We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

J Turnbull Plumbing & Heating

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–12:00
  • Monday 08:00–12:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–12:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–12:00
  • Thursday 08:00–12:00
  • Friday 08:00–12:00
  • Saturday 08:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb samsung 02 06 15 083

5.0

34 Reviews

About

At J Turnbull, we have over 25 years' experience in plumbing and central heating services.

We are expert boiler engineers, and can supply, fit and service all major makes of boiler, including combination boilers.

As a family run company, we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service. Where possible, we try to provide a same day service on all jobs, coming to you to assess what is required and giving you a clear explanation of the work and costs involved.

For a free quote or to arrange a consultation, call us today. We offer a range of plumbing & gas services, including: Central heating repair & servicing Boiler repairs Boiler replacement Boiler fitting All makes of boiler covered, including Worcester Bosch, Vaillant, Baxi, Ideal, and more General plumbing Fitting showers & sinks Blockages and drains

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Drain clearance contractors

  • Heating contractors

  • More Services

    • boiler repairs
    • taps
    • ball valves
    • gas cookers
    • leaks

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

5.0
34 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Any time I've used Turnbull's they've come out on the same day to fix the issue. Very happy with their work.
chrisob5523/10/2018
Another boiler serviced!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I’ve used Turnbull’s to service my boiler and I can’t recommend them enough. The first time they sorted a problem that had been ongoing and unresolved by previous heating engineers. And today in a new property the boiler was serviced by Max, who was helpful, courteous, professional and did a very clean, tidy and thorough job. Their response to my initial call was fast and the work was reasonably priced. What more could you want?!
Happy 22/10/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can’t recommend these guys enough. They were prompt, very helpful, polite, tidy and charged exactly what they said they would. I won’t go to anyone else
Georgina Donbroski27/09/2018
Professional, multi-skilled & reliable service since the Company began, both for Domestic and Commercial works. I have used them for over 30 years
Customer Service
Quality
Value
J.Turnbull and Sons have done major Gas and Electrical works plus Boiler & Cental Heating installation and maintenance, both Commercially, in a large Nursing Home and Domestically, installing a New Combination Boiler, re- wiring, re-plumbing and annual maintenance of my home for me throughout the last 30 years or more. Works always ran to schedule and budgets were adhered to. Good communication, works and after care/ maintenance were outstanding and any emergencies were resolved fast. I continue to use their Services for annual maintenance and Gas Safety Certification and can highly recommend their Services.
Diana Pullin17/08/2018
Boiler service & annual safety check
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used J Turnball for years & am very impressed & happy with the great service they provide. A very friendly & efficient family business. I highly recommend.
Tasos Pelekanou23/04/2018
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using J Turnbull for several years. They provided and fitted our boiler over five years ago and we have had it serviced by them annually since. We have also had a new radiator fitted and a tap and waste changed by them. Jeff is very good at responding to emails and I find them really reliable. Very friendly and efficient service.
Lisa Strevens 17/04/2018
Great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used J. Turnbull for boiler service and repair for several years. Always efficient and reliable. I do not hesitate to recommend. I have now bought an old cottage in Shoreham and will be getting Jeff round soon as I get the keys. Fiona
Legolas27/03/2018
Excellent work at short notice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rang Jeff on a Saturday afternoon when our boiler packed up on one of the coldest days of the year and British Gas didn't turn up for an appointment. Jeff came out on Sunday morning and fixed the boiler. He was very friendly and efficient and I found the cost to be very reasonable (especially for a Sunday morning)
Gerald Carr05/03/2018
Recommending J Turnbull Plumbing and Heating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following an emergency repair to our heating system, Mr Turnbull returned to service our boiler and fit a new radiator end thermostat. All work was carried out promptly and efficiently, and we were kept informed and up to date with work carried out throughout. I would, without hesitation, recommend Jeff Turnbull and his employees.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer26/01/2018
Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A malfunctioning dual flash cistern valve was quickly and effectively replaced. Water loss rectified. A reliable and competent plumbing service over 20 years.
Michael, East Sussex01/11/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and efficiency.
David, West Sussex14/06/2017
Really Impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a joy. A local family firm - Rory and his brother Max visited me and worked tirelessly to do everything I needed - beyond the call of duty and a fair price. It is nice when you feel confident to be able to really trust the advice and recommendations - will use then again and feel confident passing on their details to friends and family.
Suzanne19/12/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff Turnball came highly recommended and certainly lived up to his reputation. When contacted he came promptly and on time to assess the job. He emailed a quote very quickly and started the job far sooner than we could have hoped for. He and his son worked efficiently and kept everything amazingly clean and tidy. We kept adding to the job so it took longer but Jeff did not leave until everything was done. I have no hesitation in recommending Jeff Turnball to do a good, efficient and careful job.
Sonia S13/12/2016
Top quality work from trustworthy local company - just what you want.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time I have used J Turnball and will use them for annual servicing from now on and any other work I need doing. They respond to requests quickly - i.e. on this occasion they visited on the same day to carry out an initial inspection (this was non urgent work). They provided a reasonable estimate on that day in writing (text) and we agreed a suitable day for the work to be carried out. As there were a few issues with the existing system the work took a little longer than they expected but it was all carried out to a good standard and the original estimate was honoured. Polite and courteous throughout and I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone and certainly have done. The end result is that my house is nice and toasty and ready for winter - excellent!
Martin 19/10/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used this company to do a Landlords Gas Safety check plus annual service. Gave us useful advice. Highly recommended.
Happy Customer28/09/2016
Recommend without hesitation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent service provided, suggesting the most cost effective way of curing my plumbing problem.
Edwin, East Sussex05/07/2016
Brilliant Team- 11/10
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant. Reliable. Professional. Nothing was too much.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer21/05/2016
Great boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very clean & very good service 20 yrs +.
Mollie, West Sussex17/05/2016
Friendly & helpful plumber, quality service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jeff and team installed our heating system 10 years ago and we have never hesitated to use them again and again. They are very efficient and timely and their work is always of a high quality. I always recommended Jeff to friends and family and will continue to do so.
SOUTHBY108/05/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fast, friendly service. No hidden costs. Would highly recommend Jeff and his team.
Helen Kablean02/05/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having the right workmen in my home is extremely important to me. Jeff and his team are trustworthy in every sense. Good honest respectful tradesmen in my opinion. They make the time to get over to do any job within 1-3 days- even if its not an emergency and are true to their word when arranging dates and times. I have always felt they will get a job done with the best value possible for me.
Mish28301/05/2016
At last someone who knows what there doing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used many gas engineers over the years and found them to be one of the worst trades for finding someone reliable , to give you a idea , we had a guy come round and basically told us our new radiator was knackered and we'd have to send it back, these guys came round , looked at the radiator, adjusted the valve and it's worked fine ever since, took them 5 minutes, there all really helpful and as there's a few of them they can get to you in a emergency which is where others struggle, can't recommend them enough.
Phil.d28/04/2016
Long Term Happiness
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this firm for over 10 years simply because they are reliable, trustworthy and do a good job. In my experience both Jeff and Rory are skilled individuals. I am pleased to recommend them.
2011-08-02 13:55:53.5427/04/2016
Recommended to many friends & all were pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recommend J. Turnbull & Sons to all my friends in the Brighton & Hove area, whenever asked if I know of someone trustworthy who could deal with their plumbing or heating issue. My review is based on my use of their services – both as a landlord and homeowner -- several times a year, over many years. Jeff, Rory and Ewan are all very reliable, personable, and communicate clearly about the job -- before, during and after. Not only is communication clear on their side, they also listen and take on board client concerns to achieve the desired outcome. When it is has been inconvenient to be present for the work, I’ve no hesitation about leaving them in my home or rental property with a set of keys. Invoicing and payment is very efficient and done online. If I have a plumbing/heating/electrical issue, I know they will tackle the problem as soon as possible and often on the same day depending on the nature and urgency of the problem. I've always been happy with the quality of their work: they get the job done. I think the services they provide, and how they provide them, represent good value for money.
DominicF27/04/2016
Breakdown and Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this company on three occasions and have been very pleased with their quick response to the breakdowns. Everything was explained clearly. They were very polite and courteous and certainly good value for money. Will definitely be using them again for my annual boiler service. Highly recommended.
Shoreham26/04/2016
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is a family run business and, as such, has always maintained a high quality of service in my experience.
CarolT25/04/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very thorough investigation in how to fix our shower. Were kept informed and came to a good solution. The job was completed to a good standard. Very pleased.
Claire, West Sussex18/03/2016
Very pleased with service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used J Turnbull's services for a number of years now and have been very pleased during that time. They are punctual, efficient and just get the job done. I have never been let down during all the time and they have worked on my own boiler as well as that of other properties as I am a landlord. I would recommend them to everyone looking for a good plumber who performs great work at a good price.
Andy10110/03/2016
Satisfied Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called upon this company to service my boiler and I was most impressed at the service received. The two chaps who came were polite and really conscientious about their work and carried out a really thorough job. I had cause to call on the company again 2 days later when a workman cut through our water pipe. J Turnbull responded really quickly and with their assistance and involvement Southern Water came out and repaired the pipe. I would definitely recommend this company and would have no hesitation in using them again.
KJH12316/12/2015
Replacement boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Advised re most appropriate boiler- a Which Best Buy. Good customer experience from estimate to completion of work. Arrived on time;finished within projected timeframe. Very reliable and confident. Explained what was happening- helpful to us as customers ;and passed on guidance to next trainee generation. A competent trader-neat;clean and trustworthy. Might well have got the job done more cheaply, but worth paying the quoted price to secure a quality outcome.
2011-01-05 19:30:50.94709/08/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rory arrived within the time band we had agreed, diagnosed the problem & explained how he would fix it & what the cost would be, & then just got on with it. He was very pleasant & explained everything very clearly. I would have not hesitation about recommending him.
Nigel, East Sussex30/07/2015
Boiler sorted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would not hesitate to recommend this trader. They responded quickly, came out the same day, arrived on time and quickly solved the problem. They were polite, very pleasant and cleared up after the work.
Celia12318/06/2015
Boiler repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Attended at short notice and effected repairs within the same day. Excellent service, very pleasant, courteous and left everywhere perfectly clean and tidy; had no doubts about leaving him alone in the house while I returned to work.
jbshoreham03/06/2015
No complaints
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced gas boilers - servicing our boiler every year and heating system. Very trustworthy
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/04/2015