We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

John Hammond Painting & Decorating

Profile thumb logo1 2
4.9

31 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

I have been a painter/decorator in Cambridge for nearly twenty years, and in that time have developed a solid reputation as a courteous, conscientious and fair tradesman. I was delighted in January 2014 to become endorsed as Which? Trusted trader.

I know that it can be disruptive to have work undertaken in your home and I do my best to plan efficiently, minimize the impact and deliver a professional and satisfactory result.

I only undertake interior residential work.
Services include:
- painting and decorating
- renovation
- wall coverings
- ceramic tiling
- plaster repairs
- coving

My experience often allows me to come up with creative solutions to problem areas.

For more information about me and what I can do for you please visit my website.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

  • Plastering

  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • More Services

    • ceramic tiling
    • wallpapering
    • coving
    • plastering repairs

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
31 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John goes the extra yard in everything. His work (and his colleague Hutch's) is of a high standard, he's reliable, punctual, and completely trustworthy. If he encounters a problem he'll solve it, or make a suggestion as to how you might want to approach it - no cutting corners or bodge jobs. We're joining the chorus of glowing reviews, despite the risk of filling up his schedule, because he genuinely offers an excellent service and deserves the work.
mullen49 Posted on 11/12/2014 , work completed 11/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John (and Hutch) deserve their glowing reviews.They painted my house inside and out in a thoroughly professional manner. They helped to move furniture and tidied up after their work. They always started early at 07.30 hrs and finished early at 15.30 hrs to avoid car parking problems. Furthermore they made excellent recommendations concerning other trades they had worked with. It was through them that we got our excellent plumber: Paul of "Pipe Dreams". From Paul we got our excellent Electrician - Dan Holt.
Lord Lurchfield Posted on 23/09/2014 , work completed 23/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John painted my living room to a very high standard, he started when he said and finished on time too. The room was in a poor state after re-wiring work, and now it looks like new! Communication was excellent, both by phone and email.
StefanRoss Posted on 21/02/2014 , work completed 21/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painted the outside of our house. Fast, efficient, kept to the quote despite more crumbly rendering and more rotten woodwork than expected (repair of rotten woodwork a speciality). Really nice person to have around, also quiet. Not that heÍs around for long. The job would take him and his helper 8 days, he said - and it did.
mezzotint Posted on 15/07/2013 , work completed 15/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Looking for a decorator who works to a high standard, finishes on schedule and on budget? Then this is your man. He charged very competitive rates, worked amazingly efficiently (I'm not even sure he stopped for breaks) and overcame all the little problems and idiosyncrasies of redecorating an older house without making any fuss; he just got on with it. I recommend him without hesitation.
Peejaysee Posted on 09/07/2013 , work completed 09/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John painted the outside of our house and repaired the rotten wood. The work was done quickly and efficiently.
mapleleaf Posted on 08/01/2013 , work completed 08/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were new to Cambridge and the UK, and picked John to give us a quote based on the reviews here and testimonials on his website. It was a great choice. His prices were competitive, the work was excellent, and right from the start, we found him helpful, friendly and 100% reliable. We left him our keys while we were away for a couple of months, and he finished the job and kept us updated with lots of photos by email. Highly recommended!
macregis Posted on 08/10/2012 , work completed 08/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A breath of fresh air - none of the usual disappointments - very professional with integrity thrown in!
TRONDELAGONSEA Posted on 18/08/2011 , work completed 18/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John is a meticulous and very thorough workman and an expert at repairing and restoring aged and rotten woodwork. He is highly reliable and efficient. His pricing structure is transparent and straightforward and his prices are a reasonable charge for the quality of his work.
ENONEMUS Posted on 26/07/2011 , work completed 26/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used John to paint and repair the exterior if our aging property. He was very skilled at repairing timber before painting and suggesting the best finishes. Two years later his work looks as good as new and friends have commented on the good condition. He is a fast worker and very professional. he has also completed extensive interior renovation for my son.
ladywhich Posted on 10/05/2010 , work completed 10/05/2010