We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Viewforth Glazing

Profile thumb logo
4.7

26 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 10:00–16:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Viewforth Glazing have been established for half a century, supplying the Edinburgh area with a complete glass, glazing and window installation service.

Our Glazing service covers all domestic and Commercial repairs such as Windows, Doors, Cupolas, Greenhouses, Mirrors, Draught-proofing, Sash Ropes, Re-puttying, Re-pointing, Sealing, Leaded Panels, Display Cabinets, Balustrades, Shop Windows, Mirrored Wardrobe Doors and Coloured Glass Splash-backs.

Specialising in the Refurbishment and Draught proofing of original timber sash and case windows, at very competitive prices

Traditional Sash and Case Windows, PVC windows, Composite Doors and ideal for Edinburgh's historic city we also install Secondary Glazing

We also have our own in house window and door engineers, who can relieve your mechanism, locks and adjustment problems quickly

At our premises we cut and provide all types of Glass and Mirrors which can be Bevelled and Polished, Table Tops from 4-25mm thick and Shelves of all shapes and sizes

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing suppliers
    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing repairs
  • Glaziers

    • Sash windows
    • Timber windows
    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Glass boarding up and replacement
    • Stained glass
    • Double glazed units
    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing repair
    • UPVC Windows
    • Aluminium Windows
    • Window consultants
  • Draughtproofing installers

  • Doors

    • Composite doors
    • Bi-fold doors
    • French doors
    • Fire doors
    • Front door
    • Patio doors
    • Timber doors
    • UPVC doors
  • More Services

    • secondary glazing splashbacks mirrorwardrobes glass supplier

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
26 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.7
Value
4.6
Sort by
Refurbished my wooden sash windows, did a great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Refurbished my flat's 5 large wooden sash windows. Am very happy with the job. The initail assesment of work needing done was fair and matched the final invoice. Team of 3 (Jason, Bryan and Clark) were friendly and professional, got the job done quickly and efficiently and cleaned up after themselves. Am very happy with the final result and would recommend.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 04/08/2021 , work completed 19/07/2021
The trader replied (on 05/08/2021)
Thank you for the compliments, we will pass this on to the team, I am sure they will be delighted as they love getting feed back.
Fine for small work, not recommended for major repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
For years and multiple flats, I've had Viewforth Glazing doing repairs and fixing things like sash ropes and was really happy with their work and attitude. Last time I called on them, I needed to repair extensive rot in an older property, based on the house survey recommendations. The estimator was very confident about the work required, and a team came out over several days to to do the work. Once completed, the guy painting and waterproofing the windows kept on finding rot still present, and Viewforth sent out two different teams to fix the work, which in the end was never adequately resolved. At no time did the firm send out a foreman, the original estimator or anyone senior to look at the work. Had email correspondence, with extensive photos of the issues, and had a face to face with the managing director, Kelvin, who said there were no grounds for complaint, never mind a refund. So no satisfaction there. In the end, based on recommendation from our painter, another glazing firm did the work all over again - they found tons of rot and did a great job in replacing and repairing them. The job happened a couple of years ago, but still the same management - I would recommend asking if the firm quality checks the work with a foreman afterwards, especially if there are any snags. Or use them for the simpler work.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 15/04/2021 , work completed 29/06/2016
The trader replied (on 16/04/2021)
Five years ago, before this pandemic lockdown, our company gave this customer two estimates, one for draught-proofing and one for new windows. He accepted the one for draught-proofing and just replacing some window sills rather than having new windows installed. I note the customer has now fitted new windows.
Very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Viewforth Glazing supplied and fitted a replacement sash to an existing sash & case window and carried out a number of minor repairs to the other windows throughout the house. Overall their work was carried out in a very professional manner by a very helpful and courteous staff and all decoration and furnishings were protected and left in pristine condition. Although there was a significant delay in fitting the replacement sash due to Covid-related material supply problems, I was kept fully informed at all stages. The final bill was for exactly the same amount as the original quotation. I would have no hesitation in recommending Viewforth Glazing for any new windows or window repair work.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/12/2020 , work completed 11/11/2020
Double Glazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is my 3rd flat where Viewforth Glazing have replaced the windows with quality Double Glazing Units. The pre sales is handled by Colin who is very easy to get along with and provides a quote quickly. I think he also schedules the work. The guys who did the work made an excellent job, were very clean and more than happy to deal with any requests. Personally having used them before I would not go anywhere else because Double Glazing is a major cost and you want it done correctly. I have 100% confidence in them that is why I feel comfortable with them. You know you'll get an excellent job. I can 100% recommend them.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 15/09/2020 , work completed 15/09/2020
Excellent job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was very pleased with work carried out to replace a pane of glass. Not only was it done quickly and efficiently, but it was carried out professionally by staff who were respectful and courteous. Everything was left as it was with all mess cleared up. The price was also very competitive. Will definitely use again and would recommend.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 18/08/2020 , work completed 14/08/2020
Glass splashback for kitchen - supplied and installed and looking great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Viewforth measured, ordered and fitted a glass splashback for my kitchen. The glazier who took the measurements made sure I was involved in how the kitchen would look, making sure I was aware of my squinty walls, and suggesting the best fit because of this. The manager (Tony) quoted me a very competative price over the phone. After a quick visit to the showroom to choose the glass from the large selection it was ordered and fitted within a few weeks. The fitters were friendly and did an excellent job. They used PPE due to the current pandemic. The manager also asked me if I was happy with everything and how the job had gone. The splashback has added the final touches to my new kitchen.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/08/2020 , work completed 06/08/2020
Bedroom Window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The lockdown caused by the coronavirus crisis delayed the installation of secondary glazing to my bedroom window (a swing-open small window). I was contacted immediately once the firm was re-opened and the work arranged for the following week. The workmen turned up at the time arranged and commenced the job without delay. They were friendly and completed the job with the minimum of fuss, tidying up as they went along. I was impressed with their work and the manner in which they carried it out. A fine job and I heartily recommend this excellent local firm.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 30/07/2020 , work completed 29/07/2020
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys were superb from the minute I called them. My restaurant was vandalised & a window smashed. Someone arrived to provide a quote within an hour of calling them, they would have done the job on the same day if it had suited me. When they returned to do the job at the time we arranged it was done quickly, cleanly & with no fuss. 2 excellent tradesmen who knew exactly what to do when they encountered some surprise problems! Thanks very much for doing a great job, I can't recommend this company highly enough.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 26/02/2020 , work completed 26/02/2020
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our Shop window was vandalised, Viewforth Glazing sent a man to measure the same day, I was very impressed with the team of charming young men who carried out the works efficiently. They took time to clean up after the work was completed, and every care was made to ensure the safety of all involved including the pedestrians walking passed the shop at the time. I would not hesitate to recommend this company and would like to thank the team for their efforts.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/08/2019 , work completed 06/08/2019
Great workmanship and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Viewforth Glazing supplied and fitted a glass splashback in our kitchen, which had to be custom made to fit. Not only does it look great, but we were very impressed with the care and attention that Viewforth took to make sure everything was right.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 09/06/2019 , work completed 15/05/2019
Replaced Double Glazed French Door Panel
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent. From my first telephone call to completed job. All staff that I had contact with were professional, efficient and friendly. This was not the cheapest quote but I am glad that I went with my instinct and chose a Which Trusted Trader for peace of mind.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 18/04/2019 , work completed 19/04/2010
End to End Customer Journey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally recommend Viewforth Glazing, they always do a great job. Their service and end to end customer journey is superb and very professional. Special thanks to Jamie and Brian who as well as being excellent glaziers are kind and encouraging to their apprentice Matthew. Well done all.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 24/03/2019 , work completed 06/03/2019
New windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had all the windows replaced. Absolutely superb service from start to finish. All the options well-explained, and a detailed quotation provided for discussion (unlike all the other companies approached). Job completed in a very timely manner with minimal disruption. The end result is superb. Can't recommend Viewforth Glazing highly enough.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 22/12/2018 , work completed 29/11/2018
Efficient & Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Changed two damaged panes of glass. Took around an hour as had to remove sash and case window. Put the window back to fit better than before. Quick, professional and tidied up after themselves. Affordable as well.
Isabelle D Posted on 03/11/2018 , work completed 03/11/2018
Fantastic.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked Viewforth Glazing on an excellent recommendation from a neighbour. The window fitters were friendly, very tidy and kept draught and noise to a minimum. The quality of our new windows is great. Would highly recommend Viewforth Glazing.
Deborah, Midlothian Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
Smooth as silk
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Viewforth Glazing for bespoke sizes/shapes of glass and mirrors. Decided to use for four jobs. UPVC window pane, tilt and turn frame and glass, repair tilt and turn mechanism, reeded glass for internal door. All jobs done promptly and professionally. Kept in loop before/during, after work. Very reasonable prices for all jobs - even saved money on replacement tilt and turn mechanisms for other windows (after being advised that a good clean out and oil would be sufficient). These all work perfectly now. Plan to use in the near future to replace outside seals. Without a doubt, a five star company and service.
David, Midlothian Posted on 09/11/2017 , work completed 09/11/2017
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No hesitation in recommending Viewforth Glazing. They are fast, friendly, efficient, quiet and tidy-up after themselves!
Marlena, Midlothian Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
Fast, efficient and high quality workmanship. I am pleased to recommend this company.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used Viewforth Glazing in two separate properties. The most recent job was quite large and involved fitting seven new double glazed windows. I needed the job done fairly quickly and the management were really helpful in organising and meeting the deadline I had. The two members of staff who carried out the work were polite, professional, did a great job and cleaned up thoroughly at the end of each day's work.
Davmicky Posted on 14/08/2017 , work completed 14/08/2017
Waste of time and money.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bad experience with this company. Lots of mistakes and arrogant management. Lots of negative reviews online. Would not recommend.
Chris Tracey Posted on 28/07/2017 , work completed 28/07/2017
Pure dead brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Colin and John both helped and advised me in my choice of Draught Proofing for the windows in my sitting and bedroom, also the PVC windows in a bathroom, shower room and a PVC door which all very efficient in keeping the heat in and any noise out. The installation was carried out by two very efficient young men who were very clean and tidy workers. I've recommended the company to several friends who are very happy with their windows and doors, and agree with me that Viewforth Glazing are a first class company, and I will continue to recommend them for their professionalism, efficiency and their caring attitude in listening to their customers. Sorry the reply has taken so long, but your correspondence got misplaced in the midst of the renovations at the above address I hope its not too late.
Elizabeth, Midlothian Posted on 16/06/2017 , work completed 16/06/2017
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my 3rd floor flat double glazed. The pre advisory work was excellent and the guys did a superb job installing it. I have no hesitation in recommending them and will use them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
Excellent window quality anf fit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Accepted quote for a wooden casement window replacement. Window of excellent quality and fitters did a great job. Very tidy, attention to detail, friendly guys anxious to do a good job. Value is problematic as like for like quotes difficult to assess - but happy with the price. Would definitely recommend.
IDHardie Posted on 04/04/2017 , work completed 04/04/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely would recommend this company. On their advice I opted for laminated gloss to reduce traffic noise as I live on a busy road. What a difference it has made. Probably 20%-30% reduction in noIse level. There is no hard sell with this company. They listened to what I wanted & told me the best option to meet my needs. Work carried out efficiently & within time scale agreed.
Georgina, Midlothian Posted on 08/02/2017 , work completed 08/02/2017
Brilliant workmanship, very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was really happy with the quality of the door and the professionalism of the fitters. They were fast and friendly.
Lesley, Midlothian Posted on 02/11/2016 , work completed 02/11/2016
10/10 for customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had double glazed windows installed by this trader. The job was done well and the price was excellent.
PamCP1 Posted on 10/12/2014 , work completed 10/12/2014
Friendly organised company offering a great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Willing to explain, demonstrate and discuss options. Gave realistic completion times and schedules. Good quality products. Fast efficient fitting. No fuss, no mess. Organised and friendly company to deal with. Would use again and highly recommend.
Lucy, Midlothian Posted on 02/12/2014 , work completed 02/12/2014