We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

RC Electrical

Profile thumb 18422297 72ea 4dab a0c0 99c9648aa8ab
5.0

39 Reviews

About

After starting my working life as a professional footballer with Plymouth Argyle, Hartlepool Utd and Bury, I retrained as an electrician.

I now have over 16 years experience in the domestic & commercial sectors and have a real passion for what I do.

R.C. Electrical has built it's business on 'word of mouth' recommendations which has seen it grow rapidly in the past 4 years

I am qualified to the highest standards and all work is tested and certified. As an 'Approved Contractor' with ELECSA, all relevant domestic work is also registered with the local authority.

Work is fully insured to £2 million and as part of ELECSA you are guaranteed the 'Platinum Promise' - 6 years warranty on all work (See website for full details).

Our prices are always very competitive because we keep our overheads low to pass on the savings to our valued customers. By using R.C. Electrical you can be assured of quality workmanship, good manners, clean working and a quality install.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Alarm and security equipment installers

    • Security activities
    • Alarm installation
    • Door entry systems
    • Access control
    • CCTV installation
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • LED lighting
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
39 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Ring doorbell pro and outside light
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Which trusted trader and was impressed with RC Electrical's reviews. A visit to establish my exact requirements was made which was to replace my existing doorbell and transformer. I also arranged the installation of a new exterior light. Throughout the whole process Ryan was prompt with all communication and very informative about all aspects of the work carried out. I am very happy with all the work carried out and Ryan carried out all works with a high degree of professionalism. Many thanks.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 13/05/2020 , work completed 11/05/2020
Replaced consumer unit.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A completely hassle free experience, after initial visit to discuss the issue I had with my electrics tripping out, returned and carried out a complete inspection of the whole of the electrics and pinpointed the fault. The way forward was discussed, in layman's terms, and it was agreed a new consumer unit would be fitted, the full inspection report was received by email on the evening of the inspection. The consumer unit was then fitted at a mutually convenient date and time, the work was carried out efficiently and with a minimum amount of disturbance and all areas were made good. Ryan and Cameron are very amenable and take a real pride in what they do and I would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 09/10/2019 , work completed 08/10/2019
Trustworthy electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I’ve used Ryan more than once and recommended him to friends without hesitation. He recently added a new electrical box at my mothers home and my mind is put at ease knowing I have a trustworthy and genuine guy sorting my mum's electrics and me not having to take tune off work to attend. He is spot on!
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 25/09/2019 , work completed 25/09/2019
Upgrade of Kitchen Spotlights
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the older style spotlights and kept having a problem with a particular one, and having sorted it out on several occasions, I was thinking about moving to an up to date LED system. From discussing it with RC Electrical I decided to go ahead and the Ryan, Cameron team proceeded to do a first class job and replace my 11 lights, together with new wiring and all linked to dimmer switches. A first class job, reasonably priced and done within the planned timescales. I now have a set of crystal clear white lights that produce such output they make the silver in the kitchen sparkle as the bounce off it.
Philip, Devon Posted on 13/07/2019 , work completed 11/07/2019
Buzzing from consumer unit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted RC Electrical by email when I heard buzzing from my consumer unit; they replied the same day and arranged to come within 2 days. They turned up on time, and thoroughly investigated the problem. They found the cause and then did other checks on the system. I was impressed with this company; they responded promptly by email, indicating up-front what the call-out charge would be (which was reasonable) and turned up quickly. Most importantly, they inspired confidence. I will use them again.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 17/05/2019 , work completed 16/05/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan and Cameron installed 3 new double sockets and replaced 2 single sockets for me. Their work was excellent and he was able to complete the work without causing any damage to walls which would have required further work. They cleaned up after themselves and left no mess at all. Ryan was able to advise me regarding other work I am considering, which was very helpful. I cannot recommend Ryan and Cameron any higher and will certainly be using them again if necessary. In this day and age it is so good to find such a 5⭐️ Craftsman.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 01/05/2019 , work completed 30/04/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan replaced the fuse box and kitchen wiring in the house and kindly fitted the work in around my builder at short notice. Excellent work at a reasonable price. Ryan is pleasant and polite, responsive and communicative. Would have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 16/04/2019 , work completed 16/04/2019
Installation of new consumer unit to replace wired fuse panel.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Within a day or two of assessing the job Ryan provided a written (email) quotation, itemising materials and labour. Ryan provided a professional and friendly service. The Domestic Electrical Installation Certificate was received by email the following day. The Building Regulations Cert. of Compliance from ELECSA followed by post. No hesitation in recommending RC Electrical.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 28/02/2019 , work completed 18/02/2019
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fuse board fitted. Electric plugs put in and a new light fitted under stairs. All done to schedule and budget very helpful.
Eileen, Devon Posted on 28/02/2019 , work completed 28/02/2019
Friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
RC Electrical installed the lighting in my kitchen with smooth efficiency. The company is well organised and the work was well planned. I would definitely use this company again.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 14/02/2019 , work completed 12/02/2019
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time for first appointment and returned next day at the agreed time to replace a fan in the attic. I was very pleased with his work - left everything neat and tidy. His price was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend Ryan and his work.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 05/02/2019 , work completed 28/11/2018
MCB Replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan quickly diagnosed a fault with our lighting circuit which required a new MCB, Ryan had the spare part in his van and replaced the faulty MCB immediately. Ryan was friendly and professional throughout and arrived on the same day as the call. I would have no hesitation to recommend his service.
Customer in Plymouth Posted on 31/01/2019 , work completed 31/01/2019
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New circuit board fitted. Very professional worked to schedule. Very helpful and clean worker. Would recommend to anyone who needed his service.
Melvin, Devon Posted on 05/09/2018 , work completed 05/09/2018
Exceptional service and end delivery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently moved house and needed an electrician following a survey repair. RC Electrical carried out a condition report, and 2 subsequent phases of remedial work to bring my house electrics up to date, and in a safe and secure standard. I thoroughly recommend Ryan and Cameron for their personal attention, quality work, timeliness and value for money. I now have an up to date consumer unit, fully earthed and have 17 new (***) and dispensed with 14 extension leads, Thanks to them.
Philip, Devon Posted on 10/07/2018 , work completed 10/07/2018
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good work, very happy and will continue to use R.C Electrical.
Paul, Devon Posted on 12/06/2018 , work completed 12/06/2018
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending Ryan and his apprentice Cameron. He gave sound advice, always arrived on time and was easy to have around. He performed the test necessary for an electrical installation condition report prior to the installation of a new kitchen. He installed a new consumer unit and all the electrical wiring, sockets and light fittings for the kitchen. All work was certified. I would certainly use him again in the future.
Janet, Devon Posted on 25/05/2018 , work completed 25/05/2018
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan is a very friendly, professional electrician. Work was carried out, with no mess and a brilliant job done. More work to do. Good with my dogs (a bonus).
Graham, Devon Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
Excellent electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement lights, fuse box, additional sockets and an extractor fan fitted
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/03/2018 , work completed 13/03/2018
Excellent electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement lights, fuse box, additional sockets and an extractor fan fitted
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/03/2018 , work completed 13/03/2018
would highly recommend R.C. Electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
R.C. Electrical have done various works in our business from fitting out our new office with plug sockets and extractor fans to wiring in new industrial machinery. The have also attended at very short notice a complete power failure in our warehouse and diagnosed and fixed the problem quickly to get us back up and running. Ryan and his team are always reliable and helpful and priced fairly for the quality work they carry out. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing electrical work done. Dave Holt Custom Printing Services Ltd.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/03/2018 , work completed 12/03/2018
would highly recommend R.C. Electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
R.C. Electrical have done various works in our business from fitting out our new office with plug sockets and extractor fans to wiring in new industrial machinery. The have also attended at very short notice a complete power failure in our warehouse and diagnosed and fixed the problem quickly to get us back up and running. Ryan and his team are always reliable and helpful and priced fairly for the quality work they carry out. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing electrical work done. Dave Holt Custom Printing Services Ltd.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/03/2018 , work completed 12/03/2018
Top class electricians
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete basement and garden room electrical install including moving and replacing the main house fuse box. The job was not particularly straightforward or easy and there were numerous changes from the initial quote of works. RC Electrical were absolutely brilliant in dealing with everything that needed to be done and we found the work to be completed to a very high and professional standard. The quality of the work was matched by the high standard of fittings and the advice provided throughout the project was invaluable. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending RC Electrical or commissioning them for any future work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/03/2018 , work completed 01/03/2018
RC Electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very competent, helpful and reliable
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
RC Electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very competent, helpful and reliable
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything as agreed specification. Clean, tidy, professional job. Pure perfection
John, Cornwall Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
Excellent work and flexible approach
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had several phases of work completed in support of refurbishment of the property. This has included installing new sockets and moving and reconfiguring light circuits and swithches.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/09/2017 , work completed 25/09/2017
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan was very prompt, both with his estimate and the job itself. The work was in our church hall and he had to return on a second visit because of a lack of specific keys. He was very polite and a clean worker - definitely recommend him.
Jack, Devon Posted on 19/09/2017 , work completed 19/09/2017
Excellent service, highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt polite service. Work carried out to a high standard and work area left clean and tidy. Very pleased with the lighting fitted in my downstairs cloakroom. Would defiantly use RC Electrical again.
Annette, Devon Posted on 16/09/2017 , work completed 16/09/2017
Flexible & High Quality Workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had new power sockets fitted and existing lighting circuits reconfigured and extended. In addition, he identified and rectified a potential safety issue with properties earthing arrangements.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 24/07/2017 , work completed 24/07/2017
arrives & keeps his word
Contacted Ryan one morning & he said will contact you later in the day & arrange a visit . Later that day Ryan contacted me & arranged time & day to give me an estimate re my requirements . Ryan arranged a date to complete work & duly arrived on time date. All work problems were explained & carried out to a high standard, areas cleaned & where applicable carpets put back. We found Ryan to be professional pleasant & true to his word, a great job completed & we would use Ryan for any electrical work again. Certification arrives on time etc there's nothing we had to chase Ryan for . Would recommend him to any body.
Robert Smith Posted on 23/06/2017 (Reviewer did not use service)
Domestic Electrical Fault Quickly Fixed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Half of the electricity in my Grandmother's home went down over the weekend. I emailed Ryan on Sunday night and he replied within minutes! Despite no immediate rush, by Tuesday the problem was fixed. I can't recommend Ryan highly enough - he was communicative, friendly and great value. Will definitely be using RC Electrical again for any future work!
Ros101 Posted on 04/04/2017 , work completed 04/04/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Ryan round to fit a new consumer unit, shower and cable, light fittings, oven, plus gas and water bonding. Service was great from the start with a quick and easy free quote (and he even fixed a light while he was here). The work was fantastic, and Ryan was informative and friendly, dealing with problems efficiently and without a fuss. Will be definitely be using again for any future work. Thanks!
Claudia888 Posted on 08/02/2017 , work completed 08/02/2017
Prompt arrival.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt arrival - work completed on day stated. A very professional job. He also helped an apprentice who was with him, and was able to show him the work that he was carrying out.
Elizabeth, Devon Posted on 18/11/2016 , work completed 18/11/2016
Easy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Check over the existing electrical system to the house, plus new electrical work to a new Kitchen, Dining Room, Utility Area and Conservatory.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/11/2016 , work completed 02/11/2016
Great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan was great really efficient, clean and friendly. He has restored my faith in tradesmen after having a recent nightmare experience with another electrician and kitchen fitters. I would definitely recommend Ryan.
Rosemary Posted on 23/10/2016 , work completed 23/10/2016
Would highly recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found RC Electrical by chance. Ryan Cross assessed the work required to update my bathroom electrics and fuseboard, explained what was necessary and how the work would be done. He arrived on time, carried out the work in a professional manner and in accordance with his quotation and left our house in a clean and tidy state. I felt at ease with him and would certainly recommend him to anyone wanting a good job at a fair price
John B, N/A Posted on 09/10/2016 , work completed 09/10/2016
Hot tub
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan was fantastic working around us for the delivery of our Hot Tub . Ryan was very professional , a great guy and would highly recommend.
Bexy23 Posted on 18/09/2016 , work completed 18/09/2016
Faulty lights
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called R.C Electrical out as we had no hallway or lounge lights, very prompt and punctual in attending our property. Sorted the faults straight away and then put up a light into the loft. Very neat tidy workmanship and would highly recommend, in fact I've booked in more work with him.
Happy Customer Posted on 16/09/2016 , work completed 16/09/2016
Great trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using Ryan for the past 9 months to carry out all aspects of electrical work on our old bungalow that we have been renovating. We have found him to be a really lovely guy and no matter what jobs he has had to tackle nothing has been to much trouble. He is always on time, efficient,professional and a very tidy worker. We will definitely continue using Ryan as he always does an excellent job and we would highly recommend him.
Paula B Posted on 13/09/2016 , work completed 13/09/2016
R.C. Electrical. Excellent same day service. Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ryan came within 3 hours of phoning, despite having just returned from holiday and having lots of work on. He was very friendly and pleasant and explained clearly the problems with the wiring, options and what he was doing. A new light fitting was needed which he popped out to buy and fitted very quickly. I would not hesitate to use again and would highly recommend RC Electrical.
Sarah H-Lewer Posted on 15/08/2016 , work completed 15/08/2016