We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Headstone Motoring Centre Limited

Logo on white
Profile thumb headstone motoring logo

4.8

69 Reviews

About

Our highly experienced and qualified mechanics are able to service and repair most makes and models of cars and light commercials to a high standard.

Our service schedules are very comprehensive, covering many points on the vehicle to ensure safe motoring and are carried out in line with the Good Garage Scheme guidelines.

Every full service comes with a detailed check list and we use Forte products to maintain your vehicle.

We make every effort to have your vehicle ready the same day, but in the unlikely event we are held up waiting for parts we have loan cars available.

We will always ring you to authorise any additional work required that was not agreed at the time of booking.

What we do

  • Motor vehicle mechanics

    • Car and commercial vehicle repairs
  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Car body repairs
    • Car radiator repairs
    • Wheel alignment
    • MOT testing stations
  • Car audio specialists

  • More Services

    • vehicle inspection services

Customer reviews

4.8
69 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my car serviced and MOT done - Gary is very helpful and will let you know if any extra work needs doing and explain way. I have been using headstone motoring for a number of years and plan to do so for the foreseeable future.
Alan, Middlesex29/05/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trader carried out a full service and mot this was done very efficiently and with the promised time frame. This trader it was reliable and knowledgeable. They were very helpful and friendly.
Mandy, Middlesex16/04/2019
Good garage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this garage on previous occasions and this time my Volvo was due for its 100K mile service and needed a new cambelt and water pump. Also had all the brake discs and pads replaced along with a new rear wheel hub as the wheel bearing was failing. They kept me fully informed of all the work including an estimate of how long the work would take and kept me updated on the cost too. They take time to make sure you understand any problems they encounter and explain to you the implications. I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Greater London21/02/2019
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had mot and service,such nice friendly staff was kept informed as things progressed,top class workmanship reasonable prices everything was first class
Customer in Greater London24/01/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carried out MOT and service efficiently. Explained everything that was completed. Very professional and reliable.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer12/12/2018
Great garage.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I took my car for it's annual service and MOT. The staff at Headstone Motors are brilliant - making sure that my car is ready and able to pass the MOT and pointing out issues that can be expected in the future. Great service, great garage.
Malcolm, Buckinghamshire19/11/2018
Trustworthy and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently started using Gary and his team for MOT and Service - wish we started using this garage years ago. Very happy with Gary’s assessment and subsequent work on our VW Golf, and returned with our elderly Nissan Micra. Again, an honest assessment and thorough work was carried out. It’s refreshing to be able to trust someone who is honest, rather than be unsure whether a garage is quoting for unnecessary work.
Concannon10/09/2018
Consistent High Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked 2 cars in for annual service and MOT. One of the has been looked after by Gary from new and now has 135,000 miles on the clock and went through the MOT trouble free after 15 years with Headstone Motoring Centre. Tho other younger car has a dubious service history and cost £500 just to get through the MOT. Gary and I both agreed not to waste money on a service for this vehicle. And that’s why I only go to Headstone Motoring Centre. You get treated honestly, fairly and always with respect. I trust Gary’s advice and recommend him and his excellent team without hesitation.
Steve W29/08/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using this garage for a long time. Gary and his team do good work at fair prices, keeping me well informed throughout. Have tried other garages but feel very comfortable here.
Michael, Middlesex28/06/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have been going to this garage for many years now for servicing and MOT (probably since 2004) which should say something in itself. Excellent customer service, doesn’t tell you the car needs work which it doesn’t need, but will advise you about possible future issues, professional and prompt. Would unhesitatingly recommend.
Rebecca09/06/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional.
David, Middlesex23/05/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely satisfied with services given for more than 5 years now. Professional service.
Rajendra, Middlesex22/05/2018
Reliable & trusted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I look on this company as trusted and reliable.
John, Middlesex14/05/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Every detail of work carried out fully explained. Honest and friendly service!
Ralph, Middlesex18/04/2018
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Garage kept me informed and updated on progress of service (which followed a thorough checklist) throughout the day.
Philip, Middlesex10/04/2018
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can always rely on a quality job.
Paddy, Middlesex20/03/2018
Very good professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this trader before and find he maintains a very good quality service and is always helpful and courteous.
Stella, Middlesex12/03/2018
Best car care centre around
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John the senior mechanic was very quick and showed me all the faults that required urgent attention . And then he fixed my car lovely man . Gary the owner is the best I've come across in the last 30 years of being a car owner. I waited 3 hours while my car was being fixed at no point he made me feel like i was getting in the way. He made me feel comfortable while waiting in his office. And the pricing is reasonable a lot cheaper than bmw dealership. While driving my X5 E70 LCI back home after repair has been done I had a smile on my face. Felt the huge difference. Thank you Gary, Jonn And the team. It's my first time and will be coming back again.
Sher Harrow19/02/2018
Honest & trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out to a high standard at a reasonable cost. After diagnosis of any faults charges are always discussed before work is commenced.
Susan, Middlesex23/01/2018
Good, honest work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary always does good work, he is honest & we trust him totally. He doesn't try to rip you off by making the job bigger - in fact advises truthfully what he considers appropriate. We would never use anyone else.
Fiona, Middlesex10/01/2018
Efficient Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient service.
Isobel, Middlesex20/11/2017
Professional & friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good sensible advice given.
Brian, Middlesex25/10/2017
Excellent, reliable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this garage a number of times and thoroughly recommend them, professional, reliable and friendly. Gary at the garage always explains everything and makes sure service is given with a welcome. I am gutted that I have moved away and can no longer use them.
Robin, Northamptonshire16/10/2017
Great service as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and the team are fantastic. Been using their services for years now and find them very professional and always get the job done.
Theresa, Hertfordshire10/10/2017
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using them for many years, many cars and many different problems. Gary always comes up with valuable, practical and sensible solutions along with a friendly and good value for money service.
Keith, Middlesex09/10/2017
Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Car maintenance is very expensive these days but also not very necessary. I trust the trader to do what he says he has done and for which I have paid him. He has, said trust, from me.
Jean, Middlesex04/10/2017
Brilliant, Professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Headstone Motoring Centre Ltd for the last 3 years for service MOT. No complaints, if there is a problem Gary will phone and explain the problem. They are a professional company.
Antonis, Middlesex03/10/2017
Trustworthy and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and honest service. Competitive pricing and no work carried out without customers approval first - so no unexpected bills! Work guaranteed.
Gregory, Middlesex26/09/2017
First class work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would recommend this garage to everyone - honest and pleasant, with first-class work.
Pauline, Middlesex26/09/2017
Not that great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am not going back for sure. I was not lucky enough like others. Took car for MOT which had 4 failures as below: 1) Nearside front shock absorber has a serious fluid leak(2.7.3) 2) Offside front shock absorber has a serious fluid leak(2.7.3) 3) Offsidefront suspension arm ball joint dust cover excessively damaged so that it no longer prevents the ingress of dirt(2.4.G.2) 4) Parking brake:efficiency below requirements(3.7.B.7) These costed me way beyond what could one expect. £624 in total, Out of which £270 + VAT which was total £324 just for labor and parts which were £210 but they added VAT on top so parts which if I would have bought myself costed me just £210 costed total £252 an extra £42. I was told when the MOT failed they would fix I shouldn't worry, they would check price of parts and let me know, they never called me to provide a price, I didn't hear from them so I called at around 04:30 PM and they then advised after whole day gone, 'your car has been on a mission' it would be costly fix around £500 this was a shock to me but did I had any option now? I was not given any impression it would be this high a cost before they started working on it, when I initially enquired I was told £50 for MOT and £125 + VAT = £150 for full service, so if full service which is basically 3 hrs lets add another of couple hours for parts being rusty that still doesn't justifies £324 just labor cost.
Vishal Jain19/09/2017
The trader replied (on 16/10/2017)
I must point out that as a VAT registered company we have to charge VAT on all invoices & even if you bought your own parts you would have been charged VAT by the supplier. Our phone records show I rang you at 12.07 pm-Call not answered. You called me back at 12.08pm. I informed you of the details of the failure & gave an estimated cost to replace the front shock absorbers & the suspension arm. of £240 plus VAT for the parts The approximate cost of labour would be 4 hours at £60 plus VAT. The handbrake fault was not diagnosed at that time.You gave your permission to go ahead with the repairs as you needed the MOT. You rang me at 4:38 pm for an update on the car. At this time I informed you that we were having trouble removing the parts due to the rusty bolts being seized and we were having to heat and clean the threads with a tap and die set. Therefore the car would not be ready until the following morning. When you collected your car, I took time to show you the parts we replaced and the repair times given by Autodata of 5.3 hours. I only charged you 4.5 hours even though we took extra time to free off the seized bolts. I must also point out that we only charged you £69 plus VAT = £82.80 for the Boge shock absorbers, which, for comparison, is cheaper than any on the Euro car parts website. The same applies for the suspension arm. I apologise for any shortcomings and will definitely learn from your complaint. I've sent you Euro Car Parts prices & a more detailed reply
Simply the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been a customer of HMC for the past 4 years. I had my VW Golf serviced recentely, Forte oil & fuel treatment, engine oil, oil filteer,air filter, spark plugs brake pads, brake discs, brake caliper, brake cleaner/fluid/environmental disposal. I am very happy with the results. I discovered HMC through "Which Traders" after so many unhappy experiences with garages in the area. I have no hesitation in recommending HMC.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer10/08/2017
Excellent work. Punctual and amiable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This splendid garage always offers the very best service at very reasonable prices. Gary Butler, the proprietor, is always genial and most informative. Nothing is too much trouble for him. We have been associated for many years now. I can't speak too highly of him and his work.
Kenneth, Middlesex18/04/2017
Second visit to Headstone Motoring Centre
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took my car to Gary and colleagues for its MOT on this visit, and they were professional and friendly - outlining all my options. I was satisfied with the outcome and will come back next time. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend their services.
ninamwright05/04/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, professional service, friendly. Showed pics of damage & explained using images what had gone wrong. Reliable and genuine. Definitely recommend.
Fatema, Middlesex24/02/2017
Yes - a -brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Headstone Motors have always provided me with a first class service and good, honest and genuine advice and help.
Peter, Middlesex15/02/2017
Superb motoring centre
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and his team carried out a much needed full service and inspection on a recently acquired 16 year-old BMW. Felt like a new car after. I cannot praise highly enough this establishment and will return again & again. Many thanks fellas.
Stephen, East Sussex14/12/2016
Fast & friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tried them first time, helpful & efficient - good communications. Very likely to use them again.
Kash, Middlesex08/12/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Accepted my car at very short notice. Quick MOT and service in at 9am, finished by 1pm. Explained in detail work done 9 items needing attention. Explained charging detail. Very friendly, reassuring and professional.
Richard, Dorset08/12/2016
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My daughter's car's clutch needed replacing. Gary at HMC gave me a competitive quote and we were very happy with the work. Good customer service. This is first time we have used him and we will be back.
Kevin, Middlesex07/11/2016
Incredible service, huge difference.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am a repeat customer and friend! I brought a friend's Lexus in and received the same incredible service. The car drives noticeably better and I will continue to recommend HMC to anyone who has a car!
Daniel, Middlesex11/07/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I always get excellent service at this garage. They are trustworthy, reliable and honest and do what I want done. They give me good advice as well on any other matters relating to my car.
Paul, Middlesex01/07/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient and reliable service
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer05/05/2016
Outstanding, utterly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am always bowled over by this trader's courtesy and promptness. His prices are most reasonable and his concern that the customer must always be totally satisfied with the work carried out is amazing. I recommend him whenever I can.
Kenneth, Middlesex03/05/2016
Excellent work, honest people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used them many times and always very pleased with work and price. Good people to deal with.
Roger, Middlesex11/03/2016
Fantastic as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary is always helpful, flexible and thorough. He really cares about giving you sound advice and value
Ruth, Middlesex14/01/2016
Friendly and professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found them to be very professional and cost of work very reasonable.Would use again
Deborah, London29/09/2015
very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything was clearly explained in advance and all my questions answered. Communication was clear and professional and I was happy with the service and price
Wendy, Middlesex07/09/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work. Wouldn't go anywhere else.
Roger, Middlesex22/08/2015
Friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly and professional service, standard service and MOT carried out promptly. Spent time to sit to take me through points identified, made it clear which were not necessary to address now and which were more urgent - no hard sell. Picked upon things my previous garage never noted but should have.
David, Middlesex01/08/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service, not only in the work being carried out, but with their attitude to the customer.
T, Middlesex24/07/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are pleased with the work done.
Terence, Middlesex22/06/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been going here for years. Always reliable, honest & trustworthy & provided an excellent good value service.
Helen, Middlesex15/06/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was done to a high standard. Staff polite & friendly.
David, Middlesex29/05/2015
Brilliant, professional, very friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite, professional. Very helpful. Told me all about what was carried out in a very nice office. Definitely use this garage again.
Adam, London12/05/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Delighted with service which was prompt, good value & dealt with in a extremely polite, efficient & professional manner. Will return & recommend.
Jean-Marie, Middlesex11/05/2015
Reliable & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Competent & trustworthy. Good Communications.
Stephen, Hertfordshire16/04/2015
Excellent job, trustworthy, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader has been always very honest. Given accurate and appropriate advice and always delivered an excellent service. He is one of the few trusted mechanics I have dealt with. He is polite, is always willing to save you money and I trust him implicitly - very refreshing.
Ursula, Middlesex10/04/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional
Kamlesh, Middlesex09/04/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simply, would I have further work done? Yes. The reasons for leaving only 4 stars for value and quality are that a) I'm not really qualified so to do; b) I needed the extra star for the customer service, which was exceptional. It's always a bit of a jump in the dark when using a new garage but I fell on my feet with these guys.
itsmee19/03/2015
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Service and MOT done and car ready at 11:30. Good local service executed with politeness.
John, Middlesex27/10/2014
Car mot & service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and customer care. Gary delivered on time and kept costs to minimum. Very pleased and would recommend
Brendan, Hertfordshire08/09/2014
Service great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent treatment & service.
Arthur, Middlesex27/08/2014
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite & friendly staff. Efficient & excellent service, to be recommended
Ian, Middlesex20/08/2014
Fair priced & helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would recommend this garage to anyone. It has friendly, helpful staff and the prices they charge are very fair.
Jane, Middlesex15/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service and explanation of work carried out. Always courteous and efficient.
Marysafc17/06/2014
Best local garage, no question
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've been using Headstone Motoring Centre for many years. In the last month we've had both our cars serviced. As always, the cars have driven superbly after the service, minor faults have been picked up and remedied, Gary and his team are unfailingly helpful and courteous, and the value for money can't be faulted. Headstone Motoring Centre are Highly Recommended!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer12/06/2014
Always go the extra mile....
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my car MOT - half serviced here a couple of weeks ago and this company was absolutely great, really friendly and they always go the extra mile to suit my needs. Highly recommend this excellent trader.
Ann197529/05/2014
Brilliant, and extremely helpful!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A week ago I took my car into this garage for a full service and MOT. I was very happy with the service I received here and they were all brilliant, extremely helpful and pleasant. I was always kept up to date with the progress and felt the customer service was excellent. I would definitely recommend this garage.
June3428/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Headstone Motoring Centre was forced to find new premises in the summer due to their site's owners selling it to a developer. They have now recommenced business locally in new premises with the same staff, giving the same excellent customer service. They are honest and reliable, and their prices are very competitive. I recommend these very highly.
Seumais19/11/2012