We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Peterborough Boiler Services Ltd

Profile thumb copy of pbs logo
4.8

101 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Peterborough Boiler Services Ltd (Est. 1982) is a privately owned, family business. 2021 marks our 39th year of trading. Throughout this time we have worked hard to establish and maintain our enviable reputation for our professionalism, reliability and quality workmanship. All work is carried out by our own fully qualified, experienced engineers (we do not employ subcontractors). Much of our work is repeat business and by recommendation of our existing clients.

We currently employ a workforce of 16 engineers and support staff.

Our area of operation is approximately 35 mile radius of Peterborough.

We design and install new and replacement boilers and heating systems.

We are FCA registered and licenced to offer finance at competitive terms on the Worcester-Bosch range of Gas and Oil fired appliances.

We attend heating and plumbing repairs and breakdowns and can provide a same day/next day attendance for emergencies.

Gas, LPG and Oil fired systems.

Domestic and Commercial/Industrial systems

What we do

  • Heating contractors

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

  • Plumbers

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
101 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.7
Sort by
Worcester Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I selected Peterborough Boiler Services to install a new boiler based on cost and also past experience. A few years ago our boiler broke down a few days ahead of Christmas and was pleased that PBS sourced parts, for an outdated boiler and have it working on Christmas Eve. The quote was competitively priced and with this past experience the work was scheduled. The boiler was then installed within the month by a very experienced engineer, with work taking in a little over a day and radiators drained and cleansed. My existing Nest system was reconnected and very pleased with the overall professionalism of the installation. Thank you.
Customer in Peterborough Posted on 14/09/2021 , work completed 10/09/2021
replace existing gas boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Peterborough Boilers for several years for maintenance and servicing the existing boiler now 13 years old. Their engineers have always been open and discussed any activity needed. We took note of their suggestions/warnings that the boiler would not last much longer and arranged a survey which was quickly completed and within a week quote arrived, accepted and the date fixed. The team of 3 arrived and lost no time in laying dustmats. All three worked quickly and efficiently and politely. Extra wiring was taken up through the ceiling, one bedroom to the loft and down to the pump etc. This avoided the need to move furniture and lift carpeting and floorboards Considerable testing and checking radiators. Where this involved some movement of furniture all was restored. Everything was cleared up and made tidy. A great job and would recommend them to anybody.
Customer in Peterborough Posted on 16/08/2021 , work completed 09/08/2021
Not great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked in a boiler service and advised what my issue is that I wanted looking into. On the day of the service I had to call multiple times to ensure that an engineer was still coming as my appointment slot had been and gone. With no communication from the company. I was then provided with a solution to fix my boiler. I rung the following week and was told the engineer was on a training course. Nearly 3 weeks passed with no communication from them so I emailed and explained this and how the lack of communication on the day wasn’t the best I had received. The response I received was one that showed that they couldn’t have cared less. Regardless, work needed to be done so I booked that in. The work was completed but this still has not fixed the original issue. I’ve been charged for multiple call outs since because they haven’t fixed it. To date I am waiting on yet another quote to fix the issue and to top it off they’ve tried to book me in to get a new boiler with them and take even more of my money. If they had told me at the start that a new boiler would have been my best option then I wouldn’t have wasted £100s with them so far.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 02/07/2021 , work completed 14/05/2021
The trader replied (on 08/07/2021)
Many thanks for your feedback. We apologise for not responding in good time, our communication clearly should have been better on this occasion and this is being looked into as our email to you saying the same confirmed. We are a long established company and pride ourselves in the communication levels we have from the hundreds of calls we take each week. A boiler service was carried out and an expansion vessel and PRV were then ordered and fitted (expansion vessel bladder was split). The boiler was then isolated on another visit to investigate the continued pressure drop and it was agreed for you to contact us in a few days if a drop was noticed, we unfortunately didn't receive that call until over a month later. We did not suggest a new boiler and we could not have known the outcome from the first service visit.
A regular customer writes ...
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used PBS's services to regularly service our heating system for several years. They have also helped with small leakage problems and fitted new kitchen taps for us. Most recently they replaced our errant boiler (cracked heat-exchanger). Without exception, the engineers have been skilled, helpful and took great care, which we really appreciate.
Customer in Peterborough Posted on 07/05/2021 , work completed 30/04/2021
Professional and competent installation of new oil boiler and hot water cylinder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional installation of new Grant condensing oil boiler undertaken to schedule and highly competently. Also installed a new hot water cylinder, central heating pump, and a couple of radiator valves. Also installed a Nest thermostat controller. Radiators power flushed. Particularly impressed that they pick up some limitations with legacy piping and rectified on the spot. Outstanding in their approach and communications. Exemplary attention to clearing away all surplus materials and left the working areas very clean and ship shape. Very responsive to a legacy failed cylinder thermostat. Highly recommended.
John in Cambridgeshire Posted on 28/04/2021 , work completed 28/04/2021
Professional and Smooth
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What can I say? My wife is Swiss and says the thoroughness and expertise throughout the work, the fact that at the end of each day everything was so cleared away that you wouldn't think anyone had been here, was easily to the degree she would expect in Switzerland. And you know how high the standards are there! By the way, I was impressed, too. And I'm English.
David in Peterborough Posted on 27/04/2021 , work completed 13/04/2021
Good work - thank you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my boiler replaced - I went from a condensing boiler to a combi. It all seems fine and was completed on schedule (which I was very pleased about as it was really cold!) The price was competitive and, having used the company previously, I am confident that the customer service will be superb.
Customer in Peterborough Posted on 29/01/2021 , work completed 26/01/2021
Worcester Boiler repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fast, friendly, efficient service at a very reasonable cost. When it comes to repairing boilers this company is the best of the best - If I said I was impressed it would be an under statement. Highly recommended.
Customer in Peterborough Posted on 27/01/2021 , work completed 27/01/2021
The trader replied (on 27/01/2021)
Dear Customer, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed back to the team.
Boiler service by Peterborough Boilers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had my boiler serviced on 13 Aug by Peterborough Boilers. Engineer arrived exactly on time. He was friendly and very well presented; noticed he removed outdoor shoes before he entered the house. He quickly carried out the routine servicing, He then explained in detail, and demonstrated several problems. Some he fixed by adjustment, but 3 required spare parts. He ordered them on the spot, to be held by company until required (this was outstanding service). He gave a costing to fit the parts when they failed (they would fail over the next few months), and a price to replace pre-emptively (much cheaper). I chose the second option. The office called 2 days later to say items had arrived, and to confirm costs and the engineers return visit. My lasting impression is of the engineer’s professional knowledge, and the company’s motivation towards customer service. I could not ask for more. I would thoroughly recommend Peterborough Boilers
Customer in Lincolnshire Posted on 23/08/2020 , work completed 13/08/2020
The trader replied (on 27/01/2021)
Dear Customer, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed back to the team.
Expensive yet cheap controls installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The boiler is ok but the control is cheap and unusable, not at all like the 'use in any room' I had before. They are unhelpful, rude and disinterested when there are problems. Do not pay until you are happy, I made that mistake and regret it, they are not a good customer service company.
Customer in Peterborough Posted on 10/07/2020 , work completed 10/07/2020
The trader replied (on 29/07/2020)
Thank you for your feedback and comments, they are noted. We also thank you for your custom through the difficult times we all find ourselves in. We nor our industry class Honeywell, Worcester Bosch or Drayton controls cheap! they are in fact market leading heating controls. We fitted a very good quality Honeywell control to your system, unfortunately you didn't like it because it wasn't the same as the one you already had (regulations change and we HAD to replace it!!) so we replaced it again 3 more times, one of which was a Worcester Bosch but still no joy. I the end we reverted back to a different Honeywell model and finally it was accepted! How that transpires into poor customer service really is beyond me. Our staff are not rude, but possibly frustrated by the situation. We have and always strive to maintain good customer service levels, we will learn from this and adjust as necessary.