We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

MAC Building Solutions Ltd

Profile thumb mak
4.9

36 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are an independent building and renovation company based in south west London, providing a wide range of services to transform properties into dream homes. Renowned for our personal approach, we're a friendly and experienced team who specialise in taking the problem away from our clients

Our projects are generally full house refurbishments including extensions & loft conversions.

We offer an end to end building service and can take you through the whole planning and design process through to fit out and completion. Likewise, we are also happy to work with your chosen architect or from existing plans you may already have.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Loft conversions
    • Building services
    • Garage conversions
  • Kitchen fitters

  • Bathroom fitters

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
36 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Rear and side extension
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely fantastic team of guys. Ben and the team have been professional at all times and the finished product is to the highest standard. I couldn't recommend them enough. Regular dialogue with our project manager has been great and they have had some really great guys on site. Thanks to all at MAC.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/08/2019 , work completed 29/08/2019
Fast, honest and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team built a new kitchen extension and walled patio and converted the old kitchen into a downstairs bathroom/utility room. The whole planning and building process was fast, well organised and trouble free - particularly appreciated since I moved out for the duration of the works. Pricing was detailed and transparent, the team worked hard, there were no delays and the project was completed efficiently according to plan and on budget. Ben and all his team were very pleasant to work with. They were courteous, helpful and willing to accommodate my ideas or to come up with suggestions themselves. Communications, including by text and email, were excellent. The work was all completed to a good professional standard. I am very pleased with the result and would definitely use the company again and recommend them to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/02/2019 , work completed 21/09/2018
Great experience and very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben was super helpful and friendly throughout the whole process. Having never done a build before and being pretty clueless, the whole team were so supportive and explained everything to us. Everyone was really friendly, efficient, honest and super hard working. We were really lucky to have such a great team and we love our new home. We finished perfectly on time and the schedule worked very well. Ben was also really good at doing ongoing quotes and payment instalment information which was great as we were sticking to a budget and we managed to do this. We are really grateful and would definitely use them again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/11/2018 , work completed 01/09/2018
Major refuishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MAC Builders have just completed a major refurbishment on our 6 bedroom home and they exceeded my expectations in a number of areas: - Excellent communications by email and phone - A realistic and friendly attitude from all the team - Some creative and informed solutions to solve problems encountered - Clear pricing and no surprises I was delighted with the result.
Hocking Posted on 30/04/2018 , work completed 30/04/2018
Great loft conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team added a two bedroom loft extension with bathroom to our house, which was completed on time and to agreed budget. We are very happy with the work. Ben and all the members of his team are very pleasant and friendly. The construction was very quick and dynamic, with initial build and plastering completed within 6 weeks which we and our neighbours were amazed at, though it did take longer to complete snagging. Ben's cost breakdown was very impressive, clear and updated whenever we added any new requirements. There were a couple of leaks during the work, but all problems were promptly sorted out. We'd really recommend Ben and his team.
Andy42 Posted on 08/04/2018 , work completed 08/04/2018
Great work, and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team added a loft extension to our house, and did some general refurbishing throughout. - We have a high standard for how we want things done, and Ben took it to a next level. He understands why one wants things in a certain way, and is very good at perfecting it. - No existing furniture or fittings was damaged or broken, even during heavy-duty work, despite the house being rather small and old. - Ben is very fast in responding to queries, and ensures concerns are addressed thoroughly. - We loved how respectful, friendly, and supportive Ben's team is towards costumers and amongst themselves. - He uses high quality material and explains how price and quality interact before buying. There is always a choice. - Our neighbours were very happy with how considerate they were during the months of work. We will go back to Ben and his team for future works, and highly recommend them.
Alexander Lerchner Posted on 27/07/2017 , work completed 27/07/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team successfully completed our extension, comprising a new kitchen, bathroom and utility room, on time and within budget. The team displayed an impressive range of skills (including general building work, brick laying, tiling, kitchen fitting, carpentry, plumbing, heating, electrical and decorating) all executed to a high standard. Every member of the team was pleasant to work with. We're delighted with the result and would be very happy to use Mac Building Solutions in any future projects.
ccook Posted on 23/08/2016 , work completed 23/08/2016
Rear Kitchen Extension & Loft Conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team undertook a rear kitchen extension, L-shaped loft conversion and total refurbishment of our Victorian terrace house. We are absolutely delighted with the finished result, and we now have a beautiful home to enjoy. It was a large job that finished on time, within budget and to a high standard. Ben's team were a pleasure to work with, always keeping us in the loop and willing to be flexible. I would not hesitate to recommend Ben and his team and will definitely be calling them for any work we want in the future.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/03/2016 , work completed 15/03/2016
Honest, skilled, fast, courteous and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are extremely pleased with the excellent work Ben did for us in December 2015 pulling out and replacing our kitchen. He managed and provided all the different trades including builders, electricians, plumbers and decorators. Everyone showed up on time, did a very professional, careful job and left the place tidy at the end of each day. Every person we had in the flat was pleasant and polite. Ben was also able to accommodate us when we had a change in our plans which we hadn't anticipated at the outset. We've had a lot of work done in our flat over the years by different people and we usually find having builders in our home to be a nightmare. Ben and his team were the complete opposite of our usual experience. They did a great job and finished in the agreed time. We would recommend Ben to our friends and would definitely use him again ourselves.
306379 Posted on 01/02/2016 , work completed 01/02/2016
Renovation in South West London..
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team have effectively carried out a full renovation of our Victorian maisonette, including a loft conversion. These are the nicest and most approachable builders you will meet, and will always take time to listen to what you need. Ben has a creative eye and will always suggest ideas you might not have thought of in order to get a good result and utilise your space to the best effect. It goes without saying they are easy to communicate with if you have any questions. I've also never known builders to leave such a tidy site! We were able to live in our property whilst all renovations were carried out (including a loft conversion), because they were so organised. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, whether you are doing a full renovation/repairs or just a few improvements.
VialaJ Posted on 15/12/2014 , work completed 15/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben's team painted the outside of my house, fitted new kitchen doors and new units, decorated the kitchen, and fixed various things in the bathroom. They have done a fabulous job. The decorating and kitchen fitting is to a very high standard, the team are lovely and considerate, and I have no hesitation in recommending them whole-heartedly. I am delighted.
TC01 Posted on 04/09/2014 , work completed 04/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team built a new en-suite bathroom and reconstructed certain parts of the top floor of our split level flat, including building a new wall. They did an absolutely fantastic job. Ben is very easy to deal with and always responds to queries quickly and efficiently. I would recommend him and his team very strongly.
George Bromfield Posted on 18/07/2014 , work completed 18/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben seems to take everything in his stride and his team were professional and efficient, helpful and friendly. They worked quickly but carefully and we're delighted with our new bathroom and boiler. Clear, prompt communication from quote to finished job. Flooring in the rest of the house was carefully protected and everything was left tidy at the end of the day. They made sure we had a usable bathroom over the weekend - essential with young kids! They weren't the cheapest quote (or the most expensive either) but we went with them on the strength of reviews here and were delighted that we did - worth every penny.
Kate120 Posted on 06/06/2014 , work completed 06/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Mac Building Solutions for redecoration of our hall, landing and two staircases. We had the walls re-papered and painted and all the paintwork painted. Claudio and his team were very efficient, turned up everyday and worked very hard. We are very pleased with the results. Will certainly use them again.
KathleenL Posted on 02/04/2014 , work completed 02/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team built an extension onto the back of my house, fitted a kitchen and laid a patio outside. The old kitchen was converted into; a utility room, a pantry/storage cupboard and a cloakroom. Having previously had a bad experience with a builder I was in some trepidation before work began. I need not have worried, Ben and the team turned up when he said they would and were organised and efficient in all their work. The inevitable mess was kept to a minimum, the quality of the work is great and I am delighted with the results. A big thank you to Ben for making it all so easy for me.
notneb Posted on 15/03/2014 , work completed 15/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben has been a pleasure to work with and we would highly recommend him. He took down internal partitions, fitted a new kitchen and bathroom and replaced the boiler and radiators in our flat. He is punctual and always replies to texts and emails. He is patient and cheerful. He sorts out any problems efficiently. He has high standards of workmanship and ensures his team see these through. Our flat is transformed!
edwarderic Posted on 22/02/2014 , work completed 22/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben completely refurbished my bathroom and we were very happy with the final result. Would definitely recommend.
robat Posted on 29/01/2014 , work completed 29/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending Ben and his team at Mak Building Solutions. A high quality job at a reasonable price, on time and to budget. They would be my first call when builders are required.
marythomas61 Posted on 06/08/2013 , work completed 06/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team were brilliant - efficient, friendly and clean. We had both interior and exterior work done and are really pleased with it all. Ben took the time to really talk through different options and to make sure he understood what we wanted. It wasn't the cheapest quote but you get what you pay for and we certainly got the best quality.
liztaylor Posted on 23/07/2013 , work completed 23/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben and his team installed 2 floating shelves, hung wallpaper and rendered/external decorating around a new window. As these were smallish jobs he was able to fit them quickly and the work was completed within 2 weeks of calling him! Good price (much better than others on here), nice guys (including 2 decorators) and as a woman I felt comfortable dealing with him and his team.
Nouey Posted on 10/06/2013 , work completed 10/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Selected Ben after reading 'Which Trader reviews' Bed and his team installed a kitchen in a rental property that I have. He was efficient, turned up when he said he would and was most accommodating to changes required on the job. Quality of the work was very good and he was reasonably priced. Will not hesitate to use him again on future jobs
conwells Posted on 03/03/2013 , work completed 03/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lifesavers! We had a fire in our house earlier in the year and spent 8 months with decorators sent from the insurance company who managed to do a truly appalling job. In fact they managed to make the newly painted house look worse than the soot damaged version. So after many arguments with the insurance company we were finally allowed to get our decorators in - enter Ben and Claudio. These guys are just amazing. In three weeks they sanded back every wall and ceiling and than painted and finished to the most amazing standards. Having originally refurbished the house ourselves we thought we were pretty good at decoration, particularly as we are sticklers for details. Well Claudio has shown us what true attention to detail is and now that I know how amazing a painted wall can look I wouldn't dream of trying to paint again myself. They have given us back our house - in fact better than it ever was and we just couldn't thank them enough. Ben's coming back next week to install a shower room and we already have plans for him next year. We don't recommend lightly but I really really could not praise these guys enough...
Ga84 Posted on 30/11/2012 , work completed 30/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben fitted our new kitchen and wetroom/bathroom from a totally blank canvas (no floor, missing walls etc.). This included plumbing, electrics (for 9 appliances), gas, carpentry, decorating and fitting units, fixtures and fittings. Firstly, it has to be said that we are probably the fussiest people Ben has ever or will ever work with. However, his attention to detail and total expertise have thoroughly impressed us and we have no hesitation recommending him. Since heÍs completed the work, weÍve asked him back to complete other jobs as well as we know theyÍll be done perfectly. Ben carefully considered our wishes and helped us to make informed decisions by sharing his wealth of expertise _ despite our extensive research, we discovered what we wanted was not always the best idea but he always came up with excellent solutions which have made such a great difference to not only the overall finish but also to certain fixtures and fittings. Additionally, BenÍs flexibility and speed made this so simple to manage. Ben and his team are perfectionists and are not happy with anything substandard. The smallest details of the way they worked impressed us. Usually with such a job, you could expect a snagging list once finished and minor things to fix, however, despite our fussiness, weÍve had absolutely nothing! We did consult 5 other builders who all had numerous good reviews on Which? but none of them inspired the confidence that Ben did. Ben completed all the work for a reasonable price and is worth every penny. He and his team work so hard and clean up after themselves. Finally, Ben is a pleasure to have around. He and his team are genuinely nice men who do a flawless job. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
Kammi Posted on 16/09/2012 , work completed 16/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The front of our house was in poor condition. Ben and his team replaced windows, decayed wooden struts and repaired a wobbly drainpipe. They were quick, efficient, punctual, courteous ,tidy and competent. Just what was needed- no fuss.
claireclonmore Posted on 14/09/2012 , work completed 14/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have just completed external woodwork & masonary, and internal halls, bedroom, bathrooms and front room. Not the cheapest, but good vibe from quote and proved to be correct - highly professional, incredibly thorough with preparation, beautiful finish, 3 guys on site for duration worked hard and around us when needed, including e.g. taking down/replacing pictures & curtains - highly recommended. Work lead by Claudio, overseen by Ben who was elsewhere.
hrcock Posted on 06/06/2012 , work completed 06/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed someone to repair and paint the outside of my house. After being let down twice (both times the builder agreed to do the job and then was unable to do it) it was great to find someone who responded quickly and organised the work efficiently. It was a bit more expensive than previous quotes but worth it. The work was done by Claudiu (also recommended on Which? Local, phone 07502246926) who is an excellent workman and very tidy. Ben was on another job, but negotiated, oversaw the project and kept in regular contact.
ballebone Posted on 20/04/2012 , work completed 20/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Ben & his team twice. He built a small utility room in the side return last autumn, then they came back to refit and re-decorate the downstairs lav, replace a washbasin in the spare bedroom, and re-decorat the dining room, all done brilliantly. Ben is totally reliable, very good value, gets the job done in good time, and a really nice person to have around. We would not hesitate to recommend him.
DeborahG Posted on 10/04/2012 , work completed 10/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben laid engineered wood flooring, took out a cupboard and shelves that had been badly installed by someone else, he rebuilt cupboard, made one bookcase so the shelves are adjustable, and rebuilt the other bookcase. He is hard working, cheerful, good quality and tidies up afterwards. Good value work all very neatly done.
PoohBah Posted on 02/12/2011 , work completed 02/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben Mackereth did a wonderful job of building floating shelves and a cupboard behind the kitchen door to make more storage space for me. He worked without breaks, left everything tidy and completed the job in the time promised. His charge was very reasonable for such a professional job. Would have no hesitation in recommending him.
Dallas Posted on 24/10/2011 , work completed 24/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben has done a number of jobs for us and we've been very happy with the results. This included re-doing part of a wet room that the previous builders we used hadn't done right! We'll definitely be using him for all jobs in the future - very reliable, competent and competitively priced bloke!
eztigrrrr Posted on 30/09/2011 , work completed 30/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
External painting to three storey house. This included hiring of a ladder. The work was well prepared and finished - and looks well. Care was taken: with good tidying up daily. A contract price was agreed and the job run to time. Payment on completion. Satisfied Customer
thosplus Posted on 26/09/2011 , work completed 26/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben is very nice and professional. He put in some shelves in the bathroom, and put in a new wall to split the lounge into 2 rooms. He is very efficient, was able to finish earlier than expected, and work was very good. We are very pleased. The new wall was also much better than we expected as well, very good quality material and good work. It was sound insulated, and with a four panel sliding door installed within the wall itself. Very impressed and happy with it. Will definitely recommend him for big jobs. Pricing was also very reasonable.
delphinecouderq Posted on 26/08/2011 , work completed 26/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben is a very efficient, reliable and professional builder. No job is too big or too small for him, and we would not hesitate to recommend him. In fact we have asked him to carry out further work in September.He is also a really nice chap.
ccook Posted on 20/08/2011 , work completed 20/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant, prompt and professional. Will definitely recommend to all friends and if i need any other work. reasonable prices
taji Posted on 14/07/2011 , work completed 14/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben redecorated our entire house inside and out as well as fitted a new kitchen and organized the upgrade of electrics. We found him and his team to be very reliable, fast and a pleasure to deal with. We are very happy with the standard of work completed and would highly recommend him for any carpentry work.
MrsPolly Posted on 09/07/2011 , work completed 09/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben is a builder and carpenter, he's done all our bathrooms, buildan entire dressing area with sliding doors, made cabinets and shelves all around the house, he is dedicated fast and very reliable. Fab fella! We've used him 4 times in the last 6 months while renovating
RedOne1 Posted on 27/05/2011 , work completed 27/05/2011