We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

John Hammond Painting & Decorating

Profile thumb logo1 2
4.9

31 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

I have been a painter/decorator in Cambridge for nearly twenty years, and in that time have developed a solid reputation as a courteous, conscientious and fair tradesman. I was delighted in January 2014 to become endorsed as Which? Trusted trader.

I know that it can be disruptive to have work undertaken in your home and I do my best to plan efficiently, minimize the impact and deliver a professional and satisfactory result.

I only undertake interior residential work.
Services include:
- painting and decorating
- renovation
- wall coverings
- ceramic tiling
- plaster repairs
- coving

My experience often allows me to come up with creative solutions to problem areas.

For more information about me and what I can do for you please visit my website.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

  • Plastering

  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • More Services

    • ceramic tiling
    • wallpapering
    • coving
    • plastering repairs

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
31 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
Excellent- definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John just completely redecorated our hall, stairs and landing and transformed it! I smile every time I go out there. Now I want him to do the rest of the house! Things I liked and why I chose him: * gave an honest opinion on everything * sent a quote very swiftly which was a fair price. * arrived exactly when he said he would. * just got on with the job until it was completely finished. * was nice and easy to have in the house. * put up with my dogs!
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 19/08/2021 , work completed 19/08/2021
Excellent quality house decoration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John decorated several rooms and painted extensive woodwork in our house. The quality of the finish was outstanding throughout. He was a pleasure to have in the house and was very helpful in advising on all aspects of decorating from his obvious extensive experience. I will be recommending John to anyone who needs any decorating work doing.
Robert in Cambridgeshire Posted on 09/06/2021 , work completed 01/06/2021
Really good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John did a great job repainting our hallway, including ceilings, providing a competitive quote. He also helped us by recommending a plasterer for some significant work we needed before he painted. He was efficient, friendly and did a good job on time.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 30/03/2020 , work completed 20/03/2020
Fabulous swift job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John transformed our living room. We had been putting off decorating because the walls were full of holes and the ceiling was cracked. John came and did a lovely repair, paper and paint job on the ceiling and a great cover up and paint on the walls. We are really pleased with the finished work. He was lovely to deal with, we will definitely be inviting him back to do other jobs for us.
Germaine, Cambridgeshire Posted on 28/08/2019 , work completed 03/07/2019
Thorough and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John painted and wallpapered our hall and landing walls and woodwork. The result is excellent and the space is totally transformed. We will certainly use John again and will not hesitate to recommend him to others.
Rebecca, Cambridgeshire Posted on 06/05/2019 , work completed 06/05/2019
Great job at very competitive price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John re-decorated our newly bought house just before we moved in. He was easy to contact, he provided a very competitive quote and he completed the job in the expected time. He was also very accomodating with any request we had and he always tried to get the best solution that would fit around our busy day schedule. I would definetely contact John in the future for any new job that would come up in my property and I would also recommend him to my colleagues and friends.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 13/02/2019 , work completed 03/02/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contracted John Hammond to paint the interior and exterior of my 3 bed. rental property. I found his contact details on the internet and he had some good recommendations. I contacted him and he was very quick to respond, visit the property and submit a competitive quote. The work was carried out, on time and on budget, to a very high standard. I found John very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. I'm very pleased with the whole experience and would strongly recommend his company.
RJDS, . Posted on 20/06/2018 , work completed 20/06/2018
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John provided helpful advice and did a great job on the room he painted. He finished on time and cleaned up as he went. I recommend him.
MPips, . Posted on 16/06/2018 , work completed 16/06/2018
Great tradesman we have used over nearly 20 years.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used John for all decorating requirements for nearly 20 years. Can highly recommend him, he is very professional and extremely helpful.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/03/2018 , work completed 20/03/2018
Happy to recommend John Hammond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painting internal walls and woodwork
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/02/2018 , work completed 25/02/2018
Yes, we would recommend John Hammond!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John painted a bedroom, hall stairs and landing and a living room. John responded quickly to our initial enquiry when other traders did not. He kept to schedule and was completely reliable.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/02/2018 , work completed 09/02/2018
Thoroughly Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete redecoration of a two-bedroom house, including stripping of wallpaper in every room and application of emulsion and eggshell throughout, including ceilings.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/09/2017 , work completed 05/09/2017
Excellent choice!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job done by John Hammond was to paint a flat. He was prompt to set up our initial meeting, gave good advice about colours and materials, and thought the whole job through well beforehand. He made it easy to plan a firm date, worked carefully and to the time agreed, and made a beautiful job of the whole thing. I particularly appreciated not needing to be there while the work was going on, and found him absolutely trustworthy. He cleaned up thoroughly afterwards. In short, I am very happy to have found him through Trusted Traders!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/08/2017 , work completed 20/08/2017
Five years of excellent painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John has been our go-to painter for five years. We found him through good reviews online when we first bought our house in Cambridge. He painted the entire interior at that stage, and has done many other smaller jobs for us since then, including complicated work involving maintenance on the timber of our old bay windows. Everything he does is excellent, and he is a pleasure to deal with. Highly recommended!
Huw Price, Cambridgeshire Posted on 07/07/2017 , work completed 07/07/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was begun and finished on time with the minimal disruption to the household. No blaring radios!
B, Cambridgeshire Posted on 24/04/2017 , work completed 24/04/2017
The most helpful decorator I have ever used
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Hammond not only prompt in quoting, but arrive on time and only stops when the job is finished. Most helpful with advice regarding the job in hand and use available materials I had. Clean and tidy. His standard daily rate is reasonable.
rhspanderson Posted on 12/04/2017 , work completed 12/04/2017
Great and reliable painters
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used John (and Hutch) twice but only got round to leaving a review this time. They turned up on time (early), are organised, suggest solutions to problems. We would definitely use John again and would recommend him to our family and friends.
2011-07-04 21:29:38.59 Posted on 10/08/2016 , work completed 10/08/2016
Really helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and Hutch were great, I was moving house and they decorated before (and during) the house move. They were organised and efficient and helped with figuring out how to dismantle a large wardrobe so it could go up the stairs, they also put it back together at the top. Work far and above expected.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/06/2016 , work completed 28/06/2016
Great workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and his assistant have done a really professional and high quality painting (and coving and skirting) job on several occasions for us. Where necessary he has solved problems on the way, such as working out how to patch up a fireplace. I recommend him wholeheartedly.
1918881 Posted on 29/01/2015 , work completed 29/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This year John tiled my new porch in record time. He had previously tiled my kitchen. He is very modest about his tiling ability but we have been pleased with both jobs. It is really useful to have a craftsman who can do a complete finishing job.
ladywhich Posted on 07/01/2015 , work completed 07/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John goes the extra yard in everything. His work (and his colleague Hutch's) is of a high standard, he's reliable, punctual, and completely trustworthy. If he encounters a problem he'll solve it, or make a suggestion as to how you might want to approach it - no cutting corners or bodge jobs. We're joining the chorus of glowing reviews, despite the risk of filling up his schedule, because he genuinely offers an excellent service and deserves the work.
mullen49 Posted on 11/12/2014 , work completed 11/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John (and Hutch) deserve their glowing reviews.They painted my house inside and out in a thoroughly professional manner. They helped to move furniture and tidied up after their work. They always started early at 07.30 hrs and finished early at 15.30 hrs to avoid car parking problems. Furthermore they made excellent recommendations concerning other trades they had worked with. It was through them that we got our excellent plumber: Paul of "Pipe Dreams". From Paul we got our excellent Electrician - Dan Holt.
Lord Lurchfield Posted on 23/09/2014 , work completed 23/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John painted my living room to a very high standard, he started when he said and finished on time too. The room was in a poor state after re-wiring work, and now it looks like new! Communication was excellent, both by phone and email.
StefanRoss Posted on 21/02/2014 , work completed 21/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painted the outside of our house. Fast, efficient, kept to the quote despite more crumbly rendering and more rotten woodwork than expected (repair of rotten woodwork a speciality). Really nice person to have around, also quiet. Not that heÍs around for long. The job would take him and his helper 8 days, he said - and it did.
mezzotint Posted on 15/07/2013 , work completed 15/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Looking for a decorator who works to a high standard, finishes on schedule and on budget? Then this is your man. He charged very competitive rates, worked amazingly efficiently (I'm not even sure he stopped for breaks) and overcame all the little problems and idiosyncrasies of redecorating an older house without making any fuss; he just got on with it. I recommend him without hesitation.
Peejaysee Posted on 09/07/2013 , work completed 09/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John painted the outside of our house and repaired the rotten wood. The work was done quickly and efficiently.
mapleleaf Posted on 08/01/2013 , work completed 08/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were new to Cambridge and the UK, and picked John to give us a quote based on the reviews here and testimonials on his website. It was a great choice. His prices were competitive, the work was excellent, and right from the start, we found him helpful, friendly and 100% reliable. We left him our keys while we were away for a couple of months, and he finished the job and kept us updated with lots of photos by email. Highly recommended!
macregis Posted on 08/10/2012 , work completed 08/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A breath of fresh air - none of the usual disappointments - very professional with integrity thrown in!
TRONDELAGONSEA Posted on 18/08/2011 , work completed 18/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John is a meticulous and very thorough workman and an expert at repairing and restoring aged and rotten woodwork. He is highly reliable and efficient. His pricing structure is transparent and straightforward and his prices are a reasonable charge for the quality of his work.
ENONEMUS Posted on 26/07/2011 , work completed 26/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used John to paint and repair the exterior if our aging property. He was very skilled at repairing timber before painting and suggesting the best finishes. Two years later his work looks as good as new and friends have commented on the good condition. He is a fast worker and very professional. he has also completed extensive interior renovation for my son.
ladywhich Posted on 10/05/2010 , work completed 10/05/2010
John Hammond Painting & Decorating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John inspired confidence when he came to provide an estimate for the work. He arrived bright and early every morning and worked swiftly to ensure the project was completed on schedule. John was able to provide solutions to some awkward areas and the end result, for the whole job, exceeded our expectations. A professional and efficient service at a good price
Mike Posted on (undated) , work completed 06/04/2017