We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Shuttersup Ltd

Profile thumb logo

4.5

18 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–16:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Of all the UK’s shutter companies, ShuttersUp truly believe we care more than anyone about helping you achieve the ideal look for your home. We’re dedicated shutter experts with over a decade’s experience of designing, supplying and installing high-quality bespoke plantation shutters.

Our philosophy is that there is the perfect shutter for every project – a combination of the room, the purpose, your personal tastes and your budget. Our job is to help you find the shutters that are made for you.

Care and craft have been at the heart of ShuttersUp since we installed our first shutters in 2006. Our founder-directors, Ross and Ashley, have built the company to give every customer the best of our expertise and take pride in a job brilliantly done.

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, delivered through our shutter quality, customer-first ethos, exceptional workmanship, in-house team and transparent prices.

What we do

  • Curtains and blinds

  • Interior designers

Customer reviews

4.5
18 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.6
Value
4.2
Sort by
Poor attention to detail and shutters not fit for purpose
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very unsatisfactory service to date. Of 6 shutters ordered only 2 are correct. 1 was incorrectly measured and an 8 week lead time to reorder. Even though two site visits. For the other 3, the configuration of the shutters delivered by ShuttersUp don’t match the configuration of the windows and therefore now restricting access to the windows. Furthermore the windows are a means of escape and the configuration ShuttersUp have installed includes a T bar obstructing the escape route, which is very dangerous particularly in children’s bedrooms. While ShuttersUp have confirmed replacements are required, they expect me to contribute a further 50% towards the cost. As ShuttersUp are self declared “experts” they should have not proposed the configuration installed for the 2 reasons mentioned and the fitter should have noticed the obvious mistake during fitting, instead he ran out of the door once finished. Very disappointing overall service from ShuttersUp who pride themselves on attention to detail and customer care. But display a lack of either. An overall disappoint and poor job which I of course have paid for and have to spend my time to resolve.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/07/2020 , work completed 24/06/2020
The trader replied (on 28/07/2020)
We are very sorry to hear how unhappy you are with our service and shutters. We have always taken responsibility for the single window that was mismeasured. You fail to mention that you requested a refund for this window and we refunded this amount plus a third of the install fee without hesitation some time ago. In regards to the shutters in which you claim we got the designs wrong, you also fail to mention that we sent you order confirmation with clear instructions asking you to carefully check it and to speak to us before signing it if you had any questions. This document confirmed the full and final configuration of your order for you to check and review. This was sent on the 12th of March at 9.55pm and signed at 9.56pm. It seems that you had signed the document in less than a minute. In reference to fire safety, there is no legal legislation requiring us to consider fire safety for domestic properties - especially if we have not been notified of any potential designated fire escapes. In this case, your fire escapes are actually normal windows that open up a little more than usual to allow more space to exit. They do not look any different to standard double glazed windows and we would have no idea that they would open in this manner unless demonstrated by yourself. Our fitter also showed you his work before leaving and you had inspected each shutter he fitted after he moved onto the next one.
Very very happy Shuttersup customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shutters look absolutely amazing, so thrilled with them! Thanks so much. Excellent customer service too, would highly recommend.
Amy Wilson Posted on 29/11/2017 , work completed 29/11/2017
Fantastic job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys were superb in every detail from ordering and quote to the oh so tidy install, fantastic product and very very happy with the end result, if only every company was this good. Thank you ShuttersUp!
Steve P Posted on 04/08/2017 , work completed 04/08/2017
Appalling installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm really sad to say that after reading so many positive reviews, I decided to use shutters up and I'm beyond dissatisfied with the job and workmanship! I originally got in touch with shutters up in September and since had my initial install in October and after 2 more visits, every time the installation had gotten worse. I now have shutters in every room that have poor workmanship and joins, look aesthetically different in every room and have damaged windows (trickle vents that have been removed and reinstalled that are now no longer functional and seals to my windows that were removed during these installations that have left me with a freezing cold house, drafty windows and the noise insulation is now permanently damaged). Shutters up have refunded my money but left me with a problem that I have no idea how to resolve. I have had other companies come and review the work and both have said that with the damage to the frames, they wouldn't be comfortable taking on the job!! Shutters up offer a great "smoke and mirrors" customer centric approach however it is my firm belief that the frames were not measured properly and the experience of the three sets of installers who attempted to fit the frames have gone through every attempt they can to make up for a job that was ordered without being fully considered how they would be installed. I'm not writing this as I am bitter as shutters up have refunded me fully but I am writing this as a warning to others to fully research further
Heidi jane barnes Posted on 02/03/2017 , work completed 02/03/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 07/03/2017)
Dear Heidi, We are very sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the shutters and service that you received from us. As stated in your email, we attempted to rectify any issues you had with our workmanship on three occasions but felt that each time that we returned, we moved further away from a resolution. Although I feel that we have to point out at this stage that at no point did we screw into any of your windows nor did we remove any seals. Therefore, we are unsure how we could have damaged your windows, however, we are more than happy to return with a professional and independent window installer in order to assess them for you? In relation to your comment about the shutters being very different throughout your home, we would like to point out that as discussed previously, your windows are also very different and therefore, although each shutter had the same framework and specifications, your varying depths of recesses and window sills meant that we were unable to make all of the shutters look exactly the same throughout. We accept that there may have been some miscommunication on our part at the start of the process which perhaps meant that we was unable to reach your expectations and therefore we decided to give you a full refund as we wanted to prove that our customer service is at the heart of our business and everything we do. Kind regards ShuttersUp
Fantastic to work with Stunning Shutters
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are fussy customers. We researched blinds, shutters and curtain options for ages. We needed to find the best for our project. I can honestly say - we did! Four months in advance of our purchase we made an appointment to visit the showroom at West Wickham and met Ashley. We told him that we were looking at shutters for the first time and that we had not even decided it we actually wanted them at all. We spent the best part of an hour learning about plantation blinds whilst consuming tea and biscuits. We left still undecided with the message that 'you know where we are' and good luck with the project whatever you decide. Second visit a month later after seeing a couple of other companies (including a trip to John Lewis which left us hysterical with laughter when price was mentioned) and we had decided, Shutters Up. Ashley welcomed us back, asked how the project was going and came to ours to measure up a week later and gave us a very reasonable quote, working closely to our budget. And finally today nearly 5 months on our shutters are installed and look fantastic. Mark the fitter was brilliant and did a fantastic job. As well as fitting he showed us everything we needed to know about how to open/close and maintain shutters. So we would like to say a big thank you to Ashley and his team. I really felt this company actually was on board with our project. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/06/2016 , work completed 02/06/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Customer service excellent throughout from quote to installation. The shutters are great quality and look amazing. The fitter was professional, polite, prompt arriving and cleaned all areas where he has worked, we was very impressed (All this on a bank holiday Sunday too!)
Lisa, Kent Posted on 01/05/2016 , work completed 01/05/2016
Professional and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service - good communication. Reliable & courteous fitting. Very thorough & professional job. Perfect, thanks.
Siobhan, London Posted on 28/04/2016 , work completed 28/04/2016
Thumbs up
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Expertly installed shutters in bay window. Polite and professional.
Alastair, London Posted on 07/01/2015 , work completed 07/01/2015
Nice job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The fitters arrived ten minutes after the stated time. Even after travelling from Dartford. The rest of the job was equally impressive. Would recommend.
B L, Kent Posted on 19/12/2014 , work completed 19/12/2014
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole process was very professional, organised and deadlines were met. Very happy with the whole service and a nice company/people to deal with. Shutters look great.
Diane, Kent Posted on 10/12/2014 , work completed 10/12/2014