We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

MG Sayer Electrical and Building Services

Profile thumb img 20200722 wa0002
5.0

39 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–18:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:30
  • Thursday 08:00–18:30
  • Friday 08:00–18:30
  • Saturday 08:00–18:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Free, no obligation quotation.

Experienced tradesman, with over 25 years extensive knowledge in major and minor building repairs and
renovations.

Built a very good reputation, being tidy, polite and reliable, with clients using me time and time again.

Currently a member of NICEIC electrical contractors and Hertfordshire Trading Standards.

See more pictures of my work via Instagram at m_g_sayer_services

If you cannot reach me on my mobile, please feel free to drop me an email and I will endeavor to contact you as soon as I can.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Rewiring
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Plastering
    • Guttering repair services
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
  • Painters and decorators

    • Painting contractors
    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
  • Plastering

    • Flat ceilings
    • Plastering
    • Skimming
    • Coving
    • Screeding and dry lining
    • Venetian marble plastering
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen tiling
    • Kitchen worktops
  • More Services

    • property maintenance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
39 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
First class work - Trustworthy electrician/builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a replacement ceiling in the living room along with new spotlights and extra switches/lights in a couple of rooms. Skills required a qualified electrician and builder, Martin has both as shown from the excellent work he carried out. Really cannot fault any part of the job and even adapted to some in-flight changes I made along with extra electrical work I threw in. Prompt and good communication from initial quote to arriving each day. Very reasonable pricing for the skill and quality you get. His knowledge gave me confidence and he always dealt with the workload in a professional manner, providing feedback and suggestions along the way. He was exceptional in keeping things as clean and tidy as possible. Trustworthy, as I had to go to work and leave him alone most of the time. Finally, his effort in providing a good customer experience seemed to be the priority and showed for example, when I had a lot of rubbish to get rid of so he arranged a large skip and even moved most of it while I was working. No doubts in recommending Martin and will certainly be using his skills in the future, presuming he doesn't get too busy!
David in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/02/2021 , work completed 04/02/2021
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Martin to build a TV wall in the kitchen and some decorating. We found Martin to be very professional and friendly. Nothing was to much for him. His work was finished to a very high standard and left the house clean and tidy when he had finished. I would recommend Martin highly.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 31/01/2021 , work completed 29/01/2021
Quick and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had tried to change a light fitting myself and found there was no earth wire. I wasn’t sure if it was just that light that needed fitting or if the whole house would need rewiring. After finding Martin on this website, I emailed him on Saturday 16th January. He replied within 20 minutes and offered to come over the next day to look at the work I needed quoting for. Martin was very thorough and reassured me that other fittings were fine. I appreciated his honesty and it was nice to find someone who wasn’t trying to quote for more work than was needed. He arranged to come back less than a week later on Friday 22nd and carried out the work. He was very neat and tidy and even fitted my new light fitting as well while he was there - more than what I’d asked for in the quote. I was really pleased with his responsiveness, friendliness and trustworthiness. There was a call out charge for him to give a quote on the first visit, which it would have been nice to have had flagged in advance, but it was my fault for not asking. Regardless, I was pleased with the overall price, which was still competitive, and would happily use him again for further work.
Customer in Essex Posted on 25/01/2021 , work completed 22/01/2021
A second great job completed.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin has just completed a job for us plastering our bedroom as well as doing some electrical work in the room. We are really happy with the finished room and the quality of his work. He communicated well with us about when he would be able to do the job, kept to his estimate, although we changed the job a little and kept us informed on the job about what was going on. He is punctual, helpful, hard-working and friendly as well as tidying up well after himself each day! We would thoroughly recommend him to anyone and would certainly use him again.
Customer in Essex Posted on 24/10/2020 , work completed 22/10/2020
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This job was a small roof repair, although we have also used Martin Sayer for larger jobs in the past. He always responds promptly to enquiries. He is very thorough and careful, and the quality of the work—both this job and others—is consistently high. Martin is honest, reasonable and is very pleasant to deal with. In our experience his charges are always fair; in fact, on this job his quote was the lowest we received. He observed COVID restrictions appropriately. We can recommend Martin without any reservation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 17/10/2020
Top Man
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Martin when I was looking to update an existing storage heater. First thing I noticed is that he always answered my call no matter what he was doing... how cool is that. I told Martin what I was looking for and he sourced the required heater for me at a price far cheaper than I had been able to find for myself. Martin arrived at the time he said he would, wearing a mask which he kept on at all times in the house. He worked steadily and in a tidy fashion taking care to protect the walls and flooring and although the job took longer than anticipated charged what he had quoted. Martin is a great listener as well as communicator and I have no hesitation in recommending such a well mannered professional. Happy Customer, Hertfordshire.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/10/2020 , work completed 05/10/2020
Wonderful patio.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin very kindly returned to do more work for us, this time out in the garden. Rotten decking was taken up, the site and the old vegetable garden levelled, prior to a new patio being laid. Raised flower beds were created using reclaimed railway sleepers. Lights were installed, and Martin gave us valuable advice on what lighting to choose. Martin created a rain water drainage channel, allowing run off water to drain away, rather than collect on the patio. Once again Martin's work was meticulous, and he was, as always, diligent in time keeping and mindful of our needs. Access for our pets was done first, allowing minimal disruption for them. I can thoroughly recommend Martin as a builder, decorator, and electrician, and perhaps more importantly, as someone who really cares about the job in hand, and the family for whom he is working.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 17/07/2020
Bathroom renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Unlike most of Martin's customers I had never used his services before. I live in a period property which needed repair of the damaged bathroom floor and replacement of the old bath, lavatory, bidet and basin. I was happy to design the bathroom myslelf and knew that I would have to had to wait several months for Martin to start the work because he is popular. I was quite happy to do because he struck me as friendly and helpful on our first meeting. Once Martin got cracking, of necessity, he rerouted all the plumbing, reinforced the floor joists and floor. He also built a box so that the plumbing and cistern could be concealed giving the bathroom a more modern feel. He fitted new lights a water pump and double concealed shaving sockets in a cabinet so that we can charge our brushes discretely and a hair dryer. I cannot empasise enough what a relief it was to have someone doing the work who was as keen for me to have a perfect bathroom as I was. Although Martin seems young he has been "working" in the trade since he was 10yrs old so he has gained a lot of valuable experience, knows reliable colleagues and is able to give good advice. By the time my bathroom was completed it had become the sturdiest room in the house.
Customer in Essex Posted on 07/04/2020 , work completed 27/03/2020
Beautiful work again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin has previously decorated a kitchen for us (review 23/06/17) & did electrical work in our new house a year ago (review 16/10/18). We had to await availability for him to decorate our hall, stairs, landing & cloakroom, but I would not want anyone else. Martin's work is meticulous &, after each day's work, he takes up his floor covers & vacuums so that we can live in the house overnight almost as normal. We know we can leave him in the house & that he will work hard & to a high standard.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/10/2019 , work completed 25/10/2019
Simply the best!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
To know that the job will be done to a fantastic standard, that my house will be kept immaculate throughout and that the job will be on time and on budget AND that Martin is totally trustworthy is worth its weight in gold. Martin's most recent job for me was restoring and repairing all my external woodwork and redecorating my bedroom - but over years he has done the electrics and everything I have needed in terms of building and decorating (which is quite a lot). I have no hesitation in recommending him for your work. And the other plus - is that everything is quoted, itemised and billed - so you can see exactly what the costs of each thing is.
Baroness Featherstone Posted on 18/10/2019 , work completed 07/10/2019