We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Anthony Travis Associates Limited

Profile thumb napit logo 2017

5.0

41 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

Apr 2019

About

Covid19 - I am well and continuing to work within Govt regulations.

A qualified tradesman with many years of experience, I focus on domestic & rental property installations.

ELECTRICAL SERVICES - everything from an additional socket [inside or outside] or a new light fitting to a full rewire.
Specialities:
-Testing & inspection; EICRs
-Fault finding
-Repairs/remedial work
-Additions to existing installations
I'm a member of NAPIT [one of the national Competent Person's Schemes] so can directly certify work notifiable under Part P.
I am qualified to install EV [Electric Vehicle] Charging Points.

PLUMBING - Everything from a tap repair to a new bathroom. Fault-finding a speciality.
I am registered with the Chartered Institute of Plumbing & Heating Engineers.

As a qualified Electrician, I can install and test Electric Showers, Hive/Nest controls etc without having to call in other trades.
My Facebook page shows photos of recent work and handy hints - the link is shown above.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical repairs
    • Rewiring
    • Fuse boards
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Electric Showers
  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • Carports

  • Bathroom fitters

  • Kitchen fitters

  • More Services

    • central heating controls
    • general plumbing services

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
41 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony carried out an inspection of our domestic electrical installation, sorted out an existing fault on the ring main and subsequently fitted a new consumer unit. He also issued an Electrical Installation Certificate and notified Building Control. All the work was undertaken in a most professional and competent manner. I would have no hesitation in recommending Tony to others. Dr M Downey
Customer in Reading Posted on 24/02/2021 , work completed 23/02/2021
The trader replied (on 24/02/2021)
Thank you for the review :) It was a pleasure to work with you; thanks to you and your tenant for your positive attitude and patience during the fault-finding investigations. Really glad to have identified and rectified the issue on the ring main.
EV Charger Disconnection for House Move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Anthony Travis Associates for several different electrical works, some big, some small. Quality of work is always excellent and fully certified. Service is prompt and nothing is too much trouble. Will give advice without obligation.
Customer in Reading Posted on 11/12/2020 , work completed 10/12/2020
The trader replied (on 14/12/2020)
Thank you for the positive review; I'm glad you were happy :) Bit unusual to be removing, rather than installing, an Electric Vehicle Charging Point, but that's the beauty of them; you can take it with you when you go! Best wishes for your move.
Installation of an induction hob and adding a powerful electrical supply cable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony first came to install an induction hob. The delivery company for the hob had signed up to do this work but eventually declined because it turned out to more complicated than they could cope with. After completing this task, I asked Tony to come back again and install a more powerful electrical supply cable allowing the hob to be used at its full potential. This involved having the cable being partly put underground, mounted on outside walls and going through the attic. All went according to plan except for the delayed delivery of a required RCBO. The delay was due to an error by the wholesaler. Tony is incredibly detailed and wants everything to be perfect. He delivers excellent quality work, and I am happy to recommend him.
Customer in Reading Posted on 11/12/2020 , work completed 27/11/2020
The trader replied (on 11/12/2020)
Thanks for the review, Jens. You were a pleasure to work for, and I was very happy we found a solution that enabled you to utilise the full 48A of power that your all-singing-all-dancing Bosch hob is capable of! Only disadvantage is that now I want one too! I was very pleased with how it all worked out, and with how neat everything looks now the paving is reinstated over the cable trench. Look forward to working on your kitchen ventilation.
Shower cutting out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with the way Tony approached and solved our problem with the shower. He kept us informed with what he is doing and with useful recommendations. He would go out of his way to make sure problem is solved to our satisfaction at very reasonable cost. This is one professional we would recommend and and call on in future.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 20/11/2020 , work completed 17/11/2020
The trader replied (on 11/12/2020)
Thanks for the positive review. I was really pleased to be able to find an economical solution to the problem you were having with your shower - happy trader and happy customer!
Very reliable, excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has done work for me from time to time over the last 15 years. His work has always been first class.
Customer in Reading Posted on 20/11/2020 , work completed 20/11/2020
The trader replied (on 30/11/2020)
Thanks so much for your positive review. You're always great to work for. I hope the security camera is doing its job!
Exceptional service, Tony went out of his way to make sure I had the lights I wanted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
There was a mix up with the initial delivery of my lights (my fault entirely), Tony sorted it out. He came when he said he would, texting to tell me when he was 20 minutes away. When he arrived and saw the new lights he realised that they were not as they appeared on the website and went to the wholesaler to get different ones, which are great. He really went out of his way to make sure I was happy with the lights. I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a reliable, friendly, helpful electrician. As a bonus, his invoice was less than I expected!
Diana in Reading Posted on 22/09/2020 , work completed 21/09/2020
The trader replied (on 28/10/2020)
Hello Di Just wanted to say thank you for the positive review. It was a pleasure to work for you and I'm really pleased the new LED battens, fitted to replace your old fluorescents, do the job. As you say I wasn't happy with the appearance of the Screwfix ones, so they had to go back! It was worth the trip to the wholesaler. Happy customers make me happy!
Very diligent, definitely recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a very strange incident with our wiring that seemed to defy logic. Tony was incredibly thorough with his fault-finding, and very patient when trying to explain to me how circuits work. Ultimately it seems fixing the root problem would need half the house rewiring, which isn't on the cards for us right now, so when Tony suggested a fix that would make things safe until we can afford to overhaul everything I was relieved! Reasonable rates and excellent service, I definitely know who I'll call if we have any more problems!
Customer in Reading Posted on 27/08/2020 , work completed 20/08/2020
The trader replied (on 28/10/2020)
Hi there Thanks very much for the review. I'm really glad you were happy with my work. This was one of the more challenging bits of fault-finding I've undertaken, and I was really pleased to find an interim solution that provided the safety needed, while not costing the earth. I'll be here when you're ready to overhaul the kitchen.
Very Satisfied in Every Way
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was recommended to me by a friend and I'm very glad that he was.I asked him to replace a kitchen mixer tap and a shower thermostatic control valve.He carried out the work quietly and efficiently and the end results were to my complete satisfaction.He even carried out some additional work on the shower valve with no extra charge.The other work he did was to repair a leak underneath a bath and he did this with much less trouble than we had both expected.
Customer in Reading Posted on 23/08/2020 , work completed 20/08/2020
The trader replied (on 28/10/2020)
Thank you for your positive review. I'm really pleased you were happy with my work. I know it may be an overused sentiment, but customer satisfaction, and doing the job right, is SO important to me; I get a great deal of satisfaction from customer satisfaction! And I too was very pleased at finding a quick and effective solution to the leak under the bath!
Installing appliances, running new electrical cables all done quickly and efficiently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is fantastic and gets the work done quickly. He worked to budget, installed all we needed doing. We needed a new electric oven, hob and extractor hood installed, which he did superbly. Managed to install a new 32 amp cable from our basement to our kitchen, easily hiding the cable away. He didn't complicate things with crazy solutions, unlike other quotes we had, he just got on with it. I couldn't recommend him enough and will be calling on him again when we need more work doing. Tony was great with our daughter too :)
Customer in Reading Posted on 23/03/2020 , work completed 18/03/2020
Highly professional, good communication, highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rang Tony about an issue I had in my rental. He rung me back quickly, made himself available to look at the issue- a few days later. Shared reports, photos and worked with me toward and solution. He visited twice as another issue unrelated popped up. Again he was professional and communicated the issues over the phone then again over email with photos. Both issues are solved and I will be using him for life! Totally trust his work and priced. Thanks so much. Great to meet you!
Customer in Reading Posted on 19/03/2020 , work completed 07/02/2020
Delighted to have made contact with Tony through Which? Trusted Traders
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am delighted to recommend Tony following his completion of a major upgrading to the ' electrics ' in a property I own and which was being prepared for letting out. His knowledge of modern electrical standards and legal requirements, and attention to detail in the work he did, are second to none. Everything was clearly explained beforehand and backed up with all the necessary paperwork. Tony was most helpful, a pleasure to do business with and I would not hesitate to use his services again in the future.
Customer in Essex Posted on 09/03/2020 , work completed 03/03/2020
Trustworthy and Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have only recently discovered Tony and I was impressed by his professionalism in handling my first plumbing issue, that I had him back for additional plumbing and electrical jobs. My recent job for him was to add outdoor extension and lighting and it was a pleasure to have an experienced trader willing to spend time and effort to map out the task at hand and quote accordingly. I find him to be responsive, professional and trustworthy and I would definitely recommend Tony for your plumbing and electrical needs.
Customer in Reading Posted on 16/01/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Tony for lots of jobs over the past 8 years; his work is consistently outstanding and he always leaves the place spotless. He's done a lot of rewiring inside our house and more recently helped us think about ways to use lighting in the garden. Tony is great at solving awkward problems and thinking around things creatively (he also has a great taste in music!)
Mary Richardson, Reading Posted on 19/08/2019 , work completed 13/08/2019
Extension wiring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony carefully attended to my requirements and advised me appropriately. He was able to find a solution to my legacy wiring problem without wholesale replacement and explained carefully what he was proposing. The work was on quote and on time. Overall he was friendly and very helpful at all times.
David Posted on 12/06/2019 , work completed 03/06/2019
Tony Travis
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has been looking after my flat's plumbing and electricity for several years. Earlier in May 2019 I went away for a few days leaving Tony to replace my 50-yr old immersion heater. He did this meticulously in my absence & on my return everything was neat, tidy and up & running. Further, as he had done the job more quickly than he originally estimated, he reduced his estimated cost. I could not ask for anyone better. I recommend him absolutely.
Customer in Reading Posted on 31/05/2019 , work completed 03/05/2019
The trader replied (on 05/06/2019)
Thank you for selecting me to work in your flat again. Very pleased you are happy - a satisfied customer is the most important thing!!
Prompt and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly and efficient service. Call was arranged within 24hrs of my first enquiry. Arrived as promised and job completed quickly.
Customer in Reading Posted on 22/05/2019 , work completed 22/05/2019
The trader replied (on 05/06/2019)
Thank you for selecting me to do your work. Very pleased you are happy - satisfied customers are how we measure our success.
Conscientious and reliable electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a jobbing builder, landlord, and property owner I have worked with Tony over many years on a variety of projects. Alterations, complete rewires, fault finding, in fact anything electrical. Tony differs from the average spark in that he doesn't consider the job with a view to how it might best suit him, rather he is genuinely concerned to provide a solution that suits the client. He is extremely conscientious and also a really nice guy to have around.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 17/04/2019 , work completed 15/04/2019
The trader replied (on 05/06/2019)
Thanks John. You are one of my best customers and it's always a pleasure to work for you.
Super-conscientious
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony did two major jobs for us, (i) putting in a new shower, pump and ancillary work, (ii) fitting a washbasin and plumbing, new toilet and new tiles in a very small separate toilet room. We began with a vague conceptual idea of what we wanted. Unlike other quotes, Tony's showed detailed thought about how to implement. He was very considerate, thoughtful, careful and reliable throughout. He made every effort to explain to us, to consult us, and to ensure we were in agreement, and satisfied, at every step along the way. The quality of the finished electrical and plumbing work was excellent. Despite various complexities in the jobs, Tony stuck to his original labour quote, and was entirely fair, detailed and accurate with the charges for various parts required. Along the way, we asked him to do various small jobs, that were not in his original brief. We are entirely satisfied with how he coped with those too. When he finished we felt we had made a friend, as well as meeting an exceptional good tradesman. Highly recommended.
Customer in Wokingham Posted on 04/04/2019 , work completed 22/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/04/2019)
Thank you for your review. You are lovely people to work for and I too felt I had made two friends.
Lovely chap, and excellent standard of work...
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm hoping Tony never retires, because I'm expecting him to be the last electrician I ever use! He's very friendly, extremely knowledgeable and more conscientious than any electrician I've ever encountered. His work was of an extremely high standard, with not even a speck of dust left behind afterwards, and I had certificates for all work completed in my inbox within 24 hours. Very, very impressive, and his prices are absolutely fair for the work he does. You may be able to find cheaper perhaps, but not at this standard of workmanship and care - he tests everything thoroughly and left me feeling absolutely confident with every part of the numerous jobs he did for me. I would recommend very highly indeed.
Lawton Posted on 07/06/2018 , work completed 07/06/2018
A plumber you can rely on!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Travis has carried out a number of plumbing jobs for me over the last few years. He has always been very reliable, thorough and always can be relied on to suggest the best solution and advise on suitable products for the particular job. I would unreservedly recommend him to anyone looking for a quality job at a reasonable price.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/03/2018 , work completed 13/03/2018
satisfied customers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The repair of an outside tap following a big freeze. Tony worked quickly and efficiently. He has worked for us many times and is always cheerful, helpful and utterly reliable. We have and would happily recommend him to anyone needing plumbing or electrical work done.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/03/2018 , work completed 12/03/2018
Pleasant manner and excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of a malfunctioning light-fitting. The work was carried out very efficiently.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/03/2018 , work completed 05/03/2018
Very conscientious
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lighting, smoke alarms, ring mains
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/02/2018 , work completed 15/02/2018
Good rates, good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New wall lighting installed & 2-gang switch; Multiple sockets added to the ring main. We discussed exactly what I wanted where, and I left Tony to get on with it. He is a very safe electrician, checking all circuits and ensuring they are off before working, informing me so I could make sure it wouldn't impact what I was doing. The chasing is neat as are the sockets and light, and when one socket turned out not to work he returned and replaced it as soon as possible.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/01/2018 , work completed 22/01/2018
Conscientious and trustworthy tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of electric shower and electrical wiring work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/01/2018 , work completed 18/01/2018
Which? Member
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very helpful person, he worked with us to make our busy diaries and his fit together quickly and then solved the actual problem rather than doing what we asked without thought- the wiring in our kitchen was not up to the spec recommended for our new cooker, so rather than just fit a new connection, he called AEG to get advice on what was needed, helped us to find an AEG-approved fitter who could do the job without invalidating our guarantee, and suggested how we might negotiate getting AEG to pay for this. His charge for all this - plus a series a helpful comments on other aspects of our systems - was hour's labour, which was very reasonable indeed.
Which? Local Review - Hirokoo Posted on 31/08/2017 , work completed 31/08/2017
Pleasure
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time we have used Tony. He carried out a complete assessment of our electrical system including outdoor sheds, checked the earthing and rectified one lot of out of date equipment. He was extremely thorough and went through everything as he went along. He is also very courteous and a pleasure to have in the house. We will definitely use him again if the need arises.
Which? Local Review - John G Posted on 10/05/2017 , work completed 10/05/2017
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony carried out a visual inspection of the consumer unit and accessible wiring for us and managed to squeeze us in at short notice to visit a house that we are in the process of buying. His communications to arrange the visit were excellent and everything went very smoothly. We were pleased with the information provided by his informative report and found the service good value for money. We feel confident to contact Tony again when we are ready to have some electrical work done after the purchase of our new home.
Which? Local Review - Artemis800 Posted on 28/04/2017 , work completed 28/04/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful and courteous person who explained what he was proposing to do to sort both my plumbing and electrical problems. Would definitely use him again.
Which? Local Review - Croc Posted on 04/03/2017 , work completed 04/03/2017
Flexible
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony did a full rewire for us. He was a pleasure to work with, flexiable and reasonably priced.
Which? Local Review - Sarah S Posted on 25/01/2017 , work completed 25/01/2017
Would certainly call him again if needed to.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Tony late on a Saturday afternoon and he got back to me within the hour offering some good advice - as he was not in Reading he was unable to come out until the Monday. Appointment was made for him to fix a blown house fuse and disconnect an old cooker and then return to re-connect the new one. Punctual service throughout and good communication. Very reasonable rates. Although this was a small job for Tony he gave it as much consideration and importance as a large job.
Which? Local Review - Smp2012 Posted on 15/01/2017 , work completed 15/01/2017
Which? Member review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony carried out an extensive investigation, testing and rewiring of a dangerously faulty wiring of a flat I had purchased, including provision of new sockets for kitchen appliances, and working late at night to provide the facilities required next morning by the kitchen fitters. He also fitted stop valves on the bathroom water supplies, replaced taps and gave valuable advice and assistance with plumbing. An invaluable resource.
Which? Local Review - Dyson Posted on 25/11/2016 , work completed 25/11/2016
Just Right
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was very good, providing exactly what was required at a very reasonable price. He does all his paperwork online - certificates, invoices and payments. He is very friendly yet polite - just right. I would definitely use him again.
Which? Local Review - Ace_Bass Posted on 26/07/2016 , work completed 26/07/2016
A very rare experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has been to my flat on various occasions and has never failed to give anything less than excellent service. One of the many things I like about him is his reluctance to answer his mobile while doing work on my time - a very rare experience! Highly recommended!
Which? Local Review - Hugh MCC Posted on 04/07/2016 , work completed 04/07/2016
Which? Member
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Travis replaced my fusebox and did the required down-stream inspection. He came at short notice because the work was urgent and did the work professionally and courteously. When one minor aspect needed further work, he returned promptly and amicably to fix it. I would use him again.
Which? Local review - Cris Posted on 01/06/2016 , work completed 01/06/2016
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony carried out inspection & test of electrical installation according to iee BS7861 17th. He installed 12 way split load consumer unit to serve all units, installed main earth terminal & 10 mm equipotential bonding conductor for water and gas supplies, complete wiring for electric shower, supplied power to outside sockets, installed new sockets and light switches new light fitting through the whole house. Tony did an excellent job and good value for money. I highly recommend him and will be using him again for future work.
Which? Local Review - Mickkcim Posted on 25/05/2016 , work completed 25/05/2016
Prompt and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony did a variety of small jobs including fitting a shower. He was prompt & efficient. Work carried out carefully & conscientiously. I'd use him again.
Which? Local Review - Helling Posted on 14/10/2015 , work completed 14/10/2015
Quick and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend, quoted hourly rate, no call out charge, quick response and prompt and efficient service. I particularly liked the clear explanation as to the problem and helpful advice about pros and cons of replacing the consumer unit and an emailed leaflet on guide to domestic installations.
Which? Local Review - Ima_skint Posted on 25/08/2015 , work completed 25/08/2015
Great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was prompt and efficient. He replaced my shower pump and a few months later came to fix the lighting in my daughter's room. He came to do the necessary work on a Saturday morning as she was unavailable Monday to Friday. Qualified plumber and electrician.
Which? Local Review - Epamiondas Posted on 26/05/2015 , work completed 26/05/2015
Which? Member Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is a thorough professional. Highly recommended. His work was done at high quality and exceeded my expectation. I was very pleased with his response to my emergency call. My external lights have failed just before the party. Tony came to do the necessary work on a Friday morning and completed the work promptly and efficiently which ensured my party was a success.
Which? Local Review - Vikassrivastava Posted on 24/08/2014 , work completed 24/08/2014
Which? Member
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He provided an accurate estimate for the electrical work required and diaried to our requirements. when he encountered an associated boiler problem, he assiduously sought a solution and impressed us with sheer professionalism and courteousness. I would recommend him and will use him again.
Which? Local review - John Sargent Posted on 13/01/2014 , work completed 13/01/2014