We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

John Hammond Painting & Decorating

Profile thumb logo1 2
4.9

31 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

I have been a painter/decorator in Cambridge for nearly twenty years, and in that time have developed a solid reputation as a courteous, conscientious and fair tradesman. I was delighted in January 2014 to become endorsed as Which? Trusted trader.

I know that it can be disruptive to have work undertaken in your home and I do my best to plan efficiently, minimize the impact and deliver a professional and satisfactory result.

I only undertake interior residential work.
Services include:
- painting and decorating
- renovation
- wall coverings
- ceramic tiling
- plaster repairs
- coving

My experience often allows me to come up with creative solutions to problem areas.

For more information about me and what I can do for you please visit my website.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

  • Plastering

  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • More Services

    • ceramic tiling
    • wallpapering
    • coving
    • plastering repairs

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
31 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
Yes, we would recommend John Hammond!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John painted a bedroom, hall stairs and landing and a living room. John responded quickly to our initial enquiry when other traders did not. He kept to schedule and was completely reliable.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/02/2018 , work completed 09/02/2018
Thoroughly Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete redecoration of a two-bedroom house, including stripping of wallpaper in every room and application of emulsion and eggshell throughout, including ceilings.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/09/2017 , work completed 05/09/2017
Excellent choice!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job done by John Hammond was to paint a flat. He was prompt to set up our initial meeting, gave good advice about colours and materials, and thought the whole job through well beforehand. He made it easy to plan a firm date, worked carefully and to the time agreed, and made a beautiful job of the whole thing. I particularly appreciated not needing to be there while the work was going on, and found him absolutely trustworthy. He cleaned up thoroughly afterwards. In short, I am very happy to have found him through Trusted Traders!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/08/2017 , work completed 20/08/2017
Five years of excellent painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John has been our go-to painter for five years. We found him through good reviews online when we first bought our house in Cambridge. He painted the entire interior at that stage, and has done many other smaller jobs for us since then, including complicated work involving maintenance on the timber of our old bay windows. Everything he does is excellent, and he is a pleasure to deal with. Highly recommended!
Huw Price, Cambridgeshire Posted on 07/07/2017 , work completed 07/07/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was begun and finished on time with the minimal disruption to the household. No blaring radios!
B, Cambridgeshire Posted on 24/04/2017 , work completed 24/04/2017
The most helpful decorator I have ever used
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Hammond not only prompt in quoting, but arrive on time and only stops when the job is finished. Most helpful with advice regarding the job in hand and use available materials I had. Clean and tidy. His standard daily rate is reasonable.
rhspanderson Posted on 12/04/2017 , work completed 12/04/2017
Great and reliable painters
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used John (and Hutch) twice but only got round to leaving a review this time. They turned up on time (early), are organised, suggest solutions to problems. We would definitely use John again and would recommend him to our family and friends.
2011-07-04 21:29:38.59 Posted on 10/08/2016 , work completed 10/08/2016
Really helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and Hutch were great, I was moving house and they decorated before (and during) the house move. They were organised and efficient and helped with figuring out how to dismantle a large wardrobe so it could go up the stairs, they also put it back together at the top. Work far and above expected.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/06/2016 , work completed 28/06/2016
Great workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and his assistant have done a really professional and high quality painting (and coving and skirting) job on several occasions for us. Where necessary he has solved problems on the way, such as working out how to patch up a fireplace. I recommend him wholeheartedly.
1918881 Posted on 29/01/2015 , work completed 29/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This year John tiled my new porch in record time. He had previously tiled my kitchen. He is very modest about his tiling ability but we have been pleased with both jobs. It is really useful to have a craftsman who can do a complete finishing job.
ladywhich Posted on 07/01/2015 , work completed 07/01/2015