We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

John Smith Electrician

Profile thumb capture

4.7

42 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

I am a sole trader that has been servicing site Builders, Landlords, Home Owners and more, for over 35 years. I cover every aspect of electrical tasks and can service a 15 miles radius from my company address. No job is too big or too small John Smith can do it all. I am always happy to help and advise where necessary.

I can offer safety and high customer service to all my customers. This is my main priority all the time being professional, reliable and trustworthy. Although I am a man I take pride in tidying up during and after my working day. No fuss, No issues always just a great service you will receive from me John Smith Electrician. Also you can check out what my previous customers thought of my work as they have left reviews at “Which.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Emergency lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
    • Security
    • Home automation
  • More Services

    • pat testing

Customer reviews

4.7
42 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.7
Value
4.5
Sort by
Very helpful and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Mr Smith very helpful and friendly. He obviously was very experienced in his trade.
Benita, Surrey Posted on 07/03/2020 , work completed 07/03/2020
Very Competent and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John came at the time promised, and sorted out three minor problems that were beyond me. The charge for his stay was extremely reasonable, and I would certainly call on his services again
Customer in Surrey Posted on 23/10/2019 , work completed 22/10/2019
Arrived on time and very competent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John diagnosed and repaired two down-lighters in our bathroom in our bathroom very quickly. He also sorted out our extractor fan, which hasn't working efficiently. All done with great confidence and no bother to us.
Linsey, Surrey Posted on 18/04/2019 , work completed 18/04/2019
Excellent service - prompt too.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I checked various electricians on your Trusted Trader website, and John Smith was nearby and quoted a reasonable price. He was punctual, cheerful, and completed the job well.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/04/2019 , work completed 15/04/2019
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader was extremely helpful, he was very understanding to my issues with old storage heating. He spent time trying to help me get the right heaters and get them installed. He really cares about his customers. Thank you for your help
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/02/2019 , work completed 28/02/2019
Do not use Mr Smith for circuit testing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He cannot do it himself but uses a subcontractor. I employed him to replace a damaged meter lead and then test and provide a certificate. He said OK and arranged to come on a Tuesday and then said a tester would come on Wednesday am. On the Monday he rang to say he was delayed and would come on the Wednesday pm. I queried doing the testing before replacing the meter lead but he said it would be OK. It was not, the test failed and an unsatisfactory certificate was issued. Mr Smith then replaced the meter lead and did some other minor work, and consulted his tester but he would not update the certificate. Apparently he did not trust Mr Smith and required a retest, this was not possible as a tenant had moved in. I asked Mr Smith to issue the certificate himself but he has not done so. I paid £400 for not getting the certificate I had employed him for.
JT Posted on 11/11/2018 , work completed 11/11/2018
Professional, tidy, prompt.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good, will use him again & recommend to others.
Jenny, London Posted on 02/06/2018 , work completed 02/06/2018
Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My cooker stopped working in December and I contacted John Smith. He came the same day and after we spoke about it I decided to get a new one. He changed the position of my sockets to meet new regulations and connected my new cooker. The work was carried out promptly and well. He came when he said he would and he was pleasant to deal with. I am very glad I found him to carry out the work I wanted done quickly before Christmas.
Vincent Posted on 17/12/2017 , work completed 17/12/2017
A professional electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found John Smith Electrician in Which? Trusted Trader The Little Red Book. Contacted John Smith, he was able to give me a quote and he fitted me in as soon as he could. He was very pleasant, professional and did the job very well. I will be using him again and recommending him to others.
Bridget, London Posted on 14/11/2017 , work completed 14/11/2017
Professional and pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was quickly able to deal with issues I was having with R80 bulbs in ceiling lights and advised what LED lights to buy to replace them. He put new ones in for me as two had blown. Also fixed string in bathroom light by replacing it. His charge is reasonable and he is a very pleasant person to deal with.
Karen, Surrey Posted on 31/10/2017 , work completed 31/10/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & quick, good.
William, London Posted on 19/10/2017 , work completed 19/10/2017
Replaced electrical wiring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Smith carried out removal of old switch boxes and replacing out of spec cables around the fuse boxes. He was thorough and efficient and a good person to do the work.
Roger, Surrey Posted on 09/10/2017 , work completed 09/10/2017
professional and excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was able to get several jobs done on the day quickly and professionally. He gave clear explanation as to what needed doing and completed the work at a reasonable and fair rate, He offered advice on other issues and I will be happy to use him again in the future.
donwomble Posted on 05/02/2017 , work completed 05/02/2017
Do not use for rewiring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used John for a rewiring job and would not recommend him. At first he seemed professional and pleasant but as the job progressed we had numerous issues with him. After he finished the job, electricity to our garage went off this was 3 months ago and he has yet to come and look at it. Prior to this there was nothing wrong with the garage. He couldn't certify the work himself and got someone else to do it which he had failed to tell us at the start. One of the lights in the bathroom was over the bath not compliant, yet it was certified by John' friend/subcontractor. He tried to charge us for outside lights even though we agreed an all inclusive price at the outset. He finished the work late, left our floor boards broken and loose causing me to have an accident in my own house as I stepped onto a floor board which was left fully unsecured. He left rubbish underneath floor boards and all around the back and front garden literally scattered around not even in bin bags. He did not make good old socket holes and did not even remove metal frames from walls etc. until we asked him to. When we raised some of these issues with him he was rude, slammed our front door and left. However he did subsequently come back with his friend to certify the work as we still owed him money but overall he left lots of issues behind, made the job very stressful for us and left us with no electricity in our garage. He may be ok for small jobs but definitely not competent for rewiring jobs.
Pinar Posted on 23/12/2016 , work completed 23/12/2016
The trader replied (on 27/12/2016)
Ok if you want to post negative comments please get your facts correct as I value my customers positive feedback as 29 other reviewers can't be wrong 1- The Garage was not included in your budget as £2750 for a full rewire inc all Labour & Materials is a fantastic price - I agreed to put the existing cable from garage into the new RCD fusebox - I do not accept any responsibility if it trips the RCD as I did not do any Electrical work in the garage - Although when I spoke to you on the phone because the RCD was tripping you accused me of not rewiring the ground floor sockets because they were both on the same RCD side of the fusebox - I talked you through what to do to restore power to the ground floor sockets by leaving the garage MCB Off which restored power - I then told you as a gesture that I would come & have a look at the garage - I came & met your mother as you could not be bothered to meet me - I unlocked the garage & what I saw was a garage full of your husbands bicycles with no chance of getting to any part of the Electrical boxes to test what was faulty I said to your Mother to tell u to clear a space & I would come back to sort out the fault - to this day you have not contacted me - 2- As regards Certifying the Electrical Work my Testing Meter was being calibrated so my colleague did the testing just so the job could be notified to the council to get the Necessary paperwork- all above board & correct 3-Bathroom light 1 was compliant the other 1 they said leave
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John responded to our email very quickly to arrange a date and time later in the week. We needed to find (1) why a circuit breaker was tripping and (2) to re-connect the extension phone. On the day agreed John sent us several texts to say he was delayed with the previous job. Once with us he found the problems quickly and put them right. John has a pleasant, professional manner.
Amethyst Posted on 23/09/2016 , work completed 23/09/2016
First class electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kept in touch by text when running late. Quickly located faults and repaired, very professional and pleasant to deal with.
Jerry, Surrey Posted on 22/09/2016 , work completed 22/09/2016
Terrific job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Couldn't recommend enough! John did several jobs professionally and superbly well. Courteous and prompt. Brilliant!
Mo, London Posted on 25/08/2016 , work completed 25/08/2016
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr. Smith a pleasure to do business with. Clear explanation of work required was given and time was spent ensuring it was completed well. Would use again.
William, London Posted on 17/06/2016 , work completed 17/06/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up on time and day arranged. Polite and professional. Knew what problem was immediately from my vague description on phone so came prepared with part needed to fix my immersion heater. Very pleased with job done and have no hesitation in using him again and recommending his work.
Veronica, Surrey Posted on 16/03/2016 , work completed 16/03/2016
Very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was very helpful with advice on various things and made me feel confident in his work. Will definitely be using him again.
Sarah, Surrey Posted on 16/02/2016 , work completed 16/02/2016
Very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Smith was very professional. He offered great service and good advice on the electrics in my house. Highly recommended.
shunt12 Posted on 12/02/2016 , work completed 12/02/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He did an excellent job. Was very pleasant, was reliable. I was impressed with his professionalism
Terry, London Posted on 12/11/2015 , work completed 12/11/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Smith was able to come at quick notice and 'added value' by suggesting a better alternative than I had planned. He is now our electrician. Trustworthy man as well.
George, London Posted on 30/09/2015 , work completed 30/09/2015
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial consultation to the completion of the work, John was totally professional, organised, neat, tidy & friendly. I will be recommending him
Ann, Surrey Posted on 12/05/2015 , work completed 12/05/2015
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very skilled, perfectionist, reasonably priced
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/04/2015 , work completed 01/04/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service
Alison, Surrey Posted on 31/03/2015 , work completed 31/03/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Smith was most courteous and helpful and nothing was too much for him. I am delighted to have found someone so efficient and will certainly recommend him to friends and neighbours.
Marian, London Posted on 08/01/2015 , work completed 08/01/2015
Excellent electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job sorting out badly wired bathroom. Came promptly after phone call.
Norman, Surrey Posted on 16/12/2014 , work completed 16/12/2014
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, got on with the job quickly. Restored light in kitchen and helped me label new fuse box. Gave advice on fuses.
Stephen, London Posted on 15/12/2014 , work completed 15/12/2014
A port in a storm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was great. We were let down by our current electrician and John was able to be here the same day and fit our oven and hob - a relatively small job but time critical. Appreciate Which? local for giving us confidence to call him.
Amita, London Posted on 20/11/2014 , work completed 20/11/2014
Knowledgeable and capable electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very capable at solving and dealing with electrical problems.
Irene, London Posted on 17/11/2014 , work completed 17/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the service we received. John provided a prompt quote, was able to start the work quickly and the job was excellent. Would highly recommend.
ChrisGoldsmith Posted on 01/10/2014 , work completed 01/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used to check check compliance with BS7671 on a property I was buying. Would recommend.
bersama Posted on 24/09/2014 , work completed 24/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Smith kindly came quickly for an urgent repair to my old fuse box when I told him I have an invalid person to look after. He very kindly explained what the problem was and what alternatives were available to solve the problems and their costs. He then did the necessary repairs, tested the equipment and made sure everything was working perfectly before leaving. I would not hesitate to call him again if I need help.
Qurashi Posted on 21/09/2014 , work completed 21/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked John to do a number of electrical jobs around our house - fitting an outdoor porch light with outside sensor and new internal tracked override switch, new tracked hallway double socket, new dining table light, removal of pitched loft bedroom wall lights / cord pull and fitting two new ceiling lights with bedside / loft entrance switches, new understairs double socket and a few other bits - some of which were quite tricky. John was affable and gave us the confidence that he knew what he was doing at all times - particularly as he was flexible when the scope of work changed. Very professional and trustworthy. Came back to sort out a snag, replacing a defective part (not John's fault) without issue / delay and all working fine now. Would highly recommend John without hesitation.
pm0 Posted on 13/09/2014 , work completed 13/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good. We had an emergency with our RCD box. Mr Smith arrived at exactly the time he had given us. He was very helpful and efficient in assessing and rectifying the fault. And his charge was reasonable.
Michael Freter Posted on 01/08/2014 , work completed 01/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John fitted new bedside lights and an outside light for me. He was very helpful in advising me my options regarding lights as well as sourcing them for me. He also explained my options when some unearthed wiring was discovered, rectifying the problem in a timely manner. Friendly and helpful throughout.
BlueBoy123 Posted on 15/06/2014 , work completed 15/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted John as I needed to have my electrics checked prior to moving. He came the next day and did a thorough job, putting right a couple of things that weren't up to standard. He was friendly and reasonably priced. I would certainly recommend him.
kora Posted on 10/06/2014 , work completed 10/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John fitted a new electric cooker and hob for us, replaced some light switches with dimmers, and replaced a ceiling spotlight. He was very quick to respond, pleasant to work with and did not try to convince us to have anything we didn't need. He also came by promptly to check on the dimmer when asked. Highly recommended.
Refusenik2000 Posted on 03/04/2014 , work completed 03/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was great. Came over on the same day and fixed the faulty fuse box. Would highly recommend.
sunnysyd Posted on 22/03/2014 , work completed 22/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John came round within an hour of me calling to fix a faulty bathroom light switch. The pull cord/switch was replaced and everything works perfectly now - we no longer use the bathroom in darkness!
alisonc0 Posted on 08/01/2014 , work completed 08/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I made a mistake when booking John to repair a light switch with the dates. He took the initiative to drop by on his way home and made the repair. Quick, efficient, tidy and knowledgeable.
alickj Posted on 10/06/2013 , work completed 10/06/2013