We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

John Smith Electrician

Profile thumb capture

4.7

42 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

I am a sole trader that has been servicing site Builders, Landlords, Home Owners and more, for over 35 years. I cover every aspect of electrical tasks and can service a 15 miles radius from my company address. No job is too big or too small John Smith can do it all. I am always happy to help and advise where necessary.

I can offer safety and high customer service to all my customers. This is my main priority all the time being professional, reliable and trustworthy. Although I am a man I take pride in tidying up during and after my working day. No fuss, No issues always just a great service you will receive from me John Smith Electrician. Also you can check out what my previous customers thought of my work as they have left reviews at “Which.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Emergency lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
    • Security
    • Home automation
  • More Services

    • pat testing

Customer reviews

4.7
42 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.7
Value
4.5
Sort by
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & quick, good.
William, London Posted on 19/10/2017 , work completed 19/10/2017
Replaced electrical wiring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Smith carried out removal of old switch boxes and replacing out of spec cables around the fuse boxes. He was thorough and efficient and a good person to do the work.
Roger, Surrey Posted on 09/10/2017 , work completed 09/10/2017
professional and excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was able to get several jobs done on the day quickly and professionally. He gave clear explanation as to what needed doing and completed the work at a reasonable and fair rate, He offered advice on other issues and I will be happy to use him again in the future.
donwomble Posted on 05/02/2017 , work completed 05/02/2017
Do not use for rewiring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used John for a rewiring job and would not recommend him. At first he seemed professional and pleasant but as the job progressed we had numerous issues with him. After he finished the job, electricity to our garage went off this was 3 months ago and he has yet to come and look at it. Prior to this there was nothing wrong with the garage. He couldn't certify the work himself and got someone else to do it which he had failed to tell us at the start. One of the lights in the bathroom was over the bath not compliant, yet it was certified by John' friend/subcontractor. He tried to charge us for outside lights even though we agreed an all inclusive price at the outset. He finished the work late, left our floor boards broken and loose causing me to have an accident in my own house as I stepped onto a floor board which was left fully unsecured. He left rubbish underneath floor boards and all around the back and front garden literally scattered around not even in bin bags. He did not make good old socket holes and did not even remove metal frames from walls etc. until we asked him to. When we raised some of these issues with him he was rude, slammed our front door and left. However he did subsequently come back with his friend to certify the work as we still owed him money but overall he left lots of issues behind, made the job very stressful for us and left us with no electricity in our garage. He may be ok for small jobs but definitely not competent for rewiring jobs.
Pinar Posted on 23/12/2016 , work completed 23/12/2016
The trader replied (on 27/12/2016)
Ok if you want to post negative comments please get your facts correct as I value my customers positive feedback as 29 other reviewers can't be wrong 1- The Garage was not included in your budget as £2750 for a full rewire inc all Labour & Materials is a fantastic price - I agreed to put the existing cable from garage into the new RCD fusebox - I do not accept any responsibility if it trips the RCD as I did not do any Electrical work in the garage - Although when I spoke to you on the phone because the RCD was tripping you accused me of not rewiring the ground floor sockets because they were both on the same RCD side of the fusebox - I talked you through what to do to restore power to the ground floor sockets by leaving the garage MCB Off which restored power - I then told you as a gesture that I would come & have a look at the garage - I came & met your mother as you could not be bothered to meet me - I unlocked the garage & what I saw was a garage full of your husbands bicycles with no chance of getting to any part of the Electrical boxes to test what was faulty I said to your Mother to tell u to clear a space & I would come back to sort out the fault - to this day you have not contacted me - 2- As regards Certifying the Electrical Work my Testing Meter was being calibrated so my colleague did the testing just so the job could be notified to the council to get the Necessary paperwork- all above board & correct 3-Bathroom light 1 was compliant the other 1 they said leave
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John responded to our email very quickly to arrange a date and time later in the week. We needed to find (1) why a circuit breaker was tripping and (2) to re-connect the extension phone. On the day agreed John sent us several texts to say he was delayed with the previous job. Once with us he found the problems quickly and put them right. John has a pleasant, professional manner.
Amethyst Posted on 23/09/2016 , work completed 23/09/2016
First class electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kept in touch by text when running late. Quickly located faults and repaired, very professional and pleasant to deal with.
Jerry, Surrey Posted on 22/09/2016 , work completed 22/09/2016
Terrific job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Couldn't recommend enough! John did several jobs professionally and superbly well. Courteous and prompt. Brilliant!
Mo, London Posted on 25/08/2016 , work completed 25/08/2016
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr. Smith a pleasure to do business with. Clear explanation of work required was given and time was spent ensuring it was completed well. Would use again.
William, London Posted on 17/06/2016 , work completed 17/06/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up on time and day arranged. Polite and professional. Knew what problem was immediately from my vague description on phone so came prepared with part needed to fix my immersion heater. Very pleased with job done and have no hesitation in using him again and recommending his work.
Veronica, Surrey Posted on 16/03/2016 , work completed 16/03/2016
Very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was very helpful with advice on various things and made me feel confident in his work. Will definitely be using him again.
Sarah, Surrey Posted on 16/02/2016 , work completed 16/02/2016