We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Barnes Plumbing & Heating

Profile thumb 20140620 142548
4.9

49 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–19:00
  • Monday 08:00–19:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–19:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–19:00
  • Thursday 08:00–19:00
  • Friday 08:00–19:00
  • Saturday 08:00–19:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Based in Maidstone, we have over 13 years experience in plumbing and heating and take a pride in everything we do. With competitive rates and a reliable professional service, customer satisfaction is our number one priority.

Area covered: Kent & South East London

• Full central heating system design and installation
• Boiler changes, repairs and servicing
• Central heating upgrades
• Landlords Gas Safety Certificates
• Power flushing
• Underfloor heating
• Central heating and plumbing appraisals for home buyers
• Cooker/Range Cooker installation
• Gas fire servicing
• Water cylinder installation
• Water heater installation, repair and servicing
• Radiator replacement
• Immersion heater installation
• All Plumbing: Bathroom suites, tiling, replacement taps,
installation of outside taps, kitchen sinks and much more.

6 year warranty available on selected boilers.

We are happy to offer free advice where we can.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom design services
    • Wet rooms
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
  • More Services

    • radiators
    • water heaters
    • cookers
    • taps
    • leaks
    • all repairs

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
49 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Installation of Veissmann boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
At the estimate stage Gavin set out the options for installing a new boiler in a different location and produced a fully costed written estimate for chosen option. This would involve new underfloor pipework and passing the flue through the loft space out the top of the roof. He explained the process and the timescales from the outset so there were no nasty surprises and the work was completed at the estimated cost. Gavin has a pleasant manner, was punctual and professional and explained the technical issues very clearly. I highly recommend Barnes Plumbing and Heating for central heating installations.
Philip Posted on 27/08/2020 , work completed 25/08/2020
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were having issues with our underfloor heating, Gavin arrived when stated and solved the problem straight away. Polite & friendly would use again and definitely recommend.
Customer in Kent Posted on 29/01/2020 , work completed 29/01/2020
Very professional and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin turned up when he said he would and was very professional and friendly and did a great job.
Julie, Kent Posted on 15/01/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Barnes, very polite and respectful, fitted me a new immersion heater. Would highly recommend, prompt, clean and tidy job well done.
Anna, Kent Posted on 07/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
New radiator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second time using this firm. Gavin was available quickly to undertake the work, arrived on time and completed the job in good time and to me full satisfaction. Highly recommended.
Customer in Kent Posted on 09/10/2019 , work completed 04/10/2019
Responsive and helpful - a lifesaver
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an emergency plumbing problem and Garvin responded quickly. He was really courteous and explained what the issue was and what he needed to do throughout. He was thorough and ensured the system was working before going. I would have no issues in recommending hm and using him again.
Katie, Kent Posted on 02/10/2019 , work completed 02/10/2019
Efficient & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient & professional.
Lucinda, Kent Posted on 19/09/2019 , work completed 19/09/2019
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin provided a quote for the job (many do not). Arrived on time. Did a good job and was competitively priced. Would use him again.
David, Kent Posted on 18/09/2019 , work completed 18/09/2019
Professional and good standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was carried out to a good standard. Very reliable and professional. Even better than other plumbers I have used in the area. I got an honest assessment, which I felt was value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to use the services again.
Satya, Kent Posted on 17/09/2019 , work completed 17/09/2019
Shower pump repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin quickly identified the problem which was caused by a loose electrical connection in the pump. I was pleased to avoid needing a new pump and it is now working fine. He arrived on time and was courteous and professional... I would not hesitate to use him again.
Customer in Kent Posted on 23/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
Immersion heater repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Immersion heater failure occurred causing repeated fuse tripping. Contacted Barnes Plumbing and Heating of Maidstone and spoke with Gavin Barnes. Explained the problem and initial diagnosis given by him and likely action needed. Agreed a day and time to suit us both. He arrived on time and identified the problem. Set to and fixed the immersion. No fuss, very tidy and professional. Anticipated price of the work was the final price. He is now in our contacts book should we have the misfortune to have to call out a plumber in the future. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Kent Posted on 22/07/2019 , work completed 22/07/2019
Tidy, friendly and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted a new kitchen tap removing and old leaky one.Was prompt knew the job and got on with it as we had little time. He also advised us as to where we could get one reasonably priced and came asap and did the job.Highly recommended and will definitely use his services in the future.Nice cheerful happy person .
Customer in Maidstone Posted on 13/07/2019 , work completed 11/07/2019
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin replaced the bathroom basin trap, very professionally.
David, Kent Posted on 11/07/2019 , work completed 11/07/2019
Plumbing work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, polite & helpful & came across as a decent & knowledgeable person.
David, Kent Posted on 02/07/2019 , work completed 02/07/2019
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived exactly on time & completed work as specified. Polite and a pleasure to deal with. I would use again.
L, Kent Posted on 01/07/2019 , work completed 01/07/2019
Professional & tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very courteous and punctual, completed work, quickly, professionally and tidily. Highly recommended.
Robin, Kent Posted on 15/05/2019 , work completed 15/05/2019
Entirely satisfactory
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the first time we used Mr Barnes as our regular plumber was on holiday. It was a small job clearing & repairing waste to our kitchen sink. Would have no hesitation in calling on Mr Barnes again.
Shirley, Kent Posted on 01/05/2019 , work completed 01/05/2019
Excellent work and great customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third or fourth time I have used Gavin and I am so glad to have found a true professional who provides an excellent service at a reasonable price. Previously he has repaired my immersion heater, but this time I needed Gavin to come out and replace the siphon in my toilet which was faulty. He arrived exactly on time on the agreed day. Everything was left clean and tidy and he is a pleasure to have in the house as he always seems to be cheerful no matter how busy he is or how difficult the task! I always know he will do a professional job and I have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone who needs to find a good plumber. You wont regret hiring this company for all your plumbing needs, large or small. 10/10
Customer in Kent Posted on 18/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin was polite and clear cost wise when making the appointment. He was prompt, efficient, helpful and pleasant throughout the repair job. We will use his skills again!
Jan, Kent Posted on 04/04/2019 , work completed 04/04/2019
Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin arrived on time to service our gad central heating boiler and was very pleasant. He got straight down to work and was very efficient & tidy. He also sorted out a leak from our toilet cistern and quickly remedied the problem. I would certainly use him again.
Customer in Kent Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 13/03/2019
Outstanding customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
10/10 on all accounts. Third time I've used Barnes. Reliable, professional & excellent value for money. Perfectly tidy & clean. Absolutely recommend Gavin.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/02/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
Efficient and Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin arrived on time, did the job as promised at the price quoted. He was neat, tidy and efficient and a very personable man. The day after fitting my new shower it became apparent there was a problem. Having called Gavin, he returned within the hour,quickly established there was a detached component and rectified the problem with no fuss. He made no request for payment. I would definitely recommend this trader and feel I have now found a plumber I can call on when needed, that I trust.
john.moore15 Posted on 06/09/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Very clean and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Clean, tidy and works carried out to agreed price and timescale.
John, Kent Posted on 03/08/2018 , work completed 03/08/2018
Professional and customer focused
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Provision of heating boiler with new gas and water services to replace old back boiler. Prior to job I was given options as to new boiler and it's placement. Work undertaken in professional manner, was sensitive to our needs as work proceeded around us.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/07/2018 , work completed 02/07/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend G Barnes Plumbing. Very efficient, reasonably priced and great work.
Vivien, Kent Posted on 30/05/2018 , work completed 30/05/2018
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A professional prompt service provided by a well mannered workman.
David, Kent Posted on 23/05/2018 , work completed 23/05/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin was friendly, tidy and his work is excellent. I would recommend his work to everyone.
David, Kent Posted on 13/03/2018 , work completed 13/03/2018
central heating renewal one bed flat plus bath taps & some plumbing repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the job. Discussed the job in detail and prepared a detailed quote -no surprises. Was very quick to respond to a small fix after. Left everything very tidy. Recommended.
Kathleen Posted on 05/03/2018 , work completed 05/03/2018
Very Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Punctual, tidy and courteous. Explanation given regarding work that needed to be done. Highly recommend.
Paul, Kent Posted on 29/01/2018 , work completed 29/01/2018
Very pleased with work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with work carried out. Would recommend this company.
Shelley, Kent Posted on 19/01/2018 , work completed 19/01/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good job and tidy
Glenda, Kent Posted on 04/01/2018 , work completed 04/01/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good price, when problem not solved on time came back no extra cost. Very polite and tidy, would use again and recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/12/2017 , work completed 19/12/2017
Efficient and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient and reliable, came and sorted out our heating and fixed a different problem with the radiators in the bedroom. I'm now happy, warm and toasty.
Jo, Kent Posted on 06/10/2017 , work completed 06/10/2017
Excellent, friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin arrived promptly and was very personable. Worked efficiently and tidied everything away when job complete. Did thorough job; checked everything was working as it should be, Would definitely use his services again and highly recommended.
Melanie, Kent Posted on 19/09/2017 , work completed 19/09/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, prompt, tidy and clean.
Clive, Kent Posted on 01/09/2017 , work completed 01/09/2017
Great Plumber!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin was Friendly, professional and thorough. We're really happy with the boiler repair and service he carried out.
Mary, Kent Posted on 29/08/2017 , work completed 29/08/2017
Friendly & Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler service - arrived on time, friendly & professional service. Will be using them again.
Terry, Kent Posted on 18/08/2017 , work completed 18/08/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Responded quickly to call. Did a good job. Reasonable price.
Fiona, Kent Posted on 20/07/2017 , work completed 20/07/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Out of 5 companies 1 called, the only one to phone back promptly. I felt advice offered was very trustworthy, & good price for fit & installation. Arrived on time, price remained as quoted.
Louise, Kent Posted on 05/07/2017 , work completed 05/07/2017
Prompt & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and efficient service from a pleasant competent tradesman.
Laurence, Kent Posted on 30/06/2017 , work completed 30/06/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Barnes Plumbing & Heating as a result of the reviews as a Which? Trusted Trader. Gavin replaced a valve on the water supply to the washing machine. He arrived when he said he would, worked swiftly and efficiently and left no mess. His charge was as quoted on the phone. He took the trouble to come to me even though I was really located outside the area he would normally work in. He was polite, friendly and efficient. I would definitely use him again and can thoroughly recommend his service.
timmgray Posted on 20/04/2017 , work completed 20/04/2017
Replacement gas hobs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin replaced two old gas hobs and replaced them with two I had purchased on the internet. He came at the time agreed, was very thorough in checking safety issues, created no mess and finished the job in a reasonable time. The hobs work well and have been set up well. I have no hesitation in recommending Barnes Plumbing and Heating and will get him to service my boiler next year.
jrjvstow Posted on 15/12/2016 , work completed 15/12/2016
Quality work on waste pipe replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin replaced a washing machine/dishwasher waste for me. Quality work done even though I disagreed with Gavin's initial suggestions on how the job would best be done. He had to work around a number of other waste outlets. Final result was tidy, good quality and was much better than the previous set up. I would definitely recommend Gavin.
Showa1 Posted on 06/07/2016 , work completed 06/07/2016
Very highly rate and recommend this trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant in all aspects. Price was as agreed and Gavin kept me informed throughout even when a problem developed. This is the first time I have used Gavin's company, he will be my go to plumber from here on in. Cannot rate him highly enough.
jmbell Posted on 27/05/2016 , work completed 27/05/2016
Excellent Plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin is an excellent plumber and true to his word. He turned up to provide a quote when he said he would and gave us a written quote within a week. He gave us a date for the work and arrived as agreed. He completed the work to a high standard within the time specified and cleaned up after he finished the work. Gavin is a pleasant and trustworthy plumber who we will certainly use again and would recommend without hesitation.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/03/2016 , work completed 04/03/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this company to install a new radiator which included making adjustments to underfloor piping. The work was carried out in a professional manner by Gavin Barnes who was prompt, courteous and tidy in his work. The total cost was in line with the estimate provided in advance of the commencement of the works.
sump Posted on 08/11/2015 , work completed 08/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
While searching for a local company to service my boiler I came across Barnes Plumbing and Heating. Gavin Barnes removed a gas fire and capped some gas pipes for me in 2011. He arrived on time, was efficient and reasonably priced. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Glassgirl Posted on 07/11/2014 , work completed 07/11/2014
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin Barnes did a very good job for us replacing a shower with a more suitable one. He was punctual, tidy, sensible price and everything worked. And a very pleasant man to deal with.
2011-07-10 16:33:22.263 Posted on 04/10/2014 , work completed 04/10/2014
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 22/06/2015)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Im pleased that you were happy with the service.
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was unsure of who to use for some plumbing repairs, so glad I used this trader the quality of his work was first class he was a very clean and tidy worker and gave some helpful advice. I would have no hesitation in recommending this trader to anyone else.
roman50 Posted on 13/08/2014 , work completed 13/08/2014
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 22/06/2015)
Thank you for your feedback, its very important to me. Im happy that you were pleased with the service l provided and hope that you will use me again.
Many thanks
Gavin
Barnes Plumbing & Heating