We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Sean Poulter Ltd T/A The Gas Company

Profile thumb vanpicjpeg

5.0

42 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:30–17:00
  • Monday 09:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:30–17:00
  • Thursday 09:30–17:00
  • Friday 09:30–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are a small family run business in Doncaster established for over 20 years. Our engineers are highly qualified with over 60 years combined experience. We are happy to deal with all things gas in the domestic, commercial and industrial sectors. We are also qualified to carry out work on LPG appliances and installations. We will happily quote for any central heating installations or boiler changes free of charge. Our forte is gas appliance installation, repair and servicing, and we offer a contract servicing agreement for a fixed fee per month/year.
Please call our office with your query and our staff will be ready and willing to offer whatever assistance is necessary.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Gas installers

    • Gas Fires
  • More Services

    • lpg service and repair
    • cooker repair and installation

Customer reviews

5.0
42 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Great Work and Committment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This Company have serviced my boiler for 10 years with the odd issue being easily resolved over that time with no problems. Between Xmas and New Year the boiler developed faults and was resolved with prompt call outs however despite doing everything possible more problems developed when I was away on holiday early February. The company liaised closely with my son and set about trying to fix the issues which were somewhat temperamental and spasmodic with no definitive cause being self evident However they were not to be outdone and eventually called in the manufacturer (at their expense) to fix the problem though unfortunately that was no help either. To their credit they would not give up and shone through a few days later, re assessing everything that had been done replacing further parts and some pipework in order to solve the issue and give me both heat and hot water! My system is now working perfectly and probably hasn't been this good for a couple of years With this example of such great service and commitment I have no qualms about recommending this company to anyone who needs someone they can rely on to get the job done
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 01/04/2020 , work completed 02/03/2020
Delighted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely brilliant, would recommend then to everybody else. Clean, efficient, stuck to quote.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 24/10/2019 , work completed 24/10/2019
Professional and courteous.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andrew arrived at the agreed time and immediately set to work. He was professional, courteous and completed the job quickly. He explained what he was doing and why. Wish all tradesmen were so good and I would recommend this company. Thank you so much.
Keith Sayers Posted on 10/10/2019 , work completed 09/10/2019
A great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler was fitted by this firm several years ago. They have serviced it annually and always been on time and efficient in their work.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 12/08/2019 , work completed 11/07/2019
Great Trusted Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a tradesman myself I find the Gas Company very professional, very trust worthy, and technically very good. Myself and my family have used them for years. Mainly for servicing and repair of my Combi Boiler. Highly recommended.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 30/07/2019 , work completed 30/07/2019
Friendly efficient service by all members of staff.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company for over 10 years having my old boiler serviced, a new boiler installed and having that boiler serviced. I have found all the staff helpful and friendly and would have no hesitation in recommending them. I have recommended them in the past by word of mouth.
Carol, South Yorkshire Posted on 13/07/2019 , work completed 09/07/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new boiler and an overhaul of the pump/wiring/thermostat/piping...not a small job. Sean planned and carried out the work meticulously and professionally and without creating any mess, while he also took away the old rubbish. We were delighted with the end product - and when Sean had finished, a bottle of plonk and flowers for the missus were a lovely touch. We'd thoroughly recommend the Gas Company to anyone. Great work excellently done.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 18/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
FANTASTIC RESPONSE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Weekend before Christmas boiler ceased to work. Made the call to the gas company and had a response 08:30 on Christmas eve morning. Someone attended my home by 09:30. Excellent response time and fantastic for going the extra mile to have my boiler up and running again. I have a service plan with the gas company and it is worth every penny. all the staff have an excellent friendly attitude and will go the to the neth degree to sort out any problems or issues. Well done the gas company..
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 06/02/2019 , work completed 24/12/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service throughout, very professional attitude and extremely tidy within our property.
Kevin, South Yorkshire Posted on 02/01/2019 , work completed 02/01/2019
Very efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used this firm for the first time last year, I was very impressed, so I have used them again. A fast, efficient service which I would recommend.
Wendy, South Yorkshire Posted on 29/11/2018 , work completed 29/11/2018
Professional and Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Gas Company installed my boiler and fire over 16 years ago and have also been to service these every year since. They are an excellent company, arriving on time, courteous and professional in their work. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 27/11/2018 , work completed 27/11/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been with this company for about 4 years now and we couldn't be more pleased with the excellent service they provide. They are thoroughly professional, friendly, and we would have no hesitation in recommending them.
David, South Yorkshire Posted on 14/11/2018 , work completed 14/11/2018
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent company, very organised and efficient. Took time to show me how to charge my Worcester if this is ever necessary. My service plan offers better benefits than my B. Gas plan.
David, South Yorkshire Posted on 12/11/2018 , work completed 12/11/2018
Pipework genius
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent worker, very professional, approachable and thorough. Tidy and reliable. A problem solver and pipework genius. Installed new boiler and upgraded gas and water pipework. Brilliant job. Highly recommendable.
Mel, South Yorkshire Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended to this company & was very impressed. They turned up on time & quickly established the problem with boiler/pump. He was thorough & professional & would not hesitate to recommend.
Bobbie, South Yorkshire Posted on 15/02/2018 , work completed 15/02/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been customers of the Gas Company since 2005 and are very satisfied with them and would recommend them to my best friend.
Charles, South Yorkshire Posted on 06/02/2018 , work completed 06/02/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Despite one of the coldest days of the year Sean arrived on time and completed the installation of a new boiler in our garage on time. Sean is courteous and efficient and I would recommend him to anyone.
Tom, South Yorkshire Posted on 05/02/2018 , work completed 05/02/2018
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with all the work that was done.Thank you!
Betty, South Yorkshire Posted on 23/01/2018 , work completed 23/01/2018
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After leaving a phone call when office closed regarding faulty boiler, was told next day engineer would call same day. Cheerful, friendly, diagnosed fault and replaced parts promptly. Would always recommend The Gas Company.
Wendy, South Yorkshire Posted on 18/01/2018 , work completed 18/01/2018
The trader replied (on 07/02/2018)
Thank you for the kind words. We're happy we could help.
Trustworthy, Professional & Efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From receiving our quote, to completion of work, we where delighted with the Gas Company (Sean) from start to finish his workmanship & professionalism stood out. "I would not hesitate to use him again or recommend him to anyone" P.s he is the only tradesman I've trusted & given a key to for 4 days and left him to do the job unsupervised & certainly have no regrets.....
Paul McMurray Posted on 11/01/2018 , work completed 11/01/2018
The trader replied (on 07/02/2018)
Thank you so much Mr & Mrs McMurray for your review. It was a pleasure to work for you and we're thrilled you are pleased with the work. Our Kindest Regards
Boiler service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It's not what the job is, it is the way it is done. Our service was carried out in a calm and professional manner. The gas company is a friendly and helpful company. Will certainly use them again.
Roy, South Yorkshire Posted on 11/01/2018 , work completed 11/01/2018
Always prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this trader regularly over a number of years. he is trusted by me and gives consistently excellent quality, reliable service.
Louella, South Yorkshire Posted on 05/01/2018 , work completed 05/01/2018
Brilliant job / professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would recommend Mr Sean Poulter to other customers. We had a good experience in having gas fireplace completed.
Hani, South Yorkshire Posted on 03/01/2018 , work completed 03/01/2018
First class job and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler breakdown just before Xmas. Responded within an hour. Arrived 1030am, solved problem - had to trace parts required. Collectively job finished by 2.30. Very pleased and relieved.
Derek, South Yorkshire Posted on 22/12/2017 , work completed 22/12/2017
Highly recommended - professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would definitely recommend The Gas Company to family and friends, reasonable pricing, professional services provided. I feel confident with my boiler and should I have any problems I would definitely call back The Gas Company, clean and tidy work.
Claire, South Yorkshire Posted on 19/12/2017 , work completed 19/12/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy and delighted how good & efficient the gas company was. The new boiler was fitted with little mess and surprisingly quicker than I expected. The little mess that ensued was cleaned away by Mr Poulter. He then went on to explain how the controls work instead of just leaving the instructions. Can't fault him.
David, South Yorkshire Posted on 07/12/2017 , work completed 07/12/2017
Good professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of existing gas pipe and fitting a new one. Professional, efficient and good value.
Brian, South Yorkshire Posted on 02/12/2017 , work completed 02/12/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used him since he set up 20 years ago and have always been satisfied with work and service received, will continue to use indefinitely.
Tracey, South Yorkshire Posted on 01/12/2017 , work completed 01/12/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a replacement boiler fitted - excellent workmanship - minimum mess.
Michael, South Yorkshire Posted on 22/11/2017 , work completed 22/11/2017
First class installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Delighted with the service provided by The Gas Company. Sean installed a new gas boiler and hot water cylinder, replaced 7 radiators and fitted new system controls with the minimum of fuss. I would not hesitate to use this company again.
Jackson Posted on 20/11/2017 , work completed 20/11/2017
Extremely efficient and considerate
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A brilliant job done by this member. Thoroughly proficient, considerate and hard-working throughout. Thoroughly trustworthy in all respects, I would highly recommend this company to those seeking help. I have been with this firm for many years a client and very happy to continue with them.
Val, South Yorkshire Posted on 13/11/2017 , work completed 13/11/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sean worked efficiently and tidied up after work each day. He was pleasant and polite and we are delighted with the result.
Sheila, South Yorkshire Posted on 30/10/2017 , work completed 30/10/2017
Engineering Excellence with rare good humour
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having spent 45yr's in the engineering world. I was impressed by breadth of Sean's engineering knowledge and his meticulous attention detail. He took the time to explain each phase of the installation and highlight how to run the boiler at its most efficient. The family were also beneficiaries of his good humour and ready wit. I would happily recommend the tradespeople involved within the Gas Company to anyone requiring gas services, particularly boiler fitment, replacement. Including the peripherals involved. honourableoneill, 20/10/2017.
Hugh O' Neill Posted on 20/10/2017 , work completed 20/10/2017
High standard of work, knowledge and professionalism.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed new boiler, controls, associated parts and pipe work. Punctual, clean and tidy throughout. Excellent job. Alan Conisbrough 6/9/2017
gtrider Posted on 08/10/2017 , work completed 08/10/2017
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional service from contact to conclusion. Following clear communication with Fiona. Shaun arrived as agreed and carried out a clean re-siting of hot and cold supply in kitchen and to bathroom prior to new kitchen fit. Highly recommended.
Denise, Doncaster Posted on 03/09/2017 , work completed 03/09/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used the Gas Company for servicing our old boiler for a number of years. When it came time for a replacement, Sean fitted our new boiler with the minimum of fuss and disruption, and at an exceptionally good price. Can't praise his work highly enough.
simonships Posted on 09/03/2017 , work completed 09/03/2017
Trustworthy and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using this trader for a number of years now very professional in their work and leave everything clean and tIdy when work is completed.
Happy Customer Posted on 23/09/2016 , work completed 23/09/2016
Highly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had The Gas Company round to repair a boiler fault which was quickly diagnosed, part ordered and replaced. Re-booked the engineer to install a kitchen tap and room thermostat and he did a fabulous job. They arrive on time, do the job, clean up after themselves and are reasonably priced. A company who you can trust! I will use these guys again in future for all plumbing and heating jobs we have.
Dawn, Doncaster Posted on 21/09/2016 , work completed 21/09/2016
Happy Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a new boiler installed by Sean, it was as if he hadn't been here. Neat, clean & very polite. Highly recommended.
Happy Customer Posted on 14/09/2016 , work completed 14/09/2016
Good, clean, neat job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Delivered as agreed with no hassle - Most reliable trader.
Elton, South Yorkshire Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
Superb service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, expert service at a very good price. Superb standard of work. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Gas Company again.
Kerry, South Yorkshire Posted on 02/06/2016 , work completed 02/06/2016
Respond very quickly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed new boiler and stopped a small leak we had. They have always been great and we have used them for some time. They respond very quickly, are very professional and tidy. I've recommended them to all my friends.
Helen, Doncaster Posted on 01/08/2014 , work completed 01/08/2014