We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Home Counties Loft Ladders

Profile thumb hcll png v1
5.0

83 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

Organisations and Awards

Jan 2020

About

Home Counties Loft Ladders started in 2016. We have installed loft packages in many local homes, much of our work coming from referrals from our own happy customers.

We come to your home and carry out a free survey to provide you with a no obligation quote. We understand what you wish to use your loft space for and will recommend to you the most suitable and cost effective solution. After that its up to you – no hassle from us.

All our work is fully guaranteed for both workmanship and materials, whilst we are in your home we treat it with total respect – laying down protective sheets on your carpets and furniture, putting covers on our shoes and cleaning up before we leave. We’ll leave your home clean, tidy and dust free – just with loads of easily accessible extra storage space!

What we do

  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • More Services

    • loft ladders
    • loft boarding
    • insulation
    • loft hatches
    • light

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
83 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Quality Guys, and Quality Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When they came round to quote I felt I was dealing with an honest person, he was upfront with how it would all work, and what I had asked for was actually more than what I needed and he explained that to me. When it came to doing the work super friendly guys, really took pride in what they do. Only took half a day to do the boarding, they had the wrong ladder but came the next day to sort. So not really an issue for me. all in all the loft looked like it belonged to a new build house when they were done. Both days they cleaned and hoovered up after themselves they put stuff down on the carpets and protectors over their feet. This was 100% value for money, getting your loft done isn't exactly repeat business. but If I had more lofts I would absolutely use these guys again.
Sam in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 18/06/2021 , work completed 18/06/2021
The trader replied (on 24/06/2021)
Thanks for that great review Sam and for taking the time to write it. We will share your feedback with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Excellent workmanship and professional approach
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I read previous reviews you almost feel as though such high regard cannot be so consistently possible - but it is and fully deserved. Charlie and Andy arrived ahead of time, introduced themselves and got to work immediately. We had prepared in advance and they also had a clear brief outlined as to what we required. The loft entry was soon enlarged to accommodate the new ladder and the required flooring soon in place. They cleaned the work area thoroughly and then, finally, demonstrated the mechanism for operating before leaving. Just a feeling of total satisfaction as they left. We have nothing but praise for the highly professional and smooth way in which they handled this contract for Home Counties who should be very proud of them as being both their employees and worthy representatives. Well done.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 09/06/2021 , work completed 09/06/2021
The trader replied (on 14/06/2021)
Thank you for that wonderful review - so good to hear you had total satisfaction. We will share your comments with the whole team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft Insulation and Floor Boarding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am extremely pleased with the work from beginning to end. Charlie and his team arrived promptly on time both days and followed all the required COVID rules. We had new insulation, the loft floor boarded and a new hatch with a wooden ladder installed. All the old materials were removed and taken away which is a huge help. Despite the hot conditions particularly in the Loft, Charlie persevered and the work was completed on time after which he gave a demonstration on how to use the Ladder correctly. They finished off by completely cleaning the Loft and any mess. I now have a very large, safe and tidy Loft where all the wires and extractor fan have been neatly attached to the sideboards. Throughout their time in the House, Charlie and the guys were courteous and very helpful, I would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 03/06/2021 , work completed 02/06/2021
The trader replied (on 14/06/2021)
Thank you for that fantastic review. We will share your feedback with the team. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you, or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft Ladder, boarding and Hatch fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The workmen were very efficient and pleasant. They worked hard and cleaned up the area once they had finished and also fully explained the equipment and stressed the safety issues and then gave a practical demonstration of the equipment. Top value from a top company.
Alan in Milton Keynes Posted on 29/04/2021 , work completed 28/04/2021
The trader replied (on 04/05/2021)
Hi Alan, thank you for that great review. Delighted to hear you were happy with everything. We will share your feedback with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Made much needed improvements to our loft - Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job fitting our new loft ladder, hatch, insulation and boarding. Now our loft feels much safer and our house much warmer. Thank you for helping to make our house a home!
Dan in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 08/04/2021 , work completed 07/04/2021
The trader replied (on 12/04/2021)
Thank you for that lovely review. We will share your feedback with the team. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you, or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
TOP MARKS
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and Thomas were excellent knowledgeable friendly and punctual. What a wonderful job they have done to our loft with, boarding, shelving, lights and a ladder, the job lasted two days and everywhere was left spotless, its such a pleasure to have workmen who have a we can do and nothing is a problem attitude, these guys are a credit to the company, we would thoroughly recommend Home Counties Loft Ladders to anyone thinking of having their loft done.
L. Green in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 03/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
The trader replied (on 08/04/2021)
What a fabulous review - thank you! Delighted you were so pleased with everything and thanks for taking the time to review us. We will share your comments with all the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our loft boarded, insulated and a new loft hatch and ladder installed. The work was completed quickly and efficiently. We are really pleased with how the loft now looks and the ease with which we are able to access it. Highly recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
The trader replied (on 08/04/2021)
Thanks for that great review. Hope you enjoy your newly accessible loft space! We will share your comments with all the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came right on time, very tidy and professional kept us fully informed of what was being done. Took all mess away and made sure everything was left as found. Would recommend to any one.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 22/03/2021 , work completed 15/03/2021
The trader replied (on 23/03/2021)
Thank you for that lovely review. Delighted you were pleased with everything. We'll be sure to share your comments with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Efficient, friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a new loft hatch and ladder installed today. The service was friendly and speedy from quote to completion. Lovely neat and tidy job. The guys completed the work in just a couple of hours. Really pleased and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/03/2021 , work completed 22/03/2021
The trader replied (on 23/03/2021)
Thanks for that great review. We will share your feedback with the team. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you, or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Robin and Stuart did a fantastic job and were finished in less than 2 days. Highly recommend this service for anyone looking to achieve more storage space and access to their lofts in a short space of time.
Pam in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/03/2021 , work completed 19/03/2021
The trader replied (on 22/03/2021)
Thank you Pam for that great review. We'll be sure to share your feedback with the whole team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from initial quote process, communications, and actual fitting of new loft hatch, ladder and loft boarding, and spotless clear-up. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/03/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
The trader replied (on 22/03/2021)
Great to hear, thanks for the fab review. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Fantastic job and quick/clean
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job by the team at Home Counties Loft. Fantastic job, really efficient and clean and tidy. Would use again for sure. Thanks guys, really pleased with every element of this job.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 17/03/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
The trader replied (on 18/03/2021)
Thanks for that lovely review. Great to hear you were pleased with everything. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great work and professionalism
Customer Service
Quality
Value
HCLL were due on Wednesday (for a 3 day job) but due to issues with the original job I was contacted to see if they could come on monday morning. Excellent as they could get the job completed early. They guys turned up as they said, informing me that they would have to finish early as they didn't have all the boarding that was required for my job, laid the dust sheets and got to work. Finishing about 3pm once they had cleared up and hoovered. Next day 8.30 am start and then the job was completed with them finishing about 3pm. All rubbish removed and landing / stairs hoovered. Very impressed with their attitude and workmanship, if you need your attic boarding, look no further.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 02/03/2021
The trader replied (on 04/03/2021)
Thank you for that fab review - and for taking the time to write it. Always great for the team to hear. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft boarded, light installed and ladder.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very very impressed. They turned up on time and worked non stop for 5 hours. Left hall and landing spotless.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 27/02/2021 , work completed 25/02/2021
The trader replied (on 01/03/2021)
Thank you for that lovely review, it's always great to hear. We will share with all the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
On time, fast but thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Home Counties for the removal of a concertina loft ladder and installation of a new hatch and door. The initial visit was for an inspection and quote and just 4 days later the job was done. When the guys arrived to carry out the work they were slightly early which is always good, they were fully Covid-compliant with masks, etc... and got on with the job in hand. I was not only surprised with how quickly they completed the work but also how thorough, helpful in explaining and demonstrating fully what they had completed but also very tidy and respectful in clearing up before leaving. I would have no hesitation in using Home Counties again and would recommend them to friends, family and neighbours. Thanks guys, a good job well done !
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 21/02/2021 , work completed 19/02/2021
The trader replied (on 22/02/2021)
What a wonderful review - thank you, it's greatly appreciated! We will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A great, reliable company. We were given quotes for a Loft ladder, each type was explained before we chose. The work was carried out quickly and efficiently, with minimal disruption. The work required enlarging the original hatch and the quality of work was excellent. There was a slight scratch on the cover which they insisted on replacing. Everything was done on time with very good communication. We would not hesitate to recommend them and wish we had fitted a ladder years ago!!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/02/2021 , work completed 12/02/2021
The trader replied (on 18/02/2021)
Thanks for that great review. We will be sure to share with all the team. Enjoy the ease of using your new ladder and if there's anything we can do for you in the future, give us a call! Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Anthony (Ginge) and Dan arrived at the expected time to install a loft ladder and new hatch. I can't praise them highly enough. I was worried that the work, which involved changing the loft hatch, would be messy and require redecoration. I couldn't be more wrong! Not a trace of mess or any disruption anywhere whatsoever and all that's needed is a small bit of filling in on one side of the hatch - and this is on the side which hardly shows. No need to redecorate anything and thanks to Ginge and Dan, no clearing up at all. The job was carried out quickly and efficiently and was 'Covid compliant' - face-masks worn and all surfaces, even my payment card, were wiped after handling. I was also given the option of paying there and then or calling the office to make a payment. I would thoroughly recommend this company, from the initial surveyor (sorry, I can't remember your name) to the very pleasant young men who carried out the work.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 12/02/2021 , work completed 12/02/2021
The trader replied (on 15/02/2021)
Thank you for that lovely review - and for taking the time to write it. Great to hear you were pleased with everything. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great job and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Home Counties Loft Ladders were professional, really good in terms of communication and came to quote and then complete the work really quickly. Everyone was really friendly and we are really pleased with the finished work. Would 100% recommend to anyone.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/02/2021 , work completed 02/02/2021
The trader replied (on 09/02/2021)
That's great to hear, thank you for that lovely review. If there's anything further we can do for you or anyone else, just get in touch! Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great Work, Fast and Tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The two lads arrived exactly on time. Fully respecting safety (with PPE) and social distancing, we did not feel in danger of Covid 19 infection at any time. The team worked quickly and efficiently installing a quality set of loft ladders and boarding the loft as per our agreement. After they had finished, they cleaned up behind themselves and after they had gone, you wouldn't have known they had ever been. A quality job, using first class materials and installed by a very professional team. Would not hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 03/02/2021 , work completed 01/02/2021
The trader replied (on 03/02/2021)
Thank you for that fab review. Delighted to hear you're pleased with everything, including our Covid-19 operational guidelines. We will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great Service and Product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having got fed up with hauling a ladder upstairs to get into the loft I decided the time had come to install a loft ladder. In response to an advert in my local community magazine I called Home Counties and arranged a quotation. The representative arrived on time and offered two alternatives, I chose the wooden ladder and hatch as it appeared more in keeping with my property. On the day it was fitted the team arrived promptly and worked efficiently, completing the installation in just two hours. They were polite, made sure my floorings were protected and cleaned up well on completion. The installation has been done very well and the ladder is easy to use and robust. I would thoroughly recommend them for similar work.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 01/02/2021 , work completed 28/01/2021
The trader replied (on 01/02/2021)
What a great review - thank you so much! We will be sure to share with all involved. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft ladder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, great product and no mess. The whole process was painless from start to finish. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 27/01/2021 , work completed 08/01/2021
The trader replied (on 28/01/2021)
Thanks for that lovely review. We will share your comments with the team. If there's anything more we can do for you or anyone else, please let us know. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Excellent, efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fully integral loft ladder fitted to existing hatch into peculiar design loft (with very limited space). Efficient from start to finish especially in these Covid times - although I think the surveyor visit was probably superfluous since the estimator did such a good job. Fitters made good better than I had been led to expect & probably saved me getting the ceiling re-plastered. Very pleased. Would recommend
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 21/01/2021 , work completed 20/01/2021
The trader replied (on 21/01/2021)
That's great to hear - thank you for the fab review. We will be sure to share this with the team. If there's anything further we can do for you or anyone else, just let us know. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft re-boarded
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A consultation was carried out a couple of days prior to the work being done and we were talked through what would be involved. On the day, the two installers were courteous and polite, got on with the job with the minimum of disruption and cleaned up perfectly after the job was finished. I would have no hesitation in recommending Home Counties Loft Ladders to anyone who was keen to have the work done to a high professional level. A follow-up email was sent to check we were happy with the work and had no queries/problems.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 19/01/2021 , work completed 13/01/2021
The trader replied (on 19/01/2021)
Delighted to hear you were pleased with everything. Thank you for taking the time to write that lovely review, which we will be sure to share with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft Fit Out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the team in to do a full fit-out of my loft covering a ladder, boarding and lighting, from the first contact they were helpful and polite. The team that did the install did everything to a high standard and before leaving walked me through what they had done and cleaned up after themselves. Overall really happy with what was done and the whole experience of dealing with them.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 19/01/2021 , work completed 15/01/2021
The trader replied (on 19/01/2021)
Thanks so much for that lovely review. It's always great to hear that everything went from start to finish and we will, of course, share with the whole team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft board installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The 2 fitters were very friendly and polite, the work done was too a high standard and looks good. When they had finished they cleared up and there was no evidence they had been in the house except for the boarding. The job was completed on time and to current covid guidelines. I would highly recommend Home Counties to anyone.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 10/01/2021 , work completed 08/01/2021
The trader replied (on 11/01/2021)
Thanks for that fab review. Delighted to hear you were pleased with everything and felt comfortable with the safety precautions taken. If there's anything more we can do for you or anyone else, please let us know. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On reading our local magazine I came across an advert for loftladders. On reading what was offered I rang them up & found them very pleasant & helpful.they gave me a date in 3 weeks & they turned up on the said date & measured up & then showed us a video of the job they do. We were very pleased so the man phoned the office to fix a date & the office had a cancellation & said they could do the job in 2 day time which they did. The 2 workmen turned up on time & a little over 2 hours a perfect job was done thank you Home Counties loft ladders
Customer in Windsor and Maidenhead Posted on 08/01/2021 , work completed 07/01/2021
The trader replied (on 20/01/2021)
Thank you for that lovely review and taking the time to write it. We will be sure to share that with the team. If there's anything more we can do for you or anyone else, we'd be delighted to oblige. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Telescopic Loft Ladder Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with our Loft ladder which was fitted by Liam and his colleague in a safe and professional manner. From initial survey to final installation the service was excellent. Would highly recommend this company.
Customer in Luton Posted on 07/01/2021 , work completed 04/01/2021
The trader replied (on 07/01/2021)
Thanks for that great review. We will share your comments with the team. If there's anything more we can do for you or anyone else, please let us know. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Really pleased with my new loft ladder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really great company. Great work and service at a reasonable cost. I was having my loft ladder hatch relocated so was worried about how it would look and had a plasterer lined up. I need not have worried the guys did a really nice neat job and so just needs a bit of re touching. Gary also showed me how everything worked and tips on the best way to push the ladder back up. Went for a wooden one and looks brilliant and so sturdy. Have already recommended the company to my neighbours.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/01/2021 , work completed 05/01/2021
The trader replied (on 07/01/2021)
Thanks so much for that lovely review. Delighted to hear you were pleased with everything. Thanks also for recommending us to others, that's great to hear. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good & efficient job done by the work men. Clean, tidy & finished in good time. Can heartily recommend Home Counties Loft Ladders.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
The trader replied (on 07/01/2021)
Thanks for that great review - and for choosing us in the first place. We will, of course, share your comments with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft ladder and loft Insulation installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initially selected Home Counties Loft Ladders as a long established local company and based on excellent reviews on this site. A site survey was carried out and discussed and a clear detailed estimate provided. A start date was agreed. Work started promptly on the agreed date and completed on time. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The 2 intallers got on with the job efficiently and left everywhere clean and tidy at the end of each of the 2 days. Very pleased with the standard of workmanship and would definitely recommend their services.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/12/2020 , work completed 17/12/2020
The trader replied (on 04/01/2021)
Thank you for that fab review, it's great to hear! We will share your comments with the team. If there's anything more we can do for you or anyone else, please let us know. Best wishes and Happy New Year from all at HCLL :)
Perfect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They arrived on time, were polite, hard working and professional. I had boarding of the central part, a new larger hatch and a ladder fitted. The work was completed and everything and they cleaned everything up after them. The ladder was demonstrated to me and they made sure I was happy with everything. Thanks
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 12/12/2020 , work completed 10/12/2020
The trader replied (on 21/12/2020)
Thanks for that great review, delighted to hear you were pleased with everything. We will, of course, share with all involved. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Superb installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Many thanks to HCLL for a superb job. The work was carried out exactly as agreed and the installers were very professional and tidied up brilliantly afterwards. We had fabulous contact from the office with any and all emails responded to immediately. A great company to deal with. Thank you
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 04/12/2020 , work completed 03/12/2020
The trader replied (on 07/12/2020)
Thanks for that wonderful review. It is always so good to hear and we will, of course, share with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Professional Work Completed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft Boarding & Ladder fitted. From when quote was first submitted everything was done in a professional manner. The fitters who arrived took great care in making sure everything was covered, they then proceeded to complete the work to a very high standard even trying out different ladders to make it easier for us. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 27/11/2020 , work completed 24/11/2020
The trader replied (on 01/12/2020)
Thank you for that fab review and for choosing us. We will share your comments with the team. If there's anything more we can do for you or anyone else, please let us know. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I first contacted the company about loft insulation, part boarding and a replacement hatch and ladder, they quickly arranged for an assessor to come and give an estimate. The assessor did not try to oversell - he said the existing insulation only needed topping up. I was given a clear written estimate. Once I had accepted this a date was arranged. When the second lockdown was announced I was contacted to confirm the work would still go ahead as planned. The workmen arrived on time, were polite, efficient and tidied everything up. An excellent job and I would not hesitate to recommend this company
Customer in Luton Posted on 25/11/2020 , work completed 23/11/2020
Installation of loft ladder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very satisfied with our loft ladder installation. The installers went out of their way to ensure the door hatch fitted in with our existing furniture on the landing. they were punctual and helpful.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 24/11/2020 , work completed 17/11/2020
The trader replied (on 09/12/2020)
Thanks for the lovely review and taking the time to write it. We will of course share your comments with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Highly recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlie and Harry recently boarded our loft. They were very professional, they arrived at the appointed time, protected the area around the loft, and cleaned up after themselves. We were very happy with the finished loft and the lads even put the boxes in the loft for us, which as pensioners we really appreciated. Highly recommend.
Customer in Posted on 23/11/2020 , work completed 21/11/2020
The trader replied (on 30/11/2020)
Thanks for the lovely review. Great to hear and we will, of course, share with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft boarded, with access ladder and battery LED lights, installed as promised to a high standard throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rep came around as scheduled to view and provide a no obligation quote - no hard sell (just ring the number if you want to the book the works). They also explained how the opening would work (couldn't rotate the opening due to joists, which I had no idea about). Phoned and booked in for a month's time. Text and call to confirm who was arriving and when. Half loft boarded with new hatch, and access ladder. Three LED lights with long pull cords installed in good locations. Two installers were polite, and got it done with no fuss, and showed me how the ladder worked (the design means it locks in three stages - so I can't get hit on the head). The ladder also has a hand rail on one side, which is really useful. You feel safe a/de-scending the ladder. The only downside is that with the ladder, the loft opening isn't entirely clear whether the ladder is down or up, meaning I couldn't fit large dining room chairs into the loft (which you could do if it was just a hole). I raised this as feedback (not a complaint) and I got a call back and the rep tried to find other options to their credit. I'm always nervous having people to do work in my house, but I'd definitely have them back in the future to have the other half boarded.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 22/11/2020 , work completed 09/11/2020
The trader replied (on 09/12/2020)
Thanks for the lovely review and taking the time to write it. We will, of course, share your comments with all the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Excellent service would happily recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent communication from start to finish. Tidy work, polite and great value. We had insulation boarding and new ladder installed plus hatch. The loft has been transformed. Thank you
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/11/2020 , work completed 19/11/2020
The trader replied (on 30/11/2020)
Thanks for the great review and taking the time to write it. Pleased you're happy with your loft transformation! We will of course share this review with all involved. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Work Carried out as Promised
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had HCLL fit a ladder to my loft back in the summer and had them back to put some flooring down last week. On both occasions their workmen turned up on time, fitted the ladder and the floor and left the house exactly as they found it. Fitters were both friendly and helpful and the cost was reasonable, paid exactly what I was quoted, no extras. All in all excellent old fashioned service.
Alan in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/11/2020 , work completed 09/11/2020
The trader replied (on 24/11/2020)
Thank you Alan for that lovely review. Great to hear that we did a great job on both occasions! Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Installation of deluxe loft ladder.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From my quote to job completion Home Counties Loft Ladders were a pleasure to deal with. Their work was excellent throughout. I would highly recommend such a professional company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/11/2020 , work completed 09/11/2020
The trader replied (on 24/11/2020)
Thanks for that lovely review, delighted to hear you were pleased with everything. We will, of course, share with all involved. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Very pleased.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recently had Home Counties loft ladders board our loft, work was carried out in a timely manner and to a high standard. Would recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 08/11/2020 , work completed 07/11/2020
The trader replied (on 24/11/2020)
Thanks for the great review. Hope you're enjoying having all that extra storage! Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Loft Ladder installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have wanted a loft ladder for years and are really glad we picked this company to install it. The product is very good and the tradesmen attending our property first class. The installation was left looking very neat and tidy and no mess left behind. We would thoroughly recommend the company to others looking for east loft access.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 03/11/2020 , work completed 02/11/2020
The trader replied (on 24/11/2020)
Thanks for the great review and taking the time to write it. Pleased we could be of service. We will of course share this review with all involved. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Brilliant work and lovely people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish we had great customer service. Work was interrupted by covid (not their fault at all) and Home counties Loft Ladders were incredibly professional about it. They abided by the law, accommodated us, reassured us and work resumed as quickly as possible. At this worrying time covid restrictions and rules can not be avoided we were very grateful with how they handled the situation. The work quality was extremely good. The lads took extra care not to make a mess and even hoovered up after themselves. We especially love the new telescopic ladder, it makes getting in and out of our awkward loft so easy. I would honestly have them back in the future and would recommend them to anybody who would like work done.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 02/11/2020 , work completed 02/10/2020
The trader replied (on 24/11/2020)
Thanks for that lovely review. Great to hear and we will of course share with the team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Fantastic company to do business with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted a loft access ladder and boarding fitting in our loft and we saw an advert for Home Counties Loft ladders in our local paper. From the minute we contacted them they have been absolutely superb. They quickly responded to our enquiry and arranged a visit to give us a quote. Jamie was on time and very courteous and we had our quote within minutes of his arrival. The installation team arrived on time and were very polite and professional. They installed our fantastic new ladder and boarding in no time at all. No mess, no fuss and a superb was job was done. Even enjoyed some of the dodgy singing they were doing whilst up in the loft :o) It was an absolute please to do business with these guys and the team at HCL and even had a follow up email to check all had gone well. I cannot recommend these guys enough, you will not be disappointed if you choose HCL. Thanks to the HCL team for a great job, very well done.
Vince in Milton Keynes Posted on 30/10/2020 , work completed 27/10/2020
The trader replied (on 04/11/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review for us Vince. And thanks again for choosing us in the first place. It was a pleasure to do the job for you, and we will of course share this review with all involved. Best wishes from all at HCLL :o)
The first loft I've ever felt safe in!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The loft looks great! Completed quickly and efficiently, with zero mess which is quite a feat in itself. It's the first time in my life I've actually felt safe in a loft, and not like it's going to give way underneath me!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/10/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
Home Counties Loft Ladders
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a loft ladder fitted on 15 October. I was extremely impressed with the service from start to finish. The fitters arrived on time. They were very courteous & efficient. I was pleasantly surprised when they had finished the work they cleared up the hall & stairs and there was no mess left. I am very pleased with the loft ladder.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/10/2020 , work completed 10/09/2020
Efficient service & work of a high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home Counties loft ladders have fitted my new build property with a loft ladder and area of boarding. From start to finish, all contact with the company has been very professional and the standard of work is excellent. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 19/10/2020
What a Difference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Isn't it nice when you come across a trader who is genuinely interested in doing a good job! Home Counties LOFT LADDERS is a perfect example of a local company who goes "the extra mile" to ensure that the customer is satisfied with the product which has been purchased Our installation was not straightforward because the house dated back to 1937 but the guys from HCLL didn't blink, took it in their stride and delivered an excellent result Nuff sed!!!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 16/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
Efficient & professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Home Counties Loft Ladders to fit a ladder & board my loft to give me more storage space. From start to finish all their representatives were helpful and friendly. The workmen arrived on time and were friendly and cleaned up after themselves. The work was to a high standard and I would recommend them.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 11/10/2020 , work completed 08/10/2020
Excellent service - highly recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
HCLL were excellent from my first phone call requesting a quote to completion of the job. Nothing was too much effort and they even brought my installation forward when a vacancy became available. We are absolutely chuffed with the result. Thank you!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 04/10/2020 , work completed 25/09/2020
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team from Home Counties Loft Ladders were hard-working, courteous and efficient. They left everything beautifully finished and cleaned up after themselves so well we could scarcely tell that they'd been. Loft access is now simplicity itself: going up there is no longer a chore and we have so much more storage space that it's transformed our home. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend HCLL to anyone.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 01/10/2020 , work completed 23/09/2020
Loft ladder fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can’t recommend the process highly enough. From the original visit and quote to when the fitters came along and did a fantastic job. Absolutely no issues whatsoever.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/09/2020 , work completed 25/09/2020
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy with the work carried out by Loft Ladders. They came on time. Gary and Anthony were very pleasant and just got straight on with the work. The ladder is very good with a hand rail on the side which I had not expected. They did not leave any mess. The price was reasonable and considering they cut out some of the ceiling I was surprised the work was done by 3.30pm. Well done. Pat George Harrow Weald.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/09/2020 , work completed 09/09/2020
The trader replied (on 29/09/2020)
Many thanks Pat & George - very kind of you to leave that lovely review for us! We will of course share with the team. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Home counties Loft Ladder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Big thank you to the team and home counties loft ladder for a professionalism of their staff and the standard of installation. Very impressed all round with their friendly approach, quality of work and work ethics. Thank you job well done.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 16/09/2020 , work completed 14/09/2020
The trader replied (on 29/09/2020)
Many thanks for that lovely review, and for choosing Home Counties Loft Ladders. We will share with the team. Best wishes from everyone here :)
Amazing service & great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted a larger loft hatch and ladder installed and needed it fitted within 2 weeks as our decorator suddenly had time free to decorate our hall. After doing 2 surveys in a week, (due to the complexity of the job), Home Counties Loft Ladders were satisfied they could do the job. A few days later we had electricians and installers at our house. The lads did a great job and the new loft hatch and ladder are a huge improvement and look great. We really appreciated all the effort they went to, in changing schedules for everyone to get this done on time. We just want to say a massive thank you for everything your company have done to make this happen. Your company have been amazing all the way and we cannot recommend you enough. Fantastic!
Andrew in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/09/2020 , work completed 09/09/2020
The trader replied (on 29/09/2020)
Many thanks Andrew, that is wonderful to read and we are of course delighted to know that you are happy with the outcome too. We will of course share with everyone involved. Best wishes from all at HCLL :o)
Great job by all concerned
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot praise Home Counties Loft Ladders enough. Jaime in the office went above and beyond expectation with his help in arranging our installation. The fitters, Gary and Anthony, arrived on time , were very polite and courteous and worked non stop on a very warm day barely taking a break. There teamwork, work ethic and professionalism is a credit to themselves and there company. We were particularly impressed with how clean they kept our house before, during and after the installation. They fully demonstrated on how our new loft ladder worked and that we were happy with our newly boarded out loft before their departure. I can happily recommend this company to anyone, very impressed.
Gary Carruthers in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/08/2020 , work completed 24/08/2020
The trader replied (on 29/09/2020)
Many thanks Gary for taking the time to leave that lovely review. We are all very proud to know that we've done such a good job for you. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you, or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :o)
Delighted
Very impressed with Home Counties Loft Ladders both in terms of their staff and the product They were extremely helpful and professional and the ladders are superb quality and very easy to operate Can’t rate highly enough
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 07/08/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 11/09/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review - very kind! We will of course share with the team. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great work and excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Jaime and his whole team to be extremely professional and I was very impressed by their customer service too. After being kept regularly informed of the date and time, the team turned up exactly on time. They brought everything themselves and even put shoe covers on to come in the house without asking if it was needed, and they hoovered up after the job had finished too! The ladder looks fantastic and Trevor took his time to ensure I was happy with the work and also to show me how to use the ladder safely. I was amazed by the amount of storage space this has now given us, I can’t recommend Home Counties Loft Ladders enough!
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 25/07/2020 , work completed 21/07/2020
The trader replied (on 11/09/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a kind review......we will of course share with the team. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :-)
Loft Ladder supply and installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Staff are directly employed. Communication from the office was good. Site staff arrived promptly and carried out the work carefully, vacuuming at intervals to ensure that the area was left clean and tidy on completion. Work was completed on time and to agreed price. I'm very happy to recommend this company for supply and installation of loft ladders and associated work.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 06/07/2020 , work completed 06/07/2020
The trader replied (on 20/07/2020)
Many thanks for that kind review, we are delighted to be of service. Best wishes from all at HCLL
New ladder and boarding in my loft - great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had for a while the intent to improve the access and storage area in our loft - Home Counties Loft Ladders provided a great solution and a nice quality job. They delivered exactly what we we expecting, spent only 3 hours on site, very professional.
Renault in Buckinghamshire Posted on 26/06/2020 , work completed 25/06/2020
The trader replied (on 08/07/2020)
Many thanks for that kind review! Best wishes from all at HCLL
After 30 years I can use my loft properly!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Due to unusual roof construction, my loft is pretty inaccessible. HCLL suggested a solution and moved the loft hatch, fitted an excellent ladder and put down boarding where I needed it. I can now get in easily and use the space. A great job and nice guys. Everything left clean and tidy and done in the day. Well done.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 19/06/2020 , work completed 18/06/2020
The trader replied (on 30/06/2020)
Many thanks for leaving that lovely review. Great to read, and we will of course share with the whole team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
new hatch, ladders, insulation and boarding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the loft boarded and a new hatch and ladders fitted. the workmen were polite and cleaned up after themselves. it surpassed my expectations. very good value for money. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 11/06/2020 , work completed 11/06/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, which is great to read! Best wishes from all at HCLL
Good work and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie and the team really went the extra mile to help me get the best loft solution. They came back a second time to quote after I had slightly changed the requirement and to make sure they were doing the right job. The team were quick and professional completing exactly what I had asked for and most importantly cleaned up properly before they left. I would use them again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/06/2020 , work completed 01/06/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, which is great to read! Best wishes from all at HCLL
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Last year Home Counties Loft ladders fitted a new loft hatch and ladder in my Victorian Terrace. The ceiling is Lath and plaster and very high 2m+. All of this was discussed at the first appointment and although both of these considerations meant that I had less funds available to board the whole loft space. The team were able to part board an acceptable sq footage for my requirements. Today they have been back to finish the boarding. On both occasions the team have worked cleanly and quickly. I am very satisfied with their work and would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 03/03/2020 , work completed 03/03/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, which is great to read! Best wishes from all at HCLL
Top quality company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home Counties Loft Ladders added extra insulation to my loft, and also boarded it and fitted four lights. Excellent customer service from start to finish. The person who came to give a quote was helpful and informative and the two guys who did the work were prompt, friendly, polite and efficient. The work was completed earlier than expected and they did a great job of cleaning up each day. Would be happy to recommend them.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 11/02/2020 , work completed 04/02/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, which is great to read! Best wishes from all at HCLL
Quality work and lovely people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a new loft ladder fitted and can only be impressed by the team Everything was on time and done with a smile. When the work was completed everything was tidied up as if they had not been there. I had a small issue that required them to come back and change something and there was no issue or quibble, and they came and sorted it Would highly recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/02/2020 , work completed 10/02/2020
Efficient, clean and neat work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Home County Loft Ladders install a new swish lift ladder and hatch and fully board out our loft. The service from initial enquiry to completion has been amazing! The guys doing the work were efficient and very clean and tidy. The work was completed to a good standard and it’s such a relief to finally have this work completed and we 100% made the right choice going with HCLL. Thank you
Mr and Mrs Mayo Posted on 07/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
Excellent service
Jamie came promptly at the agreed time to measure up and give us a written quote for loft ladder and boarding the loft. He was very competent and thorough, gave us clear explanations of what was possible and advisable in our loft. He gave us a fully itemised quote and explained the costs of the things we wanted (quote number 3915). In the end we decided that we wanted to extend the scope of work and get the whole bigger job done all at once, so have put off having it done for a few months, so that we can finalise our plans. Both Jamie and the office staff were very pleasant to deal with, knowledgeable and professional. We have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/09/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Very happy with the work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So glad I had my loft boarded. Turnaround was fast at all stages. Quote completed within days of enquiring and the actual work was booked in and completed very quickly. Would definitely recommend.
Laura Scott Posted on 12/09/2019 , work completed 12/08/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was extremely delighted with the whole experience from Jamie’s surveying to the fitting. The guys were friendly also professional. I’d certainly recommend this company. So much do they are fitting another one this week to another family member
Jill, Luton Posted on 05/09/2019 , work completed 19/09/2002
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean Harry and Tom fitted a new loft hatch today. All three arrived on time, worked in very hot conditions throughout the day and left after doing an excellent job. We are very pleased with the new access to the loft and the boarding. Recommend this company including Jamie - he supplied the quote.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 28/08/2019 , work completed 28/08/2019
Moved and Enlarged Access
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After more years than I care to remember we decided that age was compelling us to have easier access to the loft. Home Counties Loft Ladders provided us with a solution which was realistically priced given that it was not one of their standard hatches. The fitting was carried out extremely professionally, including accommodating a slight change of siting to ensure access was easier than before. At the conclusion the whole area was cleaned before our new access was demonstrated. Thanks for your assistance gents.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 31/07/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
So impressed, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The quote was competitive, the work was done quicker than I expected and to a very high standard, they tidied up after themselves, and I am very very happy with the outcome! I had some additional insulation added to the main section of the loft, the area boarded, and installation of a new hatch with wooden loft ladder, which is so easy to use, I (a petite woman) can get into the loft without needing to ask for assistance. I cannot rate Home Counties Loft Ladders highly enough!
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 26/06/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team were friendly and courteous,they left my carpets spotless even though they had to make the hatch opening larger. The work was carried out far quicker than I thought it would be, I would definitely recommend LOFT LADDERS. It's so reassuring to have such an excellent service and team who made sure I could use the ladder without any problems. Thank you again.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 21/05/2019 , work completed 21/05/2019
Better than imagined
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally professional from intial contact, quote and completion. Can't recommend highly enough. All carpets covered and any cleaning required was completed
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 15/02/2019 , work completed 14/02/2019
Efficient, Tidy, Courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team turned up on time and promptly got on with the job, which was installing additional insulation to the loft, re-sizing the loft hatch, installing telescopic ladder and light and also decking out some of the loft. Being a Grade II listed house, nothing is ever easy and access to the loft area quite restrictive, but the guys knew their stuff and got the job done without a fuss ! I would have no hesitation in recommending Home Counties Loft Ladders to anyone.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 21/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Well worth the wait
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had problems getting hold of Loft Ladders due to holiday timing but once contact had been made they came round and measured up. We had a wait due to pressure of work but they arrived dead on time and covered all working areas from the landing through to the front door. The job of installing the Ladder was completed in just under 3 hours. The job was finished neat and tidy and executed by professional workmen. Well worth the wait.
Barnes Posted on 09/11/2018 , work completed 09/11/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, clean and courteous. A credit to Loft Ladders. I have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Jean, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/10/2018 , work completed 24/10/2018
Just the job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
what a great job well done, from the initial evaluation of what we wanted to the finshed loft, we were very pleasantly surprised. Good expertise in understanding our requirements and a very good and smart job done, moving my hatch and recreating a new one and the quality is excellent. would definitely recommend. happy customer.
Audra Trigg Posted on 24/09/2018 , work completed 24/09/2018
The trader replied (on 25/09/2018)
Many thanks for the review Audra, that's great to read! I will share with the team. Best wishes, Hugh
Home Counties Loft Ladders are fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home Counties Loft Ladders are fantastic Fully boarding out our loft and adding an incredibly sturdy yet simple to use loft ladder has provided so much additional storage space, that everyone in the family can access even when I'm not home. The team at Home Counties Loft Ladders were fantastic they measured up and because we had an odd protrusion in our hallway had to find a neat way to fit a large hatch and ladder. Andy and Lewis worked tirelessly in extreme heat to get the job done before my wife and kids got back from holiday. Would recommend these guys to anyone.
DanJay Posted on 08/08/2018 , work completed 08/08/2018
The trader replied (on 25/09/2018)
Many thanks Dan, we're delighted that your delighted! Best wishes, Hugh & team
Very professional company, very pleased with the completed works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have spoken to several people within the company, and found them all to be extremely professional, helpful and friendly, from my initial enquiry through to the completed works. I would like to say a special thank you to both Dean and Harry for a job well done through difficult circumstances, and who were very hardworking, and always respectful of both my home and me!
Sue Morris Posted on 21/06/2018 , work completed 21/06/2018
Excellent way to increase your home storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft Ladders came and installed flooring in two areas of my loft as well as lighting. They were very thorough and cleaned up so well, I hardly knew they were there! The team went above and beyond my expectations and now I have a great storage space.
WB_Berko, . Posted on 06/12/2017 , work completed 06/12/2017
High quality job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hugh was extremely thorough when providing the quote. The team called me to confirm their arrival on the day and arrived promptly. The job was completed quickly and to a very high standard. I would happily recommend them to anyone considering loft boarding.
Peter, . Posted on 05/12/2017 , work completed 05/12/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hugh's team bordered out a section of our loft and installed a loft ladder. They were on time, turned up when they said they would, faultless, courteous and completed the job in the time quoted. They wore shoe covers and put material down to protect the floor so were very respectful of our house. Very, very good!
Anonymous, Anonymous Posted on 10/11/2017 , work completed 10/11/2017
Would highly recommend them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A friend recommended the company to me as we were looking to make use of our loft after we moved into our new house. They came around to do a quote, they were very friendly, but also very importantly they could do it in a short period of time and were indeed very quick but also very affordable. They insulated the loft for us and installed floorboards so we can make full use of the space. I already noticed the difference as it is no longer cold up there. What also impressed me was how clean they were through out making sure that my carpets were protected with plastic and brushed even the front porch afterward. I would highly recommend them!
KellyW, . Posted on 14/03/2017 , work completed 14/03/2017