We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

G&L Home Improvements

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:00–20:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb gandl logo

5.0

16 Reviews

About

G and L Home Improvements are based in Ipswich, Suffolk and provide a full range of Electrical and Property maintenance services.

As an Elecsa registered business, City and Guilds qualified, and over 10 years experience, we provide a full range of electrical services, from fitting lights to a full rewire, within domestic properties. We can self certify all electrical work covered by Part P of the building regulations.

We are also able to provide a range of property maintenance and refurbishment services.

So from simple repairs, to a full kitchen fit or electrical rewire, then please contact us for a free, no obligation quotation, or informal chat.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Rewiring
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Wet rooms
  • Lighting contractors

    • Outdoor lighting
    • Emergency lighting
    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
  • More Services

    • light fitting

Customer reviews

5.0
16 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Trust worthy, experienced and fairly priced.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin is fantastic; he is reliable, hard working, experienced and fair with what he charges. Unlike many tradesmen I have used he has a close eye for detail and is very knowledgeable about everything I throw at him, be it electrical work (which is his main trade) to plastering and decorating. He is careful and considered in how to go about the job and is clean and tidy during. I would highly recommend him to friends and family.
Customer in Suffolk30/01/2019
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin was extremely professional and friendly. He put up a loft ladder, lights in loft and other small tasks. The standard of completion is very good. At every stage he tided up after himself. In addition, he always explained what he was doing and also confirmed our needs. Great workmanship.
Tom, Suffolk14/01/2019
Excellent quality workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completely new kitchen and flooring; New shower area; New toilet/cloakroom area. He completed all the work to a very high standard. He also found a Victorian door to match the rest of the house to fit between the kitchen and the living room. The work took a week longer than estimated but was worth it for the quality.
Margaret Morris01/12/2018
Honest, reliable and excellent tradesman.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nothing is too much trouble for Gavin, he is a perfectionist and really cares about any job he does, whether it is large or small. He has done several jobs for me, including electrical, carpentry and general repairs. All carried out efficiency and professionally. I would recommend G & L Home Improvements very confidently to anyone.
Julie Whatling16/10/2018
Excellent Tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin has done several jobs for me. His work is excellent, his attention to detail and his reliability is exceptional. I would recommend G&L Home Improvements with confidence to anyone needing work carried out, whether it be a large or small job.
Julie, Suffolk16/10/2018
Electrical and Kitchen Fitting....
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed G&L to rewire our cottage kitchen, fit new cupboards and worktops and fit a new consumer unit as well. Everything was done with a great deal of care and thought, on time and on budget. Gavin had some really good ideas to improve our ideas and was flexible when my DIY plumbing work needed a little adjustment. I was able to trust Gavin with the keys to our holiday home and he independently organised for UK Power Networks to sort out our supply and managed the whole thing. So we now have a lovely new kitchen, an electrical installation certificate and someone whom we can trust in the future. Thanks G&L Home Improvements!
Jon_Mc03/09/2018
Roof replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a Box section steel roof installed on my workshop to replace a felt one. The work was carried out neatly and to specification.
Moriniman21/05/2018
Would definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted external security lighting, repaired wiring damaged by squirrels in loft and repaired kitchen strip light and lounge light switch. Very happy with the standard of workmanship, customer service and punctuality, would definitely recommend.
KH14/05/2018
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So happy to find a true professional that I can trust completely.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer25/04/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, professional and competent. Variety of different jobs all completed on time and on budget. Highly recommended.
Fraser Butters14/04/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He came round to price up the job, which was very reasonable. We agreed a date for the works. He turned up on time, did a fantastic job. Very neat, tidy and professional. Would use again.
Greg, Suffolk13/04/2018
Friendly & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, helpful, reliable. Resolved issues for us to a very high standard. Gave us options where available and communicated well.
Eleanor, Suffolk15/01/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin was very professional. He did some small repairs for me, including fitting a new waste pipe under my kitchen sink, fitting a new telephone socket. He responded to my call very promptly and came to do the work the next day. His work was excellent and his price, very reasonable. Would definitely recommend.
Sue, Suffolk02/10/2017
Affordable, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin has carried out a few jobs for me which were the installation of outside lighting and additional sockets in the house. Gavin is extremely professional, giving me a detailed quotation with a breakdown of the pricing, arranging a mutually convenient date for completion of the work and carrying out the work with minimum disturbance to myself. Gavin was very thorough and worked hard to complete each job, overcoming any obstacles by discussing alternative solutions with me beforehand. He is very neat and tidy and his electrical work and finishing off impeccable. As a lady living alone, I felt comfortable having Gavin in my house as he was very polite, friendly. Overall, a highly professional electrician.
traciewhite, Which? Consumer08/08/2017
Reliable, trustworthy and reasonable!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Gavin on several occasions for electrical work, replacing sanitary ware, basin taps and decorating. We've always found his work to be of a high standard, completed within the given timescale and at a very reasonable price! We've also found his advice to be honest and sound. As a rule, I don't really like recommending trades people as they so often let you down but I'd definitely recommend G&L Home Improvements and have done on several occasions... The people I've recommended have been happy too!
dfarrow8031/05/2017
Quick tidy work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removed dishwasher and fitted condensing tumble dryer in place with plumbed in water out to existing drain. Gavin made quick work of job and solved issues with the plumbing in perfectly.
Markyate Dad, .11/12/2015