We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Scott Maintenance Services Ltd

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–18:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb img 0089  2

4.9

80 Reviews

About

As a family run business Scott Maintenance Services are local to Rickmansworth and have been providing full Plumbing, Gas & Heating service in Rickmansworth and surrounding areas for over 30 years.

We have developed a great reputation over the years due to our professional, reliable and friendly service.

We offer a same day service for all our plumbing and heating customers. emergencies being a priority.

If you need a job done in the evening or over the weekend give me a call, I try and answer the phone at all times but if it transfers to my answering service, please leave a message and I'll call you back asap, alternatively if your jobs not that urgent you can email or text me with brief details and I'll get back to you.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Power flushing
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
  • Gas installers

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Plumbers

    • Water softener installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • More Services

    • boiler installation
    • servicing
    • repair
    • under floor heating

Customer reviews

4.9
80 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Totally sound work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used SMS for 4 years now and am entirely happy with his abilities, performance and cost. Thoroughly recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire07/11/2019
Successful installation of Hive system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used John a few times before and were pleased to use him to install a Hive system in our new house. He arrived on time and was reasonable with his charges. We would recommend him to anyone.
Customer in Hertfordshire18/09/2019
Repairing and replacing shower valve and pipe work, replacing kitchen tap.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John arrived on time to give an estimate for the work to be done. On the day of the work to be carried out again arrived at the agreed time. He has done both jobs to a high standard and was neat and tidy throughout. We are very pleased with the service we received from Scott Maintenance Services Ltd and would not hesitate in using them again.
Customer in Buckinghamshire25/08/2019
Best plumber around!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John responded straight away to my call, he came over within the week to change a central heating pump, valve, do a power flush and add a filter. He is extremely polite, very clean and professional. John is definitely the best plumber I have ever met.
Pman17529/10/2018
Friendly and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once again John has helped us out. Our heating failed and he discovered 3 valves were leaking and had fused the boiler. He replaced them and now all is working well. Always very friendly and efficient. No hesitation in recommending him.
Hearn25/10/2018
Great Job, Saved me a lot of Money !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted John having been advised by another company that the three radiators that were not coming on was due to the entire central heating system needing to be "flushed through" cost approx £800. However John who has done work for me before very quickly found that the issue was the valves on these three Radiators. He sourced the parts and returned a couple of days later. End result, three new valves supplied and fitted and central heating system fully operational at a total cost of £132, that I think says it all and I am very grateful. I will be calling John first in future.
Christina Keating20/10/2018
Yes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good manners, good work, very professional. Would recommend to everybody.
Brian, Middlesex26/09/2018
Prompt, efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, thorough and professional. Friendly and amiable . Gave one complete confidence in the work done and will definitely recommend him to friends and family.
Karine12/09/2018
Very helpful and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Asked John to carry out boiler service as our previous engineer had retired. Carried out a full service efficiently and explained what work had been done. I've no hesitation in booking him for next year's service and any for any problems that occur in the meantime.
SteveP10/09/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John fitted a new boiler. Although he was a little late arriving he carried out a professional and efficient job. He was very friendly and although there was a problem with the fittings he soon found a solution and carried out the work accordingly. He was recommended by a family member and I would not hesitate to recommend him and use him again.
Yvette, Middlesex10/09/2018
Timely, honest & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I made a call after my old boiler failed. He came later that day. He assessed, serviced, repaired and fixed the boiler. All of which was completed efficiently, effectively, honestly and good value. I appreciated his customer service and professionalism. Just what I needed. Perfect.
Alexander05/09/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John, from SMS, serviced our boiler this morning. He arrived on time, carried out the service as requested, and left the work area tidy. Very happy and will use SMS again.
Richard, Hertfordshire31/08/2018
Your local friendly boiler engineer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found SMS via web search. I checked his reviews which looked excellent and recent. Spoke to him on phone to arrange a boiler service as he is a recognised Worcester Bosch engineer too. The date was only a few days away. He was also very courteous on the phone . He arrived as scheduled, even ringing me to say he was on his way. The service was carried out very efficiently and very good value for money. John is the sort of person you want turning up at your doorstep when you've picked him out from the World Wide Web. Very happy with him and I will be using him in future.
Trevor 22/08/2018
Reliable and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John came to do attend to a broken down shower which he replaced very quickly and efficiently. He came back later to service my old boiler. Very charming and polite to deal with. I would thoroughly recommend him.
Hearn03/08/2018
Prompt, personal & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Annual boiler service carried out promptly and in a very tidy and professional manner. Work fully explained to me, and final invoice was just what we expected. A new and excellent contact for the future. John will be our first "point of call" from now on.
Mary, Hertfordshire01/08/2018
Prompt & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, reliable & respectful. Solved the problem quickly and efficiently.
Rachel, Middlesex13/07/2018
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt service. Replaced tank valve would use again. Fair price, professional. I would recommend.
Barry, Hertfordshire12/07/2018
Efficient & polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional in the way he worked and explained every step of the job, nothing was too much for him. Clean and tidy. Will always use him unless not available.
Assoku-Katakity, Hertfordshire09/07/2018
Prompt, efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, thorough and professional. Friendly and amiable - nothing too much trouble. Gave one complete confidence in the work done and will recommend him to friends and family.
Alan, Middlesex02/07/2018
Very efficient & helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt at agreed time, polite & worked well - explained in detail. Very efficient & helpful.
Valerie, Hertfordshire29/06/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional.
Jonathan, Middlesex29/05/2018
Prompt and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Courteous and helpful; fixed my taps quickly and effectively. Definitely on my list of "first to call" in an emergency.
Gloria S17/05/2018
Totally reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Serviced the heating system annually, and plumbing problems at other times. He gives confidence in all the work he does.
Bernard, Hertfordshire23/04/2018
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used John a number of times. He is always efficient and willing to help. No job is too small for him. I will not hesitate to recommend.
Billie, Hertfordshire18/04/2018
Thorough and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was recommended by friends. He responded promptly to our inquiry, arrived very close to time and did a neat and thorough job. Very pleased.
Elizabeth, Buckinghamshire03/04/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Annual boiler service. Prompt, professional and friendly - all for a competitive price. Would recommend John to anyone.
greg lumsden22/03/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service.
James, Buckinghamshire15/12/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up when he said he would. Did a very thorough job. Found a part missing on the condensate drain of my boiler that nobody else had checked before. Will definitely use for other jobs.
David, Middlesex06/12/2017
Good value service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Scott Maintenance on the basis of Which? Trusted Traders recommendations after being let down too many times by a larger national company. John Scott was able to squeeze in an annual boiler service at short notice and did a thorough, good value job. Just one niggle, I would have welcomed a call when he was running 40 minutes late because of previous jobs.
Stuart, Buckinghamshire04/12/2017
Professional and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fixed a faulty gas boiler and gave straightforward advice when requested. Very easy to work with!
David, Hertfordshire04/12/2017
Genuine, prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a landlord I need a company to rely on to take care of any plumbing or heating maintenance at a reasonable cost. That's why I recommend SMS Ltd.
Edward, Hertfordshire29/11/2017
Friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Scott was easy to contact on his mobile. He came as arranged to service out boiler. He was very friendly and did a very good job as well as checking the boiler, he cleaned it thoroughly (which was not done by my previous engineer). I would have no hesitation in recommending him.
Irene, Middlesex10/11/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Returned my call within 2 hours as stated. Gave good advice and came as soon as possible to fix my boiler.
Amelia, Buckinghamshire08/11/2017
Annual Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Clean, efficient, polite, and fairly priced. No hesitation in recommending
Queffurus23/10/2017
Brilliant, prompt, Professional as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual his approach is of a professional manner, I would always recommend him.
Bernard, Hertfordshire19/10/2017
Couldn't be Better
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I couldn't have asked for better service. A quick and comprehensive response to my original enquiry about the replacement of a couple of TRVs, followed by the (non-urgent) work being carried out promptly and at a fair price.
Saw17/10/2017
The trader replied (on 21/10/2017)
Thanks Mr Saw
Excellent - as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great boiler service from John. Been using for 4 years now, and will continue to do so.
Mat, Hertfordshire12/10/2017
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Answered enquiry promptly, no delay in appointment. Arrived on time, worked efficiently and professionally, and answered all questions intelligently and well. Very, very pleased!
Colin, Hertfordshire28/09/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks Colin
prompt, professional and Courtesy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Scott is well respected professional. We have employed him for many years in plumbing work. Since we are profoundly deaf with no speech, Mr Scott's use of fingerspelling is wonderful.
Alex, Middlesex25/09/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks for the review Alex, yes I am able to communicate with Deaf people using sign language (not the best but I get by!) so please text or email me if you need my services or advice - John
Helpful and Cheerful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always happy to come over ASAP if there is a problem. Quick fix didn't last so re arranged his day to be able to come back to service boiler and fit new parts so we had heating and hot water.
Sue, Hertfordshire15/09/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks Sue
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John answered my call straight away and came to look at a faulty water pump at a time to suit me , he provided the quote the same day and completed the job efficiently. I would agree with all the other reviews that the service he provided was friendly, efficient and reliable. I would certainly recommend him.
Suzanne, Rickmansworth22/08/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks Suzanne
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bathroom tap leaking after 17 years. Got replacement ceramic valves & fitted them. Got parts by taking photos of parts & tap.
A, Hertfordshire09/08/2017
Prompt, efficient, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John carried out the annual boiler service and fixed a small leak under the sink. No fuss, no mess, always reliable.
David, Middlesex04/08/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks David
Very responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SMS responded quickly to an unexpected water leak. They identified the source of the leak and repaired it quickly and efficiently. Very helpful and courteous.
Stephen, Buckinghamshire03/08/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks Stephen
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the first time I have used Which? trusted traders. John Scott was polite, professional and worked efficiently. Clean and tidy work. I will certainly use Scott Maintenance Services again.
Janet, Hertfordshire02/08/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks Janet
Top quality & professional (A1)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reassuring to find a reliable and trustworthy local gas engineer. Efficient and friendly - even happy to give advice after the job had been completed.
Norman, Hertfordshire26/07/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks Norman
Boiler Service - Very Pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called John regarding a boiler service, he was polite and helpful. He attended as agreed, on time, serviced the boiler at the agreed price. I will certainly use SMS again as it was hassle free and good value.
Paul, Hertfordshire13/07/2017
The trader replied (on 10/10/2017)
Thanks Paul
Excellent service - fast, friendly and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Discovered a leaking pipe on Sunday morning, spoke to John on Sunday afternoon and he arrived at my house at 10:30am Monday. Repaired the leak quickly and charged a very fair price. Excellent service and would recommend to anyone.
Greg Lumsden12/06/2017
Prompt, professional, efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recommended without reservations.
Paul, Hertfordshire08/06/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always a pleasure to have this trader.
Eileen, Hertfordshire06/06/2017
Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John saved us today and restored out central heating/hot water. A very quick, same day response, John talked me through the fault and there was transparency about cost. Very pleased.
Claire, Hertfordshire31/05/2017
Prompt, professional, courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First time of using this trader, I found him excellent, and I would not hesitate to recommend him, and I certainly use him again.
Tessa, Hertfordshire24/05/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Helpful, clean, friendly, very good service
Katharina, Hertfordshire23/05/2017
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having spent 2 days trying to find a plumber, leaving messages on their answer phones & no one returned my call, my niece recommended John Scott of SMS Ltd, he answered my call immediately, repaired a leaking pipe all within one hour. Excellent service.
Irene, Middlesex13/03/2017
An exceptional plumber.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fast, efficient and high quality service.
David, Hertfordshire02/03/2017
Prompt and professional and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All as above - prompt and professional. Very good.
Alan, Middlesex20/02/2017
Really good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy with the work, the explanations and the considerate service. Thanks.
Patrick, Middlesex07/02/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good workmanship. No problems with obtaining part. Very efficient.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer19/01/2017
Cool, calm and collected
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt and professional service. Knows what he's doing. Fair price. Neat & clean.
Ross, Hertfordshire18/01/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Annual service on boiler. Commission & test.
John, Hertfordshire18/01/2017
Central heating services.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work was carried out in good order.
James, Buckinghamshire12/01/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Scott Maintenance Services over the years and have found John very professional. I have been very happy with the service form John. Well done.
Som, Middlesex16/12/2016
Excellent boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although John turned up 40 min late, he was polite, did a thorough job and was helpful. It has taken some time to get a Gasafe person to actually do the job and I'll be using John again.
Keith, Hertfordshire15/12/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional & prompt. Worked till late so it was completed in one day. Left flat clean & tidy, you would not have known they had been working all day.
Barbara, Hertfordshire13/12/2016
Central heating fix
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can highly recommend Scott Maintenance Service and especially John who, apart from being a good guy, is efficient, friendly and very good at his job. Trusted service at all times.
Howard, Buckinghamshire08/12/2016
Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was a very efficient worker. He completed all jobs quickly. Very friendly. He connected radiator, cleaned boiler and fixed a leaking pipe under sink. I would use John again.
Happy Customer06/12/2016
Impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John from Scott Maintenance came to look at problem. Got part. Came back & fixed. Very prompt, reliable & tidied everything when done. Very good. Many thanks. Will recommend highly.
Amanda, Middlesex22/11/2016
Good work at short notice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Central heating boiler repaired same day as fault reported. Friendly, honest, punctual & professional service.
David, Hertfordshire18/11/2016
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When John appears at the door, I instantly forgot all my worries about the broken boiler and when he leaves, I have no more worries and am warm again.
Monica, Buckinghamshire15/11/2016
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, tidy and very courteous and would definitely recommend him.
Brian, Hertfordshire12/11/2016
Friendly and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John has serviced our condensing boiler for the past three years. He has done a thorough job each time, not like the engineers used by a large conglomerate that we used to employ. Arrives on time, very obliging to our requests, leaves everything clean and tidy. I would certainly recommend.
Graham, Hertfordshire08/11/2016
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class service. Would recommend highly.
Ann, Hertfordshire04/11/2016
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always polite, efficient, on time, clean and tidy. Very happy.
Anonymous02/11/2016
Usual first class job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had no heat as the boiler broke down. I left a phone message on Sunday evening & John Scott rang back that evening. he attended Mon. P.M. & returned Tues. A.M. with the new part. He has been my gas & plumbing chap for 5 years.
John, Middlesex01/11/2016
Thoroughly professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Scott outfitted 3 bathrooms, a large kitchen and installed a number of radiators as well as carrying out several repairs. All work was carried out to a high standard and we are delighted with the results. John is courteous and timely. His prices are fair and reasonable. I would recommend him for any job large or small.
John B27/10/2016
Prompt and professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time in the last couple of months we've used the services of Scott Maintenance, and have received exemplary service on both occasions. Have no reservations for recommending.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer24/10/2016
Could not have been more helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler went down on the morning of my son's graduation so no hot water! I called John who was away on holiday but he voicemail said to e-mail if it was an emergency. He came straight back saying he was home on Monday if that was not too late and made an appointment for 9.30am to come and fix the boiler and do its annual service. He was prompt, clean and tidy and always cheerful and friendly. Would highly recommend him, he did a small other job for me too and just charged a very reasonable time basis.
Sue P26/09/2016
Great work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Scott did plumbing work at my home; this included changing the taps to my kitchen sink. He did a brilliant job and I had no complaints at all. The customer service and quality of work was excellent, and I was happy with the price I paid. Great work!
Anonymous, Herts12/07/2016
Brilliant work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Scott and another worker came to my home and installed a boiler and numerous radiators. They did a great job and I was extremely happy with the work. It was all completed to time and to budget and I would highly recommend the company. The quality of work was also excellent!
Stuart, Hertfordshire08/07/2016
Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Scott repaired my power shower and also replaced ballcock. He did an excellent job and I would highly recommend him. The customer service and quality of work was also great.
C, Hertfordshire14/05/2016