which work much better now) without being asked.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/07/2019 , work completed 30/07/2019
Neat and satisfactory job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul arrived on time as arranged and fitted four locks on sliding patio doors - as required by my insurers. He was pleasant and discussed the job before starting. The bolts are fitted as discussed and were demonstrated to me. Paul cleaned up before leaving. Good job.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/06/2019 , work completed 05/06/2019
EXCELLENT PROFESSIONAL SERVICE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced mortice lock. Discussed range of options. Excellent service, professional and friendly. Highly recommended.
Sheila Quinn Posted on 22/11/2018 , work completed 22/11/2018
efficient and great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul changed the lock on my house. He came when he said he would, completed the work efficiently and was very friendly.
Dormandy Posted on 05/09/2018 , work completed 05/09/2018
Highly competent and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul changed our front door locks, back door lock and sash window locks, making sure that the house was secure, and the locks all met insurance requirements. The work was all done well. He gave helpful advice and trained us on the proper use of all the locks. Efficient, tidy and reliable.
BAmbrose Posted on 06/07/2018 , work completed 06/07/2018
Thank you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul fitted new security locks on my windows and gave general security advice. He was prompt, informative, efficient, tidy and good value.
Happy Customer Posted on 03/11/2017 , work completed 03/11/2017
Quick, easy to deal with and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My first time using which traders and delighted to have found Paul Byrne at Alexandra Locksmiths. His prompt replies to my emails made it an easy process. He completed the work quickly, left the place spotless and definitely knows what he is doing. A real gem . Highly recommended .
Lauren Posted on 18/10/2017 , work completed 18/10/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As there had been some break-ins locally, I wanted security advice on the front & kitchen doors, but did not want an alarm fitted. I saw Paul's company recommended by Which Local. His website was informative, giving a good idea of available security options. Paul came to inspect the doors and suggested Birmingham & London bars, an improved main lock, extra bolts on the hinge side of the wood front door, and sash jammers on the PVC kitchen door. When he did the work it was all done very efficiently & neatly; he adapted the sash jammers to the slight warp of the PVC door. He kept me informed of any delays in arrival times and was extremely pleasant, knowledgeable & professional. I feel a lot more secure now and would highly recommend Paul.
Wick Posted on 09/05/2016 , work completed 09/05/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the past few years we have called on Paul Byrne of Alexandra Locksmiths to carry out a number of jobs for us - most recently this week - and we can thoroughly recommend him. He is knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and responsive, and the work has been done neatly and efficiently each time. Because he so clearly knows his business one can feel confident that he has come up with an appropriate solution, whether (as in our experience) replacing locks, increasing entry security, or putting in an entrance phone extension.
David MLW Posted on 12/01/2016 , work completed 12/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I thoroughly recommend Alexander Locksmiths for every aspect - punctuality, reliability, excellent workmanship, friendly nature, calmness. A great job, and a pleasure to do business with.
erdor Posted on 14/10/2015 , work completed 14/10/2015
Excellent professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul Byrne came to give us advice and change 3 locks on the front door of a flat we have just bought in London. He arrived promptly as arranged and changed one lock for a 5 lever mortice. He could have changed the 2 other locks as we had expected but instead advised us that in his opinion the remaining 2 locks did not need to be replaced. This obviously saved us a lot of money! He was quick, informative, a tidy worker and very thorough. Although we found him a little expensive, we are from up north and not used to paying London prices(!) and he did supply us with 5 keys which saved time and hassle in getting more keys cut, so I expect his prices are standard for the area and no value can be put on peace of mind so it was worth the price. We will definitely use Alexandra Locksmiths again and I would have no hesitation in recommending.
Fourpence Posted on 28/09/2015 , work completed 28/09/2015
Recommended work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul Byrne changed the locks on my door to bring them into line with insurance purposes and for my own peace and safety. His service was quick, clean and excellent. I am now the owner of three new locks on my front door which makes me feel better. Can't recommend Paul highly enough.
CMR401138873 Posted on 14/04/2015 , work completed 14/04/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the service provided by Paul. I called him after experiencing a problem with the locks at my new house, he returned my call promptly and we arranged for him to visit the following morning. He arrived at the agreed time, and after assessing the situation replaced two locks for me. He carried out the work quickly and well with no fuss and took time to explain the operation of the new locks. Paul was professional and a pleasure to do business with.
Nicola_E Posted on 21/11/2014 , work completed 21/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Alex last year for fitting patio door locks,kitchen door locks front door locks. Today due to theft we had to change our locks. I called he responded quickly and as before was charming efficient and did a great job. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Alex he is excellent.
anoushka Posted on 18/03/2014 , work completed 18/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rang Alexandra Locksmiths about bringing a rear door up to insurance requirements. Paul was round the same afternoon and fitted two bolts after detailed discussion of the pros and cons of different solutions. Very pleasant and efficient work, inspired trust. As have little experience in the field, cannot rate value but did not seem out of line.
sweetda Posted on 04/12/2013 , work completed 04/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul was able to come out when requested and arrived comfortably in the 2 hour window he stated. He was has a totally reassuring manner, and even though I ended up getting the top notch locks, he never pressured me. He was quick, courteous, and took ample time to explain all the details about the new locks. Great service and would recommend hand over heart.
Dibergio Posted on 28/10/2013 , work completed 28/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Got details of this locksmith through which local and spoke to Paul Byrne of Alexandra Locksmith - who listened to my problem. He responded quickly and I think good value for money.
percine Posted on 08/10/2013 , work completed 08/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul made two visits, one to assess our situation and then a second visit to do the fitting. There was no hard sell and Paul was very pleasant to have around. He communicated clearly, phoning to apologise for running just a little late, and did the work in good time for a reasonable price.
CCR123 Posted on 11/06/2013 , work completed 11/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paul Byrne at Alexandra Locksmiths attended to supply and fit a 5 lever mortice lock for insurance purposes. Paul arrived on time, as arranged and left things clean and tidy after completing the job. Very pleased with the service.
Tracey Hopkins Posted on 12/03/2012 , work completed 12/03/2012