We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

MG Sayer Electrical and Building Services

Profile thumb mgsayer business cards

5.0

31 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:30
  • Monday 08:00–18:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:30
  • Thursday 08:00–18:30
  • Friday 08:00–18:30
  • Saturday 08:00–18:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Free, no obligation quotation.

Experienced tradesman, with over 25 years extensive knowledge in major and minor building repairs and
renovations.

Built a very good reputation, being tidy, polite and reliable, with clients using me time and time again.

Currently a member of NICEIC electrical contractors and Hertfordshire Trading Standards.

See more pictures of my work via Instagram at m_g_sayer_services

If you cannot reach me on my mobile, please feel free to drop me an email and I will endeavor to contact you as soon as I can.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Rewiring
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Plastering
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Wet rooms
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
  • Painters and decorators

    • Painting contractors
    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
  • Plastering

    • Flat ceilings
    • Plastering
    • Skimming
    • Rendering
    • Lime plastering
    • Pebble dashing
    • Coving
    • Screeding and dry lining
    • Venetian marble plastering
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • More Services

    • property maintenance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
31 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Talented Kitchen Fitter.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have an old house which needed a new wooden kitchen following remedial damp treatment which was carried out before Martin arrived. I asked Martin to fit a kitchen designed and made to the measurements that I had sent to a kitchen manufacturer. When it arrived there were problems with the kitchen units that had been delivered. Some were the wrong size, some were not built square and some had shelf supports that were not level. Martin did a truly excellent job. He had to alter some of the cupboards and made brackets to hold others up on the sloping walls. His work was neat and he never left a mess. Obviously there were some extra cost because of the problems, but they were not excessive. I cannot recommend Martin highly enough for his persistence, patience and professionalism. I just cannot believe that any one else would have left me with such a lovely kitchen.
Customer in Essex Posted on 03/03/2021 , work completed 01/09/2020
Absolutely perfect work, reliable, trustworthy and clean and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin came out to us in October to quote for some electrical work and to fit a kitchen and floor. His communication was excellent, he was courteous and very experienced. We found Martin to be a genuine professional, reliable and hard-working guy. We couldn't be happier with the standard of work- his finish is absolute perfection- it's as if he is working on his own house! Our house is an old house with very uneven walls etc, however he did an amazing job. Our floor and kitchen have been fitted so professionally and with real passion about the aesthetics- he genuinely cares about what he is doing. His electrical work, is also second to none. Its so good to have working outside lights again! We changed the scope of our works slightly, whilst he was with us and nothing flustered him. We can 100% recommend Martin, and we will definitely use him again in the future- it's so nice to find someone, who can do everything Martin can do and who takes such care in their work. Thank you Martin, we are so happy with your work.
Frances in Hertfordshire Posted on 08/02/2021 , work completed 21/12/2020
First class work - Trustworthy electrician/builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a replacement ceiling in the living room along with new spotlights and extra switches/lights in a couple of rooms. Skills required a qualified electrician and builder, Martin has both as shown from the excellent work he carried out. Really cannot fault any part of the job and even adapted to some in-flight changes I made along with extra electrical work I threw in. Prompt and good communication from initial quote to arriving each day. Very reasonable pricing for the skill and quality you get. His knowledge gave me confidence and he always dealt with the workload in a professional manner, providing feedback and suggestions along the way. He was exceptional in keeping things as clean and tidy as possible. Trustworthy, as I had to go to work and leave him alone most of the time. Finally, his effort in providing a good customer experience seemed to be the priority and showed for example, when I had a lot of rubbish to get rid of so he arranged a large skip and even moved most of it while I was working. No doubts in recommending Martin and will certainly be using his skills in the future, presuming he doesn't get too busy!
David in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/02/2021 , work completed 04/02/2021
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Martin to build a TV wall in the kitchen and some decorating. We found Martin to be very professional and friendly. Nothing was to much for him. His work was finished to a very high standard and left the house clean and tidy when he had finished. I would recommend Martin highly.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 31/01/2021 , work completed 29/01/2021
Quick and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had tried to change a light fitting myself and found there was no earth wire. I wasn’t sure if it was just that light that needed fitting or if the whole house would need rewiring. After finding Martin on this website, I emailed him on Saturday 16th January. He replied within 20 minutes and offered to come over the next day to look at the work I needed quoting for. Martin was very thorough and reassured me that other fittings were fine. I appreciated his honesty and it was nice to find someone who wasn’t trying to quote for more work than was needed. He arranged to come back less than a week later on Friday 22nd and carried out the work. He was very neat and tidy and even fitted my new light fitting as well while he was there - more than what I’d asked for in the quote. I was really pleased with his responsiveness, friendliness and trustworthiness. There was a call out charge for him to give a quote on the first visit, which it would have been nice to have had flagged in advance, but it was my fault for not asking. Regardless, I was pleased with the overall price, which was still competitive, and would happily use him again for further work.
Customer in Essex Posted on 25/01/2021 , work completed 22/01/2021
A second great job completed.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin has just completed a job for us plastering our bedroom as well as doing some electrical work in the room. We are really happy with the finished room and the quality of his work. He communicated well with us about when he would be able to do the job, kept to his estimate, although we changed the job a little and kept us informed on the job about what was going on. He is punctual, helpful, hard-working and friendly as well as tidying up well after himself each day! We would thoroughly recommend him to anyone and would certainly use him again.
Customer in Essex Posted on 24/10/2020 , work completed 22/10/2020
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This job was a small roof repair, although we have also used Martin Sayer for larger jobs in the past. He always responds promptly to enquiries. He is very thorough and careful, and the quality of the work—both this job and others—is consistently high. Martin is honest, reasonable and is very pleasant to deal with. In our experience his charges are always fair; in fact, on this job his quote was the lowest we received. He observed COVID restrictions appropriately. We can recommend Martin without any reservation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 17/10/2020
Top Man
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Martin when I was looking to update an existing storage heater. First thing I noticed is that he always answered my call no matter what he was doing... how cool is that. I told Martin what I was looking for and he sourced the required heater for me at a price far cheaper than I had been able to find for myself. Martin arrived at the time he said he would, wearing a mask which he kept on at all times in the house. He worked steadily and in a tidy fashion taking care to protect the walls and flooring and although the job took longer than anticipated charged what he had quoted. Martin is a great listener as well as communicator and I have no hesitation in recommending such a well mannered professional. Happy Customer, Hertfordshire.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/10/2020 , work completed 05/10/2020
Wonderful patio.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin very kindly returned to do more work for us, this time out in the garden. Rotten decking was taken up, the site and the old vegetable garden levelled, prior to a new patio being laid. Raised flower beds were created using reclaimed railway sleepers. Lights were installed, and Martin gave us valuable advice on what lighting to choose. Martin created a rain water drainage channel, allowing run off water to drain away, rather than collect on the patio. Once again Martin's work was meticulous, and he was, as always, diligent in time keeping and mindful of our needs. Access for our pets was done first, allowing minimal disruption for them. I can thoroughly recommend Martin as a builder, decorator, and electrician, and perhaps more importantly, as someone who really cares about the job in hand, and the family for whom he is working.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 17/07/2020
Bathroom renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Unlike most of Martin's customers I had never used his services before. I live in a period property which needed repair of the damaged bathroom floor and replacement of the old bath, lavatory, bidet and basin. I was happy to design the bathroom myslelf and knew that I would have to had to wait several months for Martin to start the work because he is popular. I was quite happy to do because he struck me as friendly and helpful on our first meeting. Once Martin got cracking, of necessity, he rerouted all the plumbing, reinforced the floor joists and floor. He also built a box so that the plumbing and cistern could be concealed giving the bathroom a more modern feel. He fitted new lights a water pump and double concealed shaving sockets in a cabinet so that we can charge our brushes discretely and a hair dryer. I cannot empasise enough what a relief it was to have someone doing the work who was as keen for me to have a perfect bathroom as I was. Although Martin seems young he has been "working" in the trade since he was 10yrs old so he has gained a lot of valuable experience, knows reliable colleagues and is able to give good advice. By the time my bathroom was completed it had become the sturdiest room in the house.
Customer in Essex Posted on 07/04/2020 , work completed 27/03/2020
Beautiful work again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin has previously decorated a kitchen for us (review 23/06/17) & did electrical work in our new house a year ago (review 16/10/18). We had to await availability for him to decorate our hall, stairs, landing & cloakroom, but I would not want anyone else. Martin's work is meticulous &, after each day's work, he takes up his floor covers & vacuums so that we can live in the house overnight almost as normal. We know we can leave him in the house & that he will work hard & to a high standard.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/10/2019 , work completed 25/10/2019
Simply the best!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
To know that the job will be done to a fantastic standard, that my house will be kept immaculate throughout and that the job will be on time and on budget AND that Martin is totally trustworthy is worth its weight in gold. Martin's most recent job for me was restoring and repairing all my external woodwork and redecorating my bedroom - but over years he has done the electrics and everything I have needed in terms of building and decorating (which is quite a lot). I have no hesitation in recommending him for your work. And the other plus - is that everything is quoted, itemised and billed - so you can see exactly what the costs of each thing is.
Baroness Featherstone Posted on 18/10/2019 , work completed 07/10/2019
Great path
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin returned to build a ramp to the front door and garden path, having been here to refurbish the whole house. Martin's work, as ever, was spot on, and the ramp was built swiftly, absolutely bang on budget. It has meant that I can now get in and out whenever I choose, a life changer. I would never use another builder, and would much rather wait for Martin, than employ anyone else. Whatever the wait, Martin is worth it! When Martin is with you he is with you, no nipping off to other jobs in between.
Jean, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/08/2019 , work completed 16/08/2019
Another fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin has just completed another job for us, decorating our bedroom, landing, stairs and lounge, installing new flooring and replacing all our lights, plus building us a new porch canopy. This is the second time we've used Martin and we would never use another builder other than him, if we needed work done in the future. He does a fantastic job to an incredibly high standard. He always arrives on time, is friendly, polite and always tidies up before leaving for the day. And when we have extras to add to the job he's always accommodating. Martin is a pleasure to have in the house and his standard of work is second to none. Because he's such a good builder and in demand you may have to wait a short while before he can fit you in, but he's definitely worth the wait. I can't recommend him highly enough.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 09/07/2019 , work completed 04/07/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin has been working at my house for the last eight months. The work he did was varied, carrying out a total refurbishment of eight rooms and a hall stairs and landing. All work was done to the highest possible standards, and done in a cheerful manner. Martin was prompt in his time keeping, arriving when he said he would, and always worked a full day. We always knew in advance what work Martin was going to do, either for the week or the day. All work was done to the agreed budget, and when I asked for changes to be made to a fireplace we had a quick discussion about it. Martin did not mind making the changes in the least, even though it probably delayed him by a week or so. I cannot recommend Martin enough, he is both a very kind and considerate person, and a very good craftsman with a wide range of skills. Well worth waiting for, and you can rest assured Martin will carry out your project paying great attention to detail.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 27/05/2019 , work completed 24/05/2019
Excellent work all done as per schedule
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin installed a new consumer unit and extra socket in the house plus a ring-main and multiple sockets in the garage. He thoroughly tested our systems before beginning the work, explained problems clearly and provided solutions. He was friendly and professional and all the work was carried out to a high standard. We are confident we now have a safe electrical installation all properly certificated. We have no hesitation in recommending him.
Knight Posted on 16/10/2018 , work completed 16/10/2018
Plastering & wood flooring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin is a professional, very trustworthy and diligent in his work. Extremely tidy and has done an excellent job. Thank you.
Deborah, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/09/2018 , work completed 17/09/2018
Brilliant Job - Best Builder Around
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin did a fantastic job decorating our kitchen and re-fitting our cloakroom. He was always on time, polite, friendly, helpful and kept a clean environment, tidying up after every day's work. We asked for a few extra jobs to be done and he was really accommodating. His standard of work is fantastic. I have already recommended him to a friend, and we wouldn't let him leave without quoting for another job we want doing.
Michelle Posted on 13/08/2018 , work completed 13/08/2018
Absolute professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin was an absolute professional in all aspects of his work and I could not recommend him highly enough.
Neil, Hertfordshire Posted on 13/08/2018 , work completed 13/08/2018
Really brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MG Sayer is professional, competent, polite, neat and delight to have in the house. And that's not something you hear said of builders/decorators/electricians very often. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/12/2017 , work completed 10/12/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin Sayer has once again done an excellent job for us, installing a new bathroom and refurbishing the top floor of our house. More than just hard working and on schedule, great attention to detail, responsive to our needs and we have no hesitation in recommending. Thank you so much Martin. Thanks again.
Hugh, London Posted on 10/09/2017 , work completed 10/09/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional.
Richard, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/08/2017 , work completed 12/08/2017
Excellent in all respects
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin came when he said he would, did what he said he would and charged what he said he would. His work (redecorating our kitchen) was to a very high standard. It included stripping anaglypta paper than had been painted many times, plastering a wall and ceiling, making good and repainting wood-work and walls. All fitments on walls and ceilings were removed and replaced. Martin made sure that kitchen units and floor were protected throughout. At the end of each day this protection was removed and the kitchen was cleaned so that we could use it. We are very pleased with the result and have no hesitation in recommending him.
Knight Posted on 23/06/2017 , work completed 23/06/2017
Exemplary
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I could not be more satisfied with the work Martin has done to renovate my flat. The job lasted three months, and throughout this time, Martin was always reliable, punctual, honest, courteous, communicated well and listened to (and delivered) what I wanted. Most importantly - the finished job is to an incredibly high standard and I am very happy with the work he has done. To give you an idea of the job: stripped out the main kitchen, living and dining area, fitted new kitchen, laid sound-proof flooring throughout, built new cupboards and shelves, installed new lights and consumer unit, insulated and boarded loft, made good/decorated throughout, as well as a host of other jobs. Finding good, honest builders who can communicate well is hard, but I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Martin for any job - big or small.
JennaF Posted on 16/02/2017 , work completed 16/02/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, kept to quote, excellent work.
Richard, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/07/2016 , work completed 07/07/2016
Completely trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have known Martin since he started out as an apprentice to his dad, whose company we have employed - and continue to do so - since 1985. He is a skilled craftsman in many areas of the building trade and always eager for improvement.
Daniel, London Posted on 20/05/2016 , work completed 20/05/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were always on time, presentable, keen to get straight to work. Organized and methodical, the work was completed to a highly professional standard with no problems. Very pleased with how the whole project was accomplished.
Janis, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/03/2016 , work completed 23/03/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
martin is professional, hard working and the end result is always good & on time.
Anthony, London Posted on 11/03/2016 , work completed 11/03/2016
Electrical work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic job, clean, tidy, easy to work with. Highly recommended.
Dave, Bedfordshire Posted on 10/03/2015 , work completed 10/03/2015
Absolutely great.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Martin totally rebuilt our bathroom & did it wonderfully. He is an expert, efficient at doing everything in the right order. He is amazingly tidy & clean, important if the work is in a small place. His attention to detail is that of a perfectionist who takes a real pride in his work & rightly so. I was really impressed.
Erif, London Posted on 01/03/2015 , work completed 01/03/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After providing a very comprehensive quote, he arrived promptly. He did a very efficient & tidy job installing insulation in our garage ceiling, took away all waste and left the space in a very tidy condition. Highly recommended.
Ian, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/02/2015 , work completed 19/02/2015