We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Computer Wizard Limited

Profile thumb img 5417

5.0

64 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 10:00–16:00
  • Monday 10:00–16:00
  • Tuesday - Closed
  • Wednesday 10:00–16:00
  • Thursday - Closed
  • Friday 10:00–16:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

Computer Wizard was founded by Geraint Whitley in 1994 and is now a family run business operating out of the warehouse and retail premises in St Albans.

Services we offer:

Computer Repair – We offer professional diagnostic and repair services on all makes of computers, including Macs.

Laptop Repair – We can repair the majority of laptop brands and models, including replacement screens, keyboards etc.

Computer Set-up – If you have just purchased a new pc and unsure how to set it up, we can help, even if you didn’t purchase it from us.

Virus Removal – We can professional restore your equipment after an infection, and keep personal details safe.

Data Recovery Services – We can rescue, restore and backup files from your computer.

For your peace of mind and to ensure that all your data is protected all of our staff have been CRB checked.

We sell computers, laptops and parts such as cables, RAM and hard drives.

What we do

  • Computer Repairs

  • Accessories and parts

  • Waste Disposal

  • More Services

    • computer sales
    • apple sales and repairs.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
64 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Really impressed - despite laptop not fixed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The manufacturer was useless with poor customer service to boot, so I researched a local trusted trader. Can’t fault the communication and customer service received from St. Albans based Computer Wizard who went the extra mile to fix a 13 month old laptop. Fantastic service, the only reason product was not fixed, having been diagnosed, was the excessive cost of replacement part from manufacturer. Highly recommended local business which I shall definitely use again if required.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/09/2020 , work completed 02/09/2020
Great email response that solved our problem
We were having a problem with our scanner and I emailed to ask if Computer Wizard would be able to mend it. They swiftly replied with a couple of questions and were able to diagnose the issue and tell me how to fix it myself. Excellent service this time, and also on previous occasions when they have actually repaired kit for me
Happy Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/08/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Customer focused work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I went to buy a new laptop and would quite readily have paid the full price for a new one which of course they would have readily sold me. But they recommended that I buy one of their refurbished ones instead for less than half the price but essentially the same thing. They gave me balanced opinions of whether to go for a mac or a PC and in the end I went for a mac because despite being more expensive I felt would be more reliable. The service was quick and without fuss. And although they had computer bags to sell they didn't have a perfect fit for the computer I had and they suggested I go to TK Maxx to get the right size. So all things considered. Very helpful and honest.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/10/2019 , work completed 17/10/2019
Highly recommended. Friendly efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Today I had a problem with my mouse and the pointer flicking all over the screen so I could not use my desktop computer. I rang Computer Wizard and they suggested I could bring my computer for them to have a look at the problem. I took it in straight away. They looked at the screen made a few adaptions and now it is working perfectly. I was told there was no charge because it had only taken a very short time to repair. Very kind. I am thankful and so relieved every thing is working well and I can carry on using my computer with confidence. I have used this company before with very good results and would definitely use them again if necessary. I strongly recommend such friendly helpful and efficient service.
Dianne, Hertfordshire Posted on 20/08/2019 , work completed 20/08/2019
Their company name says it all -they really are computer wizards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My previous employer has used Computer Wizard to support their IT needs and I had always found them super helpful & knowledgeable. It was therefore a no brainer when I set up my own business to go to them for help both with my hardware /software needs but also on-going maintenance and advice. Pragmatic, open, honest and great value for money - what I like and value in a partner and at the end of a phone /dial up app if things go wrong (usually user error on my part). Also really down to earth guys. Thanks Geraint, you and Darren are a pleasure to deal with and you deserve the glowing reviews you get from both business and home users.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 13/08/2019 , work completed 09/08/2019
Amazing Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daren Coley was AMAZING at getting my MacBook back up and running - 48 hours in fact (rather than 8 days as quoted by Apple)! Lifesaver!! 10/10.....best service I have experienced in years!!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/08/2019 , work completed 06/08/2019
Mac laptop revival
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Computer Wizard turned my old Mac laptop from a slow clunky annoyance back to its former glory of instant utility and speed. Great service with a smile and excellent price too. Saved me from buying a new laptop at 5 times the cost. Thanks!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/07/2019 , work completed 06/06/2019
Getting new laptop working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I took my old laptop in a while ago to see if it was repairable. The graphics chip was u/s and not economically repairable. I bought a new HP from them and they transferred my dual boot (Unix / Windows), files and Thunderbird emails with in a very few days. I experienced problems with Wifi access and they have now quickly fixed that for no extra charge. I have been using Computer Wizard for a long time now and have never had any cause to complain. Cheerful, quick, and reasonably priced. Unix capability is not always easy to find; thank you.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 08/07/2019 , work completed 08/07/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was lucky when, on retiring from work and looking to buy a computer for use at home, a friend suggested Computer Wizard to me. This was 12 years ago; and since then I have enjoyed on numerous occasions the thoroughly professional advice, support and rescue operations provided with unfailing courtesy and good humour by Geraint and his team. I can wholeheartedly recommend them.
Heidi, Hertfordshire. Posted on 19/06/2019 , work completed 18/06/2019
Honest and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2nd time I've used Computer Wizard in St Albans. They are fabulous. Fair, honest, straightforward. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/06/2019 , work completed 04/06/2019