We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Polar Bear Windows Limited

Profile thumb polarbearlogo
4.8

153 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–13:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Based in Willsbridge, we have been fitting windows in the Bath and Bristol area for over 20 years, we know the area and people, and have built a strong reputation for quality and service. By choosing Polar Bear Windows you will benefit not only from our local knowledge, but also from the personal service and accountability that many larger, national companies cannot match.
We offer an extensive range of windows, doors and conservatories, all of the highest quality and expertly installed by our experienced fitters. Our range of windows include, casement, sash and tilt windows available in a choice of colours and finishes to suit any property. We have a wide range of door styles and panel designs, with multipoint locks and strong hinge mechanisms they are manufactured with high security in mind.
Other services we provide include: porches, roof trim, fascias, roof lights, flat roofing solutions, building work and driveways - all carried out to the exacting standards you would expect from Polar Bear Window

What we do

  • Glaziers

  • Double glazing

  • Conservatories

  • Roofers

  • Doors

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • More Services

    • upvc energy efficient roofing

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
153 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.8
Sort by
A mixed experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Polar Bear Windows in the summer of 2020 through a search for businesses that offer conservatory replacement roofs. We were gathering other quotations and wanted to compare the cost between an Ultra Frame roof system and the Guardian system which Polar Bear advertises on their webpage. Our early meetings and emails with Polar Bear’s salesperson were very positive and he instilled much confidence in us when he saw our preference for something more modern looking than the Guardian roof. While not advertised on their website (as he said this was in early development with the company) he suggested that our roof would best suit a flat roof design using Ultraframe flat roof materials with the option of skylight/s and with more discussion we were sold on the idea. It would be a straightforward job, easy, he reassured us, with a 4-5 day turnaround from start to finish. The costings were competitive with 2 other companies and the design more bespoke. Not enough space to go into detail about difficulties but project management, poor comms, errors in the order, errors in surveying that caused a big problem, etc, led to a straightforward job that took 3 months to complete (7 months waiting for start date after deposit). Not easy to choose how many stars for this uneven experience, but would not recommend it.
Customer in Bristol City Posted on 31/08/2021 , work completed 11/06/2021
The trader replied (on 20/09/2021)
We have built our business on excellence and with over 1,500 total reviews with a 5-star rating, we are rated the best in Bristol for customer satisfaction and pride ourselves on the high level of customer service we provide. Our passionate team have one focus to ensure customer needs are met. It has been extremely challenging as a business to operate with ever-changing restrictions, industry-wide delays, supply shortages and employees self-isolating, not to mention mental health challenges. We work tirelessly to ensure we can do as much as we physically can to ensure the smooth operation of every customer. With regret, since the pandemic, Polar Bear Windows have had a number of negative reviews, more than we have had in total since the company was established. Although we take full responsibility for not delivering the high standards that our customers expect, the majority of issues were caused by factors beyond our control and we are deeply saddened that our reputation could be affected due to the pandemic. We could have been better prepared however, we are not sure if anyone could have been prepared for how the last 17 months has unfolded. We put the customer at the heart of what we do, and we take very seriously on the few occasions that we have not met our usual 5 star standards. In order to ensure that this is rectified, we have changed existing and implemented new processes, we have recruited more staff and are doing everything in our control to ensure every customer
Shoddy quality and took 4 weeks to complete the job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had two very similar quotes and chose PBW because they seemed friendly and easy to contact. Never again! Main issues: * Arrived 90 minutes late * Fitter verbally abusive when asked him to move the tools off neighbour's lawn * Forgot to bring sealant, so left the front door unsealed for 4 weeks * Fitted door with wrong color door handle after 'picking up wrong handle' (gold handle with a silver letter box) - * Fitted door with wrong locking mechanism * Fitted windows with wrong handles and without trickle vents - not as agreed and paid a premium for on contract * Failed to fit end caps on external sills * £2506 was paid before installation, with the remainder due on completion * Stated that incorrect door handle would be changed within days 'even if it means coming out of hours' - I chased them for 4 more weeks before they came. * Didn't clean up waste materials from garden/pavement * Left insulation and adhesive stuck to tarmac on driveway * Manager initially said all the right things, but thereafter was uncontactable - his promises to rectify issues within days were not actioned. *Chased the manager for 6 weeks to discuss the job completion and final bill, but he was always 'unavailable' and 'would return my call'. I'm still waiting... * After 6 weeks I made my own suggestion of a discount of 10% due to the poor service. This was declined.
Customer in North Somerset Posted on 07/07/2021 , work completed 30/04/2021
The trader replied (on 20/09/2021)
We have built our business on excellence and with over 1,500 total reviews with a 5 star rating, we are rated the best in Bristol for customer satisfaction and pride ourselves on the high level of customer service we provide. Our passionate team have one focus to ensure customer needs are met. It has been extremely challenging as a business to operate with ever-changing restrictions, industry wide delays, supply shortages and employees self-isolating, not to mention mental health challenges. We work tirelessly to ensure we can do as much as we physically can to ensure smooth operation of every customer. With regret, since the pandemic, Polar Bear Windows have had a number of negative reviews, more than we have had in total since the company was established. Although we take full responsibility for not delivering the high standards that our customers expect, the majority of issues were caused by factors beyond our control and we are deeply saddened that our reputation could be affected due to the pandemic. We could have been better prepared however, we are not sure if anyone could have been prepared for how the last 17 months has unfolded. We put the customer at the heart of what we do, and we take very seriously on the few occasions that we have not met our usual 5 star standards. In order to ensure that this is rectified we have changed existing and implemented new processes, we have recruited more staff and are doing everything in our control to ensure every customer
Be warned.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Terrible. Before installation, I had to choose a door different from that ordered. They turned up with the wrong door panel, said they wouldn't charge me if I accepted it, the wrong lock, and sized glass, a broken letterbox, no door knocker, a damaged window handle, the front, back, and french doors were difficult to open and close, after installation, some of the windows hadn't been siliconed and the beading for the bathroom window beading hadn't been left as was agreed. Second visit, no panel, wrong size knocker, wrong lock, window handle not replaced, the actions to remedy the french doors resulted in them not locking at all, bathroom beading not left, doors still in need of adjustment. They are unable to tell me when they are going to return.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 23/06/2021 , work completed 18/06/2021
New front door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Another fantastic installation from Polar Bear windows. Polar bear windows have completed the installation of all my windows and doors on my refurbishment project, Thursday saw the installation of my front door which looks fantastic. Thanks for a great job!!
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 26/10/2020 , work completed 22/10/2020
The trader replied (on 02/11/2020)
We value our customer feedback and thank you for sharing your positive experience with Polar Bear Windows. We pride ourselves here at Polar Bear Windows in using only the best Installers who fit the highest standard of product.
Conservatory Roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Polar Bear Windows remove our Conservatory roof and replace with a Guardian roof replacement, They were professional, caring and did a first class job. The difference with the new roof in the last months hot weather is unbelievable, so glad we had it done. We would recommend this Company to anyone thinking about a replacement roof. Many Thanks Ronnie & Sue Jeal.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 15/08/2020 , work completed 10/07/2020
The trader replied (on 02/09/2020)
We value our customer feedback and thank you for sharing your positive experience with Polar Bear Windows. We pride ourselves here at Polar Bear Windows in using only the best Installers who fit the highest standard of product.
Excellent 5*
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Delighted with the new doors on my garden room. Great price and everyone fro sales team, surveyor and Harry the installer were a pleasure to deal with. Very professional team wouldn’t hesitate in recommending them.
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 01/02/2020 , work completed 01/02/2020
The trader replied (on 11/02/2020)
We value our customer feedback and thank you for sharing your positive experience with Polar Bear Windows. We pride ourselves here at Polar Bear Windows in using only the best Installers who fit the highest standard of doors and windows.
Replace some windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Melissa came out to do our quote. she was very nice and polite and answered all my questions. They werent beaten on price or quality and the fitters went above abnd beyond. In all I had 11 winodws replaced, of which I'm very happy. Customer service is excellant.
Melissa, Bristol Posted on 21/01/2020 , work completed 21/01/2020
The trader replied (on 04/02/2020)
We value our customer feedback and thank you for sharing your positive experience with Polar Bear Windows. We pride ourselves here at Polar Bear Windows in using only the best Installers who fit the highest standard of doors and windows.
Polar Bear Windows ltd
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our new door was delivered with the wrong colour frame. After two weeks with temporary fixture the replacement frame arrived but the door was badly fitted.An attempt to adjust this failed and the door was scratched. An engineer come and made temporary adjustments. Three days later after heavy rain the door leaked we ask for replacement door but were refused. In spite off our refusal to give permission they visited and put silicone around the post box and window. This door is unsatisfactory and shut be replaced.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 16/10/2019 , work completed 16/10/2019
The trader replied (on 13/11/2019)
We always value feedback and take your comment very seriously. Door frames are hidden under protective wrapping when they are delivered to us so we are unable to check frame colour. Therefore we did not notice this ordering error. We apologised and re-ordered a new frame that day. The door was not poorly installed but had a loose bolt in the hinge (hinges are fitted during manufacturing process not installation), we tightened the bolt which you were happy with. You asked for a touch up paint for the tiny scratch which we hand delivered to you. The water tightness of glass and letterboxes in the manufacturing of composite doors is done with waterproof sealant, which is what we did on-location so that you wouldn't be left without a front door. All work carried out is to industry standard. All our doors come with a 10 year guarantee so in the unlikely event of any issues – you have the reassurance we will get them resolved.
Very high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very please with all the work done and everything was done to a very high standard. Excellent customer service throughout from sales to installation and after care.
Beverley, Avon Posted on 27/07/2019 , work completed 27/07/2019
The trader replied (on 08/08/2019)
We value our customer feedback and thank you for sharing your positive experience with Polar Bear Windows. We pride ourselves here at Polar Bear Windows in using only the best Installers who fit the highest standard of doors and windows.
Good all round.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and standard of work. Very clean and tidy. Worked very hard in hot temperatures (fitter). No criticisms.
Terence, Avon Posted on 23/07/2019 , work completed 23/07/2019
The trader replied (on 05/08/2019)
We value our customer feedback and thank you for sharing your positive experience with Polar Bear Windows. We pride ourselves here at Polar Bear Windows in using only the best Installers who fit the highest standard of doors and windows.