We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Hands On Maintenance Limited

Profile thumb logo now 2
4.8

40 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

In hands on maintenance, we offer affordable plumbing, electrical and various handyman services in Stanmore Borehamwood and other North London areas. Hands-on Maintenance also provides high quality and affordable property maintenance services for PRIVATE HOMEOWNERS LANDLORDS, ESTATE MANAGEMENT AND PROPERTY DEVELOPERS in and around North London.

I am a professional plumber who has extensive experience in the plumbing industry, who can fix leaks, blocked pipes, hot water issues, water pump problem and more for both residential and commercial properties.
As a professional and reliable electrician, I can install and replace lights, storage & immersion heaters, fuse boxes, LEDs, smoke alarms and more.

Handyman services include work such as installations of shelves, kitchen units, hanging pictures or even wallpapering decorating and any other work you might need for residential and commercial properties.

I offer good service at a fair price
I offer 24/7 call out service

What we do

  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Builders

    • Plastering
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom Installation
  • Bedroom fitters

  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Carpets and flooring

    • Carpet fitting
  • Exterior Decorating

    • Exterior house painting
  • Fencing

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Wallpapering
  • Plastering

    • Coving
    • Flat ceilings
    • Plastering
    • Rendering
    • Skimming
    • Screeding and dry lining
  • Rubbish Clearance

  • Tile fitters and showrooms

    • Floor tiling
  • Waste Disposal

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
40 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.8
Sort by
Plumbing Leak Call Out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel was called on the Thursday and attended on the Saturday morning after liaising with the Tenant. The work was completed in a timely manner. Great communication.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/11/2021 , work completed 06/11/2021
Install New Kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Yoel a number of times. He's always professional, hardworking and very pleasant. No hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/10/2021 , work completed 16/09/2021
Reliable and responsive handyman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the 2nd time I asked Yoel to help me with work. The first time he sealed the underside of a shower panel to prevent water leaking out. When I wasn't completely happy with the finish, Yoel came back to redo it. Recently, the kitchen tap was leaking. He came quickly to discover that the tap had corroded and helped me replace it. I found Yoel to be a responsive, helpful and reliable handyman and would recommend him to others.
Tina in Greater London Posted on 02/09/2021 , work completed 01/09/2021
Very good all round handyman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've had trouble in the past finding a contractor who is prepared to take on smaller tasks so we were really relieved to discover Hands On Maintenance. Yoel recently carried out several jobs for us, including repairing external timber cladding, exterior painting, replacing skirtings and installing a large arch and timber trellis in the garden. Yoel was very straightforward to deal with and his charges were reasonable. He is a very knowledgeable all-rounder who works quickly and is able to suggest solutions to problems. We were very pleased with all the work he did for us and plan to call on him again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/05/2021 , work completed 12/05/2021
Reliable, punctual, tidy and honest tradesperson highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel highly recommended and I found him to be a reliable, punctual, clean and honest tradesperson. The fault turned out to be an easy one to fix and I valued his integrity just to charge the call out charge and could have easily priced in extra work but didn’t so for that I would recommend him further.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/02/2021 , work completed 28/01/2021
Professional and precise
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel Cohen was excellent. Highly recommended using him. Worth every penny. We have had many issues with handymen before not being able to do different types of work but this time we got an all rounder.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/11/2020 , work completed 20/11/2020
Repairing and remounting a wall batten securing a heavy curtain rail to a wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Due to the age and condition of the lintel above our bedroom windows it was beyond my DIY equipment (and skill) to securely fix a wood batten capable of supporting a heavy curtain rail plus curtains. Yoel did have the professional kit plus the required fixings and knowledge to achieve a secure fix using the existing batten. The whole job took about an hour to complete and was done to a very high standard indeed. Much appreciated.
Jeremy in Hertfordshire Posted on 09/10/2020 , work completed 08/10/2020
Bathroom sink and shower screen
Yoel did a great job replacing our Bathroom sink, shower screen and cabinets. Yoel is an extremely hard worker and dedicated every moment of his time to getting the job done to a high standard.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/07/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 12/08/2020)
Thank you for your review Looking forward to seeing you again Yoel cohen Hands on maintenance
Great work and fast!
Excellent job done! Would highly recommend Yoel for any kind of job you need done. He is fast, very professional and the quality of his work is of the standard.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/07/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Repairs to sunroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel had to remove and replace saturated wood and carry out making the structure waterproof. He did so diligently and worked hard in difficult circumstances I would recommend him as being someone who you could rely on to turn his hand to many differing types of home maintenance.
Customer in Bushey Posted on 11/07/2020 , work completed 10/07/2020
Good work and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He came to fix the roof for us, the work took 2 days. He arrived punctually and tidied up before he left. He also helped check our outside security lights.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/07/2020 , work completed 30/06/2020
Handyman par excellence
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time we had engaged Yoel to undertake a wide range of activities, including removing a defective washing machine and installing a new one, clearing gutters, repairing window locks and door locks, fitting an external electric socket, together with several other tasks. Yoel arrived promptly and again impressed us with his resourcefulness and the speed and quality of his workmanship. I have no reservations about wholeheartedly recommending him to other Which? members.
David Hill Posted on 27/05/2020 , work completed 25/05/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Yoel due to his excellent references, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed. He was timely, very easy to get on with, gave me wise advice, and finished the project exactly in line with his time estimate and to a very high standard. Very much recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 31/01/2020 , work completed 20/01/2020
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He turned up at the expected time, sorted out our lighting and gutter problems and provided professional suggestions.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/01/2020 , work completed 23/01/2020
The trader replied (on 03/02/2020)
Thank you for your review I really appreciate it and happy to see you happy with the work done. Looking forward to seeing you again Yoel Cohen Hands on maintenance
Highly recommended
Joel is fantastic. This is the 5th job we’ve employed him for and he never disappoints Always on time, very friendly, professional. He goes above and beyond, does a great job and is trustworthy. Highly recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/11/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 03/12/2019)
Thank you for your review.I am happy to see you are pleased with the final result of the kitchen refurbishment Looking forward seeing you again
Fitting new taps to sink , repairing leaking tap, mending cupboard hinge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel arrived on time and did the work efficiently and neatly. He was polite and friendly and tidied up afterwards.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/11/2019 , work completed 01/11/2019
The trader replied (on 03/12/2019)
Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to see you again Many thanks Yoel
Fantastic service and great VFM for all your plumbing and handyman needs!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel arrived bang on time, was attentive and despite some unforseen problems, was able to quickly find innovative solutions to my problems. He was friendly, tidied up after himself and great value for money. Call him as soon as you know you need work doing as I think he gets booked up quite quickly!
Dave in Greater London Posted on 15/10/2019 , work completed 04/10/2019
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Interior and exterior painting. A few minor repairs (broken window hinge, broken tap) plus repairs to UPVC cladding. Work carried out efficiently.
Angela, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/10/2019 , work completed 07/10/2019
Couldn't ask for better
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hands On Maintenance fixed my toliet's ballcock and checked out the rest of the plumbing. The plumber was very friendly and helpful, and did the job quickly and efficiently (as far as I can tell) for a reasonable price.
Alexei Posted on 14/09/2019 , work completed 07/09/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Prompt appointment. Completed varied / minor jobs. Very professional / use again.
Jennifer, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/08/2019 , work completed 16/08/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel was excellent. He did a wonderful job, kept me updated and was 100% reliable.
Ally, Hertfordshire Posted on 31/07/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
Good quality workmanship.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painted grills to patio doors. Made a box around boiler pipes that is detachable. Masticed around bath. Secured hanging rail to wardrobe. All the above was satisfactorily done.
Barbara, London Posted on 17/05/2019 , work completed 17/05/2019
No hesitation in recommending
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painting outdoor windows and was a very thorough job with the best materials. Took pride in his job. Agreed schedule and budget, slight untidiness. Painting kitchen. Excellent job, dealing with unforeseen problems, still within budget, pride in his job. When something was wrong, it was immediately resolved.
A, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/05/2019 , work completed 07/05/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I looked up for an electrical handyman, Yoel turned up and I was very happy. I asked him to be my handyman, all rounder. He was very polite, courteous and did a very satisfactory work, I will use Yoel again and recommend him.
Lizzie, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/05/2019 , work completed 04/05/2019
Very good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service. I have no hesitation in recommending.
Ada, London Posted on 04/05/2019 , work completed 04/05/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacing flush system in toilet was well done but boots, rubbish and other objects were left lying around the rest of the day. Replaced a failed light switch was well done: no comment. Repairing the attic was not professionally done, took a long time and used twice as much wallpaper as estimated. the floor was left covered with paper cut offs with dust everywhere and paste on wood cladding. He will do no more work for me ever.
Amata, London Posted on 02/04/2019 , work completed 02/04/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional.
Linda, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/02/2019 , work completed 14/02/2019
Exceptional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel arrived promptly to undertake a wide range of tasks: plumbing, electrical, decorating, general maintenance and upgrading - a list which I had doubted would be achievable in one day. He completed all the jobs to a high standard, thoughtfully offering advice and suggestions as he proceeded. He was a pleasure to have around the house, leaving everything he worked on in a clean and tidy condition. I recommend his services without reservation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/01/2019 , work completed 09/01/2019
Highly recommended and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel helped us with multiple repairs on our rented property, including repairing exterior paintwork, bathroom repairs and other maintenance tasks. We found Yoel reliable, skillful and tidy, and we valued his help and advise with deciding the best solutions for our budget. Yoel agreed a quote beforehand and stuck to it on completion. We'd highly recommend Yoel's Handyman Services and plan to use him again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/12/2018 , work completed 22/11/2018
Excellent experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a number of issues to deal with including plumbing, electrics and some carpentry as well as having some locks and security updated. Hands On Maintenance gave us some excellent advice and suggestions and quoted us an all in price for everything which was very reasonable. Their were a few snags which we were kept updated on and Hands On Maintenance came back a number of times to deal with these which was all done within the original price. They were extremely pleasant to deal with, the work was completed quickly and they did a fantastic job, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
IvorzC Posted on 30/10/2018 , work completed 30/10/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They carried out electrical work to a very high standard.
Joy, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/10/2018 , work completed 16/10/2018
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel did an excellent job of retiling our bathroom floor. He gave us good advice; he took care to leave the bathroom clean and tidy after he left; and was good to work with. We will be glad to ask him to do other work for us.
Roots Posted on 07/10/2018 , work completed 07/10/2018
Great Work,communicative ,on time, on quote.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a number of awkward snagging issues on a property which Hands On Maintenance were willing to undertake.He suggested solutions and worked with the tenants, keeping me appraised. The work was finished on time and to price quoted. I will certainly engage him in the future.
Peskie8 Posted on 04/10/2018 , work completed 04/10/2018
First class work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel made a new door frame and fitted and painted a new door to an entry to a loft room . First class workmanship , tidy, punctual , polite , friendly , respectful of our home , communicative and totally trustworthy . Highly recommended.
Ed Shirman Posted on 20/09/2018 , work completed 20/09/2018
did everything he'd quoted for, and a bit extra
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Yoel to quote for clearing up the mess resulting from the partial collapse of a set of elderly ladder bookshelves in my spare room. This entailed moving stuff from in front of the bookshelves to give him access to them; removing the books from the shelves, and stacking them tidily, along with the books that had fallen when two of the ladders crumpled under the weight of extra books piled on top; dismantling the bookshelves; and disposing of the ladders and shelves. He looked at it, and quoted me for a morning's work (4 ½ hours). This was on a Monday: I accepted the quote, and he said he had a free morning on Wednesday, so we agreed he should come then. He duly arrived and did everything he'd quoted for, and a bit extra: in addition to clearing and dismantling the shelves, he offered to take away and dispose of any books I didn't want, so I checked them over, and discarded about half of them, which he cheerfully removed and piled in his van, together with the shelves and ladders. He stacked the surviving books neatly in a corner, and swept up the dust and fluff that had collected behind some of the books. I shall certainly use Hands On Maintenance in the future: Yoel is, as other reviewers have said, friendly, helpful and efficient, and I'm quite sure that anyone he employs will be equally so.
Moody Posted on 18/09/2018 , work completed 18/09/2018
Great Work, Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel repaired a wooden floor that had been badly installed and had become very bowed. He was very helpful in suggesting solutions and made a swift and neat job of the repair. Yoel is very reliable and professional.
Jacqui Heywood Posted on 05/09/2018 , work completed 05/09/2018
Reliable and super fast!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I will most definitely be using Yoel again for any work I need in my home. He arrived on time, was extremely friendly, and completed all the bits and pieces I needed help with in an hour! I would HIGHLY recommend him!
Catriona.boffard Posted on 22/03/2018 , work completed 22/03/2018
Goes the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel started work straight away and achieved a lot in such a short amount of time. He removed an old under-the-counter fridge, replaced it with a washing machine which required some re-plumbing, resized a counter top to make way for the fridge freezer, moved some cabinets and used spare parts to make a new set cabinet for the boiler. There was a lot of delicate work to avoid cutting pipes and he finished all of this in less than one day. I'm delighted with the result, the work is to a high standard and Yoel kept checking in with me to offer new ideas he had as he went along. Highly recommended
Simon Adcock Posted on 19/02/2018 , work completed 19/02/2018
No complaints
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had electrical work done by them several times and we've had no complaints, all fine
Kenn Freedman Posted on 04/12/2017 , work completed 04/12/2017
The trader replied (on 24/01/2018)
thank you very much kenn it is a plreasure
Good Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had someone that tried to put a stud wall up but made a mess of it, so someone from Hands On came and re-did it. Excellent finish, he was committed, in the days he was working, to completing the work. He sent an email and showed us what the job entails and whilst he was doing the work, he answered any questions that we had and let us know what was being done. Very helpful.
AC Posted on 03/12/2017 , work completed 03/12/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a couple of bits done; he put up a screen in my bathroom , fitted three toilets, fixed taps in the kitchen, changed the shower in my bedroom and the one downstairs. Very punctual, if he was late he would give me a ring, very professional, always told me what he needed to do before he did it and he was very tidy
UO Posted on 03/12/2017 , work completed 03/12/2017
Great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yoel did two pieces of work, he did a make over of a second bedroom, did all the interior decorating, and he did some general maintenance which was fixing some damp. During the work, he was very communicative and was good at sticking to the time frames during the jobs.
Anonymous Posted on 02/12/2017 , work completed 02/12/2017
10 OUT OF 10
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They've done multiple jobs for me, everything from plumbing to electrics to handyman jobs. Hands on Maintenance are the best handyman people I've had, most people I end up chasing them but Yoel is good at keeping me up to date whenever he needs parts and whenever he plans to arrive. Yoel has actually moved appointments to fit me in, in an emergency before. If I could give a score, I'd give 10/10.
LLL Property Management Posted on 01/12/2017 , work completed 01/12/2017