We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

J.S. Builders

Logo on white
Default profile image

4.9

30 Reviews

About

We are a small family run business, established over 35 years ago, specialising in Hard Landscaping (Patios) and Block Paving.

We also cover all aspects of building works, including, new extensions and roofing.

The majority of our work comes from personal recommendations and return customers.

For a free estimate or further information, please give us a call.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Extensions
    • Plastering
  • Patios and driveways

    • Patio installation and maintenance
    • Driveway installation and maintenance
  • Roofers

    • Roof and skylights
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Flat roofing

Customer reviews

4.9
30 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff and boys did my back garden (relaying slabs, grass, coping stones). I took Jeff's advice and an excellent job was done.
Tina, Mid Glamorgan21/03/2019
Professional and proud
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff and Darren communicated superbly from start to finish. We asked them to do extra work which was done no problem. Great to see great craftsman, take great pride in their work. They have left us with a stunning patio.
Ryan, Mid Glamorgan01/02/2019
Outstanding!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend these builders. The work was all done to the highest standard (no corners cut!). They were very clean and tidy, at end of working day putting every thing away. Could not have asked for more!
Sian, Mid Glamorgan02/09/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am happy with the work.
Peter, Mid Glamorgan25/04/2018
Excellent job to a high standard.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JS Builders (Jeff & Darren) laid a new patio and built a new wall. This was done to a very high standard, Jeff & Darren are very professional in what they do, and I would highly recommend them.
Malcolm, Mid Glamorgan01/10/2017
A Brilliant job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A brilliant job done, and the attention to detail was fabulous.
Carolyn, Mid Glamorgan12/07/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Father & son, both reliable arriving on time every day for two weeks including a Saturday. High standard of work, able and prepared to successfully tackle any problems that occurred.
Helen, South Glamorgan20/06/2017
Professional and courteous.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff and his men carried out the job to a high standard, with the minimum of fuss, and at a very fair price.
Judith, Mid Glamorgan15/05/2017
Upgraded terraced house.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We required extensive work on our home as it is 100 years old, as the work proceeded the work required extended considerably. Mr Smallman and his team were excellent. They were receptive and understanding to the needs of our 80+ yr old man. Work was of highest standard.
Margaret, Mid Glamorgan17/02/2017
Excellent as always.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Jeff three times this year, most recently to lay a small patio at the bottom of the garden. After discussing the work required and offering helpful suggestions, Jeff provides a detailed estimate setting out all the work required. Jeff then carried out the work quickly and efficiently with his son Darren. We wouldn't hesitate to use him again.
Roger, South Glamorgan24/11/2016
Expertise in groundworks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Despite unforeseen problems and poor weather conditions, these builders used their knowledge, skills and hard work to ensure the retaining wall & patio were well constructed, with deep footings and sturdy construction with excellent finish. The first builders that I would ever recommend.
Lynda, Mid Glamorgan05/08/2016
Very pleased with job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job was completed on time. Builders informed me of what was happening while here. Price quoted was the price I payed. Recommend and use again.
Iori, Mid Glamorgan03/08/2016
Excellent work and craftsmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Smallmah's service from initial enquiry is completion of the work was excellent. useful advice on techniques was offered which improved the finished product. The work undertaken looks great.
Peter, South Glamorgan11/07/2016
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the 2nd job Jeff has done for us this. Luke the 1st , Jeff was courteous and professional throughout. We were more than satisfied with his work. I completed a similar review after the 1st job he did but can't find this anywhere on the website.
Roger, South Glamorgan06/07/2016
Excellent builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very punctual and hard working builder, producing excellent results. High quality work, meticulous attention to detail. Project was completed to my entire satisfaction. Highly recommended.
David Rhys, South Glamorgan19/06/2016
Ultra professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What initially appeared to be a leak on our conservatory roof turned into a much bigger job to seal the leak and re-decorate. An excellent job by Jeff and the boys ensuring the leak was traced, sealed and problem solved. I have booked them for further work on the house.
Michael, Mid Glamorgan29/01/2016
Repaired two retaining walls and renovated a large patio in the rear garden of our house.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Jeff for a quote after seeing their work on a house a few doors up in our street as we were really impressed by the standard of finish there. The quote was competitive and detailed and they completed the work to Jeff's very exacting standards on budget and everything went really smoothly, even though the weather was atrocious for much of the time they were here. They're also really easy to get on with, which made the whole process so much simpler: a pleasure instead of a pain. We really can't fault them and we're already compiling a list of jobs for next spring!
Philip, Pontypridd05/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff completed a repair of my paving. this job was done neatly and tidily. I will use Jeff's services again when a suitable job arises
tosca12301/07/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff did an excellent job in repairing my paving at reasonable cost. His work was completed on time and his cleanliness to be admired, I will most certainly use him again when the need arises
tosca12301/07/2015
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very cooperative builder where nothing was too much trouble. The standard of his work was superb & done to schedule. I am exceedingly pleased with his work.
Lyn, Mid Glamorgan25/03/2015
What a service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment of original contact I was impressed with the way Mr. (Jeff) Smallman carried out his business. The job we asked him to do was to seal the base of our balcony/patio which happens to be the roof of the flat below. The tenant of that flat reported that there was water seeping through his ceiling. Jeff wasted no time in coming to see what was involved and immediately gave me an estimate. I was rather taken aback by the amount involved but when Jeff explained in detail all that had to be done I asked him to go ahead. Bearing in mind the nature of the job we had to wait for a spell of dry weather. Jeff kept an eye on the weather forecast and when he thought it suitable he called me two days in advance that he was going to start. Another problem we had was access to the patio, suffice to say that all the materials had to be carried up a ladder. In fairness neither Jeff or his son Darren complained about this. The weather behaved and the job was done with a great deal of thoroughness. Idon't know if there is an expression that is an opposite to 'cowboy builder' if there is it would be definitely an accurate description of J.S. Builders. All the work was fully guaranteed and they did an excellent job of clearing up the site. Thank you Jeff and Darren for all the expert and hard work. My wife and I are delighted with the job and would have no problem at all in recommending these trades men.
CMR40114989522/03/2015
Concentious
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff built a front wall in my garden. He did a good job and I found him to be trustworthy. No complaints at all.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff and Darren rebuilt a main chimney stack in appalling weather, never stopped, perfect job, also repaired interior wall for my mother-in-law, found a terrible mess that needed much more work but completed the work in just a little more time than the original estimated. They are what every householder hopes to find, an expert, reliable builder.
EKL19283725/05/2014
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Myhouse was subsiding and the trader resolved this for me.Most of the walls and ceilings wer taken down, floor dug up etc. They were very hard working and I cannot recommend them highly enough.
S, Thomastown23/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff and his son replaced my kitchen ceiling. He warned me that it would be a very messy job, and he made every effort to minimise the mess, and cleaned up very thoroughly afterwards. The work was completed a day ahead of schedule in spite of a few unforeseen problems. I find Jeff a very conscientious and honest builder, and would definitely use him again.
RayV03/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff capped our wooden but sound fascia boards with PVC capping boards and replaced a soffit. Although he is not a specialist roofer he did a good job. Whilst the scaffolding was up he offered (for a few extra quid) to re-point the ridge tiles (which needed doing), replace a broken tile and do some repairs on the "roof valleys". He was friendly, accomodating (the scaffolding he arranged was left up on my request for a few weeks so I could paint the pine end wall), helpful and turned up when he said he would. I would employ him again!
Richard JB26/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JS Builders came to estimate re-build of gate pillar and ended up doing, retaining wall, rear access steps, next doors pillar coping - even turned out to help my wife in an emergency situation in the most appalling weather. Excellent standard of work. Both Jeff and Darren were polite and professional in their day to day work. Will be having them back to rebuild rear boundary wall soon!
Rhondda_Chris03/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff & son recently did work on a retaining wall,also 2 patio areas,his work was excellent,efficient and he is a very clean worker who takes pride in his work,he was punctual every day,work was completed in the time estimated,highly recommended and reasonably priced.
Johnny W01/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff Smallman and his son are block paving specalists but are also excelent in re-roofing and roofing repairs and building extensions etc. Prices are very reasonable plus it it very difficult to find an honest roofer. Jeff has been in the business for 25 years. He takes great pride in his work which is guarannteed.
tonybates23/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff Smallman and his son are block paving specalists but are also excelent in re-roofing and roofing repairs and building extensions etc. Prices are very reasonable plus it is very difficult to find an honest roofer. Jeff has been in the business for 25 years. He takes great pride in his work, which is guarannteed.
tonybates20/02/2010