We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Arbor Tree Specialists

Profile thumb logo lowres

5.0

28 Reviews

About

Tim O'Connor t/a Arbor Tree Specialists trained in Sussex back in 2006. He worked for a large company for a number of years in and around Sussex, Surrey and London, and also during this time was fortunate enough to work at Buckingham palace amongst other royal residences. In late 2010 Tim decided to return back to Oxford to set up Arbor Tree Specialists.

Arbor Tree Specialists offer a comprehensive service for all aspects of high quality tree work. Operating principally in Oxfordshire and surrounding counties, from garden trees and hedges to parkland and community planting we strive to offer a professional and forward thinking approach to tree surgery (arboriculture).

Services include:

• Crown reductions
• Crown thinning
• Dead wood removal (where appropriate)
• Felling
• Fallen and hazardous tree removal (windblown trees)
• Hedge cutting/reductions
• Tree inspections

If you would like any advice regarding your trees or hedges, please don't hesitate to get in touch.

What we do

  • Tree surgeons

    • Stump grinding
    • Tree planting
    • Tree reductions
    • Tree removal
    • Tree thinning
  • More Services

    • hedge cutting
    • tree felling
    • crown reductions

Customer reviews

5.0
28 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Great pruning job, Tim and team a pleasure to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim and his team dealt superbly with two large birches causing problems with neighbouring gardens and overhead lines. they also pruned a very large magnolia, reducing it to a lovely shape but being sensitive to leaving enough branches. They were a pleasure to deal with, were fast and efficient, and cleaned up beautifully. We thoroughly recommend them.
Liesl and Chris, Oxfordshire Posted on 03/09/2019 , work completed 02/09/2019
Excellent Service - Highly Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim felled a tree on our front lawn that had grown too close to the house. He provided an exceptionally professional service that exceeded our expectations. We received the quotation and responses to our queries promptly. His team did a great job felling the tree and clearing up afterwards - there was not a single branch/twig left on the lawn! We would highly recommend his company.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 06/07/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
Excellent - Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim & Co are very courteous and considerate. They are highly efficient with the minimum of disruption. And they are ARB approved. I cannot praise them highly enough! P. Ive, S. Oxon
PHILIP IVE Posted on 26/09/2018 , work completed 26/09/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim and his team cut a large hedge back for us. They did a fantastic job and left the garden tidy. They are pleasant and friendly. This is the second time we have used Arbor - the first was the cutting down of a couple of large trees. We were very pleased with them last time and would recommend Tim and his team to anyone who wants a job done properly.
StuLouB Posted on 24/09/2018 , work completed 24/09/2018
Efficient, considerate and helpful!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim & his team spent 2 days doing assorted tree works in my woodland garden. It's great to have people who not only know what they're doing but who are also helpful, considerate and who tidy up after themselves! Highly recommended!
Matthew Batstone Posted on 11/12/2017 , work completed 11/12/2017
Tree cutting and felling
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim and team took on a big job of 3 large diseased ash trees which needed to be cut down in an area next to 3 properties, fences, outhouses and greenhouses. A few dropped branches and impending disaster could have happened. But Tim's team work really hard for 2 days and took the trees down perfectly, clearing up as they went and ensuring that all the surrounding fragile areas remained completely undamaged. A great team of tree surgeons who are very hard working, friendly and professional. We would thoroughly recommend.
Largetrees Posted on 16/09/2017 , work completed 16/09/2017
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim and Jack did an excellent job cutting back a large conifer and other trees/bushes in my garden. They did the work quickly and professionally, and cleared up very efficiently. On time and in quote ! Happy to recommend them.
2010-09-30 12:36:12.137 Posted on 15/02/2017 , work completed 15/02/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted Tim via Which Trusted Traders. He and his colleague did a highly professional, careful job of tree reduction & reshaping and hedge trimming. And a very effective tidy up afterwards. Bob
bobswan1956 Posted on 03/12/2016 , work completed 03/12/2016
Wonderful professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reduced and trimmed our conifer hedge and managed to leave a eye pleasing hedge behind. Exceeded our expectations. Tim took great care and obviously has a genuine love of trees. Site clearance was extremely efficient and the garden was cleaner than when he arrived. No hesitation is recommending their services.
Mikey B Posted on 07/10/2016 , work completed 07/10/2016
Brilliant trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took down a large Cypress tree from our garden, very happy everything went smoothly. I would reocmmend him to anyone, he was very profesisonal and friendly.
Pippa, Oxford Posted on 05/07/2016 , work completed 05/07/2016
Great Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional company from the initial quote through to the finish. Crown lift and thinned 7 lime trees for us, the end result was a huge improvement to our garden. They were polite, courteous, knowledgeable and friendly and made sure the garden was left neat and tidy. Would definitely recommend and use again.
Karenm18 Posted on 29/06/2016 , work completed 29/06/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick and efficient. Left site in a neat and tidy state. Straight forward transaction.
David, Oxfordshire Posted on 16/06/2016 , work completed 16/06/2016
Reshaping Silver Birches
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just moved into a house my parents lived in and needed to do something about the lovely trees in the garden. Tim was recommended so I asked him to come and look - he gave me first class advice and he and Jack did a cracking job. They even tidied up and took everything away. Perfect job.
Alison Posted on 13/06/2016 , work completed 13/06/2016
Taken down few trees and plan to use them again in the future
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy with work- very tidy and clean. Completed on time and to quote. No problems whatsoever
Deborah , Oxfordshire Posted on 08/06/2016 , work completed 08/06/2016
Expert, professional, efficient, reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with Tim and his team who took 4 big trees down in our garden today. Tim offered excellent advice and was sensitive to our requests, the feelings of our neighbours and the birds and wildlife in the garden. The team were prompt and efficient and clearly knew exactly what they were doing and had all the right technical kit to do the job properly. They worked hard all day and cleared up thoroughly. We definitely felt we got good value for money, will use them again for tree maintenance and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Searlejess Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
Numerous jobs completed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with work, never had any problems, always finish jobs on time and to quote. Work includes: Crown work, pruning numerous trees, large Weeping Willow seen to and managed the front and communal gardens for properties our company manages
Russell Posted on 13/04/2016 , work completed 13/04/2016
Taken down few trees and plan to use them again in the future
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy with work- very tidy and clean. Completed on time and to quote. No problems whatsoever
Deborah Posted on 02/02/2016 , work completed 02/02/2016
Numerous jobs completed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with work, never had any problems, always finish jobs on time and to quote. Work includes: Crown work, pruning numerous trees, large Weeping Willow seen to and managed the front and communal gardens for properties our company manages
Russell , Oxfordshire Posted on 02/01/2016 , work completed 02/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted Tim after reading reviews on Which Local. Prompt attention and quote. Was sympathetic to our requirements and he provided a clear quote. The work was carried out efficiently and all the cut branches were removed from our site. We are very happy to recommend Tim's services.
obinra Posted on 05/06/2014 , work completed 05/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
One tree to be felled, good price, friendly, helpful and professional service, tree cut into logs for my wood-burner, strongly recommend. Cliff Pavelin
cliffpavelin Posted on 05/04/2014 , work completed 05/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I decided to contact Tim after reading reviews of his work on 'Which? Local'. After his initial visit, I received a prompt and competitively priced quote for the reduction and shaping of some trees in my back garden. He did a great job on these, the result of which I now have more natural light in my garden. I can definitely recommend him without any hesitation.
Shari Posted on 15/12/2013 , work completed 15/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim came to reduce the height of some trees at the end of my garden, and he and his partner did a very good job. They were very professional and left the garden very tidy at the end of the work. Would recommend
Nicki Stevens Posted on 23/08/2013 , work completed 23/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim did a superb job reducing and reshaping the crown of a tree for us and he also removed another tree from our garden carefully and cleanly. He has great knowledge and skills; is very professional and provides excellent customer service in every aspect of his work. Highly recommended.
cfwilliams Posted on 21/08/2013 , work completed 21/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
10/10, excellent work. I found Arbor Tree Specialists via Which? Local, and Tim came out very promptly to give me a quote. He was very knowledgable and gave me sound advice. I wanted the trees at the bottom of my garden to be reduced in height, but their shape to be maintained, yet give my garden more light. He and his partner were very efficient, punctual, doing all the work in one day, removing all of the waste.
Andy Cobb Posted on 01/08/2013 , work completed 01/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been very impressed with Arbor Tree Specialists and cannot praise Tim enough. His time keeping is excellent and he is accurate both to cost and timings. Such a pleasure to meet someone as knowledgeable and efficient and clear about what can and can't be done. The work which included removal of a 40 ft tree was completed with no fuss and very little mess with the site cleared and tidy. Excellent job, highly recommended.
millie8 Posted on 29/07/2013 , work completed 29/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim did a really good job for us. He pruned and cut back about a dozen trees of various types and cut back our hedges. He understands trees and knows how to prune them -- he isn't just a hacker! He cleared up very well, shredding the off-cuts in his very superior chopper/shredder and took it all away with him. He was efficient and easy to deal with. He came to give an estimate and was clear about what he would do and what it would cost. He turned up on time to do the work and completed it in the time he estimated.His invoice was exactly as the estimate had been. I recommend him warmly and without any reservation at all.
jrlp2727 Posted on 07/11/2012 , work completed 07/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As professional gardeners we need a reliable tree surgeon who can complete specialist works for our clients when required. We met Tim a year ago after seeing him work on a neighbouring property. Impressed by his work we asked Tim to quote for a couple of trees and after completing these we were very happy with his work. We have now used Tim on many occasions over the past 12 months. We have found him to be reliable, very helpful and constructive with his advice. His standard of work and knowledge of his subject are excellent. We have also recommended him to many of our clients and have received extremely positive feed back.
Howard-Edwards Posted on 23/08/2012 , work completed 23/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted two Which Local? recommended companies and Arbor Tree Specialists from a local magazine. Tim O'Connor was by far the most professional in his approach and was also competitive in his price. Arrived on time with assistant Jerome. Worked really hard and tidily. Did some extra work at a good rate. Really nice people to deal with - cannot recommend highly enough.
Annabel Posted on 10/08/2012 , work completed 10/08/2012