We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Refresh PSC

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–18:00
  • Monday 08:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–18:00
  • Thursday 08:30–18:00
  • Friday 08:30–18:00
  • Saturday 08:30–18:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb avatar large

5.0

53 Reviews

About

At Refresh PSC we are committed to leading the field of remedial property solutions with not only outstanding professionalism and guaranteed customer satisfaction but we promise that once you use us, you’ll recommend us to all your friends!

Our clients range from homeowners to architects and we are the preferred choice for a large number of blue chip construction companies. Whatever your needs may be, Refresh PSC are able to provide a bespoke service suited to your requirements.

We charge £60 inc VAT for a call-out survey which would be refunded against quotation of any works any works we are instructed to carry out.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • Loft and property converters

  • More Services

    • basement waterproofing cellar conversions consultants

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

5.0
53 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Very informative and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team have exceeded any expectations. I originally contracted another company to do the work but after they let me down and did not show up on time, I urgently looked for an alternative option and confirmed Refresh PLC for the job instead. I now see it as a blessing in disguise and confident Andy's team offered a better solution and did a very thorough work. I would highly recommend them for a second opinion as speaking to Andy would most definitely put your experience with other companies in perspective. Andy was very knowledgeable and informative when he came in for a quote. Throughout the job he was incredibly patient, always available to answer my questions and even provided advise beyond his scope of work. During the projects few complications came up which could not be seen during the survey but Andy stuck to his quote and completed without extra charge. He appears to be very honest and trustworthy. His team was respectful and always on time. I could not recommend enough their services.
Customer in Greater London28/04/2019
Excellent service - very honest and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy is a brilliant example of why my go to place for traders is Which? Arrived on time as promised and gave excellent advice, going beyond what was necessary to explain what needed to be done. Honesty is a word that I see has been used in many review and without doubt that is correct for Andy, who was clear on what could be the problem (penetrating damp in a chimney breast) and on the best way forward, even adjusting his costs down where he thought other tradesman (roofer) were better qualified to carry out the work. Will definitely recommend to friends.
Customer in Greater London10/04/2019
Excellent service, honest & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy provided a first class service to my elderly parents in law. From the first survey and finding of dry rot to completion of the work he kept us all fully updated on what remedial action was required and why, along with updates on progress. His team who worked on site were friendly and professional. Cannot recommend Andy and his team highly enough, so very glad we found you, thank you!
Jan Ambrose17/10/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I originally contracted Andy to undertake a damp survey for the property I was buying. His survey was thorough and helpful, but I wasn't able to afford to have the work done at the time. This year I contacted Andy again to check whether anything had changed, and to arrange the work. He came around quickly, and was very helpful in both explaining the work, advising on what was necessary and what was optional, and helping me to keep the cost down. His staff who carried out the work were helpful, courteous, and tidy, and the work was carried out to spec and to time. If I needed further damp work doing I would have no hesitation in contacting Andy, and would highly recommend him and his team.
Jamie T24/07/2018
Honest, trustworthy and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Firstly, Andy is not the type of person who is just out to quote for jobs. The guy's honest and provided me with valuable advice and put my mind at rest. Andy came round to carry out a survey. There has been a strange smell coming from under the floorboards in one of the bedrooms (first floor) for over a year. The bedroom shared a wall. Although I pulled the floorboards up I couldn't figure out what was going on - I thought I had dry or wet rot. Andy came round promptly and quickly advised there's no form of rot (much to my relief) but I should check with what's going with the neighbour's bedroom as it appears that an odour was coming under the floor through some gaps in the party wall (the property' s rented out) and being absorbed by two untreated floor joists. He advised a number of things I could do or get a builder to do (spray multipurpose timber preservative to the untreated joists, apply a liquid DPM (Drybase) on them and put in sub-floor ventilation). Andy's work revolves around preservation of buildings and not odour control so the fact he advised me was more than I could of wished for.
18/06/2018
Excellent from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy was exceptionally helpful when he came to do the survey and even recommended some work we could do ourselves. His colleagues who came to carry out the works were extremely polite and professional. The finish on the plaster work is great and they did a brilliant job in terms of terms of protecting floors, keeping the flat dust free and cleaning up thoroughly once the works were complete. Highly recommended.
Clare11/02/2018
Need a damp Proof assessment? Refresh is the firm to go with.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy Barber's site visit was reassuring; a jargon free, professional analysis followed with a detailed specification and site drawings. Andy's team who carried out the work were punctual and scrupulous about keeping all adjacent areas dust free.They left the house spotless and were very personable. Highly recommended.
Dorrian23/01/2018
Professional, honest & trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came round to inspect a damp issue after we'd had a quote from another specialist that seemed a bit pricey. He was professional, friendly and seemed very thorough in his assessment. He said whilst the pricing offered by the other specialist was about right, a lot of the work quoted probably wasn't entirely necessary and helped us understand what to prioritise. He said the work didn't need a specialist and wrote out very clear instructions and specifications for a cheaper provider to follow, which we're in the process of starting right away - it will likely save us well over 50% on what we were originally quoted. He even took the time to explain the science behind the damp issues we had and could develop if certain things weren't addressed. 100% recommended!
Taylor01/11/2017
How Andy saved me from the cowboys!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came round to view our damp problem. He was honest and told me the work would be cheaper if I got a builder to do it, but he wrote out a 'prescription' for the builder to follow. So I found a builder who came round, said he would put dust sheets on, didn't, the whole house covered in dust. Also the work was shoddy and just didn't look right. I phoned Andy in despair: he called me back instantly and volunteered to come round and check the work, My instinct was right, Andy was horrified at what had happened. He rang the cowboys and fired them on the spot, told them I wasn't going to pay them a penny (out of guilt I did give the guy a bottle of whiskey!) The cowboy did not complain and 2 days later Andy's guys came round, did the job in a few hours, put dust sheets everywhere and cleaned up (yes, even washed the kitchen floor) after them. Andy's knowledge is indisputable, his manners and ethos impeccable and his team couldn't have done a more professional job. Trust him, he's yer man!
John Foster07/09/2017
Refresh Visit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy turned up right on time. He looked around and said our problem was condensation. I praise him for his honesty as he was only going to get his £60 call out fee. He was very pleasant and fully explained what we had to do to stop it. Why would you go to anyone else. I fully recommend him for his knowledge and honesty.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer05/07/2017
Efficient prompt and polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy was recommended to me by my estate agent. He worked off a survey I'd had done for the flat I've just bought. Really good clear quote. Only did the work that he felt was absolutely necessary. Good tidy and on time. Would recommend.
Tamsyn 27/03/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came round to take a look at a couple of problems caused by penetrating damp in my basement flat, which I needed a second opinion on. He was prompt, pleasant, very knowledgable and took care to explain everything to me. He followed up by sending me a detailed email of his findings including photographs - all for no charge. Unfortunately, the freeholder of my building already has a builder on site who is meant to be dealing with the damp, otherwise I would employ Andy's services with no hesitation at all. I'm certainly keeping hold of his details for future reference.
T Anderson07/12/2016
Happy with the service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He was knowledgeable, helpful and offered to look over any future quotes from prospective builders who might carry out the work for me. His subseqent report was also comprehensive and useful. I thank you for your consumer services. You do an excellent job!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer10/11/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed advice about a potential rising damp problem. Andy arrived at our appointment time. Very quickly diagnosed the problem (not rising damp but condensation), gave me useful information on how to rectify the problem and, set my mind at rest. Andy is very easy to communicate with and explains things as much or as little as you want. I saved £650 by taking Andys advice. What more can I say?
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/06/2016
Great Knowledge and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy who came to carry out the survey for rising damp before undertaking the work demonstrated his wealth of experience and knowledge and provided some very practical advice. The work was carried out by one of his teams and without problem. The 10 year guarantee came at the end of the job and Andy even spoke to our other builders in terms of how to maintain the integrity of the damp course whilst installing our kitchen. Would definitely recommend.
2011-06-04 11:25:28.43320/05/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If only all contractors were like this. Andy came this morning to look at some worrying (to me) patches of rising damp. He explained what needed to be done, that the work could easily be carried out by a general builder/handyman and that I did not need his company's specialist services. It was well worth the survey fee for the peace of mind and honest, expert advice. In his view the customer obviously comes first. And what a pleasant chap he is.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer05/05/2016
Dry Rot Issue
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came to provide an inspection for me and I was very impressed with the level of service he provided. There was Dry Rot being worked on in the downstairs flat and Dry Rot in my passageway adjacent to the downstairs flat. Before he even came in to see the issue with my flat he spoke to the Technician treating the property downstairs and expressed his views in a friendly and polite manner. I really appreciated the pro-activeness of this approach as he didn't need to go and see the downstairs flat before even looking at my Dry Rot issue. He spent 2 hours explaining all his findings and even gave me tips on buying an extractor fan for my bathroom. He was very patient with the questions I had and explained things easily through drawings to get his points across. I paid for an Inspection Report and Andy spent 2 hours with me which was brilliant and much appreciated. He was available for additional questions I had and produced his Findings and Recommendations that day on e-mail. Unfortunately I did not use his service as he suggested I use the company who were already treating the flat downstairs and it made sense as previously this was one house converted into flats. I would not hesitate to use his service again and have recommended him to friends as it's very hard to find someone who is willing to answer all your questions and take the time to go through things and even more so as a single female who does not have much knowledge on this and is not handy at DIY.
Shree77Z16/03/2016
Damp assessment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had problems with what I thought was damp to the back addition of my flat. Andy conducted a survey who advised that the wrong render was used. He described what needed to be done and also drew a diagram, further adding 'any problems or advice just give me a call'. He also recommended I find a good builder to carry out the work which should cost no more than 5/600 pounds. Andy was very helpful, informative and so very honest, would highly recommend. Brilliant service from the moment they answered the phone.
143783009/03/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are going to decorate a bedroom and there were internal stains on the external walls. We contacted Andy because we wanted to know if there was a damp problem before going ahead. Andy came round and said the problem was condensation and took time to explain its relationship to relative humidity and how ventilation helped. We were very happy with his service and found Andy to be very pleasant and knowledgeable. We have no hesitation in recommending him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer18/02/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wish , the tradesmen we have to call from time to time, in our walk of life, would take an example from Andy, honest in his opinion and advise. Money is not his priority but the customer is, which is very rare these days. We wish him Peace and Happiness in 2016.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer22/12/2015
Assessment for damp
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'd have no hesitation in recommending Refresh. Got a quick appointment (which I needed), even though I was a bit outside Andy's usual area. I was very reassured to find ventilation was the cause and not rising damp. Report was also done quickly and the cost was more reasonable than I was expecting. Andy was very helpful and took the time to explain the issues to me. Great service all round. Thank you!
GP, Middlesex16/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wow! Read the reviews on here and decided Refresh were definitely worth having round to look into the damp in my kitchen. Andy did not disappoint. Punctual, polite, friendly, knowledgeable, honest. He has left me with step-by-step detailed instructions on how to carry out the limited work required myself, right down to what size drill bit is needed, what brands of materials he recommends, etc. Given my lack of expertise he could easily have convinced me to spend over a grand on his services, but instead has left me with a shopping list of maybe £80 and a Sunday morning project to undertake myself. Half an hour of expert advice, the offer of further phone assistance if required, and then the man refused to take a penny from me. A consummate professional, and a gentleman to boot.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't speak highly enough of the team at Refresh. All in all it felt like they had your best interest at heart. My experience was fantastic from start to finish - no matter who we dealt with. Firstly Andy went the extra mile to come and do our survey quickly and expertly and for free (I had to pay for other surveys). We had a few different companies come in to quote for our work and the difference with refresh is that they firstly explained what was happening and demonstrated it to me and most importantly he was actually honest with me about the work that needs doing. Refresh???s quote was over ??10,000 cheaper. The team that came to do the work were fantastic, polite, and courteous. They did an excellent job and worked well with other tradesman who were on site (an important quality!). The team in the office were always extremely helpful and efficient. Andy has even been quick and willing to give me further advice on other damp proofing matters that were not in our brief for no extra cost (about how best to lay a wood floor on concrete for example). In the difficult, scary world of damp proofing where it is hard to know who is ripping you off and its difficult to work out how bad damp is in a property, Refresh are a beacon shining bright! Highly highly recommended.
wakemartyn06/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came very promptly to survey my house. He located and explained the causes of damp and said they were minor, and as a result I won't do anything about it until it's time to redecorate. When I do, I will certainly be employing him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/08/2015
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Refresh PSC did damp proofing throughout our house. This involved re-plastering the walls and other preservation methods. We're quite fussy and we were very pleased with the work done.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/07/2015
New damp course and plastering of hall.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very Tidy and took great care with everything and gave me some great advice.
Chris, Brixton10/07/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't speak highly enough of the team at Refresh. All in all it felt like they had your best interest at heart. My experience was fantastic from start to finish - no matter who we dealt with. Firstly Andy went the extra mile to come and do our survey quickly and expertly and for free (I had to pay for other surveys). We had a few different companies come in to quote for our work and the difference with refresh is that they firstly explained what was happening and demonstrated it to me and most importantly he was actually honest with me about the work that needs doing. Refresh’s quote was over £10,000 cheaper. The team that came to do the work were fantastic, polite, and courteous. They did an excellent job and worked well with other tradesman who were on site (an important quality!). The team in the office were always extremely helpful and efficient. Andy has even been quick and willing to give me further advice on other damp proofing matters that were not in our brief for no extra cost (about how best to lay a wood floor on concrete for example). In the difficult, scary world of damp proofing where it is hard to know who is ripping you off and its difficult to work out how bad damp is in a property, Refresh are a beacon shining bright! Highly highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer06/07/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My experience with Refresh echoes those of others. Andy came round at short notice and explained in detail why I didn't have a problem and didn't need to use his services. A pleasure to deal with and, as others have noted, a welcome change from traders who are primarily out to line their pockets.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer17/06/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy has explained the causes of some patches of damp in my house in detail and advised that the problems were relatively minor, could be resolved by a general builder and did need to be done by a damp proofing specialist. He came very promptly and could not have been more helpful. He took the trouble to help me find a useful website and advised how to find the right local person who could do the job more cheaply. I am very impressed with his professional approach and would recommend his company to anyone needing damp course treatment.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer17/06/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As with so many reviews, Andy came round to give us a quote for work. He was very knowledgeable and actually told us we did not need to use his services and gave us options. He even left us his card and said to call if we needed more advice. (Much appreciated). We really thought we had a problem with damp and he has saved us so much stress and expense. Would definitely use again and recommend
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer23/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came round to take a look at the condensation issues in our Victorian basement flat. It was like a therapy session - I showed him all of the things that I was concerned about and he sat me down and gave me a crash course on condensation. Turns out the problems we have can most likely be solved by some straightforward and inexpensive solutions. Andy recommended that we talk to our local handyman instead of hire his services so I have not paid him a penny. I would not hesitate to call Andy again for future damp/condensation issues and have already raved about Refresh to everyone I know!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy visited us at short notice after a nearby meeting despite us being slightly out of his normal operating area. He arrived early and gave us excellent and down to earth advice on the damp problems we have in my daughter's house. He recommended a new bathroom fan and gave us the specification to look for. He recommended that no further work be carried out and this saved us over ÔøΩ3K for work recommended by others that he assured us was unnecessary. Andy's approach was friendly, helpful, honest and backed up by a wealth of experience. He refused all offers of money for his visit and on this occasion did not get any work for his own company. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Andy and his Company
Rusty8814/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy came round within days to carry out the survey. We were in a hurry to get the damp rectified and he kindly got a team round to sort out the problem the next day after the survey. The work was carried out quickly, very tidily and Andy was on hand to answer any questions we had at all stages on the process. A very efficient and friendly company.
Cat Dolton18/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy was able to come round and look at the various issues we have within ten days, despite being outside of the areas usually served by Refresh. He arrived on time, diagnosed the problems and suggested solutions. Refresh weren't able to do the work themselves on this occasion but there was no charge for the consultation. Very helpful and refreshing approach. Recommended.
SuzanneCL27/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my cellar damp-proofed by Refresh. This was quite an extensive project but under AndyÔøΩs [Managing Director, Refresh] professional and thoughtful skills, it was completed easily and smoothly. Andy is very knowledgeable about the subject matter and gave good clear advice on the problem and the resolution. He consulted me at all stages of the process and kept me informed throughout of all the developments. He has an excellent team who were focussed, competent and fast. Overall a positive experience and would certainly use them again in future if needed, and would highly recommend him and his company for any damp proofing matter.
ju12315/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wouldn't hesitate to use Refresh. Andy provided great service, the damp course work in the kitchen chimneybreast and surrounding area was really well done particularly in view of the special finish I needed. His work people are really good. I have personally recommended Andy's company to several people. It was a pleasure to deal with him.
40114/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy comes highly recommended for service and attention to detail. Deal with him with confidence!
baward23/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy and his team have just completed a job for me. I couldnÔøΩt recommend the whole service highly enough. AndyÔøΩs advice was professional and clear and he was at pains to point out things I could do myself. The quotation was very reasonable and the quality and cleanliness of the work exceptional. I would have no hesitation in recommending him and he has already reviewed work for a neighbour. What a breath of fresh air to find a proper tradesman who doesnÔøΩt charge for advice, knows their stuff, only quotes for the necessary work, does a great job and leaves the place clean and tidy.
beno51016/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend this company. Andy came to do a free of charge survey and came across as very knowledgable and honest. Advised that some of the work such as refitting skirting boards could be done by myself and therefore saving money - a very customer centric company which lives up to its name. I had 3 quotes and Andy's was the most competitive and also in my opinion I felt his to be the most accurate diagnosis of the problem too. We had damp in 2 rooms and 1 survey had missed the true extent of the problem in one of the rooms and was only proposing to do half the work which was in fact needed, Andy spotted the fact the damp was more extensive straight away. He was always readily available on phone/email with any questions I had throughout the process which was really appreciated. His team were very polite and tidy and even washed up after themselves! Great service, would not hesitate to recommend.
clare9017/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rang Refresh having seen the reviews here, after I noticed damaged wood and plaster on a wall that had suffered from a blocked drain pipe. Andy came at the arranged time, diagnosed a dry rot problem and explained the issue to me extremely clearly. I got a full survey report from him within a week and booked the work shortly after. I'm glad I did: Andy's team arrived promptly, were extremely tidy throughout and have done a superb job. I also really appreciated the fact that Andy rang after the work had been completed to check that I was happy with it. Dealing with a problem like dry rot can be stressful, Refresh made removing the issue entirely hassle-free. Highly recommended.
slicktony02/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy takes great pride in the service he offers. I found him very professional and I appreciated the fact he provided plenty of information regarding the problem and the solution. He was extremely thorough in his organisation for the work to be carried out, and his follow-up and paperwork were excellent. His operatives arrived on time, were very pleasant, and did a good job cleaning-up when finished. I have no hesitation in recommending both him and his company for the quality of service offered.
saunsbury20/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After having seen some of the reviews I decided to call Andy regarding a damp issue we had on a new floor, I found him to be extremely helpful and knowledgeable & provided a balanced and independent point of view enabling me to quickly decide on a course of action. Many thanks Andy and would recommend you to all on which.
Fareed0320/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had concerns that my flat was suffering from damp. Andy very quickly confirmed that the issue was one of condensation rather than rising damp. As a result he recommended some small work to combat this, combined with advice on better house habits (opening windows etc.). It was a great relief that Andy was honest, happy to discuss the subject at length, and didn't quote for much more expensive work.
peders27/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I actually called Refresh regarding a suspected case of woodworm. Andy came to the house, undertook an inspection and then gave me lots of information and advice on how to treat it. Very professional, easy to deal with and reassuring to find that there are still genuine tradesmen out there who believe in doing a good job and taking pride in their work.
m_w_gibson29/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a damp smell coming up from beneath the house. Andy came to check it out at no charge and made recommendations that would hopefully fix the problem without charge. He also said that if anyone came along and said I needed the basement tanked it would cowboy, because in his opinion, there was nothing to be done. Nice genuine guy. Ive shortlisted him for use in my business and Im glad I found him.
Jonathan MF04/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy performed the damp survey, and the corrective work was then carried out by Karol and another chap, with Andy doing a site visit during the job. The quote was competitive and the time allowed for the job was accurate. Andy was easy to get hold of, pleasant to deal with and straightforward throughout. The guys doing the work here were quick and thorough, and cleaned up after themselves really well! Very highly recommended.
RIF03/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having read favourable reviews about Andy Barber of Refresh PSC on WHICH-Local, I contacted him because of a damp problem at my daughterÍs Garden Flat. He arrived on time as arranged, undertook a thorough survey of the affected area, explained the causes for the dampness in language understandable to lay persons, and suggested remedial actions. His detailed written report was received within 48 hours, and the first part of corrective work (the selection and installation of humidistat fan units to improve ventilation) was carried out shortly thereafter. Waterproof plastering in the affected room will follow, as soon as the cracked tiled external staircases and steps (the principal cause of the dampness) are repaired. I found Mr. Barber and his team a real pleasure to work with; they work to a high standard, leave the place spotlessly clean, and double check that clients are satisfied with the result. I am more than happy to recommend this company.
Walli02/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andy Barber visited our property after we found a smell of damp. A professional, friendly and thorough service using appropriate measuring instruments, with no charge raised for the initial survey. We were most impressed and would certainly use Refresh in the future.
Mog man27/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is very hard these days to find people that you can fully trust to do a good job honestly and professionally. I had a damp issue in my bedroom and Andy from Refresh identified where itæwas comingæfrom (my roof) and recommended a trustworthy roofer whoæattended at my property and was very thorough in taking pictures and showing meæexactly where the water was coming through.ææHe prepared a report so that I could giveæthis to the company who recently fitted my new roof for them to come back and do remedial works.æ As a result, the damp issue has been resolved.æ Andy has remained in touch throughout to make sure everything was completed.
CAB060220/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a damp issue in my home and was very wary of unscrupulous tradesmen. I therefore asked for a recommendation on the Which? Local website and Andy Barber of Refresh came highly recommended. I therefore contacted Andy, and he attended at my property punctually, in fact 10 minutes early, was very polite and gave me good advice on how to solve the damp issue. He followed up his advice with a written report, and a few phone calls to see how the work was progressing. I was very impressed with his professional manner and friendly nature, and asked for his card to recommend him to friends, should they ever be in need of his services.
CAB060216/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Because of rising damp affecting a large basement room, Andy Barber came quickly and soon provided a clear report and what struck me as a reasonable estimate. (I suspect that any other estimates I might have obtained would have been higher so perhaps this trader deserves 5 stars for value.) He was likeable, knowledgeable and helpful. On the agreed date, his men came punctually and worked long hours. They were courteous and efficient and completed the work within 2 full days. They took care to prevent dust escaping and then left the place tidy though inevitably a substantial amonunt of re-decoration will be required in due course. Andy runs a small company and says that he does not wish to expand much. This means that he can supervise and take a personal interest in all the work. It also means that at some future date he may have to turn away customers. But not yet. Strongly recommended.
NEIL BUTTER27/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been undertaking a kitchen refurb. In amongst it, we uncovererd a damp problem in a wall, which we needed to deal with quickly, so it did not prolong an already time-consuming project. Andy at Refresh PSC was very responsive from the first enquiry and accommodated our need to undertake a site visit at short notice. He provided a professional quote within days that was competitive. His approach throughout inspired trust. His technicians worked efficiently and were very courteous.
Brox17/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
One of the problems we had after purchasing our Edwardian house was rising damp caused by ground water, which was identified in a couple of areas on the ground floor. After receiving several quotes we decided to employ ñRefresh PSCî to rectify these problems. The owner, Andy Barber came across as a very straightforward and honest guy with whom we found it easy to communicate. He thoroughly explained and justified the treatment that he recommended, clarifying everything in a very detailed report. It was necessary to inject a new DPC (damp proof course) and re-plaster the walls with a special water proof mortar. The work was carried out in two days and the two guys who completed it were extremely polite, and considerate and tidy. Once the wall surfaces dried, it was very easy to repaint them and it all looks like new now. Two and a half months after the treatment there is no dampness (Andy kindly gave us the damp test meter for diagnosing damp problems). The work is fully guaranteed for 20 years and the issued certificate is linked to the property address, which is useful in case we decide to sell the house. We highly recommend ñRefresh PSCî for the quality of their work, tidiness, overall attitude, and reasonable price.
henpen329/05/2013