We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Home Counties Loft Ladders

Profile thumb hcll png v1

5.0

39 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

Home Counties Loft Ladders started in 2016. We have installed loft packages in many local homes, much of our work coming from referrals from our own happy customers.

We come to your home and carry out a free survey to provide you with a no obligation quote. We understand what you wish to use your loft space for and will recommend to you the most suitable and cost effective solution. After that its up to you – no hassle from us.

All our work is fully guaranteed for both workmanship and materials, whilst we are in your home we treat it with total respect – laying down protective sheets on your carpets and furniture, putting covers on our shoes and cleaning up before we leave. We’ll leave your home clean, tidy and dust free – just with loads of easily accessible extra storage space!

What we do

  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • More Services

    • loft ladders
    • loft boarding
    • insulation
    • loft hatches
    • light

Customer reviews

5.0
39 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
The first loft I've ever felt safe in!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The loft looks great! Completed quickly and efficiently, with zero mess which is quite a feat in itself. It's the first time in my life I've actually felt safe in a loft, and not like it's going to give way underneath me!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/10/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
Home Counties Loft Ladders
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a loft ladder fitted on 15 October. I was extremely impressed with the service from start to finish. The fitters arrived on time. They were very courteous & efficient. I was pleasantly surprised when they had finished the work they cleared up the hall & stairs and there was no mess left. I am very pleased with the loft ladder.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/10/2020 , work completed 10/09/2020
Efficient service & work of a high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home Counties loft ladders have fitted my new build property with a loft ladder and area of boarding. From start to finish, all contact with the company has been very professional and the standard of work is excellent. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 19/10/2020
What a Difference
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Isn't it nice when you come across a trader who is genuinely interested in doing a good job! Home Counties LOFT LADDERS is a perfect example of a local company who goes "the extra mile" to ensure that the customer is satisfied with the product which has been purchased Our installation was not straightforward because the house dated back to 1937 but the guys from HCLL didn't blink, took it in their stride and delivered an excellent result Nuff sed!!!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 16/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
Efficient & professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Home Counties Loft Ladders to fit a ladder & board my loft to give me more storage space. From start to finish all their representatives were helpful and friendly. The workmen arrived on time and were friendly and cleaned up after themselves. The work was to a high standard and I would recommend them.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 11/10/2020 , work completed 08/10/2020
Excellent service - highly recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
HCLL were excellent from my first phone call requesting a quote to completion of the job. Nothing was too much effort and they even brought my installation forward when a vacancy became available. We are absolutely chuffed with the result. Thank you!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 04/10/2020 , work completed 25/09/2020
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team from Home Counties Loft Ladders were hard-working, courteous and efficient. They left everything beautifully finished and cleaned up after themselves so well we could scarcely tell that they'd been. Loft access is now simplicity itself: going up there is no longer a chore and we have so much more storage space that it's transformed our home. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend HCLL to anyone.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 01/10/2020 , work completed 23/09/2020
Loft ladder fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can’t recommend the process highly enough. From the original visit and quote to when the fitters came along and did a fantastic job. Absolutely no issues whatsoever.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/09/2020 , work completed 25/09/2020
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy with the work carried out by Loft Ladders. They came on time. Gary and Anthony were very pleasant and just got straight on with the work. The ladder is very good with a hand rail on the side which I had not expected. They did not leave any mess. The price was reasonable and considering they cut out some of the ceiling I was surprised the work was done by 3.30pm. Well done. Pat George Harrow Weald.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/09/2020 , work completed 09/09/2020
The trader replied (on 29/09/2020)
Many thanks Pat & George - very kind of you to leave that lovely review for us! We will of course share with the team. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Home counties Loft Ladder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Big thank you to the team and home counties loft ladder for a professionalism of their staff and the standard of installation. Very impressed all round with their friendly approach, quality of work and work ethics. Thank you job well done.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 16/09/2020 , work completed 14/09/2020
The trader replied (on 29/09/2020)
Many thanks for that lovely review, and for choosing Home Counties Loft Ladders. We will share with the team. Best wishes from everyone here :)
Amazing service & great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted a larger loft hatch and ladder installed and needed it fitted within 2 weeks as our decorator suddenly had time free to decorate our hall. After doing 2 surveys in a week, (due to the complexity of the job), Home Counties Loft Ladders were satisfied they could do the job. A few days later we had electricians and installers at our house. The lads did a great job and the new loft hatch and ladder are a huge improvement and look great. We really appreciated all the effort they went to, in changing schedules for everyone to get this done on time. We just want to say a massive thank you for everything your company have done to make this happen. Your company have been amazing all the way and we cannot recommend you enough. Fantastic!
Andrew in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/09/2020 , work completed 09/09/2020
The trader replied (on 29/09/2020)
Many thanks Andrew, that is wonderful to read and we are of course delighted to know that you are happy with the outcome too. We will of course share with everyone involved. Best wishes from all at HCLL :o)
Great job by all concerned
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot praise Home Counties Loft Ladders enough. Jaime in the office went above and beyond expectation with his help in arranging our installation. The fitters, Gary and Anthony, arrived on time , were very polite and courteous and worked non stop on a very warm day barely taking a break. There teamwork, work ethic and professionalism is a credit to themselves and there company. We were particularly impressed with how clean they kept our house before, during and after the installation. They fully demonstrated on how our new loft ladder worked and that we were happy with our newly boarded out loft before their departure. I can happily recommend this company to anyone, very impressed.
Gary Carruthers in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/08/2020 , work completed 24/08/2020
The trader replied (on 29/09/2020)
Many thanks Gary for taking the time to leave that lovely review. We are all very proud to know that we've done such a good job for you. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you, or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :o)
Delighted
Very impressed with Home Counties Loft Ladders both in terms of their staff and the product They were extremely helpful and professional and the ladders are superb quality and very easy to operate Can’t rate highly enough
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 07/08/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 11/09/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review - very kind! We will of course share with the team. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
Great work and excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Jaime and his whole team to be extremely professional and I was very impressed by their customer service too. After being kept regularly informed of the date and time, the team turned up exactly on time. They brought everything themselves and even put shoe covers on to come in the house without asking if it was needed, and they hoovered up after the job had finished too! The ladder looks fantastic and Trevor took his time to ensure I was happy with the work and also to show me how to use the ladder safely. I was amazed by the amount of storage space this has now given us, I can’t recommend Home Counties Loft Ladders enough!
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 25/07/2020 , work completed 21/07/2020
The trader replied (on 11/09/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a kind review......we will of course share with the team. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you or anyone else. Best wishes from all at HCLL :-)
Loft Ladder supply and installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Staff are directly employed. Communication from the office was good. Site staff arrived promptly and carried out the work carefully, vacuuming at intervals to ensure that the area was left clean and tidy on completion. Work was completed on time and to agreed price. I'm very happy to recommend this company for supply and installation of loft ladders and associated work.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 06/07/2020 , work completed 06/07/2020
The trader replied (on 20/07/2020)
Many thanks for that kind review, we are delighted to be of service. Best wishes from all at HCLL
New ladder and boarding in my loft - great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had for a while the intent to improve the access and storage area in our loft - Home Counties Loft Ladders provided a great solution and a nice quality job. They delivered exactly what we we expecting, spent only 3 hours on site, very professional.
Renault in Buckinghamshire Posted on 26/06/2020 , work completed 25/06/2020
The trader replied (on 08/07/2020)
Many thanks for that kind review! Best wishes from all at HCLL
After 30 years I can use my loft properly!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Due to unusual roof construction, my loft is pretty inaccessible. HCLL suggested a solution and moved the loft hatch, fitted an excellent ladder and put down boarding where I needed it. I can now get in easily and use the space. A great job and nice guys. Everything left clean and tidy and done in the day. Well done.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 19/06/2020 , work completed 18/06/2020
The trader replied (on 30/06/2020)
Many thanks for leaving that lovely review. Great to read, and we will of course share with the whole team. Best wishes from all at HCLL :)
new hatch, ladders, insulation and boarding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the loft boarded and a new hatch and ladders fitted. the workmen were polite and cleaned up after themselves. it surpassed my expectations. very good value for money. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 11/06/2020 , work completed 11/06/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, which is great to read! Best wishes from all at HCLL
Good work and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie and the team really went the extra mile to help me get the best loft solution. They came back a second time to quote after I had slightly changed the requirement and to make sure they were doing the right job. The team were quick and professional completing exactly what I had asked for and most importantly cleaned up properly before they left. I would use them again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/06/2020 , work completed 01/06/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, which is great to read! Best wishes from all at HCLL
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Last year Home Counties Loft ladders fitted a new loft hatch and ladder in my Victorian Terrace. The ceiling is Lath and plaster and very high 2m+. All of this was discussed at the first appointment and although both of these considerations meant that I had less funds available to board the whole loft space. The team were able to part board an acceptable sq footage for my requirements. Today they have been back to finish the boarding. On both occasions the team have worked cleanly and quickly. I am very satisfied with their work and would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 03/03/2020 , work completed 03/03/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, which is great to read! Best wishes from all at HCLL
Top quality company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home Counties Loft Ladders added extra insulation to my loft, and also boarded it and fitted four lights. Excellent customer service from start to finish. The person who came to give a quote was helpful and informative and the two guys who did the work were prompt, friendly, polite and efficient. The work was completed earlier than expected and they did a great job of cleaning up each day. Would be happy to recommend them.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 11/02/2020 , work completed 04/02/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us, which is great to read! Best wishes from all at HCLL
Quality work and lovely people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a new loft ladder fitted and can only be impressed by the team Everything was on time and done with a smile. When the work was completed everything was tidied up as if they had not been there. I had a small issue that required them to come back and change something and there was no issue or quibble, and they came and sorted it Would highly recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/02/2020 , work completed 10/02/2020
Efficient, clean and neat work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Home County Loft Ladders install a new swish lift ladder and hatch and fully board out our loft. The service from initial enquiry to completion has been amazing! The guys doing the work were efficient and very clean and tidy. The work was completed to a good standard and it’s such a relief to finally have this work completed and we 100% made the right choice going with HCLL. Thank you
Mr and Mrs Mayo Posted on 07/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
Excellent service
Jamie came promptly at the agreed time to measure up and give us a written quote for loft ladder and boarding the loft. He was very competent and thorough, gave us clear explanations of what was possible and advisable in our loft. He gave us a fully itemised quote and explained the costs of the things we wanted (quote number 3915). In the end we decided that we wanted to extend the scope of work and get the whole bigger job done all at once, so have put off having it done for a few months, so that we can finalise our plans. Both Jamie and the office staff were very pleasant to deal with, knowledgeable and professional. We have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/09/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Very happy with the work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So glad I had my loft boarded. Turnaround was fast at all stages. Quote completed within days of enquiring and the actual work was booked in and completed very quickly. Would definitely recommend.
Laura Scott Posted on 12/09/2019 , work completed 12/08/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was extremely delighted with the whole experience from Jamie’s surveying to the fitting. The guys were friendly also professional. I’d certainly recommend this company. So much do they are fitting another one this week to another family member
Jill, Luton Posted on 05/09/2019 , work completed 19/09/2002
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean Harry and Tom fitted a new loft hatch today. All three arrived on time, worked in very hot conditions throughout the day and left after doing an excellent job. We are very pleased with the new access to the loft and the boarding. Recommend this company including Jamie - he supplied the quote.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 28/08/2019 , work completed 28/08/2019
Moved and Enlarged Access
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After more years than I care to remember we decided that age was compelling us to have easier access to the loft. Home Counties Loft Ladders provided us with a solution which was realistically priced given that it was not one of their standard hatches. The fitting was carried out extremely professionally, including accommodating a slight change of siting to ensure access was easier than before. At the conclusion the whole area was cleaned before our new access was demonstrated. Thanks for your assistance gents.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 31/07/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
So impressed, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The quote was competitive, the work was done quicker than I expected and to a very high standard, they tidied up after themselves, and I am very very happy with the outcome! I had some additional insulation added to the main section of the loft, the area boarded, and installation of a new hatch with wooden loft ladder, which is so easy to use, I (a petite woman) can get into the loft without needing to ask for assistance. I cannot rate Home Counties Loft Ladders highly enough!
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 26/06/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team were friendly and courteous,they left my carpets spotless even though they had to make the hatch opening larger. The work was carried out far quicker than I thought it would be, I would definitely recommend LOFT LADDERS. It's so reassuring to have such an excellent service and team who made sure I could use the ladder without any problems. Thank you again.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 21/05/2019 , work completed 21/05/2019
Better than imagined
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally professional from intial contact, quote and completion. Can't recommend highly enough. All carpets covered and any cleaning required was completed
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 15/02/2019 , work completed 14/02/2019
Efficient, Tidy, Courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team turned up on time and promptly got on with the job, which was installing additional insulation to the loft, re-sizing the loft hatch, installing telescopic ladder and light and also decking out some of the loft. Being a Grade II listed house, nothing is ever easy and access to the loft area quite restrictive, but the guys knew their stuff and got the job done without a fuss ! I would have no hesitation in recommending Home Counties Loft Ladders to anyone.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 21/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Well worth the wait
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had problems getting hold of Loft Ladders due to holiday timing but once contact had been made they came round and measured up. We had a wait due to pressure of work but they arrived dead on time and covered all working areas from the landing through to the front door. The job of installing the Ladder was completed in just under 3 hours. The job was finished neat and tidy and executed by professional workmen. Well worth the wait.
Barnes Posted on 09/11/2018 , work completed 09/11/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, clean and courteous. A credit to Loft Ladders. I have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Jean, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/10/2018 , work completed 24/10/2018
Just the job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
what a great job well done, from the initial evaluation of what we wanted to the finshed loft, we were very pleasantly surprised. Good expertise in understanding our requirements and a very good and smart job done, moving my hatch and recreating a new one and the quality is excellent. would definitely recommend. happy customer.
Audra Trigg Posted on 24/09/2018 , work completed 24/09/2018
The trader replied (on 25/09/2018)
Many thanks for the review Audra, that's great to read! I will share with the team. Best wishes, Hugh
Home Counties Loft Ladders are fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home Counties Loft Ladders are fantastic Fully boarding out our loft and adding an incredibly sturdy yet simple to use loft ladder has provided so much additional storage space, that everyone in the family can access even when I'm not home. The team at Home Counties Loft Ladders were fantastic they measured up and because we had an odd protrusion in our hallway had to find a neat way to fit a large hatch and ladder. Andy and Lewis worked tirelessly in extreme heat to get the job done before my wife and kids got back from holiday. Would recommend these guys to anyone.
DanJay Posted on 08/08/2018 , work completed 08/08/2018
The trader replied (on 25/09/2018)
Many thanks Dan, we're delighted that your delighted! Best wishes, Hugh & team
Very professional company, very pleased with the completed works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have spoken to several people within the company, and found them all to be extremely professional, helpful and friendly, from my initial enquiry through to the completed works. I would like to say a special thank you to both Dean and Harry for a job well done through difficult circumstances, and who were very hardworking, and always respectful of both my home and me!
Sue Morris Posted on 21/06/2018 , work completed 21/06/2018
Excellent way to increase your home storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft Ladders came and installed flooring in two areas of my loft as well as lighting. They were very thorough and cleaned up so well, I hardly knew they were there! The team went above and beyond my expectations and now I have a great storage space.
WB_Berko, . Posted on 06/12/2017 , work completed 06/12/2017
High quality job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hugh was extremely thorough when providing the quote. The team called me to confirm their arrival on the day and arrived promptly. The job was completed quickly and to a very high standard. I would happily recommend them to anyone considering loft boarding.
Peter, . Posted on 05/12/2017 , work completed 05/12/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hugh's team bordered out a section of our loft and installed a loft ladder. They were on time, turned up when they said they would, faultless, courteous and completed the job in the time quoted. They wore shoe covers and put material down to protect the floor so were very respectful of our house. Very, very good!
Anonymous, Anonymous Posted on 10/11/2017 , work completed 10/11/2017
Would highly recommend them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A friend recommended the company to me as we were looking to make use of our loft after we moved into our new house. They came around to do a quote, they were very friendly, but also very importantly they could do it in a short period of time and were indeed very quick but also very affordable. They insulated the loft for us and installed floorboards so we can make full use of the space. I already noticed the difference as it is no longer cold up there. What also impressed me was how clean they were through out making sure that my carpets were protected with plastic and brushed even the front porch afterward. I would highly recommend them!
KellyW, . Posted on 14/03/2017 , work completed 14/03/2017