We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Barleycorn Removals Limited

Logo on white
Profile thumb barleycorn r s   resize

5.0

32 Reviews

About

Barleycorn Removals and Storage offer high quality domestic and commercial removals services in Wallingford, Reading, Oxford and the surrounding areas.

Services include:

Packing
Removals
Dismantling of furniture
Grand piano relocations
Office relocations (including IT and data cabling)
and storage

To destinations throughout the U.K and Europe. Barleycorn Removals and Storage offer removals with high levels of professionalism and customer care and are recommended by customers and estate agents alike. Please get in touch for a free quote.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
    • International removals

Customer reviews

5.0
32 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Highly recommend. Excellent team.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team were amazing. They went above and beyond to ensure our move went smoothly. I can't recommend them enough. They were professional, kind and did a wonderful job. Faultless. All of our furniture was wrapped and transported with care. We moved over 200 miles. The team worked so hard. It was a long day for them however they did it with a smile. Highly recommend Barleycorn.
Cherry Kaye07/08/2019
Excellent, couldn't be better
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Barleycorn Removals for our removal, they were very professional, clean, tidy and very polite. they made our move out day stress free and dealt with everything, boxing up, moving out of one property and then moving in to the new property making sure all the boxes went to the correct rooms. Barleycorn were recommended to us and we can highly recommend them and had a great experience.
Chris, Oxfordshire30/07/2019
Removal
Following a telephone call to Barleycorn, Chris immediately arranged a home visit. It was an experienced and extremely helpful assessment of what needed to done. Usually companies ask you to empty garden pots but Chris said that this would not be necessary. A real bonus as I have some very heavy pots. On the day of the removal the three men went about their task with a great deal of experience and were polite and friendly. When they arrived at the other property the keys had not been released to me and there was a great deal of confusion with the letting agent, who were very unhelpful. However when Chris heard he asked the men to remain and see the job through. Which they did and remained calm and patient. In the last few years I have moved 5 times and without a doubt Barleycorn has been the most efficient, friendly and fair company that I ever dealt with. Evan to refusing to charge me more despite the fact that the removal men having to spend the whole day at the property. Chris rearranged his rota to accommodate the mix up caused by the letting agent. I do not think you will find a better run company than Barleycorn Removals. They were absolutely marvellous.
Gillian, Hampshire18/07/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Excellent service from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from start to finish. I always find house moving very stressful but Chris and the Barleycorn team did everything they could to make this part of the process as relaxed as possible. We opted for the pack and move option and are really glad we did. The day before our move a team of 5 arrived on time, laid down floor protectors before anything else and got to packing. They individually wrapped cups, glasses and anything fragile, dismantled beds and had our whole house contents in the back of the vans in about 6 hours. The next day they met us at our new property, (over 200 miles away) when they said they would. They again protected the floors in the new house and had our beds rebuilt and the boxes in all the right rooms in under 4 hours. Not a single thing was broken in transit and I can't recommend them highly enough.
Barry Cocharane14/06/2019
Packing and Removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team moved us last week to Hampshire and they couldn't have done a more professional job. They were courteous, polite and most of all exceptionally careful! We had another quote from a national removals company but very pleased we went with a local business. I cant recommend them highly enough!
Customer in Hampshire11/04/2019
Excellent service from Barleycorn Removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Top quality service from Barleycorn removals. Helpful and cheerful staff, great attention to detail, nothing too much trouble - and tidy and efficient with it. Would recommend without hesitation. Mr & Mrs F
Customer in Oxfordshire20/03/2019
Move to Isle of Wight
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Barleycorn team did a fantastic job moving us to the Isle of Wight. They were professional, courteous, helpful and worked extremely hard. A great team who took the stress out of move day. I can't recommend them highly enough.
Customer in Isle of Wight13/03/2019
Barleycorn Removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having worked with Barleycorn Removals & Storage at Mayfair Quarters for some time and recommended them to our clients, we have been really thrilled with the high levels of service and quality of their work. Chris has been amazing dealing with complex moves with small timelines and virtually no parking or lift access. However, he's managed to execute every move thoughtfully and brilliantly. We are delighted that through our great working relationship his firm have helped us put together the Business2Schools initiative. We are looking forward to providing much better infrastructure for schools and love seeing the Barleycorn lorries around Mayfair and the City picking up great furniture and tech being donated to schools. We can highly recommend his firm.
Customer in Greater London05/03/2019
Consistently professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Eminently professional and friendly service from the first moment to the last. Everything was done to time and very useful advice was given. All involved were cheerful and helpful; nothing was damaged and the move could not have been more speedily completed. One can use Barleycorn with total confidence.
Customer in Oxfordshire13/02/2019
Great work despite weather conditions
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was snowing and roads to our house not good but they persisted with good cheer and efficiency. They were very careful with breakables and very helpful negotiating a small access with large items to the extent of having to remove door!! They also put together beds and worked tirelessly until late in the evening when they had to make return journey in icy conditions.
Customer in City of Bristol07/02/2019
Perfect service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team provided a really perfect and on-time service for our house move. We had advice on preparing for the move, and the day before and on the day his team loaded carefully and efficiently - even managing to extract rather large furniture down narrow stairs with no damage to furniture or stairs. On arrival at the new address the team worked hard to get everything in the right places. Nothing was broken or damaged throughout. Added to this you couldn't ask for a nicer team of people - always polite, calm and considerate. Barleycorn were easy to communicate with - a really personal service. I thoroughly recommend Barleycorn and would certainly use them again.
Customer in Oxfordshire06/02/2019
House removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would completely recommend Barleycorn to move you. From the first contact, they were very friendly, flexible about dates and helpful with practical advice.Nothing was too much trouble. On the day, the team were nice to have around, polite and good-humoured, very hard-working, careful with our belongings and willing to go the extra mile to make everything go as smoothly as possible. It was a great service at a fair price.
Customer in Oxfordshire05/02/2019
Ultra Professional Removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team were excellent. The pre-move survey was thorough and detailed and quite was very competitive. His team were well disciplined, scrupulously tide and efficient, and yet at no point on moving day did we feel pressured to get out of their way. They were patient and sympathetic to our needs in the day. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Oxfordshire05/02/2019
Professional from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment they arrived at our old house to pack our stuff for storage, where it stayed safe & dry for 3 months. To when they delivered it all to our new home 250 miles away in remote Cumbria. I could not fault Chris or his team, the cost was bang on estimate, nothing was damaged-we were worried about putting electronics is storage, but everything is fine. Have already recommended them to friends.
Customer in Cumbria05/02/2019
Very professional and great value - would strongly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended to use Barleycorn by one of my family whose mother had used them before. I cannot fault any aspect of their service, from the time Chris Cox came round to discuss the job with me - he was very thorough unlike all the others who I asked to tender - through the removal process on the day and even to coming along to collect the empty boxes a few days after the move. The team were very pleasant and efficient and all the boxes were well labelled and nothing was damaged. While not the cheapest, I would have no hesitation in using Barleycorn again and would certainly recommend them.
Customer in Oxfordshire05/02/2019
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his guys were brilliant. Very professional, efficient and quick. We encountered an unexpected issue re-storage of items and furniture, and they did everything they could do to keep things calm and smooth.
Sara, Oxfordshire01/12/2018
Careful, professional & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team were friendly and professional, delivering a fantastic service. They kept working hard, despite the heat!
Antonia, Oxfordshire01/08/2018
Smooth and careful house move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Barleycorn are a really lovely team, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Chris the manager took time to work out what we needed and offered us a range of options, which helped us decide what we could do ourselves. Their staff were efficient, practical and kind, especially with our 2 year old daughter. They moved us in just a few hours, breaking nothing. I hadn't expected them to also position our furniture for us, and to be so kind as to ask us if everything was where we wanted it to be and move it if it wasn't. They even returned a few days later to pick up unwanted boxes to be reused, so that we didn't have to throw them away. They feel like an old fashioned company in all the right ways and have the can-do attitude of a modern one. We will use them again without getting other quotes.
Charly Cox13/07/2018
The best removal company out there!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Barleycorn Removals offer an extremely personalised service and were very competitively priced in comparison to the bigger companies. Their staff were friendly, with an amazing can do attitude and I would not hesitate to recommend them. A few days before the move date we added an extra pick up from another address 2hrs away, which was also to be taken to our new home. The Barleycorn guys were able to facilitate this at very short notice, which saved me having to arrange a separate man with a van to do the job. The most amazing part of all was two of the guys came back after the weekend to help me rearrange some of the heavy items into other rooms. They really do go the extra mile, and more!! In my view, why on earth would you use anyone else?!!
Caroline Bayly, .14/06/2018
Removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removals from our flat, into storage for a week and then moving all of our belongings into our new home. Nothing too much trouble, work was completed quickly especially moving us in and the chaps who moved our things into the new home worked especially hard and were very helpful and friendly.
katie defrates, .14/06/2018
Great company - careful, courteous and excellent value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team recently moved us from reading to wales; a house-full of furniture that included fiddly bits such as a piano. I couldn't fault them- reliable, well organised and polite, and very good value for money for the level of service provided. (They were also tolerant of our toddler and dogs- no mean dear!) Strongly recommended.
Lucy Dugmore09/05/2018
Amazing service - highly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish, Barleycorn Removals have been outstanding. The empathy and care of Chris and his team was amazing throughout, listening carefully to our requirements, providing options for how much or little they could do us, and provided excellent advice throughout. Their patience with fluid completion dates, waiting for keys etc. was faultless. We also chose to have Barleycorn do the packing for us, including dismantling and reassembling beds and desks. They did it so much better than we could have done, whilst being amazing value too. Not a single item was broken or damaged in our move - so they saved us days of effort, hassle and risk, and made the whole moving process as stress-free as it could possibly be. The team who did our move clearly enjoyed their work, getting on well together, asking sensible questions of us throughout, and doing everything with care and intelligent consideration. We always choose to shop local whenever we can, and we're delighted to have found Barleycorn Removals - highly recommended!
Julian T-G08/05/2018
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team were excellent! They turned up when they said they would, did what they said they would and were professional, effective and efficient. Highly recommended!
Tessa M05/05/2018
The best removal company out there!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Barleycorn Removals offer an extremely personalised service and were very competitively priced in comparison to the bigger companies. Their staff were friendly, with an amazing can do attitude and I would not hesitate to recommend them. A few days before the move date we added an extra pick up from another address 2hrs away, which was also to be taken to our new home. The Barleycorn guys were able to facilitate this at very short notice, which saved me having to arrange a separate man with a van to do the job. The most amazing part of all was two of the guys came back after the weekend to help me rearrange some of the heavy items into other rooms. They really do go the extra mile, and more!! In my view, why on earth would you use anyone else?!!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer27/01/2018
Wonderful job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was most impressed by Barleycorn Removals. They were very helpful, kind and considerate. They arrived on time and packed up very quickly.
Daphne Elizabeth, Oxfordshire11/12/2017
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Speedy, careful and friendly.
Rebecca, Oxfordshire11/11/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very good service, it was a pleasure to have his men move our worldly goods. We only have a small place but moved to a two bedroom place in Henley. I would recommend them.
Gareth, Oxfordshire21/08/2017
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team were great, even moving my garden of over 100 pots. Worked quickly and efficiently, would highly recommend.
Lesley, Berkshire18/08/2017
Exceptional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, understanding and courteous. I couldn't recommend them more.
David, North Yorkshire01/08/2017
Efficient & friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly & efficient. Took a lot of care with valuables and were always willing to help.
Douglas, Berkshire16/07/2017
Fantastic Job in record heat!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A superb effort by a friendly and extremely professional team. Nothing was too much trouble, even in extremely hot temperatures. Would absolutely recommend and use again.
Tim, Oxfordshire06/07/2017
An excellent service provided
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved from Wallingford to Shipston on Stour. Barleycorn Removals packed our belongings on the first day and moved us in the second day. Throughout they were professional, hardworking and cheerful. There were no problems at all and we are completely satisfied with the service provided.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer05/06/2017
Package and Removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Package and removals
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer28/04/2016