We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Cowen Windows Ltd -Independent Network Installer

Profile thumb cowenwindowsltd
5.0

28 Reviews

What does an Approved Service endorsement mean?

Which? Trusted Traders assesses the services provided by companies who have applied to our scheme. Only certain aspects of the company are endorsed. The "Approved Service" ribbon logo shows you exactly which services they have been endorsed for, Independent Network have been endorsed for their installer network services. For more information please contact us here at W?TT or ask Independent Network direct.

About

At Cowen Windows, we pride ourselves on providing a professional and reliable service on all projects from a small side window to a complete conservatory. We are based in North Yorkshire and are a trusted installer of the highest quality VEKA products.

All of our installations begin with a free, no obligation consultation and end with Independent Network's 10-year insurance backed guarantee.

About Independent Network
Way back in 1996, when the double-glazing industry was in its infancy, a group of proud, hard-working installers, all using industry-leading VEKA products, came together to form Independent Network. An organisation that would let them prove their commitment to quality, craftsmanship and service that is second-to-none.

What we do

  • Glaziers

  • Double glazing

  • Doors

  • Conservatories

    • Conservatory Roof replacement
    • Sun Lounge
  • Roofers

    • Roof Light
    • Roofline
    • Cladding
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
  • Building construction contractors

    • Porches
    • Canopy
  • Garage door repairs and installation

  • More Services

    • windows
    • window

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
28 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can not rate this company highly enough. It’s representatives were excellent throughout all dealings with us. The quality of work is superb; the attitude, friendliness and approach of the fitters and other representatives of the business was first class and the products are of high quality and aesthetic appeal.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 25/11/2021 , work completed 24/11/2021
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really pleased with our new windows, even fitting the one with really difficult access was no problem.
Customer in Yorkshire Posted on 06/10/2021 , work completed 20/08/2021
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent from Start to finish. The lads who came to install the windows were punctual, kind and courteous. I am extremely happy with the whole process.
James in North Yorkshire Posted on 22/09/2021 , work completed 15/09/2021
Smashing New Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am delighted with my new door which has fulfilled all my expectations. It was expertly fitted and I couldn't be more pleased with it.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 02/08/2021 , work completed 02/07/2021
New door.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A superb new door fitted by a local company and local tradesmen. The fitters were polite and efficient and the end product was a credit to them.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 02/08/2021 , work completed 23/07/2021
Superb work carried out by true professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowens Windows Ltd carried out extensive work to our property, which was started and finished on the dates agreed. We had gutters and soffits fitted all around the property, all windows were replaced with UPC double glazed units and we had a new front door and porch windows also in UPC. All works were carried out to a very high standard, all debris was taken away each day and dust was cleaned up. Disruption was kept to a minimum. All costs were kept to the original quotation, with all measurement being very exacting therefore all went together very professionally. We were extremely pleased with all works carried out and would thoroughly recommend Cowens Windows Whitby to anyone needing this sort of work done.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 13/06/2021 , work completed 02/03/2021
Brilliant Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time I have used Cowen Windows to do replacement window work for me as I believe there are no better window fitters in our area. They do a first class job with no mess or fuss. I would recommend them to anyone, they use quality materials at an affordable price.
Alan in North Yorkshire Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 09/04/2021
Good quality and value for money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wanted to work with a local company and they are very efficient, arrived on time and very friendly. The work was done very well and all mess cleaned up, not too expensive and very good quality, wouldn’t have my work done by any other firm. A pleasure to have the work carried out.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 28/04/2021 , work completed 27/04/2021
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All windows & doors replaced. Despite some material faults, everything sorted to our satisfaction without dispute. The final finish is professional and has transformed our house.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 18/04/2021 , work completed 24/03/2021
Excellent quality of product and good workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Window fitters came on time and did an excellent job. Cleaned up after themselves. Perfect. Would recommend to anyone.
Nick in North Yorkshire Posted on 07/04/2021 , work completed 26/03/2021
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had all our windows replaced. We have used Cowens over a number of years and always found that they do high quality work at a very reasonable price. Lee and Jack who fitted our windows were great. They cracked on with the job and were extremely helpful and informative. The mess was minimal and the guys did a thorough job of tidying up at the end of each day. The installation spread over 4 days was carried out professionally and with the minimum of disruption and fuss. We would thoroughly recommend this company and the quality of the product and workmanship. We're delighted with the result.
Roger in North Yorkshire Posted on 06/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
First class workmanship, first class company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very professional company that clearly take great pride in their work. Communication was excellent from start to finish. The lads, Ryan & Jason, who fitted the three windows, were polite, courteous, hard working & highly skilled - a credit to the company. The installation was done swiftly, with everything cleared away at the end of each day. The site was left immaculate at the end of the job & the finished result was fabulous.....I couldn’t be more delighted! In my opinion Cowen’s are one of the best companies in North Yorkshire & I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them. I’ll certainly be using them again!
Mrs. Bagshaw in North Yorkshire Posted on 24/03/2021 , work completed 16/03/2021
Replacement UPVC Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is always a pleasure to deal with a business that delivers quality and value for money. Cowen Windows fit that brief perfectly both in their management and on-site delivery and installation of their products. What also helps are polite hard-working employees who are very knowledgeable about their products and installation procedures. As a customer, it’s also brilliant when tradesmen turn up when they say they will turn up. We’ve got nothing but praise for Cowen Windows, a great business located in Yorkshire.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 02/03/2021 , work completed 26/02/2021
New Conservatory
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowens fitted a new conservatory as my old one was passed its sell by date. I ordered in October due to the pandemic they gave me an installation date for Feb16th and they turned up bright and early on that date. Very efficient team of lads polite who certainly knew their job the conservatory was fitted to a very high standard in the time frame they said the lads were tidy and never left the job without a sweep up, and hose down, I am over the moon with my new ‘sun room’ as I am with all my windows doors and porch they have previously fitted would definitely recommend Cowens without hesitation.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 26/02/2021 , work completed 16/02/2021
First Class Product and Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent composite door and glazing fitted with no fuss in a thoroughly professional manner by very competent installation team. Price was competitive. Cannot fault the product or the workmanship. Would highly recommend Cowens to anyone looking for new doors, windows or glazing
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 28/01/2021 , work completed 13/01/2021
Excellent company and service thoroughly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New sash bay windows fitted in our apartment. Very professional right from the start with the guy doing the measuring up been meticulous with the process (windows were arched at the top). The quote was very competitive. Good communication throughout with the office. We requested that as much of the wood panelling around the windows be saved and the guys used wood to make up the bits that they had to take out to remove the old windows. Couldn’t be happier with the quality of the workmanship and all rubbish was taken away and the place left tidy. Couldn’t recommend highly enough. Thank you Trevor and the team!
Jonathon in North Yorkshire Posted on 20/01/2021 , work completed 04/12/2020
Cowens flush sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowens fitted 17 windows and 3 doors for me during 2020. The quality of the product and installation was excellent. Communication throughout was great. I would highly recommend this company.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 13/01/2021 , work completed 28/09/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowen Windows made clear arrangements to supply and fit a new external front door and frame at my home. Communication was efficient and friendly. The fitters arrived on time and were pleasant, polite and very professional. Nothing was too much trouble, they provided good advice and they worked tidily and diligently to produce an outstanding job. I am delighted with the results.
Tony in North Yorkshire Posted on 02/12/2020 , work completed 07/11/2020
Perfect Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent efficient and hassle free job .3 Large windows including a large bay window replaced. when Cowan's men left everything was done no making up no cleaning up just three very good windows.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 27/11/2020 , work completed 18/11/2020
Excellent job - and very tidy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We eventually had our, very leaky & draughty, patio doors replaced by Cowens in September and wowser - what a difference! We'd been getting them sorted since last year but what with Christmas and then the awful COVID lockdown, it seemed like it was never going to happen! It did though and we're very pleased with them and couldn't recommend this company highly enough. The office staff were very helpful (and patient!) and the installation chaps were very efficient and unbelievably tidy - I was expecting to have to do some paint touching up after they'd finished but no, it was like they'd never been there (except now there are no puddles of water or icy blasts coming from the gaps at the bottom of the doors!), which is lovely! Given that we had to 'socially distance' too, they took that very seriously, which was very reassuring.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 02/11/2020 , work completed 28/09/2020
Very Good Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowens did a very good job installing a new window in an awkward place. I am delighted with the results. Because of delays in getting permission from an outgoing/incoming neighbour to erect scaffolding on adjacent property the original quotation and time slot was delayed by almost a year but Cowens kept to their original price and did the job quickly and with no inconvenience to my new neighbours. I have had no hesitation in passing on Cowens details to anyone who has asked for a good window company.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 01/07/2020 , work completed 30/01/2020
Excellent service from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowens replaced and fitted new windows throughout my entire cottage. I am absolutely delighted with the service I have received from start to finish. Trevor was very helpful in advising what would suit my property, and I was readily able to make changes before signing to go ahead. The fitters were excellent; tidy and efficient workers who battled Storm Ciara, and Dennis, then heavy snow. They still turned up each day, and did as much as possible in very challenging weather conditions. They cleaned up each day, and ensured that a thorough job was done before leaving. I highly recommend Cowens for replacement doors and windows - all being well, I will be having my guttering done by them next. Thank you for your excellent workmanship.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 11/03/2020 , work completed 24/02/2020
1st Class Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second time I have used Cowen's and again a first class service with quality windows at a competitive price.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 10/03/2020 , work completed 06/03/2020
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having known and used Cowans for many years, I had no hesitation, to call in and see them, happy in the knowledge that, it’s what I want, and not what they want to sell me, there’s no high pressure sales techniques here, just good sound advice from proper craftsmen, who know what they are talking about. My doors windows and conservatory are all from Cowans, and have never had any problems or concerns, yes there are probably cheaper alternatives, but use a local company you know you can trust, not some bodge it and scarper outfit.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 03/03/2020 , work completed 28/02/2020
New conservatory
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Cowen Windows for many years and have always found their work to be of a very high standard. My recent purchase was a new conservatory and I was not disappointed with both the quality and look. Their installers are very knowledgeable, arrived promptly and worked until they lost the light at the end of the day. I would highly recommend the company to anyone wishing to purchase replacement doors, windows or conservatories.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 05/02/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
Pleased with the experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of parts of elderly double glazing. Provided us with what we needed and didn't sell us what we didn't need. Kept to the agreed installation date. Were quick, clean, unobtrusive, polite and thoughtful. Very pleased with the result - we live on a bust main road and the new acoustic glass is very efficient.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 04/02/2020 , work completed 21/01/2020
Professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service from start to finish! Extremely pleased with our new composite door. Would highly recommend Cowens!
Rachel Posted on 28/01/2020 , work completed 23/12/2019
Sliding sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All communication with the team at Cowens was good. I found the staff very knowledgeable about the product they are selling and about the property they were fitting them in, how the windows would be fixed etc. The fitters arrived on time and laid down dust sheets and cleared up after. The whole team were very professional and I would not hesitate to work with them again.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 08/01/2020 , work completed 08/11/2019