We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Effective Heating

Profile thumb emblem

4.6

67 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–19:00
  • Monday 09:00–19:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–19:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–19:00
  • Thursday 09:00–19:00
  • Friday 09:00–16:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Effective Heating is pleased to offer some of the best prices for boiler replacements across the UK. As part of Effective Energy Group, a customer service accredited organisation with over 200 employees, we are committed to the highest standards of customer service.

Please contact us if you are thinking of replacing your boiler (Oil, Gas or LPG) and we will be very pleased to help.

We can also offer grant funding under the Energy Company Obligation (ECO) which means that we can provide some customers with 100% funding for replacement boilers*.

*See website for full terms.

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas safety testing and inspection

Customer reviews

4.6
67 reviews
Customer Service
4.6
Quality
4.6
Value
4.6
Sort by
Terrible, dangerous installation still awaiting completion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This has been the most horrific 6 weeks. The workmen have smashed my worktops, cemented the inside of my kitchen, left holes over open electrical components. 4 visits for a condensation pipe to be fit with no plug. I've been left without heating or hot water for 11 days. I've had numerous weekly visits (3 visits just to take pictures of their work!) despite numerous calls and letters including to Michael their director it still seems that I am left with numerous and dangerous faults and outstanding work. I was promised min fuss and have had to take numerous days of work for workmen who have not shown up. Please please please think very carefully before using this firm. Please see my photos and review on their Facebook page for photographic evidence.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 17/04/2019 , work completed 08/03/2019
Boiler Fitted under ECO Scheme on 02/04/2019
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler was fitted by Adam Marr. He was everything a tradesman should be and very much a credit to any company. He was polite, hardworking, conscientious and very tidy and kept me advised as to what he was doing. He never had a proper break, even drinking his tea whilst on the job. If you are lucky enough to "draw" this guy to fit your boiler you have done well. He likes tea and bacon butties. To be fair the whole day went without a hiccup. The boiler and other materials arrived very early, followed by Adam, who immediately got to work. The electrician arrived in time to check the electrical work and was efficient also. A very well organised job. An excellent day and an excellent job very well done!
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 02/04/2019 , work completed 02/04/2019
Installation engineers great, anything else shocking
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our new boiler fitted on the 6/01/2019 the guys that fitted the boiler were great, however that's where it stops, the fitters couldn't get the boiler wired in correctly so called and electrician out, this was on Wednesday the 6th of January 2019, its now 14th of January and we are still waiting for the electrician to come out. Guess I will be organising my own electrician and sending you the bill!
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 14/01/2019 , work completed 09/01/2019
New Central heating boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would highly recommend Very professional engineers who worked really hard and everything went to plan All the supplies and engineers turned up on time Very pleased and thank you !
Customer in Lincolnshire Posted on 04/01/2019 , work completed 04/01/2019
The trader replied (on 25/01/2019)
Thank you for the great review
No complaints here
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Appointment 9am arrived 9am work started replacing old boiler for new job done 7 hours later, all rubbish taken away, excellent job no complaints here.
Keith, East Yorkshire Posted on 02/01/2019 , work completed 02/01/2019
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The original engineer failed to turn up on two separate days. Apart from that the men who eventually turned up to do the job were great and did an excellent job and explained everything to us satisfactorily.
Glenn, Cleveland Posted on 20/12/2018 , work completed 20/12/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a boiler fitted. One man came to fit the boiler, which I found that two men could have done it much quicker. The workman arrived at 9am and left after 6pm. As I said, there should have been two men to fit my boiler.
Susan, Derbyshire Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
Worst service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sadly this was the worst customer service experience we’ve had. Chose this company after reading which reviews. We had recently had a new kitchen, and a new boiler was not something we had anticipated, it broke out of the blue. When the surveyor came to give a quote we specifically enquired about a boiler that would cause the least disruption to the kitchen we’d had installed a few weeks ago. The surveyor assured us that the boiler we had chosen would be a like for like swop, and that no disruption would be caused to the new kitchen. Based on this info we went ahead and paid the deposit and booked installation. We had been without heating for around 4/5 weeks but the time installation came. The date was changed by this company and we had to wait another two days. On the day of installation the engineer informed us the surveyor had not ordered all the parts and would be unable to complete installation that day. But also that tiles and our boiler cupboard would have to be ripped out. He was astounded at the Advice the surveyor gave us. We immediately raised this as a concern, as we felt the surveyor had told us all we wanted to hear to secure a sale, and had in fact been totally conned. After two promised return phone calls from a manager with an update on how this was going to be resolved, and not receiving one, we have rang to cancel our order and ask for deposit to be returned, and to be told there were no managers in today.
mrslmaguire Posted on 30/11/2018 , work completed 30/11/2018
The trader replied (on 21/12/2018)
Firstly we would like to apologise for any inconvenience and for the frustration this has caused you in trying to get your new boiler installed. I also want to confirm just as you mentioned in your comments, that we do feel that we offer a very professional service and pride ourselves on delivering quality surveys and installations. Helping to back this up we also have a survey management system where we document all parts of the survey with numerous photos and notes in order to provide very competitive quotations. If there are any jobs that are out of the ordinary then we can identify this at the earliest opportunity and this allows us to start asking for more information and this is where I believe this particular survey started to fail. In this particular instance, a call should have been made to you with regards to your kitchen cupboard and this would have outlined the issue we would encounter. In turn, this would have given you an opportunity to consider our observations and comments. We have addressed the failure of the process internally to ensure a scenario like this does not fall through the net again. Once again we apologise for the inconvenience and the communication following the survey.
Great Service from quotation to installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New boiler installed very pleased. From the quote to installation. Neat and tidy job. Wed highly recommend these guys
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/11/2018 , work completed 12/11/2018
The trader replied (on 21/03/2019)
Thanks for the great reply
New boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I trusted this company to come out and install me a new boiler after having the survey done, the guy that did the survey explained everything and said they would take a water sample to test and not leave until the heating and boiler has been fully checked and will also keep me updated on everything . After pestering them for 2 weeks they finally came out to fix my new boiler. On the day I found it a nightmare as the 2 guys would just walk around the house doing there own thing, I found myself walking around after them having to ask them again and again what there plans were and what they will be doing. Now a month later I've still got no hot water or heating and they are asking for more money to finish off there job! Will never be using them ever again. They be caused me nothing but stress and hassle.
Maariah Malik Posted on 24/10/2018 , work completed 24/10/2018
The trader replied (on 08/11/2018)
Good Afternoon Mrs Malik Firstly let us apologise for the fact you feel dissatisfied with the service and experience you have received. However, we do need to respond to your comments in detail as from our perspective the sequence of events do differ and there are reasons for this. Having undertaken our initial sales visit, our engineers attended to replace your old broken boiler with a new one. On arrival at the property, you had no heating and no hot water. On nearing completion of the installation and when trying to test the system, it became apparent that there was an existing leak which would have been present prior to our works. Unfortunately for all concerned, the likely location of this leak was under your flooring downstairs. To identify the exact location would have meant pulling up floorboards and the laminate flooring that existed. A job that would take some time and also create some mess in the meantime, as well as potential damage. This was not something that was possible on the day of installation. At the time of leaving the property, the boiler was providing hot water, but not heating due to the existing leak, but we had left you in a better position than at the start of the day. The issue was caused by an existing fault and as per our terms and conditions, we do reserve the right to charge to rectify existing faults. After this discussion took place, your decision was to employ an alternative contractor to fault find and repair the existing leak, which we have absolutely no problem with as it is entirely your prerogative. Once the leak had been repaired by the alternative contractor we returned to complete our works and leave you with a fully functional new boiler and we are aware you were very pleased with the work and efforts of the engineer that returned. We note your comments about the 2 engineers on the original day of install and this is not our expectation or indeed the feedback we receive from many other customers concerning the demeanour of these two particular company representatives. We do take on board your comments and have had lengthy discussions about what could and should hold been done differently, but there is a definite challenge when faced with pre-existing faults or issues outside the scope of the agreed works. Once again we do apologise that you feel dissatisfied with the service and customer journey you have received, but we can assure you this is not how the vast majority of our customers feel and do believe on this occasion there are reasons why the sequence of events unfolded. Assuring you of our best intentions at all times. Effective Heating