We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Phoenix Digital Services

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–18:00
  • Monday 08:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–18:00
  • Thursday 08:30–18:00
  • Friday 08:30–18:00
  • Saturday 08:30–18:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb xmas 2013 007

4.9

22 Reviews

About

I have been working as an electronics engineer for over 30 years, and working as an independent trader for the last 5 years.
I enjoy my work, always strive to achieve the best for my customers, and treat my customers homes and properties with the same respect I afford my own.

I install aerial & satellite equipment for free view and all satellites for Sky/free sat and European/AFN channels. Also FM and DAB aerials.

Wall mounting TV's and extra points, installing Ethernet cables (cat 5e & cat 6e) for all Smart equipment; i.e.: TV's, blue ray players, and free sat and free view receivers are just a few of the services I can offer you.

I use only top quality equipment and parts, while keeping my prices as low as possible.

As an electronics engineer I also offer a repair service for most makes of TV's and audio equipment.

Warranties on new installations is one year, and 3 months on repairs,

What we do

  • Aerial and satellite installers

Customer reviews

4.9
22 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
New aerial install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris is a true gent! We employed his services to supply & install a new aerial as we had not long moved into our new house that had a very ropey set up. Chris was competitively priced and I was very impressed with his knowledge & workmanship. I was not expecting a new pole and chimney kit included in the price but that's what I got. I will definitely be recommending Chris and using Phoenix again without any hesitation.
Darren, Suffolk13/07/2019
Superb all round service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A Quick response to my enquiry on behalf of my elderly father. Chris arrived promptly, we found him to be very polite and friendly. Chris was very efficient and quickly found the fault by process of elimination. He went through every step in what he was doing and why. Chris tested everything to ensure all was working at the optimum settings. Once the work was done we were shown how to work everything. Thank you so very much for the superb all round service. Would totally recommend.
Carole Middleton26/06/2018
Brilliant workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Chris to wall mount two TVs and the workmanship was absolutely brilliant. He turned up on time, left no mess and the quality was second to none. Also the price was less than half of the amount I was quoted by other places. Thank you Chris
Vaj Ketip06/01/2018
Fast, friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time, carried out work efficiently, reasonably priced and friendly with it. Would use again.
Hicks15/08/2017
Wall mounting LED TV in bedroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris is very professional, knowedgable and will save you money if you discuss the brackets/fittings you intend to purchase before you spend money! He fitted a Samsung LED 32" TV to the internal wall with no visible cables & split the signal from my existing loft aerial to the new TV - and left no mess. Highly recommended
AndyCa29/06/2017
Excellent Service, reasonable prices and very responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Phoenix Digital Services to replace an old satellite dish and to install some hard wired ethernet ports around our house. Chris was very responsive by email and we booked him to do the jobs very easily. Both jobs actually took slightly longer than either of us were expecting but Chris stuck it out, got the job done and didn't charge any extra above the quoted price. We found Phoenix Digital Services by using the TrustedTraders by Which website and are extremely pleased with the service Chris provided. We would highly recommend him.
mmlabbd31/05/2017
Very Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris introduced himself, gave me his card and assessed the problem. He was very pleasant throughout. His quote seemed reasonable and he carried out the work immediately. Work was done on 6th March so cannot comment long term but everything is fine to date. . This industry is notorious for problematical installers, so it was a relief to have Chris recommended to me. I would be happy to pass on his name to others.
Geranium09/03/2017
BETTER LATE THAN NEVER
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was looking at Chris's website as I may need his services again and realised I hadn't done any reviews. We have used Chris on two or three occasions in the past and every time excellent service. I wouldn't use anybody else for tv/aerial problems, he's brilliant and nice with it!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer27/02/2017
Excellent First Class professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris came today to remove our old TV aerial & cable, and replace it with new. Our free-view reception was bad, and the new aerial and cable have made such a difference. We now get all the channels! Chris is friendly to deal with, and nice to talk to. Also he has many years of experience in the trade, which lets you know of his quality. We also paid less than was quoted, which was an added bonus. I have no hesitation in recommending Chris of Phoenix Digital Services to who ever is reading this review. You will be very satisfied of a job well done.
DRSDRS21/02/2017
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, courteous, excellent service
Christopher, Cambridgeshire16/05/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Chris to 'sort out tv problems' and relocate a new aerial in the loft, in the past. and today he helped with setting up WiFi on my new living room TV. He supplied and fitted a new aerial lead to TV in lieu of very ancient one and also supplied and fitted and checked an HDMI cable for my PVR.. I telephoned on a Friday and, although very busy, he came promptly on Monday late afternoon. He arrived at the agreed time and worked quickly and answered all my questions, as it had all seemed like chinese to me when reading the instruction manual! Now I feel confident to make full use of my smart TV. Very reasonable rates charged. Thank you Chris..
helprequired22/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just one word:- brilliant,I would have no hesitation in recommending Chris. He knows his job and is one of the tidiest tradesmen I have known.
Royda15/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris came promptly and arrived exactly on time. It was tricky, he had to climb over the roof. He also retuned my TV for me and did not try to sell me any unnecessary kit. The cost was extremely reasonable. I would gladly recommend him.
180093930/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris turned up on time, quickly checked what I had and what I needed, and then got on and did what was required. Installed a digital gadget in the loft and connected it up to my tv-point cabling. Included trailing a cable out from my roof-space down the side of the house. Neat and professional job - and good value too. Happily recommended.
kam08/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris offers a fast efficient and excellent service. We live in a house that's a bit awkwardly wired and needed lots of different solutions for different rooms, but Chris, unlike previous contractors, is pragmatic and diligent about getting you wired up and connected to the very best signal without damaging the fabric of your house, leaving any mess or leaving without checking every bit of his work is as it should be and that you understand how it all works! I thoroughly recommend him in a world where not every contractor upholds the professional standards they claim to or aspire to. Honest, great value and a very nice bloke.
goonergirl18/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris replaced two aerials for me with the minimum of fuss and re-using existing materials where it was possible. Competitive price, very pleasant and un-pushy, careful, on-time. All in all, highly recommended!
bran16/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris did a very neat and good job in changing the aerial and providing a new point despite difficulties with roof access. All at a very reasonable price.
Howard131/01/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would endorse all previous recommendations. Chris did an excellent job for us and charged a reasonable price. Look no further.
gullivertoo10/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt, efficient service, I would highly recommend Chris.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer05/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Chris Ratcliffe (Phoenix Digital Services) having found his name in Which? Local. I needed my aerial moved from outside the house, (where pigeons were using it to splatter my conservatory with droppings) to inside the roofspace. I was concerned that the aerial would be very difficult to access, as the conservatory was directly underneath, but having sent Chris a photo, he confirmed that he could do it. I also asked for a digital aerial point to be installed in my bedroom. All this was successfully achieved in a very short time, with no mess, no fuss, and at a more than reasonable price. An excellent service - I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer05/10/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have nothing but praise for this service - it was prompt and efficient, and reasonable.
Camriverside24/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris has over 30 years experience and does an excellent job. He replaced the pole and chimney lashing, replaced two old aerials with a new Freeview one and refixed an old (but serviceable) FM aerial. The leads were routed neatly between the roof tiles into the loft space, where he connected the new leads into an existing booster. To finish off, he tested all the leads and tuned the TV to the correct transmitter. He charged me £145 (June 2010) and includes a years' guarantee. Good value for a professional job.
Keith B Fairbanks19/06/2010