We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Frames Conservatories Direct Ltd -Independent Network Installer

Profile thumb fcd logo for web

4.9

51 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–16:30
  • Monday 09:00–16:30
  • Tuesday 09:00–16:30
  • Wednesday 09:00–16:30
  • Thursday 09:00–16:30
  • Friday 09:00–16:30
  • Saturday 10:00–16:30
  • Sunday - Closed

What does an Approved Service endorsement mean?

Which? Trusted Traders assesses the services provided by companies who have applied to our scheme. Only certain aspects of the company are endorsed. The "Approved Service" ribbon logo shows you exactly which services they have been endorsed for, Independent Network have been endorsed for their installer network services. For more information please contact us here at W?TT or ask Independent Network direct.

About

Frames Conservatories Direct are a family run business, trading in Bury St Edmunds since 2001. We install throughout East Anglia and have showrooms in both Bury St Edmunds and Ely.

We are a bit different to most of our competitors - we don't employ hard-sell, pressure techniques.  Customers come to us with a need for home-improvement (which could be windows, doors, a conservatory, exterior cladding, a brick-built extension or, a garage or loft conversion etc.) we talk through the options with them before giving them a price.
 
Our fitting teams are all employed by us and are polite, professional and efficient and receive great feedback from our customers.  Every fitter is qualified to NVQ Level 2.

We are proud of the repeat business we get from customers and we are one of the few installers in the area who have a BSi Kitemark for Window Installation.

We have three showrooms for you to visit so you can try products before you buy them.

In addition we are now an approved Ultraframe Installer.

What we do

  • Glaziers

    • Aluminium Windows
    • Double glazed units
    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing repair
    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Sash windows
    • Timber windows
    • Triple Glazing
    • UPVC Windows
  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing repairs
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • Doors

    • ​Aluminium doors
    • Bi-fold doors
    • Composite doors
    • Door repairs
    • Fire doors
    • French doors
    • Front door
    • Orangeries
    • Patio doors
    • Timber doors
    • UPVC doors
  • Canopies

  • Builders

  • Roofers

  • Conservatories

    • Conservatory Roof replacement
  • More Services

    • cladding
    • awnings
    • porches

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
51 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Conservatory
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional installation and friendly staff .New conservatory looks really good. I would recommend this company.
Peter in Norfolk Posted on 12/04/2021 , work completed 10/04/2021
Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, quality product. Fitters very good at what they do, leave everywhere clean and tidy.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 10/03/2021 , work completed 05/03/2021
Lovely company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish this company is great. There is no hard sell rubbish like I got with other companies when getting quotes. They did not pester me but gave me an honest quote and left it with me. It was all so easy and you get a helpful person straight away when you ring. The insulation was fine and the 3 windows are lovely. I’ve now ordered a patio door from them.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 12/02/2021 , work completed 01/02/2021
Good company, fair price, friendly & professional fitters, excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 18 windows, including a difficult bay and an arched stair window, All doors (3) a set of French doors, and a bay roof replaced by Frames Conservatories Direct (FCD). The search was long and in-depth but the product knowledge shown by the sale team was excellent (they even steered us away from an expensive option we did not need). The work was delayed because of lockdown 1 so instead of April 2020 it was delayed until the end of August but the communication was good. It did mean that the Windows were built both before and after lockdown. When it came to fitting as others have said the fitting team were really professional, friendly, careful and good at their job. I won't pretend there weren't a few hiccups but on a project this size you have to allow for the odd problem, the important thing is that they were resolved quickly, practically, without fuss and with good communication and none of them was the fault of FCD (manufacturing errors probably caused by the split production over lockdown). The finished project is excellent and people still comment on the positive change it has made to the house. Would I recommend FCD to others, without hesitation and would I use them again, definitely!
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 04/02/2021 , work completed 25/09/2020
Very Satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of gutters and downpipe, cant fault the workmanship. The weather was dreadful, cold and wet, yet the work was completed to high standard by courteous and friendly installers. We had used same company to replace windows and were confident of the same excellent service. We had double glazing replaced, and despite the unusual situation due to covid, the workmen were efficient, considerate and left everything clean and tidy and to a high standard. From the start of ordering at the showroom, through to surveyor and office staff, we were very reassured and we are happy to recommend this company.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 04/02/2021 , work completed 21/01/2021
New Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the original quote to the finished job the whole experience was 1st class. Yes, we did have a small issue with a glass panel breaking however this was swiftly replaced and caused no issues. Fitters were very clean and tidy and worked extremely hard. Great service and Mark was there all the way to answer any questions. First-class job.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 25/01/2021 , work completed 22/01/2021
Great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great company. Will use again if necessary. Work completed on time and professionally. Would recommend to others.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 25/01/2021 , work completed 20/01/2021
Perfect job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent and professional installation. Pity about covid making it taking longer, but completed at last. Very helpful and polite office staff. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 22/01/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
Sofit replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frames and Conservatories did a thoroughly professional job from start to finish. Highly recommended.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 20/01/2021 , work completed 08/01/2021
Excellent product and professional installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We decided to replace all our windows and doors into our rendered property. We had concerns about damage to the render during replacement of the units and consequent quality of the finish we would get. Frames and Conservatories Direct were professional throughout, putting us at ease. The quality of the work was outstanding with minimal damage to the render which was put right in the final finish to a very high standard. The product we decided to buy is of excellent quality and we are very pleased with our decision to proceed with the project and to chose Frames Conservatories Direct.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 12/01/2021 , work completed 07/01/2021
V, V good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. This is the 2nd installation they have done for us and both are of the highest standard. Wouldn't have asked them back if back if they weren't A1. Given the current problems with this darned virus the fitters were scrupulous in observing the rules. Office staff are great on the phone (thanks Rosemary). Very professional company.
John in Suffolk Posted on 12/01/2021 , work completed 11/01/2021
Satisfactory review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything to do with the installation was carried out to my satisfaction with the minimum of fuss and did not impinge at all on our daily life
Michael in Suffolk Posted on 09/12/2020 , work completed 25/09/2020
Great Service
From being to end the company was professional, we are very pleased with all aspects of our installation. Thank you guys. 😊
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 03/12/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
New patio doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a large window fitted a couple of years ago by Frames Conservatories Direct, and were very happy with the service, the quote and the quality of the product. When our ancient patio door literally fell apart recently it was a no-brainer to ask them to fit a replacement, and absolutely no surprise that the service from start to finish was excellent, nor that we are once again very happy with the cost and the end result. We would definitely recommend them, and when finances allow will certainly use them again ourselves.
Jim in Suffolk Posted on 17/11/2020 , work completed 22/09/2020
Mrs M Smith
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a considerable amount of thought I decided to have a conservatory I had several quotes and decided to choose Frames Conservatories Direct what they offered seemed far superior to the other quotes, I was more than pleased with their work, every tradesman that arrived done a brilliant job they were really skilled at their trade, were always polite, clean and tidy in fact they came here as workmen and left almost like friends I would highly recommend them to any other person ten out of ten.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 10/11/2020 , work completed 16/05/2020
First class service from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Frames Conservatories Direct replaced a cheap 20 year old Wickes conservatory that was falling apart with a far superior, quality conservatory that should last a lifetime. From the first visit by the salesman to the electrician wiring the roof vent, everything was completed professionally, on time and with great communications. We had quotations from three companies including one of the nationals, and FCD stood out by a country mile. I am happy to highly recommend FCD to anyone considering their products.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 23/09/2020 , work completed 20/08/2020
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole process from choosing the frames through to installation was carried out well. No high pressure salesmanship, just a visit to the showroom (specially arranged shortly the lockdown ended). The installation team were polite and careful and worked hard to produce a really nice job. Several people walking past the house have said how good the windows look.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 10/09/2020 , work completed 08/09/2020
Falsely promised to grab our custom and then withdrew from the contract after stringing us along for a month and half
Prompt phone calls and email correspondence before we signed a contract with them. Once the contract was signed to build an orangery, we never heard from them until we made umpteen calls/emails to check when a surveyor would visit. (surveyors visit was promised within 2 weeks of signing the contract which was 7th July) On 21st August we are told that we are in the system and our contract has been cleared in the review (how did they quote and get us to sign a contract without vetting the pricing). Blamed it on COVID and after a month and half tell us it financially unviable? Would it not have been vetted before quoting? Even if they did realise after... had they informed us 10 days after signing we could have moved ahead with other vendors we had shortlisted. Now we have lost time from 7th July to 29th August and have to start all over again. Everytime we tried calling the office we were promised to get a call back but none of that happened. Extremely shocking at the unprofessional manner in which they have behaved. They did refund our deposit but again when we asked to cancel our finance option and we had to go back and forth to get them to do it. There seems to be a disconnect between the sales team and the actual operations of the company. Systems don’t seem to be in place. Absolutely shocking considering the high rating they have. Not even an email to explain or cancel the contract. Just a text message from the salesperson who priced it.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 04/09/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 03/11/2020)
Hi, I'm sorry you have not experienced our normal high level of service, we have tried to locate your file on our system but can not find a cancelled contract for the date range you are suggesting, which is odd as we have very few cancelled contracts. Are you sure that it was Frames Conservatories Direct? We ask because we don't cancel contracts by text message and we do not take deposits. But to put your mind at rest, we do have an internal process to ensure what has been sold is achievable and viable. Our sales team are highly skilled and trained to look out for possible difficulties but they are not building control inspectors or structural engineers. Once a complex order is taken we do a lot of work behind the scenes making sure that there is nothing hidden that will prevent us from completing the contract. One thing we do not do is put our customers in a locked-in position where we knowingly start a project and then look to increase the price during the works. Orangeries are beautiful spaces to enjoy but they can come with some complexities, 99.9% of the time we can overcome them without any problems, occasionally though there are things that we need to do that could make a contract non-viable, we would have discussed this with you at length before it was cancelled. With regard to this particular contract, please send us some further details and if it was us we will gladly look into it for you and provide you with a full and frank explanation as to why it happened.
Replace Existing Consevatory
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a complex operation which required the removing of an existing conservatory, digging out the existing reinforced concrete foundations, then pile-driving to support new foundations and laying a reinforced concrete raft before erecting the new conservatory. The work was interrupted by the lock down but luckily the external structure was completed the day before it started. Following the lockdown the work continued slightly slower due to the availability of materials. The budget and staged payment schedule was exactly as agreed. I cannot fault the workmanship of all involved from ground work to completion. The quality of work was first class and carried out with enthusiasm and pride in their work. I have no hesitation in recommending Frames and Conservatories Direct.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 26/08/2020 , work completed 13/08/2020
Good kit, good job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 6 widows and some French door replaced, the new windows are just excellent and the installation, done soon after lockdown lifted, was done very efficiently. Very pleased with the value for money, the kit installed and the installers work
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 08/07/2020 , work completed 25/06/2020
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my front door replaced with a side door panel and toplight. The workers were fast, knowledgeable, courteous, and friendly. I am so very pleased with the installation. The amount of sunshine that floods through is so pleasurable. I could not stop looking at it. I am glad I had this work done with Frames Conservatories Direct and would definitely recommend them. Absolutely wonderful!
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 30/06/2020 , work completed 12/02/2020
Worth supporting this local business - would highly recommend them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wish we had replaced our conservatory roof years ago but thought it would be too expensive. Great to have a local company who have made our conservatory into a lovely room with quality work which was value for money. They carried out the work efficiently and with minimal disruption to us. Very pleased with the finished product.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 11/06/2020 , work completed 28/02/2020
New windows and French doors at our bowls club
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was started on the day they agreed with us and finished on time, the standard of work was very high, and the quality of the windows and doors excellent.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 03/06/2020 , work completed 22/01/2020
Great personal service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
3 full length windows replaced with standard size windows and new front door fitted. The team were very helpful at every stage of the process, offering design suggestions and fully explaining all work required. All work was carried out in the agreed schedule and budget to a high standard. We will definitely be using them again for future work.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 18/03/2020 , work completed 28/02/2020
Replacement upvc windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great quality windows, a very good service from start to finish, would recommend, they look very smart inside & outside, many thanks to all staff concerned.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 17/02/2020 , work completed 02/02/2020
Excellent service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish absolutely great work. We were exceptionally pleased with service, workmen and finish. Thank you.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 04/02/2020 , work completed 31/01/2020
Windows fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted 5 windows and have done an excellent job. Windows are of very good quality and everyone has been very helpful thank you.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 16/01/2020 , work completed 16/01/2020
Good communication and work carried out on time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed a replacement conservatory roof. Helpful communication with no hard sell. Installation appears satisfactory and a couple of snags were dealt with quickly. Would be happy to use again.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 10/01/2020 , work completed 18/12/2019
Frames Direct were the best choice after several years of fending off cold call approaches by other companies.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the outset we were delighted that sales representative James Fry listened carefully to what we did want (and equally importantly what we didn't want) and we are pleased by Frames Direct's professionalism throughout. Our bi-colour frame bespoking and several custom design etched windows were taken on board with ease and our confidence was reinforced during two visits to the sales showroom and subsequent site visit by surveyor Robb Addison who, with Jackie Eden, did an efficient job keeping us informed of progress through manufacturing to installation by hard-working Jamie and Terry who bravely worked through inclement weather on the three installation visits. Hopefully endless tea and biscuits helped. Careful Quality Control issues in manufacturing caused us to review and to decide on installation in three phases rather than wait for a single visit. I am sure that our appreciation for attention to detail in manufacturing will be remembered long after the memory of a few days' slippage. We are delighted with our new windows and patio doors which will add comfort and value to our home for years to come. After several years of fending off direct approaches by other double glazing companies we are fully satisfied that Frames Direct were the best choice.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 20/12/2019 , work completed 17/12/2019
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable, excellent service from start to finish. Highly recommended. Would always call Frames Conservatories for any work.
Deborah, Suffolk Posted on 16/12/2019 , work completed 16/12/2019
A good job at a good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From visiting the showroom to the fitters leaving, the whole job was done without fuss. I would recommend the company. Many thanks.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 12/12/2019 , work completed 02/12/2019
The team of three worked well together and with me.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ours was a bespoke design, with a timber construction. The project would also finish as a "conservatory" and balcony with a balustrade. Machined timber, not planed, and PVC framed windows go together well from this experience. The enthusiastic team resolved some challengers in the build. Thank you guys for going the "extra mile" and for the new space we are currently enjoying. This is the third project this company has successfully done for us, we will use them in the future.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 04/12/2019 , work completed 21/06/2019
Professional work, very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So pleased with the work. The two men who erected the work did a first class job. Many thanks to all concerned.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/08/2019 , work completed 05/08/2019
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good left the place as they found it clean would not know they had been in the house.
John, Cambridgeshire Posted on 27/06/2019 , work completed 27/06/2019
A pleasure
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good company, a pleasure to do business with. Professional, efficient, with a keen customer focus.
Alan, Suffolk Posted on 10/02/2019 , work completed 10/02/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job overall.
Gary, Cambridgeshire Posted on 11/12/2018 , work completed 11/12/2018
Quality Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From our initial enquiries we experienced friendly, efficient and professional service. Fitters were prompt, friendly and professional. Product is top rate. We are more than satisfied and would happily recommend the company.
Richard, Suffolk Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
Brilliant professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish work was carried out very professionally. Sales person was a dream, not pushy but friendly & helpful, knew the business.
Kaz, Norfolk Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
French doors & new internal window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recommended by a friend after excellent service, cannot fault the contact and fitting service and very pleased with the finished result.
Michael, Suffolk Posted on 17/08/2018 , work completed 17/08/2018
A most satisfactory job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish, the job of replacing our windows was handled in a most professional and friendly manner. There was no sales pressure. The job started and finished on schedule. All the staff were friendly and helpful. A brilliant result.
David, Suffolk Posted on 07/08/2018 , work completed 07/08/2018
Canopy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with product - fitters were professional, friendly & did an excellent job. Left site very tidy.
Iain, Suffolk Posted on 03/08/2018 , work completed 03/08/2018
Very good work done on time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had two new composite doors to replace 18 year old UPVC doors. I found the Ely office to be better than the Bury St Edmunds office. A price was agreed. I was contacted for a site survey which was done on the day and was then advised a provisional date for installation. About a week later I was contacted by the installation team to confirm the date and time of the installation. The installers arrived on the due date and were extremely tidy with their work, which including cleaning up afterwards and taking away all rubbish.I would I recommend FCD? Yes, but beware the sales team at the Bury office may not be on the ball!!! First impressions count, but overall I am glad I gave them a second chance.
Leonard Evans Posted on 10/07/2018 , work completed 10/07/2018
Very good service overall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wrong door fitted to start, but soon corrected with the one that we wanted. Very good service overall.
Roger, Suffolk Posted on 06/07/2018 , work completed 06/07/2018
Excellent results!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work from all involved in the process from initial chat with showroom salesman, installation and feedback and checking from salesman again. We are very happy with the quality and the professional approach from all concerned.
David, Suffolk Posted on 22/05/2018 , work completed 22/05/2018
Excellent service throughout.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant service from design consultant through to the installation team.
Nigel, Norfolk Posted on 21/05/2018 , work completed 21/05/2018
Secondary double glazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent secondary double glazing installed to three casement windows. This followed doble glazing to other parts of house in previous years. All work done at competitive prices and well done. Highly recommended company.
Roger1 Posted on 19/05/2018 , work completed 19/05/2018
Open Veranda
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We decided to have a Veranda, with tinted and UV reflecting glass, brilliant, from placing the order to the finished job, everyone was very professional and helpful. We would recommend them.
Barry from Cockfield Posted on 18/05/2018 , work completed 18/05/2018
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had two quotes when I decided to get my windows and doors done, I decided to go with Windows and Conservatries from Bury St Edmonds, I’m so glad I did they done an excellent job, I love my windows, the bay and the dormer look lovely, The chaps were all polite, done a great job and always cleared up after them. I would recommend the company with the greatest recommendation. Thank you guys.
St Ives Cambs Posted on 23/02/2018 , work completed 23/02/2018
Replacement windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company came recommended to me by a friend, it was a good recommendation, my replacement windows arrived as planned and the guy's who delivered and replaced them did an excellent job and left my home as tidy as they found it. I would certainly recommend anyone to use frames & Conservatories, just don't do what I did and choose one of the coldest days of the year to replace your windows, because you're going to freeze!!
Ian Hubbert Posted on 22/02/2018 , work completed 22/02/2018
A great job done by really friendly staff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a 4mx4m gable end conservatory in grey, from the sales team to the finish the work was carried out to a high standard. Everyone we dealt with were professional and knowledgeable and it was really easy to ask questions and get feedback. I am not joking everybody involved were so customer focused it was a pleasure to have them around my home.
Trevor Posted on 04/12/2017 , work completed 04/12/2017
Thanks very much for our new room.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new garden room built.
B Young Posted on 03/12/2017 , work completed 03/12/2017
Great work, not so great communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a conservatory built. We we're really pleased with what they've done and how the workers worked but we weren't happy with the communication form the office about when they were coming so each week we had to ring to check when they'd come and what time. The workers, however, were clean and friendly and have done really good work
Anonymous Posted on 02/12/2017 , work completed 02/12/2017
Orangerie
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Design, manufacture, ground preparation and erection of an Orangerie with other associated house modifications and alterations. Professional, courteous, honest and at all times at pains to do their very best for the customer and especially calm and constructive when faced with the inevitable unforeseen difficulties and problems that are always encountered during works of this nature.
George Posted on 01/12/2017 , work completed 01/12/2017