We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Hot Water & Central Heating Limited

Profile thumb hwch sig
4.7

51 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:30
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are heating installation specialists.

Our web site will give you a better idea of our work, especially the 'Gallery' section, where you can see actual examples of solutions we have employed in customer properties, together with a description of the work.

We work every day installing the following;

- gas boilers (domestic and large domestic/light commercial)
- oil boilers (domestic and large domestic/light commercial)
- LPG boilers
- Direct water heaters including Rinnai
- warm air systems (gas, LPG and oil)
- zoned heating control systems (inc iPad and iPhone)
- water pressure boosting solutions
- unvented and heat store hot water
- underfloor heating
- Heritage oil fired Cornish ranges
- Honeywell Evohome and Hometronic controls

We are;

- Gas Safe registered domestic, commercial, warm air, LPG
- OFTEC registered for oil installations
- Worcester-Bosch accredited installer
- Vaillant accredited installer
- Honeywell Evohome Installer Network accredited
- Lennox Warm Air

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Oil fired heating equipment
    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Gas installers

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Radiators and central heating
  • More Services

    • warm air systems
    • oil
    • gas and lpg

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
51 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.5
Sort by
Excellent expert work and great value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Review I came across Hot Water and Central Heating Ltd. when I was researching our problems with poor cold water flow and the inadequate performance of our boiler. Simon, the founder and MD of the company, responded promptly and in plain English to my enquiries and helped me to gain an understanding of the complex issues and options. He visited and inspected our installation and discussed and advised us. He provided a comprehensive and competitive quote very soon after his visit. Due to the demands of other contracts and the impact of Covid 19 he could not commit to a start date straight away. I was impressed that he would not take my deposit payment until we could agree a date. Even then it was a very modest proportion of the total contract sum. Simon and his colleagues arrived promptly on the first day and over 4 days installed a new gas supply pipe, a new more powerful Worcester Bosh combi boiler, undertook a power flush and fitted a large accumulator tank. The work was completed to a very high standard with the absolute minimum mess and disruption. We are delighted with the results. We have much better hot and cold flows. Showers are no longer affected when other taps are opened and the house is much warmer. Thanks and well done Simon
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 12/11/2020 , work completed 06/11/2020
new boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our cellar was flooded and boiler needed replacing as a result. Simon provided a proposal, but more than that spent an hour in the evening before submitting a proposal, just to get our immersion heater working, which was impressive re customer service. His knowledge and experiencer shone through in the estimate, and having selected HWCH we were very impressed with the professionalism, experience and quality of work. Our central heating system now has never worked as well as it now does, and I have no hesitation in fully recommending HWCH for work on central heating systems.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/12/2019 , work completed 12/07/2019
Poor technical advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely disappointed with the poor quality of technical advice received. The service included advice which in part was technically wrong and recommended work which was not required. Significant additional cost was incurred in order to get further independent advice and get to the facts of the situation with my boiler.
Customer in Kent Posted on 06/09/2019 , work completed 08/01/2019
The trader replied (on 13/09/2019)
I would like to thank this customer (a dual boiler service in a rental property) for settling our invoice in full. It was a shame he chose to withhold his address and make a small business wait for 9 months. I am genuinely disappointed we did not meet his standards, but am relieved to be paid.
Innovative solution, brilliantly executed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We thought we wanted a simple change off boiler but it proved to be much more problematic with our very old system. However, Simon spent some time with us and came up with an innovative solution that we would never have thought of and after accepting his very detailed quotation, the work started. It proved to be challenging but after a few days we had the perfect system for us, beautifully hidden away and using much of the existing infrastructure. We now have a system that provides everything we expected and a great deal more. The plumbing is a work of art and the Honeywell Evohome control system is a revelation that lets us control what is happening throughout the house, throughout the day. Brilliant job!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 01/05/2019 , work completed 04/04/2019
clever and effective solution
Customer Service
Quality
Value
For a long time we had wanted to move the boiler out of our 1st Floor bedroom, ideally into the cellar, but had been advised by various companies that this would be either too difficult or impossible. Simon came round and quickly came up with a neat and ingenious solution that was well thought through, making much use of existing pipework and minimising impact on the internal fabric of the house. He promptly provided a detailed quote that clearly identified and explained the various elements of the project. The team then implemented the scheme quickly and efficiently with minimal disruption or mess. The new system is working very well and we are very pleased with every aspect of the experience. Would commend HCHW for their professional knowledge, practical expertise, and approach, and happily recommend them to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/04/2019 , work completed 26/04/2019
Replacement boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and very helpful. Quick to quote, with a detailed breakdown of costs for parts and labour, and a guarantee. A prompt installation. Would certainly recommend.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 28/01/2019 , work completed 17/10/2018
Great work and commitment from the whole team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon and his team were superb from beginning to end. They fitted a new external boiler, including re-routing the pipe work and also fitted a new Honeywell Evohome system. They were polite and courteous and very knowledgable. Would definitely recommend to others.
Customer in Kent Posted on 21/12/2018 , work completed 04/12/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted new boiler, flushed system. It was done on time and to budget. Trader was explanatory, helpful and polite.
Michael, Surrey Posted on 20/11/2018 , work completed 20/11/2018
Complicated heating system in difficult to access area
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The central heating and hot water boiler was malfunctioning and started to overheat. This turned out to be due to inadequately fitted pipes leading to and from the boiler to the tank in the loft and vice versa. Simon rectified it in very difficult circumstances because both loft and where heating pump and pipes are situated are very difficult to access. It appeared that gas was leaking from a molten part inside of the boiler too. Simon was very fast in diagnosing what was wrong, and scheduled a repair as soon as he was able to. He completed the job in difficult circumstances and long past normal working hours to ensure my system was running again. He left the site very tidy and is a pleasure to have around. I recommend him highly!
Marie-Louise Rabe Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
Professional boiler installation no snags
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From meeting to obtain quotation to installation they were very knowledgable and the works compently carried out. Excellent tradesmen involed and great handover demonstration all carried out in the time agreed.
Robert Lynch Posted on 24/09/2018 , work completed 24/09/2018
Superior quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient, superior quality, friendly, problems solved quickly, very knowledgeable, good administration. (Appointment booking, quotes and bills).
S, Kent Posted on 18/09/2018 , work completed 18/09/2018
Full central heating installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
HW&CH replaced an existing warm air system with a combi boiler and radiators. We were very pleased with all aspects of the work. From the initial visit we were provided with abundant information and advice about all the options available. Subsequent communication via phone and email was prompt and always helpful. The installation team took an obvious pride in their work and did their very best to keep disruption to a minimum. The work was carried out to a high standard and we are very satisfied with the outcome. I have no hesitation in recommending Simon, Ricky and the rest of the HW&CH team very highly.
Michael Posted on 12/09/2018 , work completed 12/09/2018
Warm air replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had HW&CH replace our existing warm air system recently with a new wet system and were very pleased with their work. Simon came round to explain our options, and when he quoted the job he was very thorough regards explaining exactly what they would be doing, whereas other companies didn't go into as much detail as this, so this was appreciated. Ricky, Shaun and Ricky's son did the majority of the installation and were professional throughout the duration. They also cleaned up at the end of each day and explained any special work they had to do and why. Considering the upheaval of a job like this, it went as smoothly as could be expected and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending them to anyone else requiring work on their central heating.
Lisa L Posted on 22/08/2018 , work completed 22/08/2018
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New boiler and water tank. Very professional always left the house tidy at the end of the day.
Vivien, Kent Posted on 20/07/2018 , work completed 20/07/2018
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hot water and central heating provided a very professional service regarding installation of new gas boiler. Very detailed quotation leaving nothing to question provided. Installation carried out to agreed programme. Company extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Recommended.
Keith, Kent Posted on 31/05/2018 , work completed 31/05/2018
Would highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced an old air heating system with radiators. Really clear advice before the project with no pressure. The service was efficient and friendly. The team did a great job. I'd certainly recommend them.
Joanne Posted on 11/05/2018 , work completed 11/05/2018
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful and competent. They tested the gas supply line and found a small leak on our side of the supply and stayed until it was located and repaired, which also involved moving an AGA cooker.
Dominic Rossi Posted on 14/04/2018 , work completed 14/04/2018
Exceptional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt response to a boiler that had virtually seized up due to poor servicing in previous years by other contractors. The boiler was rescued with a lot of hard work put in after hours. Well beyond the call of duty! I doubt we will ever trust anyone to service our boiler again!
Graham, Surrey Posted on 26/03/2018 , work completed 26/03/2018
Excellent plumber/engineer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent communication and organisation. Did a fantastic job on a very complex plumbing / engineering job in central London. Extremely efficient and a pleasure to deal with.
A, London Posted on 05/02/2018 , work completed 05/02/2018
Well designed heating and HW upgrade
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon provided a very detailed quote for replacement of warm air system to a wet system after listening to our requirements. Came back and sorted a minor issue we had with Evohome. Very knowledgeable.
Richard, West Sussex Posted on 05/02/2018 , work completed 05/02/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Breath of fresh air, brilliant job! Our underfloor heating & radiators are all working well with Honeywell zone controls and updated manifold as old system was 20+ years old. Simon gave us confidence as he knew what was required and fitted it all without hassle.
Stuart, West Sussex Posted on 02/02/2018 , work completed 02/02/2018
Real expertise at reasonable prices.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
HW&CH installed two heating systems (one for the house and one for the indoor pool) on time and on budget. They explained very clearly how to operate and program the equipment. The illustrated quotes were very clear and very reasonably priced.
Paul, East Sussex Posted on 24/01/2018 , work completed 24/01/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon & his team have recently installed a new heating system in our house! They were extremely professional and helpful as always. We have used them a number of times and recommended their services to our friends.
C, Surrey Posted on 19/01/2018 , work completed 19/01/2018
Efficient and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with standard of work and professionalism.
Noel, West Sussex Posted on 10/01/2018 , work completed 10/01/2018
Pre Xmas hell turned into heaven
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very sorry water tank replaced and fully functioning before Xmas, despite the initial job being a boiler service. Thanks Simon!
Janet, London Posted on 21/12/2017 , work completed 21/12/2017
Highly recommended operation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New boiler and flue system fitted on time and in budget/quote. Neat and tidy, as well as professional and skilled job, done to our satisfaction. All working well and son has recently used them for his boiler installation.
John, Kent Posted on 13/12/2017 , work completed 13/12/2017
Professional Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon was clearly very knowledgeable when he came to assess our needs and quote. He patiently went through the possible options and we easily agreed on the best solution for us (unlike a more take it or leave it approach we experienced from another company). The actual installation was performed carefully and we are pleased with the result. Many thanks to the whole team.
Jonathan, Surrey Posted on 15/11/2017 , work completed 15/11/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service throughout. I have used Hot Water & Central Heating for years . They are honest and reliable, I trust them and their work and recommend them highly. We have also used them for our rented property and received the same high quality standard of work.
Anne, Surrey Posted on 27/10/2017 , work completed 27/10/2017
Great Job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional job - recommended by my daughter who also had a new boiler from them. The workman was very considerate and clean. Would recommend.
Betty, Surrey Posted on 15/09/2017 , work completed 15/09/2017
Excellent job, high skill
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a very tricky legacy arrangement of poorly positioned plumbing and heating. Simon was the only tradesman of several who took the time and interest to fully understand the problem and propose a proper solution to all needs. Well executed, good price, great service and knowledge.
Adam, Surrey Posted on 06/09/2017 , work completed 06/09/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work , the workers were very efficient ,considerate and tidy . They worked with the least disruption possible for an elderly lady .Any unexpected problem was dealt with safely and professionally. The finished heating is to a high standard . K.T. Kent 2/05/17
Jennie Posted on 05/05/2017 , work completed 05/05/2017
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was very professionally undertaken on time and budget with no adverse issues raised. Customer satisfaction appeared to be a high priority.
Martin, Kent Posted on 25/04/2017 , work completed 25/04/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Truly excellent, as much technically as aesthetic: clean, prompt, going well beyond expectations.
Nicholas, Kent Posted on 14/04/2017 , work completed 14/04/2017
Commercial plumbing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A small to medium sized company capable of installing & maintaining a highly technical modernisation of our heating & h/w systems. The planning, execution & result was truly 'excellent'.
A J, Surrey Posted on 04/04/2017 , work completed 04/04/2017
Very knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a replacement boiler & Simon talked us through the options, which manufacturer & what size to go for & saw through the installation, not leaving until he was satisfied that all was in order. All in all very, competent and professional.
Stephen, Kent Posted on 16/02/2017 , work completed 16/02/2017
Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not the cheapest but very knowledgeable which gave me confidence that the job would be well done and correctly done. I was not disappointed.
Geoffrey, Kent Posted on 06/02/2017 , work completed 06/02/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After lots of problems over the past months with our heating system, no other plumber/heating engineer could solve the faults. It took Simon Davies only two no visits to solve the problems. When I contacted him for advice, he never let us down.
Konrad, Kent Posted on 20/01/2017 , work completed 20/01/2017
Good standard of work with an ongoing commitment to customer satisfaction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This firm installed a 12 zone Honeywell Evohome central heating and hot water control system for us in October 2014. The quotation was clear and detailed, and the price reasonable. The installation work was personally overseen by the boss, Simon, who also set the rather complex (but powerful) wireless control system to work and gave clear advice on how to get the best from it. He had in-depth knowledge and experience of the control system that is probably second to none. The firm also installed and connected to our boiler a plinth fan heater nicely hidden under a kitchen cupboard to boost both the warm-up time and temperature in our previously rather chilly kitchen/diner. The control system and plinth heater had been working flawlessly since then, until an intermittent fault recently arose with the control system. This was traced to a faulty Honeywell relay in the Evohome control system. The relay was quickly replaced by Simon, unprompted, as a gesture of goodwill, despite the warranty on the work having expired over 12 months earlier. I would strongly recommend HWCH Ltd as a firm that can be relied on not only to do a good job, but also to take an interest in customers’ ongoing satisfaction with its work.
Mike Posted on 28/11/2016 , work completed 28/11/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent boiler installer
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/07/2016 , work completed 18/07/2016
Employed this trader many times
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Started and finished on time. Workmanship as good as ever. prices reasonable.
Peter, Surrey Posted on 24/05/2016 , work completed 24/05/2016
Smart solution, neatly implemented
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great technical solution to the tricky replacement of a 1980's warm air unit. Starting with a clear and comprehensive quotation. Careful and tidy installation with minimal disruption. Excellent communication throughout the work.
Martin, Surrey Posted on 21/03/2016 , work completed 21/03/2016
Clean + tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
HWCH installed our boiler a few years ago and have looked after it ever since so I was happy to leave them in the house unaccompanied. We came home to find the installation complete and no mess or trace they had been.
Bryan, London Posted on 15/12/2015 , work completed 15/12/2015
Prompt and efficient. Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My son recommended this firm as I was very apprehensive about having a new boiler. Mr Davies was very clean and helpful and explained everything. The two men who did must of the work were efficient, polite , clean and considerate to me . As far as I can tell I have an efficient job carried out in one long day which helped me.
Jean, Surrey Posted on 19/11/2015 , work completed 19/11/2015
Very good job - as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used the company for many years for 2 rental properties & our family home. We cannot fault them.
Stephen, Kent Posted on 19/06/2015 , work completed 19/06/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
HW and CH knowledgeable, friendly and efficient company we would certainly recommend them.
John, Kent Posted on 01/06/2015 , work completed 01/06/2015
Reliable & professional company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hot Water & Central Heating responded very promptly & installed a new boiler in a quite awkward location. Very helpful
Jerry, London Posted on 27/05/2015 , work completed 27/05/2015
Professional & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have known HW & CH for several years. They installed two large boilers in a church and hall and maintain them annually. I gave recently used them at my home where they did a very clean, neat and efficient job. Supplied excellent product and were very professional.
David, Kent Posted on 16/01/2015 , work completed 16/01/2015
Diligent & Efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon of HWCH takes his job very seriously but is a pleasure to deal with. He assessed our (complicated) situation carefully, recommended the right solution and carried it out promptly and efficiently.
Jay, London Posted on 15/01/2015 , work completed 15/01/2015
Expert & professional installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An intimate knowledge of a rather complex Honeywell Evohome heating control product, combined with an excellent installation crew on the day resulted in a very satisfactory installation. Some tricky rerouting of underfloor pipework was accomplished without fuss, mess or extra charge, highly recommended.
Richard, East Sussex Posted on 04/07/2014 , work completed 04/07/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with work rate and efficiency. Would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Neville, West Sussex Posted on 16/03/2014 , work completed 16/03/2014
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company provided a prompt and efficient service in our hour of needs. So helpful and considerate and they finished on time as promised! No hesitation in recommending them to other prospective customers.
Thomas, Surrey Posted on 23/10/2011 , work completed 23/10/2011