We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

RJR Installations

Default profile image

4.9

44 Reviews

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

RJR Installations is a sole-trader enterprise, based in and around Hertfordshire. I specialise in kitchen and bathroom/wetroom installations and refurbishments.

What we do

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Wet rooms
    • Bathroom refurbishment
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

Customer reviews

4.9
44 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellence
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard commenced work at my house on the 6th January 2020 and he has delivered total excellence on both my en-suite and kitchen installations (strip out and replace). He is a fantastic guy, his work ethic is second to none, he is millimeter perfect (incredible skill) and he has made me smile with his systematic approach to everything he does (he knows what he is doing). When the Coronavirus situation is resolved, he will be upgrading the rest of my house, starting with my main bathroom, hall and downstairs WC...Don't look any further than Richard (it is worth paying the extra few hundred pounds if you want peace of mind).
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/03/2020 , work completed 20/03/2020
Wonderful bespoke cupboard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were recommended to Richard by friends - we inherited a small dining room and our furniture was not suitable , and with a small recess and Richard’s guidance and patience we now have a roomy tasteful cupboard that looks as if it has always been there! A very talented craftsman and a joy to have working in yr home!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 23/02/2020 , work completed 25/09/2019
Rescued bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard took over our bathroom renovation after we had to ask the first contractor to leave because of bad workmanship and standards. Although we are out of Richards usual working area because of 'a friend of a friend' he came and took a look at the carnage that was left. A timetable of work and price was agreed but as he was dealing with the unknown the possibility of the work running over was quite possible. Richard was very punctual despite the fact he was travelling over an hour to get to us. His work area has was kept very clean and tidy during his working day and always tidied all tools and equipment before leaving work at the end of the day, Richards attention to detail is second to none, and having been in the trade for some time sees things that you or I may not notice. He kept us informed throughout the time it took to complete the bathroom and we would recommend him for his ability, honesty, and craftsmanship.
Customer in Essex Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 21/11/2019
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard renovated an ensuite bathroom for us and did a fantastic job. He is meticulous in everything he does, very clean and tidy and puts himself out to be helpful. He kept us informed at every step of the job and made sure we were happy with each decision that had to be made. The work was completed within budget and we were very pleased with the final result. I wouldnt hesitate to use Richard again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/10/2019 , work completed 18/10/2019
Adaptations to kitchen, opening hatch to living room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We count ourselves lucky that we found Richard and RJR Installations. He is the complete professional who takes pride in delivering a quality product. The job turned out to be more complicated and time-consuming than either we or he thought, but he adapted flexibly and stayed within the original contract sum. Very importantly for a job that created a lot of dust, Richard is very conscientious about cleaning and tidying as he goes. The final result is even better than we had hoped. We would recommend RJR Installations most highly to all our friends.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 27/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
Excellent from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used RJR for a kitchen refurb at a busy office Richard was extremely professional throughout with an excellent work ethic and delivered the project over a weekend working extremely hard to do so, ensuring our inconvenience during the refurb was a bare minimum I highly recommend RJR
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/08/2019 , work completed 07/07/2019
Boiler cupboard and a few odd jobs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard built a customised cupboard around our existing (unattractive) boiler. He also replaced some wall sockets, tidied some plastering around them, and hung (and cut to size) a glazed internal door. Happy repeat-customer.
Alan Posted on 07/07/2019 , work completed 26/06/2019
A lovely porch
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard built a lovely porch on this old cottage, made of green-oak, brick and (for the roof) lead. I am delighted with the result. He interpreted my original idea, carried out the design, and built it superbly. The job was completed on-time, on-budget, with little mess and good communications. Richard is very pleasant to work with and completely trustworthy.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/07/2019 , work completed 26/06/2019
Multi-skilled and versatile handyman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the last few years we have used Richard for a wide range of handyman jobs around the house and garden, packaged into typically a few days’ work at a time, including painting the summerhouse and shed, re felting the shed roof, installing blinds on the bedroom windows, putting up shelves in the bedroom cupboards, mending a fence, freeing the side gate, and re pointing the brickwork where it had deteriorated. We have found him to be reliable, straightforward, honest, efficient and skilled at a variety of competencies such as carpentry, painting, and bricklaying. The trusted traders scheme requires him to prepare a written quotation, summary and schedule of the work to be undertaken, and Richard takes care with the documentation. This is useful and should be adopted by other contractors since it avoids misunderstandings about the work. We hope to continue to engage Richard for similar jobs in the future.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/06/2019 , work completed 16/04/2019
Complete Bathroom Refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard provided us with a thorough quote before starting our bathroom refit, he took time to make sure he understood exactly what we wanted and continually invited us to make decisions on every detail of our new washroom. After the old bathroom suite was removed, Richard uncovered very poor plumbing and bodged jobs by previous workman, this involved pipework going into our kitchen and bedroom and a leaking soil pipe! Richard was able to rework all of this to a neat and effective system, taking the new challenge in his stride. Richard has an eye for detail, a perfectionist and that is evident in all of his work. Our tiling is a work of art! Our bathroom is now the nicest room in our home and one we are proud to show off. We would throughly recommend Richard and will use him again. He does love a cup of tea and fresh cookies - recommend buying lots of these to keep his energy levels high and your bathroom or kitchen fitted to perfection!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 20/02/2019
Lovely new shower room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time that Richard has carried out some work for us, and again we are extremely pleased with the result. This time my mum needed a complete refit of her bathroom; replacing the bath for a shower cubicle, installing a new toilet and vanity unit and removing the old tiles and plasterboard and replacing with new, as well as installing a lighted mirror and shaver socket. Richard kept us updated daily with progress and sent photos through as the work progressed. Some of the old plumbing created some unforeseen problems but Richard was always able to find a solution. Richard is always polite and friendly and leaves the work area tidy. I would definitely recommend Richard and my mum is delighted with her new shower room. Carole, Hertfordshire
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 31/12/2018 , work completed 18/12/2018
Fantastic Bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A brilliant new bathroom, thank you. Richard worked with us every step of the way, providing expert advise and delivered a first class installation. The bathroom was left clean and tidy every day and Richard’s attention to detail ensured a perfect job. It was a pleasure to have Richard working in the house. I am very happy to recommend RJR Installations and will not hesitate to re-engage for the next job. Thank you.
Richard Jones Posted on 08/10/2018 , work completed 08/10/2018
Excellent job and a joy to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard was recommended to us by a trusted friend and we have been delighted with his professionalism and attention to detail. It was apparent at the outset that he had given our requirements a great deal of thought as the initial quotation was specific and explicit and his invoices reflected this throughout. We found Richard to be friendly, immaculately tidy and open to listening to any ideas/thoughts/concerns/issues we had from beginning to end. He involved us in decision making process at every stage which we loved and his advice and experience was invaluable when it came to choosing everything from ceiling fans to shower doors. We are very pleased with our newly refurbished cloakroom and shower- room- they look great. Would definitely ask Richard to work for us again.
daisyj123 Posted on 30/07/2018 , work completed 30/07/2018
Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard is a thoughtful, reliable, trustworthy, punctual, tidy and work is close to perfection. Would recommend him again and again. Also a true gentleman.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
Flawless bathroom refurb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard carried out a complete refurbishment of our bathroom. Richard was a pleasure to work with and his strong attention to detail and tidiness was highly appreciated. We could tell early on that he wasn't going to be cutting any corners and the final result bears witness to that. We can highly recommend Richard for any bathroom upgrade.
Alan McGilvray Posted on 25/03/2018 , work completed 25/03/2018
Complete Kitchen Fit - Superb Workmanship and Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the quote to the completion of the job, Richard was exemplary. The quote was broken down precisely so there were no surprises along the way. The work commenced exactly when agreed and was completed to a standard that was beyond reproach. Richard's communication was excellent throughout the process and he'd discuss any items that required a decision. Other reviews have mentioned Richards’s tidiness and eye for detail and I can concur. More-over Richards’s quotes are very competitive, especially when considering the quality of his work. It is worth noting that this level of workmanship will take a little longer than for example a Wren or Wickes kitchen fit. However, given the quality of Richards work I can recommend without hesitation.
Paul, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/03/2018 , work completed 04/03/2018
Looks great, but took time.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arranged to start 11/12/17. Deferred to 18/12/17. Worked for 3 3/4 days. Next date back 8/1/18, than 15/1/18 & 16/1/18. So felt that it was taking a long time. A few difficulties & learnt from this that explicit details needed to be written out. Proceeded with not referring back to plans & pictures. Then had to correct.
Fiona, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/12/2017 , work completed 18/12/2017
New kitchen, great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard carried out a kitchen installation and some extra jobs at my flat. Very neat and tidy throughout. Very Trustworthy and conscientious. I've used Richard for two jobs so far and would definitely use him again.
liz oak Posted on 13/11/2017 , work completed 13/11/2017
Miraculous workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Impressed with his eye for detail, not to mention the superb tidying-up at the end of job!
June, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/10/2017 , work completed 01/10/2017
Excellent kitchen installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contracted Richard to complete our kitchen installation in July 2017. From first contact to completion of the work the service provided was excellent. Prior to starting, Richard visited initially to understand our requirements to ascertain exactly how much supplementary work such as plastering and gas related plumbing was required so that his quote was accurate. He also reviewed all of our plans and designs and visited a second time to confirm all of the measurements prior to us ordering the units etc to ensure it would all fit. Upon starting, Richard arrived promptly each day when stated (including days when other contractors where on site such as plasterer or electrician to ensure every was moving along as expected). All of the work was performed to an extremely high standard, and Richard paid incredible attention to detail, and dealt with a number of unexpected problems such as joist in the way of the extractor fan ducting. We are delighted with the work performed and would happily recommend Richard to anyone who was considering a new kitchen or bathroom, in fact, we wish we had contacted Richard when we had our bathroom completed a little over a year ago!.
lauzkp Posted on 03/09/2017 , work completed 03/09/2017
Very thorough job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although the job was reasonably small, Richard came over several days to ensure each stage was dry enough before moving on. An excellent job, thanks for being a clean, neat, and tidy workman. Highly recommended.
Linda, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/08/2017 , work completed 29/08/2017
Reliable & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pre-work; good communication and he was on time as planned. Work; efficient and tested his work before leaving. Friendly, well mannered and reasonable price. Would recommend.
Susan, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/06/2017 , work completed 12/06/2017
Competent and tidy worker
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very competent - although probably more suited to projects than my jobs.
Anne, Hertfordshire Posted on 08/06/2017 , work completed 08/06/2017
Brilliant professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard has done an excellent job at my house, everything he did was carried out to a very high standard exactly on time. Richard is a perfectionist & takes great pride in his work & so a very charming person. I would highly recommend him to anyone wanting a timely & extremely satisfactory job.
Sally, Essex Posted on 01/05/2017 , work completed 01/05/2017
Richard is an approachable, trustworthy and highly competent handyman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Judging from the work he did for us, Richard is an approachable, trustworthy and highly competent handyman. We intend to ask him to do other jobs in the future. We used him to do a range of jobs around the house and garden, and he did them in good time, with a minimum of disruption to us and at a reasonable price. He was also quite flexible. For example, when the loft ladder was not delivered on time for him to install it on the scheduled day, he got on with other jobs instead. We had also asked him to re-felt the shed roof, but it turned out after he had started that some of the wood on the roof was rotten. This was a situation which, like the late delivery of the loft ladder, might have been exploited by some contractors, but Richard simply charged us a reasonable amount for the replacement timber. We would have no hesitation in recommending him for handyman jobs, and given his qualities of professionalism, thoughtfulness etc we would expect him to be good at larger jobs such as kitchen and bathroom refurbishments.
Stephen Evans Posted on 21/04/2017 , work completed 21/04/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard has done 2 jobs for me recently, the more significant being me removal of an existing square shower unit & replacement with a new quadrant enclosure, shower tray & shower. He was highly professional in every way - well organised, on time & courteous while working to a very high standard. I would have no hesitation in using his services again.
David, Hertfordshire Posted on 22/03/2017 , work completed 22/03/2017
Bathroom - Professional Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard listened to our requirements and made useful suggestions. He provides a professional service with a great level of workmanship. He is punctual, works hard, is efficient and tidy. He take pride in his work and the results show this.
Norris Posted on 16/01/2017 , work completed 16/01/2017
Excellent Job Done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard carried out several jobs on my rented property with great results including making good kitchen units, plumbing repairs and replacing rotten decking in the garden. Richard was extremely courteous, polite and very professional and precise. He takes great pride in his work and I would without any hesitation highly recommend Richard and his work.
Sally Williams Posted on 10/01/2017 , work completed 10/01/2017
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently employed Richard to perform our kitchen installation and are delighted with the finished product. He took over a partly-completed installation that had run into difficult problems. We had already been advised by someone else to strip out the work that had been previously done, and Richard did this for us and re-installed the units accurately, professionally, and with care. He is very courteous, keen to please, a good problem solver, a good communicator, organised, keeps to arrangements, and pleasant company. His advice was regularly sought and always welcome. We could not have employed anyone better for our situation. We have no hesitation in recommending him, and would employ him again for similar work.
Phil and Caroline Posted on 10/12/2016 , work completed 10/12/2016
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were looking for someone to do some re-modelling of a section of our kitchen which involved removing an under-counter integrated fridge and moving an existing tall kitchen cupboard to make space for a full size fridge-freezer. This also involved cutting out a section of existing work surface and making good various other bits such as cornices, worktop edges and seals, etc. Richard was extremely professional and courteous from start to finish. He arrived at the exact time we had agreed and set straight to work. Richard kept the work area clean whilst he was working (vacuuming sawdust from the cut work surface, etc) and he was meticulously tidy. The standard of Richard's work was brilliant and he had an attention to detail which made for a seamless finish which we were so very pleased with. Richard was very friendly and easy to deal with and we would definitely use him again. Sean and Carole Hertfordshire
Sean and Carole Posted on 27/11/2016 , work completed 27/11/2016
More very good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The third occasion that Richard has done general property maintenance work for me, this time outdoors he took down a decrepit wooden shed and removed it completely from site. A very tidy conclusion was achieved of work well done. Whilst here he also looked at an issue with my bathroom shower screen and has also repaired that. Richard is a competent and considerate fitter and good at resolving problems.
Sheila, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/09/2016 , work completed 23/09/2016
Very Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We own a listed property in which the kitchen needed complete renovation. The building suffered from significant damp and was not easy to work with. Richard completely gutted the original room, back to brick in some places. He fitted a new damp course and oversaw plastering and new electric supply installation. Richard installed a new tiled heated floor, all of the utilities and kitchen furniture to a very high standard. At all times during the work Richard was very professional, asking about our preferences and giving advice where necessary. He was patient with us as we refined the build and kept everywhere clean and tidy. All in all we are very happy with his work and would happily recommend him to anybody looking to improve their property.
Apple Posted on 09/09/2016 , work completed 09/09/2016
Attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard is polite, conscientious, professional and trustworthy. He communicated throughout the work he completed on my kitchen. I would not hesitate to recommend or use RJR Installations again in the future. My Kitchen and tiled floors were fitted to a very high standard, I'm really pleased with the work, which has been completed to a great deal of attention to detail.
Pabloh Posted on 29/05/2016 , work completed 29/05/2016
Highly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm very pleased with the end results for a somewhat fiddly and bespoke job. The work was carried out to an extremely high standard, with great communication, consideration, and attention to detail throughout. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend/use again.
Debbie Posted on 29/03/2016 , work completed 29/03/2016
Attention to detail at a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard provides a first class service and carries out all work to a high standard.
D912929843 Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard proved to be a thoughtful and competent fitter. A lot of practical household issues are now very well resolved for me. I would definitely recommend his work.
Happy Customer Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A thoughtful approach to a range of jobs, from small repairs to full bathroom refit, which has given me the end results I wanted. Very considerate in use of premises, with thorough cleaning and tidiness and very good on communication.
Sara, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/12/2015 , work completed 29/12/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The workmanship, tidiness and communication were all excellent. We would not hesitate to recommend or use RJR Installations again in the future. Our family and ensuite bathrooms were refitted to a high standard, we were extremely pleased.
Jan, Hertfordshire Posted on 26/10/2015 , work completed 26/10/2015
Exceptional Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great vision, great ideas, excellent finish. All round top quality company. The best.
David, Hertfordshire Posted on 08/05/2015 , work completed 08/05/2015
Fabulous work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were so pleased with the fabulous job that Richard did refurbing our bathroom, he came back a year later to transform our kitchen. Always showed up when he said he would and meticulously tidied up at the end of every day - invaluable with young children around. A real perfectionist - we cannot speak highly enough of him. Thank you
CMR401577197 Posted on 09/04/2015 , work completed 09/04/2015
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, thorough, courteous, very tidy, lots of communication & could not be happier with service received.
Samantha, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/02/2015 , work completed 27/02/2015
A complicated job well executed.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very impressed with the planning, design and build of our wet room. RJR installations were helpful and considerate at all times and were the cleanest/tidiest contractors we have ever engaged! We would be very happy to use them for other building projects.
Jerry, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/02/2015 , work completed 09/02/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most impressed, will certainly use Richard again. A very tidy worker who cleans up meticulously behind himself, a professional job. Thank You.
Linda, Hertfordshire Posted on 02/02/2015 , work completed 02/02/2015
Pretty good.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used RJR Installations for my bathroom and wet room. Richard was pretty good. If time is an issue then there could be a problem. Overall I am happy to recommend RJR.
Tarupatel Posted on 30/06/2014 , work completed 30/06/2014