We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Edinburgh Tree Surgeons

Profile thumb tag line
4.9

55 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–20:00
  • Monday 08:30–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–20:00
  • Thursday 08:30–20:00
  • Friday 08:30–20:00
  • Saturday 08:30–20:00
  • Sunday 08:30–20:00

About

Edinburgh Gardeners and Tree Surgeons are a small team of experienced arborists and horticulturalists who can undertake all aspects of tree removal, tree pruning and awkward height work and also provide a comprehensive gardening service including lawn care, shrub pruning, hedge cutting, plant care, stonework, fencing and one-off tidy-ups. We take care of individual trees, gardens and large corporate grounds including letting agencies, housing associations and NHS properties - our standards are extremely high and we aim to deliver a high standard of customer satisfaction.
All of our team are highly experienced, fully qualified and insured so you can rest assured you are getting the best service. Owner Alan Dewar would be happy to discuss your needs and provice tree consultations. From a small tree in a back garden to site clearance for major construction, our friendly and professional team can take care of your trees and grounds letting the light shine through.
Call today for a free no obligation quote.

What we do

  • Gardeners and landscape designers

    • Hedge trimming
    • Garden clearance
    • Garden features
    • Garden maintenance
    • Drainage
    • Planting
    • Lawn mowing
    • Lawn treatment
    • Leaf clearance
    • Weed control
    • Snow clearance
  • Tree surgeons

    • Tree thinning
    • Tree reductions
    • Tree removal
    • Tree planting
    • Stump grinding
  • Turf suppliers and contractors

  • Fencing

  • Decking installers

  • Patios and driveways

  • More Services

    • garden wall construction and repairs
    • tree surveys

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
55 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great work and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Edinburgh Tree Surgeons did a fantastic job removing several trees and bushes from my back garden and laying turf to replace them. The garden was very overgrown and Alan was very helpful with planning the work. Alan’s team completed the work within 4 hours and did a great job, I was very impressed how friendly and knowledgeable they were and the end result was just as I’d hoped. Big thanks to the whole team!
Michael in Edinburgh Posted on 08/06/2022 , work completed 02/05/2022
Highly professional, reliable team with excellent standard of work
Alan and his team removed a very tall, awkwardly placed self-seeded ash tree from our tenement back green which was growing extremely close to another property. Alan was incredibly helpful, patient and tolerant through the time it took us to get consent from all concerned. Communication was excellent throughout, the cost very fair and the whole team were highly professional, friendly and efficient. The site was left clear, with all felled material removed swiftly. Carrying out tree work in an enclosed Edinburgh tenement back green, with very limited access and parking available, presents additional challenges -but Alan and team took these on cheerfully and did a really great job.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/03/2022 (Reviewer did not use service)
Tree removal, Braids
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Edinburgh Tree Surgeons felled a garden tree of mine that had started to lean after the recent storms. There was a quick and helpful response after my initial enquiry and the work was carried out almost immediately at a reasonable cost. I was impressed by the efficient and careful tidying up at the end of the job. I would certainly engage this firm again and would recommend it to others.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 11/02/2022 , work completed 09/02/2022
Very pleased with the work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan and his team pruned a silver birch at the foot of the garden which had grown too tall and bulky creating a large shadow. From the photo I sent them they gave me a quotation which I accepted and they arrived a few days later. Following discussions and Alan's advice the extent of work was agreed and his team set about it very efficiently. Afterwards, they removed all the cuttings apart from the thicker branches which I wanted to retain for our log stove. All were pleasant while Alan is clearly very knowledgeable and keen to leave a satisfactory job. The work was charged in line with the quotation. I have no hesitation in recommending them and would certainly contact them again for any tree work.
Andrew in Edinburgh Posted on 01/02/2022 , work completed 20/01/2022
Tree pruning and shrub removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Edinburgh Tree Surgeons pruned a fairly out-of-shape tree and removed two old shrubs in my back garden. From first contact to quote and scheduling the work, to execution it was very efficient, excellent value for money and high quality. Could not have wished for a better job to be done and planning to commission some further work shortly.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/10/2021 , work completed 07/10/2021
Hedge removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very happy with the work that was carried out in my back garden on August 10th. It's made such a difference to my garden. Alan's team worked very hard and at the same time were friendly and courteous. I was concerned about the mess from the shredder outside my neighbour's house but every last bit was cleared away. The same in my garden - the site was left clear and tidy. It was a job well done!
Patricia in Edinburgh Posted on 06/10/2021 , work completed 10/08/2021
Quality of work good. Communication caused confusion and upset.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
£900 to cut 6 shrubs/small trees to stumps. Spent about two hours on site. All refuse removed. They missed a tree and they had to come later in the week to cut this down. Communication issues led to confusion and a bit of a back and fourth via email after an initial very negative review. The company reached out and explained their side and whilst I feel the quote I was given is expensive they absolutely have done the work I asked for and I have paid them the agreed price. Quality of work itself is fine. Just had a bad experience communicating which led to confusion.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 28/09/2021 , work completed 10/09/2021
The trader replied (on 29/09/2021)
Our apologies for this confusion Zara, as we have said in private emails, we never intended to mislead, and will take more care to review the accuracy of the wording in our quotations and invoices in light of this. We very much appreciate the attention to this issue and your edited review. We always try and help our customers choose services that suit their needs and budget, and our aim is always customer satisfaction and trust that our services will be carried out to a high standard and in a timely manner.
Quick service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Edinburgh Gardeners were very prompt to reply to my initial enquiry then equally prompt in getting the job done. Very pleased with their service. The staff were very friendly. Cleaned up after the job.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 28/09/2021 , work completed 28/09/2021
Efficient, friendly and a great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were quoted after we saw ETS doing some work for the neighbours. Automated quote acceptance, they sorted the planning permission, and we got 3 trees removed and stumps ground as well as some tree pruning. It was all done within a week of the planning permission being granted. A great job! We didn’t get other quotes but we felt the cost reasonable.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 02/09/2021 , work completed 23/07/2021
Very prompt service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was a little apprehensive about having a beautiful birch tree thinned. I needn't have worried. Barry did a great job and you hardly notice to look at it as he has kept the shape but now I can see out of my kitchen window again. Meanwhile, Alan took down another tree whose roots were in the drains and Laura worked tirelessly chipping the brash. The place was left very tidy. They make a great team.
Jane in Midlothian Posted on 30/08/2021 , work completed 27/08/2021