We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Splash of Colour Painters & Decorators LTD

Profile thumb 6455068d 197a 4a04 8919 5170dfcbc52b

5.0

94 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–18:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

Jan 20
Jul 2019

About

Who are Splash of Colour painters Decorators LTD

We are a small family business and take a pride in our work. Glasgow’s leading Painting & Decorating company with years of experience in the painting and decorating industry, we are happy to carry out work on new and old properties, both commercial and domestic. Our excellent reputation and expertise has been built on paying close attention to detail and taking a pride in the work we produce. Building strong business relationships with our customers is of the utmost importance to us.
Splash of Colour has Which? Trusted Traders accreditation to give our customers the peace of mind that comes from knowing that they are in safe hands throughout the process we won which? Trusted trader of the month 2018 and where shortlisted for trader of the year in London 2019 where we where runners up and where awarded certificate of distinction 2019 have just won which ? Trusted trader of the month January 2020
We carry all the necessary insurance policies.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
  • Plastering

    • Coving
    • Flat ceilings
    • Skimming
  • More Services

    • specialist sprayers
    • wallpaperhanging
    • polished plastering

Customer reviews

5.0
94 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Work in the close just as good as indoors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and his team painted our entire flat earlier this year and when we needed some work done in the close, we had no hesitation in giving them a call. The attention to detail, the care in preparation and the stunning finish were every bit as good in the less prestigious areas as they were in the flat itself. These guys take great pride in the work they do and it really shows.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 22/06/2020 , work completed 22/06/2020
Outside house painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time we've used SplashofColour - this time for the outside of our house - windows, mullions between windows, storm doors, vestibule area. Shaun did an excellent job, including burning back old layers of paint on our storm doors, using paint with sand in it to match our sandstone on the mullions. Very high quality finish of work, super nice guys - would definitely recommend!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 07/06/2020 , work completed 25/05/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 09/06/2020)
Hi Isobel Danny thank you again for the fantastic review We are really pleased you liked our work again is always a pleasure work you for you guys we always try to work to a high standard as you know this what you get when you use a which?trusted trader kind regards Shaun McKay
Great guys who do great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and his team did a great job painting every wall in our flat. They were great to work with, delivered what they said they would, kept us informed at every stage and were really professional. We couldn't be more happy with the result.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 04/06/2020 , work completed 06/03/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 08/06/2020)
Hi Duncan thanks for taking the time to leave us this nice review it’s really Appreciated we are really pleased you liked our work and if you ever require our services in the future just give us a call kind regards Shaun mckay
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Splash of Colour team did a fantastic job in updating our old kitchen units. From the word go Shaun was approachable and easy to deal with and he kept us regularly up to date as the works progressed. The spray paint finish has brought our rather dated pine kitchen bang up to date and we couldn't be happier. He has even promised to pop back to fit our new handles once we've picked some out. I would have no hesitation in recommending his services to others and would certainly use him for any future jobs.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 19/03/2020 , work completed 17/03/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 31/03/2020)
Hi we at Splashofcolour are really pleased you liked our work the kitchen looks fantastic now and we will be back to fit handles when you get them I’d like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review when you are so busy kind regards Shaun mckay
Transformed our house!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and team did a fantastic job painting our hallway, stairs, living room, kitchen/dining room. They stained our banister so that upstairs extension matched the downstairs original wood, and sprayed our cornicing and walls so it they have a perfect finish. We had other tradespeople in doing kitchen/carpets/flooring, and Shaun coordinated timing of painting each room wonderfully to accommodate. Really professional, pleasant guys. We'll definitely be using them again to paint the outside of our house :)
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 11/03/2020 , work completed 08/11/2019
Another faultless job from Splash of Colour
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used SOC 5 years ago to completely redecorate our flat and based on that faultless experience, they were our first and only choice for reparation after a flood last August into our lounge - ruined! They offered brilliant advice and competitive pricing as before and yet again, have done a faultless job. My only colour ever is bright white which is pretty unforgiving if not done to a high standard...Excellent! I am one very happy customer (sadly not so often these days) It truly is a family business who take pride in their work and unusually ensure that anyone who is working with them upholds the same values. I have absolutely no doubt if, for any reason, I need to contact them - they will be on it - these guys really are ‘trusted traders’
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 06/03/2020 , work completed 06/03/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 10/03/2020)
Hi Kyria bob Thanks for the fantastic review it’s always a pleasure to work with you I am really pleased you liked our work again and we have Maintained the high standards thanks for taking the time to leave a review it’s really appreciated kind regards Shaun mckay
Kitchen and bedroom transformation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new kitchen installed including fancy lights and fittings. Splash of Colour then came in Covered all units and lights , prepared all walls and ceilings filling in holes etc. Then painted total kitchen without any damage or paint on new units. They advised Us on colours and they sprayed our old wooden and glass doors The Same colour as walls and the effect is amazing. Paint job 100%. Left job clean tidy and disposed of all the rubbish . We had a fantastic kitchen for Christmas . They also painted a bedroom and en suite at the same time and again an amazing job. I would highly recommend them .
Customer in East Dunbartonshire Council Posted on 26/02/2020 , work completed 21/12/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 06/03/2020)
Hi sheila we are really pleased you and your family liked our work and thanks for Leaving this great review as I understand you are really busy I think the new kitchen is stunning kind regards Shaun Mckay
Hallway and stairs painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and the team did a great job. Good advice about colour schemes and matched our suggested colours perfectly. Great work preparing all of the surfaces and Tony was careful and particular about painting. All in all really pleased with the work!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 10/02/2020 , work completed 13/12/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 12/02/2020)
Hi Shaun from Splashofcolour here we are really pleased you are happy with your new hallway stairs landing thanks for taking the time to leave a review as it’s really appreciated kind regards Shaun Mckay
Outstanding customer service and work ethic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After being severely let down by our builder with regard to the standard of plastering and decorating I put out an SOS call to Splash Of Colour as I have used them before and trust them implicitly. They quickly came round, saw the stress on my face and instantly assured me they could fix it and fix it they have and more. From when I made the call they have kept in constant communication and worked tirelessly to ensure that we got a perfect finish. Young Shaun even worked over the Christmas period, including New Years day, which was nothing short of incredible. By viewing another tradesman's horrendous workmanship as a challenge they have literally saved our new dream kitchen/diner from becoming a nightmare and we will forever be grateful for what they have done. Their customer service is superb, they work extremely hard striving for perfection and I cannot recommend them enough.
Paul Posted on 26/01/2020 , work completed 22/01/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 30/01/2020)
Hi Paul thanks for the great review we could see how upset you and you family where with the horrendous work you were left By the Builder plastering decorating was shocking I did not mind giving up Christmas new year to rectify all the work-now we have it all sorted and you have your dream extension really hope you enjoy kitchen/dining room and hope the kids love the new bedroom as it all looks fantastic now that’s why You should always use a which?trusted trader in the future kind regards Shaun mckay
Very Pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Slash of Colour address the refurbishment of two large bedrooms, consisting of wall and ceiling preparation by way of stripping and lining, prior to painting, together with addressing all the woodwork therein i.e. doors, windows, skirting etc. Fantastic job completed on time and 100% to our satisfaction. Shaun and his team were extremely professional and reliable throughout the period of the works and with an exceptional level of all round quality. We look forward to having them carry out more decorative work within our home..
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 21/01/2020 , work completed 14/12/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 31/01/2020)
Robert thanks for the review really pleased you and you wife like our work And will see you soon to start your living room kind regards Shaun Mckay
Unparalled Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of colour you are amazing! I own a 7,500 sqft doggy daycare centre which has undergone huge renovations. To most this would be an insurmountable task but not Splash of Colour. The father and son duo have gone above and beyond to ensure a speedy service without compromising quality. Their state of art sprayers have created a beautiful finish in our reception which I did not think would be possible on the original slat wall. We have breeze block throughout the centre and again the finish SOC have created is exceptional. During renovations we have had a number of tradesmen working which could have caused numerous issues for the painters. This did not phase SOC and despite muddy hands on the walls and copious amounts of dust the finished article is immaculate. Splash of colour offer an unparalleled service and I would be delighted to recommend them as our preferred painter.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 06/01/2020 , work completed 06/01/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 04/02/2020)
Hi robin we are really pleased you like our work it was a big job due to the size of the property we did not mind working over the festive period to get this work completed so you could re-open dog days your reception area looks stunning we did say to you that spraying was the answer and the Most important thing to us if you would liked our work that’s what you get when you use a which?trusted trader kind regards Shaun mckay
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good quality of workmanship, very considerate, tidy, and punctual. Noticeably hard working. Not in the least bit intrusive or demanding- would have been happy to supply tea/coffee biscuits but always politely declined! Felt confident in their services from first contact, and would certainly recommend; hope to have them do more decorative work for us soon.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 24/12/2019 , work completed 19/12/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 04/02/2020)
Thanks for leaving us a review we understand you are very busy and Appreciate you taking the time kind regards Shaun mckay
Kitchen redecorating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun did an excellent job in redecorating our kitchen.He was thorough and very professional and he will be coming back to do another job in 2020.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 15/12/2019 , work completed 11/12/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 16/12/2019)
Hi Frank thanks for the nice comments about my work really pleased you are happy with the kitchen kind regards Shaun mckay
Great job, fantastic quality finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun did a terrific job painting our entire dining room, which included some tricky cornices and a lot of woodwork! He has terrific attention to detail and delivered a really high quality finish, the room looks fantastic and we’re delighted with it. Also very clean and tidy, left the room spotless at the end of the job. Delighted with the job, would recommend without hesitation and would happily use again. Thank you again!
Customer in West Dunbartonshire Council Posted on 10/12/2019 , work completed 28/11/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 16/12/2019)
Hi thanks for the fantastic review I’m really pleased you liked my work I always go out my way to produce a first class finish I’d like to thank you again For taking the time to leave the review when you are so busy kind regards Shaun mckay
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had Shaun’s company to paint all the walls, ceilings and woodwork in the flat bar one room. They had a very professional attitude and a great attention to detail. Also very friendly and had a good laugh with them. Definitely recommended.
Customer in West Dunbartonshire Council Posted on 30/11/2019 , work completed 15/11/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 03/12/2019)
Hi Allan thanks for the nice comments about my company really pleased you liked our work kind regards Shaun Mckay
Perfect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wouldn’t give a second thought to hiring again or recommending to friends and family. Great communication throughout, very competitive prices and a top quality finish. Very happy with the work and it is clear customer satisfaction is their number one aim.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 30/11/2019 , work completed 28/11/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 10/12/2019)
Hi Dan thanks for the review it’s really appreciated you have taking the time to leave one really pleased you liked our work kind regards Shaun Mckay
Excellent and professional on a difficult job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour extensively renovated two large bedrooms in an old house. This was a difficult and complex job from the start with plastering and woodwork to deal with. Other companies had not been prepared to take it on but Splash of colour were confident from the start and exceeded our expectations in all regards. We will be calling them as we continue renovating the house.
Customer in Falkirk Posted on 21/11/2019 , work completed 18/11/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 02/12/2019)
Hi Neil thanks for the great review really pleased you like our work if you ever need us just call kind regards Shaun Mckay
Plastering Wall 5m x 4m
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team did a fantastic job. Very professional, reliable, polite and tidy! Fitted us in to their busy schedule and completed the work quickly. Very pleased with the work carried out. Thank you very much!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 09/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 15/11/2019)
Thanks for taking the time to leave The review really pleased you liked our work Kind regards Shaun Mckay
Outside of house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job. Prep work and masking always carefully carried out. Job completed as soon as was possible, given variable weather conditions. Regularly, kept us informed of progress and systems being used. Very thorough and stuck to original quote.
Customer in East Dunbartonshire Council Posted on 29/10/2019 , work completed 28/10/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 04/11/2019)
Hi Alistair thanks for taking the time to leave us a review when you are so busy it’s really appreciated kind regards Shaun mckay
Kitchen re-spray
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Another great job. Re-spraying kitchen cabinets. Really pleased with the result and finish of the work.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 23/10/2019 , work completed 22/10/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 07/11/2019)
Hi Katie thanks for the nice review really pleased you like the kitchen it’s always a pleasure to work for you kind regards Shaun mckay
Great Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour made a fantastic job of replacing the mastic around my windows. A really friendly and informative team, they got back to me really quickly with quotes and dates to complete the work.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 16/10/2019 , work completed 01/09/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 24/10/2019)
Hi Karen thanks for the fantastic reviews you left my company it’s really appreciated that you have taking the time when you are so busy kind regards Shaun Mckay
Above and beyond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys were just what we needed. We bought the house last year and the spare bedrooms needed decorating. We had a feature wall of Laura Ashley wallpaper, with all other walls painted in Farrow & Ball colours. They recommended doing all the ceilings and woodwork which was something we wouldn’t have considered but created a much better final effect. The quote was adhered to. They worked cleanly, were respectful, professional and left a flawless job. Sadly on the last night we were broken into. At such a scary time I couldn’t have been more grateful for these guys. They went above and beyond to fit a lock on the kitchen internal door so that I would feel safe. We will use them again for the rest of the house. Thanks so much.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 15/10/2019 , work completed 05/04/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 24/10/2019)
Hi Heather thanks you so much for the fantastic review really pleased you liked the work We carried out for you we where Very concerned you did not feel safe in your new home we could see you where very upset that’s why we fitted new lock to your kitchen door if you ever needs us just call kind regards Shaun Mckay
The end of looking for painter/decorators - for ever.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour redecorated our Victorian-era house over 3 weeks. That included a couple of preliminary visits, a competitive quote and great communication throughout. The job required a huge amount of prep work. A few days were lost due to unpredictable equipment failure. To make up time, the team started early, stayed on late and got more men on the job. Shaun is very much someone who invests himself in what he does and goes the extra mile to make it as good as possible. He sets his own high standard. That kind of professionalism is a rare thing. The team works well together and has a strong work ethic. The attention to detail goes to minimising the disruption. Furniture is moved with care, floors and fittings protected and the house left in as clean a state as practicable at the end of the day. The quality of the work is excellent. We've had painters and decorators do work for us before, each time a bit of a gamble as to whether the people you hire are any good and trustworthy. I can confidently say we no longer need to go hunting . SOC is our go-to firm. It's no surprise that they were finalists in the 2019 Which? Trusted Trader awards. We've already recommended them to colleagues. Interestingly, it was SOC that drew our attention to Which? Trusted Traders. We'd found SOC on another platform, one features much more prominently in the media but without the rigour of the Which? vetting process. Perhaps Which? need to promote their "Trusted Traders" brand more.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 26/09/2019 , work completed 26/09/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 30/09/2019)
Hi Ajit we are really pleased you are happy with our work and thanks you for the fantastic review I did say thats what you get when you use a trusted trader And if you ever need us just call kind regards Shaun mckay
Fantastic high quality finish and would definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Splash of Colour Contractors come and re-decorate our living room, dining room and daughter's bedroom including re-painting of all walls, ceilings, woodwork, sash windows and cornicing. We are incredibly pleased with the results and the overall finish of all the rooms. They were very hard working throughout their time at our house and it is very obvious how much they care about their work. Shaun's attention to detail is unbelievable and if he isn't happy with something he will stay late to ensure it is perfect. The job did run slightly over time however I feel this is due to the high level of finish which they are striving for and would have no concerns about recommending them to anyone looking for a decorator. They went above and beyond what we were expecting and are looking forward to having them come back to decorate some more of our house in the future.
Rachaelb, Glasgow Posted on 06/09/2019 , work completed 06/09/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 13/09/2019)
Thanks Rachael for the great review really pleased you liked our work Attention to detail is everything with us and making sure the consumer is happy that’s why we are Glasgow’s no 1 decorators if you ever need our help just give us a call kind regards Shaun Mckay
Would recommend without hesitation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour went above and beyond both in the service they provided and the work itself. They took the time to do a thorough consultation before taking the job, talking through our original colour choices and showing use how they would look compared to alternatives. In the end we went with their colour recommendations and the house looks fantastic. The work itself was impeccable - they're Which recommended for a reason!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 02/09/2019 , work completed 20/08/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 03/09/2019)
Hi Lucy we are really pleased you liked our work and you and your family are settled in your new home we always try to give our advice so we can Achieve the best possible finish thanks for the Fantastic review kind regards Shaun Mckay
Excellent standard of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour painted the exterior of my house/garage and windows. It was done to an excellent standard and I was very impressed with their attention to detail. There is nothing slap dash about this company. They were as careful about the preparatory work as the painting itself and set aside time to tidy up at the end of the day. The job was done to the agreed budget. The staff were all very friendly and maintained regular contact to let me know where they were at in the job. I would highly recommend Splash of Colour and will definitely call on their services again.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 13/08/2019 , work completed 12/08/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 23/08/2019)
Hi Lindsay thank for taking the time to leave a great review for my company it’s really appreciated and really pleased you like our work the house looks fantastic now kind regards Shaun mckay
Maintaining excellence
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been looking to find a decorator like Billy Joiner who met the exacting standards that my mother set sixty years ago. As a boy I trailed Billy from room to room as he worked. He still achieved a great professional job. Two years ago, thanks to the Which Trusted Trader site, I found a worthy successor with Splash of Colour. They have done three jobs over the two years. This time they decorated a hallway and associated areas and repaired and painted a bathroom which had been damaged by rewiring. The most striking result was the renovation of 80 year old, oak, front doors. Shaun had indicated that he could achieve a striking transformation when he was working on earlier job at my house. He was right and I am delighted with the outcome. All the work was completed on time, with minimal mess, with great consideration for the constraints of family life and at very fair price. I highly recommend Splash of Colour and expect that they will be back for further jobs in the near future.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 19/07/2019 , work completed 12/07/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 24/07/2019)
Hi Chris thanks for the great review and your kind comments about my work and company we always try to maintain a high standard and only use High quality materials really pleased you liked the door I did say it would look Stunning kind regards Shaun mckay
External paintwork
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Splash Of Colour for external house painting which has just been completed. I was very impressed with their professionalism, courteous attitude and very high standard of workmanship. The job was scheduled a few weeks in advance and I was kept informed up until it started. The weather wasn't very good during the project time meaning they could not work certain days, Shaun always kept me up to date regarding this. They also repaired some brick work/rendering that had parted on the house, which I had expected to get another contractor to do. You can tell that they take pride in their work and it shows by how good the house is looking now. I will be recommending Splash of Colour to anyone looking, definitely worthy of a 5 star review!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 19/07/2019 , work completed 19/07/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 23/07/2019)
Thanks Donald for taking the time to leave a great review really appreciate it I did say it would be worth the wait we always try our best to help customers save money where we can kind regards Shaun Mckay
Windows and woodwork
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had "Splash of Colour" decorators round to carry out external painting of house windows and woodwork. I already had taken a quote from them to the cost of this work. Guys turned up on time on the date arranged. They had been recommended to myself by a friend as they were "which trusted traders". They certainly turned out to be a very professional outfit who pride themselves on giving the customer the painting finish that they are looking for. Could see for myself that only top quality paint was used by them for the outside painting work. Finished product looked great and will last for years. Through out the work I was kept informed, great attention to detail no clutter or mess was apparent. Previous to SOC turning up I had used workman from a different platform on a separate project with a different end result I have no hesitation on recommending "Splash of Colour" to anyone else who is looking for the best in the business. Don't chance it get the "best." Will be my first and only choice for any future work.
Robert Paterson, Glasgow City Posted on 17/07/2019 , work completed 13/07/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 23/07/2019)
Hi Robert thanks for the fantastic Review we try our best to produce a high standard thank your friend for recommending my company and if you need a trader in the future you now where to find the best traders kind regards Shaun Mckay
Amazing professionals who saved my flat from a rogue trader!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Splash of Colour to come out to review the painting work done in my flat by a person who I thought to be a legitimate painter as i found them on another 'professional' traders platform but who turned out to be a rogue trader. My flat was left in a dire state due to the poor quality of work and lack of care taken to cover flooring, prep walls and woodwork. When both Shaun and William came out to view my flat they were professional, courteous and took the matter very seriously. They could see how bad I felt about the situation and assured me they could help and help fast! 24hrs later, Shaun and William had rearranged jobs to accommodate coming out at the start of the following week to the commence work. They were mindful of my previous bad experience and kept me updated on a daily basis, and completed the work on time. For me that showed how the consumer/client is at the very heart of what they do. The standard of their work is exemplary and given they had to correct another person's work which made the job harder, the finish to my bedroom, bathroom, and hallway completely exceeded expectations. The quality of their work is matched to their attention to detail and is commendable. I look forward to contracting Splash of Colour again to complete my livingroom and kitchen and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for painter and decorators who deeply care about their profession and treating consumers well.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 07/07/2019 , work completed 05/07/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 09/07/2019)
Hi Sandeep really pleased you liked our work only glad we could help you out we will fix the rest of the flat for you no need to worry as a Which? Trusted traders we are 100% Committed to Produce high-quality finish and help client where we can thanks again for the fantastic review and when you need a trader you now know where to get one kind regards Shaun Mckay
Outside of House Transformed!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a treat it is to see our house totally transformed! Shaun and Shaun (and team) were asked to paint the whole of the exterior including all masonry and woodwork. Their attention to detail was impressive – both in their preparation and in the accurate finishing. Nothing was too much trouble and they did extra jobs without even being asked – e.g. they cleaned out our gutters while they were doing the soffits and made repairs to damaged woodwork. They were polite and friendly; liaising also with our neighbours to access the side wall of the garage, and it was a pleasure to have them on the premises. As the weather turned first too hot and then too wet and cold, Shaun was adamant that they would not compromise the quality of finish by starting in unsuitable conditions. Other contractors offered to start immediately but we decided to wait for Splash of Colour. In the interim they did some interior work for us that was done to such a high standard that we were sure we had made the right decision. And so it has proved to be. We are delighted and would recommend this terrific company without hesitation.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Posted on 30/06/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/07/2019)
Thanks John and lsobel for the Fantastic review I did say it would be worth the wait and really pleased with the Result your building looks fantastic now kind regards Shaun Mckay
Amazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient, enthusiastic, professional company. arrived on time, helped to choose colours and advised on decorating. Finished job was excellent 100% couldn't not fault, would use again.
Sheila Posted on 28/06/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/07/2019)
Thanks sheila for the great review really pleased you liked our work will see you soon for the rest of the decoration kind regards Shaun Mckay
Will definitely use again!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and the team painted 4 rooms in my house - fast, expert, competitively priced, perfect lines between white and feature walls. Really nice guys too, very courteous and tidy. Also gave me great advice on other work I’m planning around the house. Will definitely be using them again!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 10/06/2019 , work completed 07/06/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 11/06/2019)
Thanks Isobel really pleased you liked our work thanks for the great review as I said to you if you need our help just call kind regards Shaun Mckay
Professional / Top Quality Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour have done an excellent job in my home. Their professionalism and quality of work is top drawer and completed with my home and the end result as top priority. Some of the work in my home done by other contractors was not up to standard and the advice and support from Splash of Colour in rectifying these issues as well as fixing small issues themselves is something rare in the the renovation and decorating world, in my experience.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 03/06/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 04/06/2019)
Thanks Neil Susan for the great review it was a pleasure to work with you both really pleased you have moved in to your house now we try our best to help our customers that’s why we are a which?trusted trader if you need our help again just call regards shaun Mckay
Above and beyond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We arranged for our kitchen and hallway to be painted by the team. After a very friendly and reassuring consultation the guys went to work within a week or two. They were reliable, trustworthy and we were happy to lend them our keys to work in the empty house. Work was carried out to a high standard and they even went above and beyond by helping to repair a previously (poorly) repaired part of plaster on the ceiling. We will definitely be using them again for our next renovations!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 20/05/2019 , work completed 16/05/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 23/05/2019)
Thanks James Jennifer it was a pleasure to work with you both really pleased you liked our work and thanks for the lovely comments we like to help clients when we can and make things hassle free kind regards Shaun Mckay
Fab refurb of house exterior
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just had the outside of house repainted (both walls and woodwork) by Splash of Colour. The experience of dealing with this Company was first class . The workmanship and attention to detail was superb and went above and beyond what I expected. When quoting for the job everything that was required was explained in detail ie (Repairs required to roughcast and pointing on brickwork plus removal of ivy roots from wall). All of this work was completed to a high standard using high quality materials. A pleasure to deal with.
Customer in East Dunbartonshire Posted on 20/05/2019 , work completed 17/05/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 22/05/2019)
Hi tom thanks for the great review really pleased you and your wife liked the exterior painting of your house it was a pleasure to work with you kind regards Shaun Mckay
Excellent work, highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of colour carried out work to repair damage to our ceilings and exterior woodwork underneath our balcony, plus carried out paintwork throughout our house including large hallway (townhouse). Can't recommend them enough. First class repair work to the ceilings - you would never know there had been damage, and all paintwork completed to a v high standard. They also recommended a specialist durable paint for the hallway and colour matched it perfectly to the colour we'd requested. They made the whole process very stress free accommodating our busy lives and fitting in as and when suited. Will definitely be using them again and will be recommending to friends and family.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 11/05/2019 , work completed 03/05/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 14/05/2019)
Hi Lara thanks for the great review it’s Really appreciated we are always trying to improve the service we offer and make things hassle free for our clients if you ever need us just call kind regards Shaun Mckay
Still Absolutely Fabulous!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second time we have used Splash of Colour, this time for exterior and interior painting including a staircase. Once again great result with painstaking attention to detail. Highest possible recommendation. Gordon & Dorothy
Customer in East Dunbartonshire Posted on 03/05/2019 , work completed 01/05/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 14/05/2019)
Hi Dorothy it was a pleasure to work for you and Gordon again really pleased you like our work thanks for the great review kind regards Shaun Mckay
High standards and lovely service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So happy I found Splash of Colour through Which to decorate our large hallway and landing. I was very nervous about trying a new decorator but glad I spent time researching to come across Splash of Colour. They have been excellent. To date the plastering has been done to such a high standard so many people have commented already on how well it's been completed including other tradespeople, and that's before it has even been painted! Despite the quality, it was done in just a couple of days which included fixing badly damaged walls and uneven ceilings. Although not originally doing the tiling for our hallway, when our original tiler let us down and said the job couldn't be done due to the slant in our floor (it's a very old house!) The Shaun's stepped in! We had already bought Victorian tiles we loved and they suggested getting their tiler out to have a look who was happy to take on the challenge. Again in just a couple of days, our hallway has been transformed and the tiles look amazing!!! Wish I could share pics here! Looking forward to seeing the end result with the painting happening next, confident it will be amazing. Highly recommend Splash of Colour if you're looking for trustworthy decorators who will offer great advice and provide a high standard of finish. Super helpful and lovely to have working in your home. Thanks Shaun and Shaun!
Customer in South Lanarkshire Posted on 16/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 23/04/2019)
Hi Breda thanks for taking the time to leave the great review it’s really appreciated I’m glad we could help and you now have the plastering and floor tiles the way you wanted it done kind regards Shaun Mckay
The Super Shauns Strike Again!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reading back through the other recent reviews, I can only agree with them all 120%! There just isn't a bad review for a reason. The Shauns first came into our lives last year when we moved house and they painted the whole place for us. We were delighted. They were meticulous, professional and helpful, above and beyond. They are that rare company that really do give wonderful customer service. This was just a small job for them, creating a wonderful effect with two types of paint to make a hallway family proof. I'll have them speed dial for all future painting work and couldn't be more pleased to recommend them.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 12/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 16/04/2019)
Can’t thank this family enough for the work they have given and passed on to us.more than thankful hopefully see you again soon kind regards Shaun Mckay
Professional, helpful, friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The painting of our communal hall, staircase and very high, intricate ceilings was done to a very high standard. They were extremely tidy and nothing was too much trouble. Problem solving is part of their ‘thing’, and high ceilings and cracks which had other painters talking about scaffolding, were painted beautifully, with a minimum of fuss. Great guys, high standards, very helpful.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 12/04/2019 , work completed 24/08/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 17/04/2019)
Thanks for the fantastic review we really appreciated you taking the time to leave the review kind regards Shaun Mckay
Large hallway
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys painted our large hallway, including ceiling, doors and all woodwork. They took great care in prepping the walls and woodwork (removing layer upon layer of old paint!), and did a fantastic job with the painting. They're passionate about what they do and genuinely want to do a good job - and the end result shows this. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 06/04/2019 , work completed 05/04/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 12/04/2019)
Thanks Ross for taking the time to leave a review really appreciated If you ever need us in the future don’t hesitate to call kind regards Shaun Mckay
First Class Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had Splash of Colour paint two rooms and two bathrooms in my flat. I was really happy with the end result. Younger Shaun had spent a lot of time preparing the walls beforehand which isn’t something you always get with some painters. The result of this was a first class finish and he has a great attention to detail. He also provided ideas on colours to go for and I was really happy with how the colours appeared on the walls. I found both Shaun’s to be very knowledgeable, trustworthy, polite and they always left my flat tidy. The work was completed within the timeframe of 5 days and was also exactly on budget. They also provided me with a carbon monoxide tester when they thought they could smell gas from my boiler so they definitely look out for their customers! I would highly recommend them to anyone and I would definitely use them again, great job!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 28/03/2019 , work completed 08/03/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 09/04/2019)
Thanks Alison for the really nice review really pleased you like our work if you ever need us just give us a call kind regards Shaun Mckay
1 Bedroom West End Flat - Fully Painted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contract awarded to fully paint a one bedroom flat in Dowanhill Street. The work carried was to a high standard and regular updates were provided.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 20/03/2019 , work completed 01/03/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 30/03/2019)
Hi Chris really pleased you like the interior painting of your flat and the regular updates regards kind regards Shaun Mckay
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun McKay and his son are excellent with their workmanship, care and customer service. We were most certainly in safe hands with them, which was important whilst we live in Watford. Thank you once again for transforming our flat, so we can get a good price when it’s put on the property market.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/02/2019 , work completed 19/02/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 30/03/2019)
Hi guys really pleased you like the work from my company’s painting of of your property and it’s now on the market for sale kind regards Shaun Mckay
Complete Paint Job 2 Bedroom Flat
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted Splash of Colour at short notice to paint a 2 bedroom flat. Shaun provided a quote immediately at a fair price. Started the job as promised the following week and completed in 5 days, painting the whole place top to bottom. I hadn't touched the place for maybe 6 years and they completely transformed it!. Very good finish throughout, can't find fault. Very satisfied with the professional service, quality of workmanship and speed of completion. I would have no hesitation in recommending this firm to anyone.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 15/02/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 18/02/2019)
Hi Allan thanks for the great review really pleased you liked our work again regards Shaun mckay
Excellent work and very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had Splash Of Colour in to paint my living room. First flat and first time I've had anything like that done before since I moved in. Asked for a quote and was happily surprised! They then came and did a fantastic job. I'm very pleased with the work and their professionalism. Would highly recommend to anyone in the Glasgow area.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 10/02/2019 , work completed 07/02/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 14/02/2019)
We are really pleased you like our work thanks for the really nice review regards Shaun Mckay
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Splash of Colour to quote for painting eight rooms and a few extra bits, including some paper hanging, prior to moving in to our newly purchased Victorian house. Shaun's was not the cheapest quote but I respected the way he drew attention at the outset to what was needed to achieve a first class and lasting result and I also felt he was interested in the house and making it look its best, and even in the choice of colours. During the work his team were always friendly and relaxed. They were very thorough, paying great attention to detail. The job took a little longer than expected, owing to some worn out areas of plaster that needed replacing before the decorating could proceed. Shaun explained the problem, promptly organised a plasterer and was very reassuring throughout. Despite the delay Shaun stuck with his original quote, as he had said he would and I had regular updates on how the work was progressing. The quality of the work is really excellent. All the rooms look lovely and the finish is amazing, especially given the age of the building. My only regret is that we didn't get the remaining part of the house done at the same time! Thank you very much. A very reliable company which I'm sure we will return to at a future date.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 04/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 12/02/2019)
We are really pleased you liked our work thanks for the great comments regards Shaun Mckay
Excellent as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Splash of Colour on several occasions, always with complete confidence that the result will be of the highest quality. This time I contacted Shaun with a last-minute job to paint a bedroom and he gave up his weekend to fit us in. I am very grateful for his help on this occasion, as the room is looking beautiful for the person moving in on Friday!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 08/01/2019 , work completed 08/01/2019
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 25/01/2019)
Thanks for the great review really pleased you liked my work regards Shaun Mckay
Shower room and utility looking great!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a visit where Shaun gave us great confidence, we had the shower room and utility prepared and painted. This work was rather urgently needing done, and we were grateful to be fitted in by these very busy people before Christmas. A great experience - they turned up when they said they would, they were pleasant and thoughtful around the house, the level of preparation was extremely thorough and the final result and finish is superb. We have had a lot of work done in the house over the years, and we have never experienced such brilliant attention to detail. I have no hesitation in recommending Splash of Colour.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Posted on 14/12/2018 , work completed 11/12/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 12/01/2019)
Shaun here thanks for the great review really pleased you like my work regards Shaun mckt
Excellent job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our spare bedroom was flooded for the 3rd time in a year. Shaun dealt kindly and efficiently with it and was a calm influence on my high levels of stress, he realised that I only wanted the the minimum work necessary done and did not try to make the job bigger than it needed to be. He did extra beyond what I would have expected. He even brought an anti fungal spray for the base of the bed at no extra cost. I could trust him with my keys while I was away and the work was done to an excellent standard when I returned. I highly recommend Shaun and his company to anyone.
Sheila Posted on 14/12/2018 , work completed 14/12/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 14/12/2018)
Hi Sheila I am really pleased you liked the work it was a pleasure to work with you regards Shaun Mckay
Hard-working and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour have just finished painting my flat and I am really pleased with the job they have done, I love it. The standard of the finish is very high and I have already been complemented on it. I found Shaun to be extremely helpful and hard-working. The guys also kept the disruption to a minimum and were very efficient. I would not hesitate to recommend them to friends and family.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 04/12/2018 , work completed 01/12/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 14/12/2018)
Hi Gillian it’s nice to hear you liked the Standard of work we always try our best to make the client happy regards Shaun Mckay
Quality, quick, friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the process and from start to finish. Quote met expectations, work was started within two weeks of accepting he quote, all work was directed and supervised by proprietors to ensure the job was completed quickly, efficiently and to the highest standards. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful and able to offer constructive, informed advice when and where needed. Will definitely be using Splash of Colour again.
Chris Falconer Posted on 20/11/2018 , work completed 20/11/2018
Another excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second job that Splash of Colour has completed for us. Very pleased with the result. Considerate, attention to detail, high quality work and always very friendly.
Chris Kenyon Posted on 07/11/2018 , work completed 07/11/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 14/11/2018)
Hi Chris it was a pleasure to work with you again really pleased you liked my work thanks for the nice review regards Shaun Mckay
Delighted with the result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My hall which is over three floors was painted including extensive wood paneling. The transformation of the wood paneling was amazing. The team on site were very polite and worked incredibly hard to get the job done within two weeks. I am delighted with the result.
Anonymous Posted on 02/11/2018 , work completed 02/11/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 05/11/2018)
I would just like to say thanks for the great review really pleased you like our work
I would highly recommend Shaun
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am delighted with the paint work carried out by Shaun from ‘Splash of Colour’. Shaun is an extremely meticulous worker and has left us with beautifully painted walls. The guys were very reliable and friendly and I would definitely use the company again. In fact, they’re coming back next week to start another job for us!
Anonymous Posted on 29/10/2018 , work completed 29/10/2018
Excellent painters
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just had extensive paint work carried out in our house four large rooms and a hallway. We are delighted with the work done. The attention to detail has been meticulous and the job has been done to a very high spec. I would definitely recommend splash of colour to anyone who needs reliable and high quality workmanship.
Marianne, Which Reviewer Posted on 25/10/2018 , work completed 25/10/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 07/11/2018)
Marianne really pleased you like our work thanks for the great review regards Shaun mckay
Re-spraying of internal door and bedroom furniture
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used splash of colour before on my previous house I knew I would be using them again. After speaking to Shaun and discussing some ideas of what I was wanting to do in regards to decor. He recommend that instead of replacing my old doors and built in wardrobe doors through out the house that I should get them sprayed. I must admit it was an excellent decision. The finish is outstanding and the colours used are amazing. Would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking of replacing old for new. Stuff comes up like it's brand new and more cost effective than replacing.
C_daly Posted on 10/10/2018 , work completed 10/10/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 20/10/2018)
Thanks mr daly for the great review glad we could help you again regards Shaun mckay
First class team and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of colour completed a full internal and external make over of our three storey townhouse Their work standard and attention to detail is excellent including offering suggestions to improve the finished product During their period here they have also secured a new paint shop where they sprayed all our internal doors to a very high standard of finish There customer focus and finished product has been excellent throughout One additional point I would like to highlight is there willingness to go the extra distance to help the customer I was unfortunate to engage a rogue trader who was supposed to complete my drive way while We were on holiday This did not happen and I was left with a mess and out of pocket Fortunately due to the diligence and support from Spash of Colour I was able to track down and get my money back from the trader A big thanks to the guys for this
Keith, . Posted on 28/09/2018 , work completed 28/09/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 06/10/2018)
Hi Keith really pleased you like our work on your house it was a pleasure to work for you and really pleased you received your money back from the Rogue trader that’s why people use which trusted traders we always looking after the clients interest thanks again for the great review regards Shaun Mckay
3 ornate ceilings sprayed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and his team came to my house to spray three ceilings. All very detailed and ornate. From start to the finish of the job was always kept informed of events and when things were going to happen. More importantly, the finish on the ceilings was amazing. A beautiful flat perfectly even white, which I requested. Great family business, with an exceptional eye for detail and finish. We definitely get the guys back for more projects on my house.
Mxr14816 Posted on 27/09/2018 , work completed 27/09/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/09/2018)
Malcolm thanks for the review really pleased you like our work
Quick work, tidy, reasonably priced and an absolute pleasant to deal with!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and his team were an absolute pleasure to deal with throughout. Having had some damage done to our property we required some decorating work done in a timely manner. Having already been let down by 2 contractors we reached out to Splash of Colour and wished we had done so sooner. We were visited for a quotation the same evening and everything was taken care of (from colour matching the walls to protecting our furniture and floors). We were given a range of dates to choose from for the works to be conducted and most importantly were not let down on the day. Great communication throughout and works completed to a very high standard. We will be using them again without doubt!
Jamess Posted on 25/09/2018 , work completed 25/09/2018
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had used Splash of Colour about 5 years ago and were really impressed with their work. This time they painted all our external windows and front door as well as re-decorating our kitchen, bathroom and study. Not only are they the nicest people ever to have in your house, their work is impeccable and they always go the extra mile to make things as good as possible. In the kitchen as well as freshening up the paintwork, they re-sanded all the wood surfaces and made the kitchen look brand new. The bathroom too looks completely new as they took such care over every detail. Our study is completely beautiful now - they gave great advice over colour and have done a beautiful job of smoothing over any old cracks, lumps and bumps to make the whole job look really elegant. Love these guys! Well worth every penny!
Lindsay Posted on 08/09/2018 , work completed 08/09/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/09/2018)
Thanks Lindsay it always a pleasure to work for you thanks for the great review
We are now light and bright!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are a building with three flats, on three floors. We had the reception area and the entire stairway painted -- walls and ceilings. The work was completed in a timely manner and was beautifully done.
Dorene Posted on 30/08/2018 , work completed 30/08/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/09/2018)
I would like to thank you for the really nice review regards Shaun mckay
Extremely Happy Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I really could not have been happier with the truly excellent job they did for us painting our entire house top to bottom including all doors, skirting and garage. They were thorough and professional to a fault, and were happy to go not just the extra mile but the extra ten to make sure we were completely satisfied. Their pricing was fair and the costs transparent. The Shauns were delightful company to have around too! I have recommended Splash of Colour to several friends already and like many of the other customers on here, would not now use anyone else.
Rachel S Posted on 27/06/2018 , work completed 27/06/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/08/2018)
Hi Rachel thanks for the nice review It was a pleasure to work for you
This is what real value for money looks like!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is what true value for money looks like!! Shaun and the team painted the external rear wall of our house and our front storm doors. We had unexpectedly had our offer on a new property accepted, and needed to move fast to get our house on the market. Having contacted Shaun on Thursday, we had a site visit and a quote by Friday. They started work on the Monday and finished on-time for our photos later that week. The quote was very reasonable considering the time required by the team to complete the work. The finish, as always, was excellent and the team were friendly, a pleasure to have about the house and scrupulously tidy. Painting is a finishing trade, so tidiness is a good indicator of the level of finish quality you will get. It can also be quite intrusive when you are living in the property. Shaun and the team totally get this and so score full marks with me. This is the second time we have used Splash of Colour (before they were members of the scheme). Their delivery was just as good first time around so they are consistent. I will definitely be be using this contractor again, and will happily wait until they can accommodate me rather than risk poor service and quality with another firm. Well done Splash of Colour!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/05/2018 , work completed 28/05/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/08/2018)
Thanks for the nice review It’s really appreciated
Outstanding Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour painted our bathroom, kitchen, outside windows and front door. They are great people and highly skilful and always go the extra mile to be helpful. As well as painting the walls, they offered to sand down the wooden units in the kitchen which have become very stained over time and made the whole room look like a brand new kitchen. I trust them completely and would not use anyone else.
Lindsay, Glasgow, Which? Consumer Posted on 04/05/2018 , work completed 04/05/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/08/2018)
Hi Lindsay thanks for the really nice review It’s always a pleasure to work for you
I can highly recommend Splash of Colour
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can highly recommend Splash of Colour. They painted our big open plan office, meeting rooms and bathrooms. They always arrived on time and carried out the work (sometimes having to work around staff ) with minimum disruption. The work was completed to a very high standard. The guys were very polite and friendly.
Lorna Posted on 20/04/2018 , work completed 20/04/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/08/2018)
Hi Lorna thanks fro the review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can highly recommend Splash of Colour. They painted our big open plan office, meeting rooms and bathrooms. They always arrived on time and carried out the work (sometimes having to work around staff ) with minimum disruption. The work was completed to a very high standard. The guys were very polite and friendly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/04/2018 , work completed 12/04/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/08/2018)
Thanks for the review Really appreciated
Trustworthy and excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour were able to fit me in last minute to do a job in my new house. They suggested using a new technology to spray the walls because the finish would be better, although this sounded unusual I am glad I went with their advice. The finish is superb and has refreshed the whole house. Both Shauns are very friendly, professional and trustworthy. They worked to deadlines and budget. They also cleaned up after the work and gave me regular updates. Really do like the finished work and will definitely be a repeat customer.
Ben Coates Posted on 17/03/2018 , work completed 17/03/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/08/2018)
Hi Ben thanks for the great review
Trusted Tradesmen who really care!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time we've used Splash of Colour and we wouldn't dream of using any other firm for our decorating needs. They are thorough, diligent, tidy, turn up on time, go above and beyond and genuinely care about doing a fantastic job. They also helped us out recently when we were let down by an electrician and fixed two gaps in our light fittings (which wasn't part of the job). Can't recommend highly enough. If you're looking for reliable tradesmen to decorate your house stop now - you've found them. For information, Splash of Colour have decorated our entire house (four bedroom, two bathroom 19th century flat with ornate cornicing and period features).
Evelynmc Posted on 06/03/2018 , work completed 06/03/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/08/2018)
Hi thanks for the review It’s always a pleasure to work for you
Fully satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and his son carried out the work according to schedule and quote. Dependable and reliable and would recommend, and will use for further work.
Andrew Beaton Posted on 25/02/2018 , work completed 25/02/2018
Highly Recommend Splash of Colour
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys have done 2 houses for me and their work is of the highest standard. Highly recommend them.
Martin Glasgow, G12 Posted on 15/02/2018 , work completed 15/02/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 28/08/2018)
Martin thanks for the great review It’s truly appreciated
Job well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painting was done to a high standard. Price quoted was fair. Shaun turned up on the last day to make sure I was happy with the work done and that any mess was cleared away. Will uses them again.
Davelee Posted on 08/02/2018 , work completed 08/02/2018
Thoroughly recommended - a true credit to Which?
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would have no hesitation in recommending Splash of Colour after they redecorated my entire two bedroom Victorian property in the West End of Glasgow and installed new coving. Shaun and his son really know their stuff and were committed to ensuring I was happy with everything. It was no problem when I asked them to change the paint colour after the original colour didn’t look right after seeing the first coat go up. They were tidy throughout the works and cleaned up after themselves. They honestly are a credit to Which – they went beyond the extra mile to ensure I was satisfied and produced a superb result. I think the real test is how well anyone performs when something unexpected happens. Two walls of the property were causing the Dulux paint to bubble. Splash of Colour sanded, filled and tried again with a fresh roller – only for it to happen again. While others may have said that’s all they could do, Splash of Colour came back again to seal the walls before applying two more coats which sorted it. They were even at the property on Christmas Eve pulling out all the stops to get the property completed. The property required electrical and joinery work before decoration and Splash of Colour recommended tradesmen who they’ve worked with before. They were also superb and Shaun stopped by the property almost every time the other tradesmen were there to co-ordinate all the trades. Thoroughly recommended.
Marcus Fields Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Regular Contractor for Retail premises
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are an Art Supplies retailer in central Glasgow. We have worked with Splash of Colour since our store opening back in 2014. The level of service and attention to detail that we have consistently enjoyed with this company has never dropped below exemplary. They are prompt, courteous, thoughtful and extremely knowledgable - often helping us with technical information or design guidance when we are undertaking new projects. In addition, all regular maintenance and decoration is carried out unobtrusively and during hours that do not impact on our trading patterns. We can highly recommend Splash of Colour as a great partner to have in any contractor portfolio.
David Borlace Posted on 08/01/2018 , work completed 08/01/2018
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 11/01/2018)
Hi David shaun from Splashofcolour here thanks for the great review
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Already submitted a separate review. They brought in an electrician and joiner who replaced many old style plug sockets and light switches throughout the property which were larger than standard sizes - hence the joiner to patch holes around every socket. The electrician also installed spotlights in the kitchen. Splash of Colour then filled all places where the joiner had patched and the kitchen ceiling. They installed coving in the kitchen and one of the bedrooms. They then spray painted the intricate coving and ceiling in the living area and painted all walls in the property, plus sash and case windows in the living room. Shaun was really committed to ensuring I was happy.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/01/2018 , work completed 05/01/2018
Painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Redecoration of sitting room. Very happy with all aspects of dealing with Splash of Colour from start to finish. A Family run business, who were very accommodating to a late date change to suit me, & completed the job in just over 5 days. Delighted with the results, & would have no hesitation in recommending this company or employing them in the future.
Rainbow, Rainbow Posted on 12/11/2017 , work completed 12/11/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 11/01/2018)
Thanks for the nice review
Excellent craftsmanship, highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All rooms in our tenement flat were prepared and painted. This work included painting and decorating of Victorian period details.
Mrs Gemma Houston Posted on 11/11/2017 , work completed 11/11/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 11/01/2018)
Hi Gemma thanks for the great review
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy, completely satisfied with the work Splash of Colour did for me. They are an excellent company who were easy to deal with, prompt in response and completed the work to a high standard.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/09/2017 , work completed 29/09/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 11/01/2018)
Thanks for the nice review
First class firm of decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Four rooms painted over a two week period. The work was completed to a very high standard by a skilled and friendly team of three. Very efficient, minimal mess and disruption. Excellent value. I plan to use this firm in the near future for more decorating.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/09/2017 , work completed 22/09/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 11/01/2018)
Thanks for the nice review
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Shaun and the team on a number of occasions for plastering and decorating work. They have done a fantastic job every time, without exception. It would be fair to say I am particular, and I cannot find fault with any of their work. Always happy to give advice, and genuinely want to make sure customer is happy. Competitive prices and always arrive and finish on time and leave a tidy job. I have recommended before and would not hesitate to do so again.
M Bolton Posted on 17/09/2017 , work completed 17/09/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
Thanks for your great Comments
Bathroom painted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our bathroom painted following renovation. Splash of colour also touched up some aspects that had been missed by the plumbers before painting. They quoted and started quickly, were very efficient and finished to the highest standard. Very effective and would highly recommend to anyone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/08/2017 , work completed 18/08/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
Thanks for the review glad we could help
Fantastic work in every way!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour was asked to provide a quote and then asked to go ahead and paint the whole house for one of our vulnerable clients. Not only have they done an amazing job with the painting, wallpapering etc, but they have gone above and beyond with our client to help him with the process and reduce his anxiety. I had the opportunity to meet both father and son and they are fantastic guys....we are already about to use them again for another client. Many thanks guys
Jennifer Bragg Posted on 14/08/2017 , work completed 14/08/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
It’s was a Pleasure working with you thanks for the good comments
Great work, great price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour undertook a full replastering and painting service for us, in our two bed tenement, Glasgow West End. The guys were fast and efficient and performed the work to an excellent standard - and all at a fair price. They took time to preserve the original features of the property and were a pleasure to deal with. We're really happy with the work and would thoroughly recommend Splash of Colour to anyone looking for similar work.
Gav11387 Posted on 10/08/2017 , work completed 10/08/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
Thanks for the nice Comments
Absolutely Fabulous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painting hall stairs and landing as well as painting ceilings which had tobacco or water stains. The men were polite and punctual. Their working was clean and tidy, the results excellent. The price was remarkably inexpensive. I could not recommend the more highly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/08/2017 , work completed 07/08/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
Thanks for the nice Comments it was a pleasure working with you
Absolutely Fabulous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
High quality work. Attention to detail. Clean and tidy. Kept closely to schedule. Very reasonable rates.
Gordon, Lanarkshire Posted on 01/08/2017 , work completed 01/08/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
Glad we could help you thanks for the nice review
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used these guys on 3 occasions and always had an excellent standard of work both interior decorating and exterior paintwork. Always arrive on time and finish ahead of schedule without any mess left behind.
Andrew Mackay Posted on 11/07/2017 , work completed 11/07/2017
Plaster and decorated after renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had the splash of colour boys into plaster and paint my full house after a renovation. Have to say the standard of plaster work was up there with the best I've seen. They also made sure rooms where cleaned and mess was kept to a minimum when carrying out the plastering. Same has to be said about the painting Shaun has an eye for detail and and made sure everything was perfect before moving onto the next room. At the start They gave me a time scale and the boys kept to it. can not thank them enough for the work they have done. Any future work I'm needing done I will getting in contact with Shaun.
C_daly Posted on 24/06/2017 , work completed 24/06/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
It was a Pleasure working with you thanks for the nice review
Would highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used him 2 times, once for an almost complete interior paint job. And he did some more work for after that. Really happy with this company. First of all a very good quote, when he came around to do the quote he gave us lots of confidence, because he would explain in details what they would be doing, how they would be doing it and what tools they would be using. Compared his quote with some other companies and he still came out the best. They started on schedule and finished within the agreed time frame, they went above and beyond did some extra minor work for us that they found whilst on the job and when the final invoice came it wasn't even on there. When the job was all done the called us to check if we were happy with the work. If we ever need more work done we know who to contact! Also I have recommended him to other people.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/06/2017 , work completed 13/06/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
Thanks for the great review
Splash of colour recommendation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour have been involved in a renovation of our house. This has included replastering all the walls, repainting all the rooms, sanding down windowsills and stripping back varnish on an old stair case. They are very helpful, very friendly and very good at what they do. We have been very impressed by all their work. They have also been very reasonable about pricing for this large job. I would recommend them to anyone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/06/2017 , work completed 02/06/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 01/10/2017)
It was hard work getting your new home the way you wanted it hope you Enjoy thanks for the great review
Happy to Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our whole house was painted by Splash of Colour. We are very pleased with the result: every room looks fresh and clean. The guys were very friendly and helpful, tidying up after every day and happy to help move large pieces of furniture if needed. The quality of the workmanship is excellent. We would definitely recommend this company.
Alisonm, Lanarkshire Posted on 14/05/2017 , work completed 14/05/2017
High quality of work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Regular repainting of an art gallery space at the rear of a flagship retail outlet, plus periodic maintenance decorating works as required.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/03/2017 , work completed 01/03/2017
Excellent Job - highly recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and his team are great. We initially had our whole house painted from top to bottom, which was an excellent job and a reasonable price too. Since then we also had our local business painted inside to give a fresh feel. He was great with ideas and suggestions and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/09/2016 , work completed 22/09/2016
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and his team painted my entire two bedroom two level Flat. This included all walls and ceilings. From first contact to the finished product, Shaun was amazing and the work completed was of the highest quality. The work was completed for five days - and the Flat was left clean, and tidy everyday. I would definitely use Shaun's services again. Professional, friendly and high standards. Value for money!
jlsg1, Lanarkshire Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016