We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

J.S. Builders

Logo on white
Default profile image

4.9

30 Reviews

About

We are a small family run business, established over 35 years ago, specialising in Hard Landscaping (Patios) and Block Paving.

We also cover all aspects of building works, including, new extensions and roofing.

The majority of our work comes from personal recommendations and return customers.

For a free estimate or further information, please give us a call.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Extensions
    • Plastering
  • Patios and driveways

    • Patio installation and maintenance
    • Driveway installation and maintenance
  • Roofers

    • Roof and skylights
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Flat roofing

Customer reviews

4.9
30 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
What a service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment of original contact I was impressed with the way Mr. (Jeff) Smallman carried out his business. The job we asked him to do was to seal the base of our balcony/patio which happens to be the roof of the flat below. The tenant of that flat reported that there was water seeping through his ceiling. Jeff wasted no time in coming to see what was involved and immediately gave me an estimate. I was rather taken aback by the amount involved but when Jeff explained in detail all that had to be done I asked him to go ahead. Bearing in mind the nature of the job we had to wait for a spell of dry weather. Jeff kept an eye on the weather forecast and when he thought it suitable he called me two days in advance that he was going to start. Another problem we had was access to the patio, suffice to say that all the materials had to be carried up a ladder. In fairness neither Jeff or his son Darren complained about this. The weather behaved and the job was done with a great deal of thoroughness. Idon't know if there is an expression that is an opposite to 'cowboy builder' if there is it would be definitely an accurate description of J.S. Builders. All the work was fully guaranteed and they did an excellent job of clearing up the site. Thank you Jeff and Darren for all the expert and hard work. My wife and I are delighted with the job and would have no problem at all in recommending these trades men.
CMR40114989522/03/2015
Concentious
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff built a front wall in my garden. He did a good job and I found him to be trustworthy. No complaints at all.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff and Darren rebuilt a main chimney stack in appalling weather, never stopped, perfect job, also repaired interior wall for my mother-in-law, found a terrible mess that needed much more work but completed the work in just a little more time than the original estimated. They are what every householder hopes to find, an expert, reliable builder.
EKL19283725/05/2014
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Myhouse was subsiding and the trader resolved this for me.Most of the walls and ceilings wer taken down, floor dug up etc. They were very hard working and I cannot recommend them highly enough.
S, Thomastown23/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff and his son replaced my kitchen ceiling. He warned me that it would be a very messy job, and he made every effort to minimise the mess, and cleaned up very thoroughly afterwards. The work was completed a day ahead of schedule in spite of a few unforeseen problems. I find Jeff a very conscientious and honest builder, and would definitely use him again.
RayV03/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff capped our wooden but sound fascia boards with PVC capping boards and replaced a soffit. Although he is not a specialist roofer he did a good job. Whilst the scaffolding was up he offered (for a few extra quid) to re-point the ridge tiles (which needed doing), replace a broken tile and do some repairs on the "roof valleys". He was friendly, accomodating (the scaffolding he arranged was left up on my request for a few weeks so I could paint the pine end wall), helpful and turned up when he said he would. I would employ him again!
Richard JB26/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JS Builders came to estimate re-build of gate pillar and ended up doing, retaining wall, rear access steps, next doors pillar coping - even turned out to help my wife in an emergency situation in the most appalling weather. Excellent standard of work. Both Jeff and Darren were polite and professional in their day to day work. Will be having them back to rebuild rear boundary wall soon!
Rhondda_Chris03/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff & son recently did work on a retaining wall,also 2 patio areas,his work was excellent,efficient and he is a very clean worker who takes pride in his work,he was punctual every day,work was completed in the time estimated,highly recommended and reasonably priced.
Johnny W01/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff Smallman and his son are block paving specalists but are also excelent in re-roofing and roofing repairs and building extensions etc. Prices are very reasonable plus it it very difficult to find an honest roofer. Jeff has been in the business for 25 years. He takes great pride in his work which is guarannteed.
tonybates23/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff Smallman and his son are block paving specalists but are also excelent in re-roofing and roofing repairs and building extensions etc. Prices are very reasonable plus it is very difficult to find an honest roofer. Jeff has been in the business for 25 years. He takes great pride in his work, which is guarannteed.
tonybates20/02/2010