We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Cheal Concepts Ltd T/A The DIY Doctors

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb 766c93f1 62ae 44c5 b488 1345db37f1b6

4.8

28 Reviews

About

DIY Doctors undertake a wide range of bespoke refurbishment projects such as entire home improvements to much smaller jobs. With our knowledge and hands on experience of the industry DIY Doctors was established with a simple goal in mind.... to provide a professional, reliable and friendly handyman and maintenance service in the MiIdlands, at a value for money price. We believe our growth is due to our 100% customer care policy which continues to put our customers first.

Our property maintenance services cover Birmingham, Birmingham city centre Solihull, Leamington Spa, Stratford Upon Avon, Coventry plus many more.

We are fully insured and all work comes with a complete customer satisfaction guarantee.

What we do

  • Property refurbishment contractors

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen tiling
  • Tile fitters and showrooms

    • Bathroom tiling
    • Kitchen tiling
    • Floor tiling
  • More Services

    • plumbers
    • electricians
    • carpenters
    • decorators

Customer reviews

4.8
28 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
Good and professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have two jobs done by James. He repaired flat roof. Was very honest about the assessment of the roof. He not try to sell extra service and did the repair. The second time shower leaked and he came promptly and repaired the loosened trap and also changed the valve on the shower head.
Customer in West Midlands07/10/2019
The trader replied (on 22/10/2019)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review; we really appreciate it. We are so pleased that you are happy with our services and recommend us to others. Thanks again
Superb tradesmen. Great attitude, great work ... for plumbing/bathrooms, use these guys!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We got properly done over by cowboy builders, losing thousands and having our old bathroom trashed. They left with water leaking into the kitchen and continued to try to intimidate us to pay even more money. It was a bruising experience and the house was a mess (and we have young children). Thankfully, DIY Doctors were recommended to us. They were charming, respectful, really helpful in advising us, liaising with us, helping us to make sensible decisions whilst working towards giving us the bathroom we were longing to have. They stripped out the work of the cowboys, sorted the issues they left and then started again. Once they started, they focused on the job and got stuck in every day - and what they left us was a beautiful bathroom, expertly finished, on time, on budget and frankly, having them in our house was absolutely fine. I understand they do a range of DIY work and we will ensure that we will only use them in future. Really great guys.
Andrew, West Midlands01/07/2019
The trader replied (on 15/07/2019)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a glowing and thorough review, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased that you are happy with the results especially after you had such a difficult experience prior to commissioning us. Our team strive for happy customers so everyone here is delighted that we met your requirements and that you recommend us so highly. Thanks again.
Some good some bad
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used DIY Doctors for several small jobs. It often takes 2 visits and several emails to get a correct quote for the work required. Most jobs were done well. A problem arose when the porch walls were skimmed and painted. The metal fittings the plasterer had fixed to the edges of the wall showed through the paint. I sent photographs, as requested. First response was you must have brushed against the corners. When I pointed out that one of the pictures was of the edge above the door, the response was it is a well known problem which could be fixed but I would have to pay for 2 days labour. Another part of the work was papering the walls in the lounge. There were some immediate problems with the papering. He had started in the corner of the room rather than on the chimney breast, so there was a diagonal line (where he had cut the sheet to make it fit) midway up the first sheet he put on the chimney breast when he reached it. He also patched in 2 inches at the bottom of another sheet where he had cut the sheet too short. These were fixed by the decorator he sent to do the work on the hall. Less than a year later sections of the paper at joins had begun peeling off the wall. Because it was coming away from the wall I also noticed that he had patched in a foot of paper in another spot where he had obviously cut the strip too short. I sent photographs and was told he would charge to visit to look at the problem but was sure he could fix it. I asked for one of the other 2 decorators to do the repairs. He said they were unavailable. I took it to the Which? ombudsman service but was told that as it was more than 6 months since the work was done I would have to get reports from other decorators stating that the workmanship was at fault, and go through the small claims court. which has proved impossible as its not worth their while. I am not willing to pay him to look at the peeling paper so he wins.
Customer in West Midlands29/05/2019
The trader replied (on 11/06/2019)
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our myriad of works at your home were completed between January 2017 & February 2018; nevertheless we are sorry to hear that you feel you have had a poor experience with us. As you can see from our other reviews we are normally highly recommended for our proficiency and exceptional attention to detail; we regret that you feel that we missed the mark in the works at your home. As you are aware the Ombudsman found there was "insufficient evidence" to be able to uphold your complaint hence our collaboration is at an end.
Reliable and quality work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very glad that I finally found a reliable company to sort things out after looking for one so long. James, Ben and Kevin did everything right from the communication to the actual jobs for repairing after the leak. My life would have been much easier if I could find them earlier. No doubt that I will contact them whenever I need things sorted out. Thanks so much for getting my trust back from previous traumatised experiences.
Customer in West Midlands18/04/2019
The trader replied (on 30/04/2019)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review for us. We are delighted that you are so pleased with our works, would recommend us and will return to us should the need arise in the future. Many thanks again for such a lovely review.
Good reliable firm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Both James the owner and Sam the property co-ordinator were always friendly and helpful. The work, a bathroom refurbishment, was carried out in a quick and professional manner, and to estimate. I would certainly use the company again, it's a pleasure to find one you can rely on.
Customer in West Midlands08/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/03/2019)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us in such a positive manner; we really appreciate it. We are so pleased to know that you will use us again and would recommend us to others. Thanks again
Excellent work and great customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The customer service was very friendly and helpful. The work was very good quality and carried out in a very timely manner. I was fully involved in all decisions and was very impressed with the service provided.
Customer in West Midlands04/03/2019
The trader replied (on 05/03/2019)
thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review for us we really appreciate it. We are so pleased that you are impressed with our services and are happy to recommend us, thanks again
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They took down my old TV and brackets, fitted my new one and set the whole thing up. They came when they said they would and we’re flexible in terms of my work schedule. I had a call the night before to confirm and a call to say they were on their way and an ETA. They were friendly, clean and tidy. They did an excellent job for the price quoted. I got exactly what I wanted done. What else does anyone need. I recommend them without reservation!
Customer in West Midlands04/03/2019
The trader replied (on 05/03/2019)
thank you so much for such a positive review and recommendation; we really appreciate your taking the time to do this for us and are so pleased that you are happy with our service
Erecting a pergola, replacing brickwork on outside of house and sundry items
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with James and the quality of of his colleagues. Very professional, neat, could turn their hand to anything! Will certainly use DIY Doctors again whenever the need arises.
Customer in Warwickshire02/03/2019
The trader replied (on 05/03/2019)
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our services; we are so pleased that you would recommend us and that you will return to us whenever the needs arises. thanks again
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Both Sam & James very professional and friendly. Jobs carried out efficiently, very pleased and would recommend.
Customer in West Midlands13/12/2018
The trader replied (on 28/02/2019)
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us; very much appreciated and so pleased that you are happy with our services.
Fantastic job & service from DIY Doctors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy with the service and job that was done. Fantastic service from Sam who deals with the admin and also from James who carried out the work in fixing the leak in my property and then also the work in making sure my property was back to normal and good to reuse again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer12/04/2018
The trader replied (on 26/04/2018)
Thank you so much for recommending us by taking the time to leave us such a great review. We really appreciate your comments and are pleased to know that you are happy with our service. Many thanks again
Very happy with the work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted a new toilet and repaired a leaking pipe. James was very thorough, left everything very tidy and was quick to address some minor problems with the flush mechanism which emerged later. I was given different options before deciding on the work (e.g. whether repair of the old toilet or replacement would be more cost-effective in the long run) and full costings for products and services were provided. Everything was organised efficiently by Sam, the property coordinator, who as always was extremely helpful. I am very pleased with the end result.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer05/04/2018
The trader replied (on 26/04/2018)
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review; we really appreciate knowing that you are happy with our service and that you recommend us. Many thanks
Very pleased.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Various DIY tasks were carried out around the business, the tasks were done to a high standard and I was very pleased with the outcome I would use the service in the future.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer03/04/2018
The trader replied (on 26/04/2018)
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review; we really appreciate it. Great to know that you recommend us and also will use our services again. Thanks
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
DIY Doctors have done numerous jobs for us over the last 2 years from taking down partition walls, installing doors, redecoration etc. Each job was done on time and on budget.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer22/03/2018
The trader replied (on 26/04/2018)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services, we do appreciate it. So pleased to know you are happy with our works. thanks again
Great workmanship and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This particular project was a complete renovation of the main bathroom and ensuite. They were completely ripped out with the water tank replaced and combi boiler installed. James and his team have done many things from redecorating a bedroom, to fitting new oak worktops.
ClaireG04/02/2018
The trader replied (on 07/02/2018)
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this review! It's really good to know that you are really happy with our services and that you would recommend us. Many thanks again!
A wonderful company - they have to be among the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have already left one review about The DIY Doctors, but we must leave another! We cannot speak too highly of this wonderful company - there when you most need them (neither my husband nor I have any confidence in all things diy), reassuring, reliable, responsive to cries of "Help!", trustworthy, executing excellent work in a huge range of tasks around the home at very reasonable prices, and all backed up by the lovely Sam at the admin desk. What more can anyone ask? Thank you DIYDoctors!
Pain12/12/2017
The trader replied (on 18/12/2017)
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this truly lovely review; we are so grateful and really pleased that you are content with the service that we provide. We wish you no further DIY issues but would be delighted to assist if you do require our services. Many thanks again!
Highly recommend, very trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New locks supplied & fitted, light tubes replaced, pictures and whiteboards hung and general small office maintenance
Small Company in Sheldon12/12/2017
The trader replied (on 07/02/2018)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our company. We really appreciate your recommending us and are especially pleased with your trustworthy compliment as that is crucial in our business. Thanks again
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Re-covering porch roof and painting hall and landing. Friendly and efficient service
LizP15/11/2017
The trader replied (on 07/02/2018)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our company and for your kind words and recommendation. many thanks
Reliable trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Re-decoration of interior of house, with some plumbing repairs
Neil09/09/2017
The trader replied (on 07/02/2018)
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services, your recommendation is much appreciated. many thanks
First class work done again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Composite decking installed
Alex Thompson, West Midlands10/07/2017
The trader replied (on 06/09/2017)
Dear Alex thank you so much for your review and your positive comments. So pleased you are happy with your decking.
The best!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
DIY Doctors replaced a cracked toilet cistern and re-sealed a shower tray. Everything they have done has been top quality work, and has been expertly sorted whether the job was big or small (I have had them do other work for me of equally high standards). Their advice has been spot on and the prices charged extremely reasonable. A wonderful company, from the lovely Sam (admin) right through to James at the top - I thoroughly recommend them.
Lyn P, West Midlands26/06/2017
The trader replied (on 06/09/2017)
Dear Lyn thank you so much for taking the time to review our company, we really do appreciate it. Thank you also for your very kind words we are so pleased you are happy to recommend us.
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great
L, West Midlands04/11/2016
The trader replied (on 09/11/2016)
thank you so much for taking the time to complete the review for us, very much appreciated & so pleased that you are recommending us!
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Decorating service. Worked like a trojan, looks so much better.
Sue, West Midlands29/09/2016
The trader replied (on 09/11/2016)
Hello & thank you for taking the time to review us, really appreciate the comments & so pleased you are happy with the decorating works.
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Resolved my little DIY jobs. Efficient, friendly professional, highly recommended.
Sue, West Midlands24/03/2016
The trader replied (on 20/04/2016)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it! We are pleased to know that you are happy with our work and that you would recommend us to others. Thanks again
Efficent & Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used The DIY Doctors for carrying out various types of works to the properties that I manage on the behalf of my landlord's and I can honestly say that the Customer Service that I have received is absolutely brilliant. Sam is a pleasure to speak to and she always inform/updates me with any on-going works. The work that is carried out to a good standard and if I do happen to encounter any issues then they are resolved pretty much immediately. The costs of the works carried out are reasonable and in line with most of the other contractors that I use. No matter how big or small the job they are always happy to attend.
Emma Billingham26/02/2016
The trader replied (on 18/09/2017)
Hi Emma ~ thank you so much for taking the time to review our company we really appreciate it. Thank you also for your positive review, it's good to know that you would recommend us.
James and DIY Doctors recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I always recommend James and the DIY doctors to friends and family. I live on my own and find that for big or small maintenance work is always difficult to get sorted. James and his team have done a range of jobs for me including fitting a dishwasher, decorating, sorting difficult lights in the bathroom, fencing in the garden, some bespoke carpentry, electrical jobs, fixing guttering and sorting drains issues. It isn't just value for money, I always feel confident in James and his team sort what needs doing and advising me honestly on what I need doing. He will never let me ask for work that isn't needed and has even come out to help me on Boxing Day when we were locked out of our offices. Really good service on every occasion.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer23/02/2016
The trader replied (on 08/03/2016)
Thank you so much for this super review, it's great to know that you are happy to recommend us and we look forward to working for you again in the near future!
Fencing & odd jobs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed fencing replaced and toilet seat fit plus leaking tap repair - all done on site for less than over phone estimate so very pleased and will use again
Anonymous02/02/2016
The trader replied (on 03/02/2016)
thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, we are pleased to know that you are happy with the service we supplied
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Electrical work. New fuse board and change of light fitting on time, no problems, would use again.
Ruth, West Midlands04/12/2015
The trader replied (on 20/04/2016)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it! We are so pleased to know that you are happy with our work and would recommend us to others. Thanks again
Relaible & Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were on time to complete my roofing repairs. The service provided was high quality and they were clean and tidy throughout. Happy to recommend
SPitch11/12/2014
The trader replied (on 02/02/2016)
thank you for the feedback & pleased to know you're happy & would recommend