We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Heating Company (Cambridge) Ltd

Profile thumb hc logo  1
4.8

63 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Welcome to Heating Company one of the Eastern Regions leading independent heating and plumbing specialists. As a local family run business established in 1990, the company has now become the first choice for homeowners, landlords, letting agencies and commercial organisations serving the area around Cambridge, Newmarket, Bury St. Edmunds and Ely.

The Heating Company Team of qualified engineers have a combined experience of 57 years in the trade and can proudly say that we are Gas Safe and Oftec registered as well as being Worcester Bosch Accredited Installers.

Our comprehensive range of services includes:
*Boiler Installations
*Central Heating Installation & Maintenance
*Gas, LPG & Oil Boiler Servicing
*Annual Safety Certifications
*Emergency Breakdowns
*Plumbing Installation & Repairs
*Bathroom Design & Installation

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Boiler installation
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Underfloor heating
  • More Services

    • worcester bosch accredited inst. extensives guarantees

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
63 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
Have used this company for many years.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you for reliable service over the years. Your engineers are always efficient, polite, make suggestions to expect in future and will always go the extra mile such as helping to remove radiator cover.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 03/03/2019 , work completed 19/02/2019
The trader replied (on 14/03/2019)
Thank you for your feedback, it's always nice to hear when our team have done a good job and our customers are pleased with our service. Thank you again.
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class and professional service from start to finish. Boiler replaced, the work carried out efficiently by two courteous and pleasant gents followed by an equally good electrician who completed the job. Dealt with Keely in the office who was very helpful indeed. Would recommend this company without reservation.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 12/01/2019 , work completed 08/01/2019
The trader replied (on 14/03/2019)
Thank you for your kind words, as a small family run business we pride ourselves on our service so it's nice to hear when our staff uphold our company values and we meet our customers expectations.
Reliable and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used them over many years. They keep to their stated visit times, work is done smoothly and without fuss, and prices are reasonable.
Mark Phippen Posted on 24/10/2018 , work completed 24/10/2018
The trader replied (on 14/03/2019)
Thank you Mark for your review, here's to many more years working together :o)
Service & Gas Safety Checks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out:- service gas boiler and gas safety checks. The engineer turned up on time and completed the tasks thoughly and conscientiously. The workplace was left tidy. All in all the company met my expectations in all respects.
Mike Smith Posted on 10/09/2018 , work completed 10/09/2018
The trader replied (on 12/09/2018)
Hi Mike Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. It's always nice to hear when our guys are ding a good job and that customers are happy with the service we provide. See you next year for your next Boiler service ;o)
New boiler and hot water tank supplied and fitted efficiently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The new boiler and hot water tank were supplied and fitted most efficiently. Engineers arrived on time, did the work cheerfully and efficiently, and then left after cleaning up. I can't fault them. Thanks.
David Fuller Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
The trader replied (on 06/08/2018)
Thank you for your kind words Mr Fuller. It's always nice to know when our customers are happy with our service and engineers. I'll pass your feedback to the attending engineers and thank you for taking time to leave a review.
New Boiler Fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graeme the engineer fitted a new boiler for us yesterday he came at 8..00am and worked hard all day. He was very helpful and explained everything very well to us. We also had a new controller which was of a different type so we had to have that explained to us as well which he did very well. He cleaned his mess up and left with everything working and very neat and tidy. We was also worried about the hole in the wall that the pipes went through as we had previously had mice get in with the old boiler, he very neatly blocked the hole with foam and made it safe and secure. I would certainly recommend "The heating company" and fitter Graeme
MikeJen Posted on 22/06/2018 , work completed 22/06/2018
The trader replied (on 28/06/2018)
As a family run business it's always good to hear that our customers are not only happy with our work but also our staff. We pride ourselves on having a great team so receiving such a positive review is awesome! We have passed your kind words on to Graeme and thank you for taking time to leave feedback :o)
Professional efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used the Heating Company for over 5 yrs. They have always provided a fast efficient service. Would definitely recommend.
Louise Posted on 30/05/2018 , work completed 30/05/2018
The trader replied (on 28/06/2018)
Thank you for your review and positive feedback, it's nice to know you've been pleased with our service over the last 5 years...here's to the next 5!
Professional service - highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Various faults in our heating system were quickly analysed by Pete who explained everything clearly and thoroughly to us. Repairs were carried out to a high standard, cleanly and efficiently. We also needed a new boiler urgently and this was promptly arranged by the office team at the Heating Company. This was fitted over the Christmas period by Pete and we really recommend him highly for his skill in problem solving, knowledge of heating systems, ability to work incredibly hard when fitting the boiler and sorting out some ancient blocked pipes - and all done with great friendliness and enthusiasm.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/03/2018 , work completed 28/03/2018
The trader replied (on 04/04/2018)
Thank you so much for your feedback! Christmas is always a busy time for us so I'm pleased we were able to help you over that period and provide a service you were happy with. I have also passed your feedback on directly to Pete who was very pleased with your kind words...it's always nice to hear when you've done a good job! Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback and should you need us in the future you know where we are :o)
Great service and customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from the team. Fitted me in at short notice for a new boiler when it was snowing. Lovely installation team, very efficient and very skilled. Great to be warm again! Would thoroughly recommend them!
CDaubeney Posted on 01/03/2018 , work completed 01/03/2018
The trader replied (on 21/03/2018)
Many thanks for your positive feedback, it was a pleasure to have helped you out at short notice. Please let us know if we can be of any further help in the near future. Regards. Heating Company
Great service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really happy with the great service. Scarlet kindly fitted us in, when you were busy in the snowy weather. Pete was very helpful and knowledgeable and got everything fixed very swiftly. Thank you!
Karen, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/02/2018 , work completed 27/02/2018
The trader replied (on 21/03/2018)
Excellent stuff! It was a chaotic time with the unwanted spring snow, but looks like we still managed to exceed some customers expectations. Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback ;-)
Disappointed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've previously had good service from this company but a more recent disappointment. I accepted a high quote to replace a drinking water tap, but they supplied one that did not fit the work-top. I also queried its poor quality and was told (wrongly) there are no differences in quality. They supplied another, but it was tiny and, again, poor quality. Eventually I had a good quality tap installed by another company at half the cost.
Eve Bell Posted on 21/02/2018 , work completed 21/02/2018
The trader replied (on 21/03/2018)
We apologies that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the drinking water tap. I think there was communication breakdown with regards to your desired drinking tap and the look / quality, the Engineer and the Supplier that we appointed to source the replacement. In hindsight, we should of sent you a couple of photos prior to sending the engineer out again, or maybe sent a link so you could view the replacement and you could of made a decision if you liked it or not. Just to clarify, this works was on the back of a previous visit, where we successfully serviced and repaired your boiler for you, plus advised you required a further part (siphon sump cap), which you requested we posted the part out for you install yourself. There was no charge applied for any visits relating to the confusion with the Tap. Apologies again and if we can be of any further assistance in the near future, we are happy to give you a reduced rate service in order for you to regain your confidence with our services and we have made a note on your account to this effect. We hope to hear from you again some time in the near future. Regards Heating Company
Good professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good survey, clear conclusions and guidance on price and fitting. Excellent fitter who had to struggle a bit as he didn't have a mate on the day but he stayed on late to make sure it was all finished for us. Very tidy and careful.
Jan, Cambridgeshire Posted on 16/01/2018 , work completed 16/01/2018
The trader replied (on 21/03/2018)
Jan thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback with regards to your recent installation, it really does reassure others prior to using a new company. We will also pass on your feedback to the engineer. Please do let us know if we can be of any further assistance in the near future. Regards. Heating Company
Very pleased I choose above company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most impressed with their quality of work, expertise and professional. Would certainly recommend them to anyone. Fantastic job.
Malcolm, Suffolk Posted on 11/01/2018 , work completed 11/01/2018
The trader replied (on 21/03/2018)
Many thanks Malcolm for your positive feedback - we are pleased to have been of service to you. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the very near future if we can be of any assistance. Regards. Heating Company
Amazing skill
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pete, our engineer, located and carried out an exceptionally difficult repair of an underfloor pressure water leak. This was done with a high degree of skill & innovation, avoiding major disturbance to the building fabric. The result was an excellent, seamless repair. Throughout the work, Pete was extremely informative & helpful.
Annie, Suffolk Posted on 05/05/2017 , work completed 05/05/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Workmen friendly & efficient.
P M, Cambridgeshire Posted on 08/03/2017 , work completed 08/03/2017
Fast and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Honest, Competitive quote, tidy and polite engineers. Job completed with minimum intrusion to household. Nice, friendly company, no hard sell. Recommend.
Sarah, Suffolk Posted on 14/02/2017 , work completed 14/02/2017
Clean quiet and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pete was very pleasant, efficient and did an excellent job.
Tom, Cambridgeshire Posted on 23/01/2017 , work completed 23/01/2017
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good job!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/11/2016 , work completed 29/11/2016
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class job. Very satisfied.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/11/2016 , work completed 23/11/2016
Professional job, well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initial quotation process. Very good, able to ask questions & get explanations. Prompt service. Boiler & radiators installation. Very good, professional service, clean & tidy. Polite and able to help & answer my questions.
Joanna, Cambridgeshire Posted on 17/11/2016 , work completed 17/11/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, helpful trades people.
Geoff, Cambridgeshire Posted on 27/10/2016 , work completed 27/10/2016
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David and Adam were professional and did a fantastic job, punctual, tidy, went the extra mile.
Angela, Cambridgeshire Posted on 17/10/2016 , work completed 17/10/2016
Excellent Professional Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed central heating system, replacing existing water heating only system. Neat and tidy, going extra mile to hide pipework around flat.
Michael, Cambridgeshire Posted on 28/09/2016 , work completed 28/09/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan is helpful in our project of boiler replacement. Thanks to him a lot!
Yao, Cambridgeshire Posted on 19/09/2016 , work completed 19/09/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very, very good. He was on time, helpful and cleaned up before he went.
Susan, Cambridgeshire Posted on 16/09/2016 , work completed 16/09/2016
Brilliant prompt and professional and more
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We can't fault the Heating Co service. They are always helpful and do a good job. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending them to other people. The engineers are so polite (especially Tim) and friendly. They put others in the shade.
Avril, Suffolk Posted on 02/08/2016 , work completed 02/08/2016
Fantastic professional tidy job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We previously had our oil tank changed by the company and were so impressed. We decided to have the company do the boiler change too - fantastic, friendly service. Clean, tidy and very polite. Quick and neat job done of all pipework. 5 star job.
Nadene, Norfolk Posted on 14/07/2016 , work completed 14/07/2016
Fantastic workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Amazing group of guys lead by Dan and ably assisted by Harry. Neat, tidy - lots of attention to detail. All executed with fabulous humour. A pleasure to have them working in our home.
Anthony, Suffolk Posted on 01/04/2016 , work completed 01/04/2016
Clean, quick & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan and Harry arrived just after 9am and laid out dust sheets from the back door to the boiler. They explained what was going on and set to work with minimum disruption. They finished the installation in around 4 hours, super quick! Dan ran through the controls and was very clear. Very pleased!
David, Cambridgeshire Posted on 21/03/2016 , work completed 21/03/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very professional company to deal with. Great workmen, super tidy, great follow up.
Nick, Suffolk Posted on 16/03/2016 , work completed 16/03/2016
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've called Heating Company a couple of times now. The plumbers / heating engineers are polite and helpful, and the call-out rates are reasonable. I will certainly engage them again. Highly recommended.
1244 Posted on 04/03/2016 , work completed 04/03/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic!
Peter, Cambridgeshire Posted on 29/01/2016 , work completed 29/01/2016
Fast, efficient, and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came same day. Identified problem and fixed it quickly to a very high standard. Returned to check all is well. Great service, very skilled, friendly and professional. I would recommend Heating Company Cambridge without reservation.
Miles, Cambridgeshire Posted on 18/01/2016 , work completed 18/01/2016
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A hassle free & professional job by Dan & Harry. Definitely would recommend them to a friend. Thank you.
Giorgio, Cambridgeshire Posted on 14/12/2015 , work completed 14/12/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional job performed on time in a clean and tidy manner. Team (Dan and Harry) very courteous and friendly. Very satisfied with their work.
Phil, Suffolk Posted on 08/12/2015 , work completed 08/12/2015
Good job and fast too
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They came when they said they would and did a quick job at a reasonable rate
Graham, Cambridgeshire Posted on 02/12/2015 , work completed 02/12/2015
Good professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional job, done quickly and with no mess.
Anna, Cambridgeshire Posted on 30/11/2015 , work completed 30/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work. Quick, clean and efficient
Robert, Cambridgeshire Posted on 27/11/2015 , work completed 27/11/2015
Excellent and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No fuss making booking - careful and efficient job completed
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/11/2015 , work completed 26/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, well-done job, courteous & professional
Jeannette, Cambridgeshire Posted on 25/11/2015 , work completed 25/11/2015
Great job and great professionalism
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this trader before even before I knew they were recommended by Which and I am satisfied with their professional standards and excellent quality of work.
Samuel, Cambridgeshire Posted on 24/11/2015 , work completed 24/11/2015
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and polite. Gas appliance service and check for landlord
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/11/2015 , work completed 10/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good
James, Suffolk Posted on 02/11/2015 , work completed 02/11/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, very impressed.
Alan, Suffolk Posted on 23/10/2015 , work completed 23/10/2015
prompt, professional and very informative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and customer communication. Intimate knowledge of the work carried out. I cannot rate highly enough and would highly recommend. Will be using again in the future
Matthew, Suffolk Posted on 22/10/2015 , work completed 22/10/2015
Quick and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pete from the Heating Company was quick at fitting a new diverter valve when we lost our hot water. very prompt and professional
Jonathan, Cambridgeshire Posted on 22/10/2015 , work completed 22/10/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was kept fully informed throughout. Highly professional. Clean and tidy. Extremely efficient. Job well done.
Dennis, Suffolk Posted on 20/10/2015 , work completed 20/10/2015
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely polite tradesmen (Dan and Harry), worked well, a pleasure to have in the house.
Carol, Suffolk Posted on 20/10/2015 , work completed 20/10/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was done on time as promised. On time, tidy, polite operator.
Jennifer, Suffolk Posted on 17/10/2015 , work completed 17/10/2015
Fast, friendly and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The lads did a full boiler install in a morning, drained and refilled my system without mess or fuss. They were even kind enough to tell me some roof tiles were loose. Very satisfied.
Felicity, Cambridgeshire Posted on 16/10/2015 , work completed 16/10/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second time of using this company and cannot fault staff, service or pricing. Many thanks
Steve, Cambridgeshire Posted on 15/10/2015 , work completed 15/10/2015
Good as always.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service, very professional.
Claire, Suffolk Posted on 15/10/2015 , work completed 15/10/2015
Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really good service and great people.
Catherine, Cambridgeshire Posted on 12/10/2015 , work completed 12/10/2015
Brilliant.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fully trusted company.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/10/2015 , work completed 12/10/2015
Instant response.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fault reported, engineer on site within a couple of hours, fault identified, component ordered and replaced the following day. Brilliant service!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/10/2015 , work completed 07/10/2015
Prompt, friendly service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Super customer service.
Gillian, Suffolk Posted on 07/10/2015 , work completed 07/10/2015
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A happy one. Thank you.
Frank, Suffolk Posted on 06/10/2015 , work completed 06/10/2015
Thank you.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The customer service received is consistently some of the best I have experienced, large company or small. I have no reservations whatsoever in recommending your company to others. You installed our boiler 8-9 years ago and the service seems to get better each year.
Jeff, Cambridgeshire Posted on 22/09/2015 , work completed 22/09/2015
Professional and so clean.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacing 22 trv's was a worrying prospect, but the team not only did the work quickly, but could not have taken more care to avoid spills and keep our carpets pristine. That they are intelligent and really nice people is just the icing on the cake.
John, Suffolk Posted on 07/09/2015 , work completed 07/09/2015
Fantastic job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job. Very professional, would recommend.
Chris, Suffolk Posted on 30/07/2015 , work completed 30/07/2015
Boiler installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy with Tim's work, installed our new boiler. Would recommend
Ronah, Suffolk Posted on 10/07/2015 , work completed 10/07/2015
Delighted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hot water system & supply was repaired and reinstalled prior to that boiler was installed by Neil. Work completed on time and within budget.
Martin, Cambridge Posted on 01/07/2015 , work completed 01/07/2015
Happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neil reinstalled our central heating system for a very big house including underfloor heating and commercial boiler. Happy with his work
Lauren, Cambridge Posted on 01/01/2014 , work completed 01/01/2014