We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

SJM Decorating Ltd

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb logo

5.0

20 Reviews

About

Hello, I'm Stuart and I have been Painting and Decorating for over 24 years.
After leaving school at 16 I joined James Longleys in Crawley and completed a three year apprenticeship with the company.
I worked for a various decorating companies over the following years on new build homes, National Trust Properties, Commercial and domestic residences and then decided to set up business on my own about 12 years ago.
All my clients are residential customers ranging from 1 bedroom homes to large multi-million pound properties.
All my work is through recommendation and I don't undertake any advertising other that through my Which Trusted Traders website.
Please feel free to drop me a line if you have any decorating requirements, Stuart

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
    • Exterior decorating
  • More Services

    • wallpaper

Customer reviews

5.0
20 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart was a pleasure to deal with. He exceeded all my expections of with his workmanship and attention to detail with the decoration of my bathroom. I had used a previous decorator but was recommended stuart by a friend. Nothing was to much trouble to the point i had recently changed my shower and it had left 2 small screw holes in the tiles but stuart as a courtesy filled these in without any prompting or being asked. I have already asked for quotes for the rest of the apartment. If there where a 6 star review stuart would get this. Thanks for making a fantastic job of my bathroom.
Customer in West Sussex22/08/2019
Stuart is a real find!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The title says it all. We have been extremely pleased with Stuart's work. He took time to discuss the best way forward with our decorating, undertook the work with extreme precision and kept within budget. He was a joy to have around. Without a doubt he is the best decorator we have ever had. He's already booked with us for another project later in August....
Customer in Surrey12/08/2019
Decorating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart was absolutely brilliant. He decorated our whole house - his work is extremely thorough, neat and well finished. He is reliable, stuck to budget and helpful. I have no hesitation recommending him - he was a pleasure to have around and gave us really constructive help when asked about colour schemes etc.
Customer in Surrey26/07/2019
Ian, Chichester
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart has just completed painting and wallpapering our main bedroom in our new house. He gave us advice on colours and wallpapers as well as showing us colour charts from different paint suppliers so we could compare. The work was completed efficiently, Stuart kept us informed of his progress and the finished job was great. We plan to get him back to decorate our lounge in the next couple of months. Really impressed with Stuart’s attention to detail and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him to others.
Customer in West Sussex22/01/2019
Impressive work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart decorated my previous home over the past 10 years, having moved, he has now started the process of decorating my new home. Stuart is a delight to have around, polite, punctual with great attention to detail. The standard of work is excellent. Stuart works neatly and is respectful of our home. He has spent time advising us on colour schemes and suggesting wallpapers and themes to give us a stunning finished product. I would not trust anyone again other than Stuart to decorate my home. I do not hesitate to recommend Stuart to all of my family and friends.
Customer in West Sussex08/01/2019
Professional, pays great attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart has decorated many rooms for us over the years and my husband and I are delighted with the decorating work he has done. He explains what he is going to do and how to achieve that and is meticulous in preparation work and attention to detail. He leaves the work area clean and tidy each day and clears up thoroughly. He is very pleasant to have around and polite and we have always been happy to leave him to decorate while we are away/out and to lock up the house when he leaves. He keeps to his estimates. He is punctual and hardworking.
Anny B08/10/2018
A professional job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart was recommended by a friend. He initially hung paper and painted our cloakroom. We then asked him back to paper and paint our lounge. This time Stuart has painted the walls in our hallway, stairs and landing. He also took off and replaced a strip of wallpaper in the lounge that my husband had marked when hanging a picture.... Stuart is punctual, very clean and tidy and respectful of the belongings of others. I would not hesitate to recommend him and his work.
ChrisH18/09/2018
Extremely pleased, great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart decorated my bedroom, he made good the walls, and ceiling which were pretty bad, he helped me choose a lovely feature wallpaper from graham and brown, he was always on time, friendly and very tidy. I'd definitely recommend to friends and family.
Lisa Ann 09/09/2018
Best decorator we ever had
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart decorated two bedrooms and just coated the hall, stairs and landing. There was a lot of making good due to poor plastering. He did a fantastic job - the finish is perfect. Throughout he was punctual, polite and tidy. Very professional. We have asked him to come back to do the rest of the house.
Nathalie, West Sussex05/07/2018
Very Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and excellent workmanship. Paid particular attention to making sure he provided an unblemished finish. Would certainly use him again.
Dorothy, West Sussex05/09/2017
Professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional worker and always kept us informed as to what he was doing. Always turned up on time. Everything was left clean and tidy.
Sally, West Sussex18/04/2017
An excellent decorating job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart did an excellent job in decorating a bedroom for us, spending as much time on the preparation as with the finish. His attention to detail is exceptional giving a great result. More than happy to recommend Stuart to anyone else.
Paul L12/04/2017
Brilliant work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very impressed with Stuarts work. He is also very helpful.
Gill, Hampshire22/02/2017
Outstanding job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart of SJM Decorating did an outstanding job in decorating the entire house. His attention to detail, thoroughness, tidiness and professional approach are a credit to him. He has a friendly but business-like approach to his work and I would not hesitate to recommend him.
Patricia, West Sussex01/06/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SJM Decorating were professional and courteous. I am extremely happy with the work carried out. Excellent attention to detail.
Melody, West Sussex23/03/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stuart came in to decorate our lounge and landing. We are really pleased with the end result and love the wallpaper up the stairs. Stuart is really professional and helped us decide with colour choice, we would definitely use him again.
Laura, West Sussex07/03/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our 3 storey hall stairs and landing wall papered & painted. Stuart is a perfectionist and as such gives an excellent result. Would have no hesitation using him again or recommending him to friends.
Claire, West Sussex15/02/2016
Exceptional Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painted children's bedrooms and internal window frames. Nothing negative to say. Recommend highly
Jo, Surrey19/01/2016
Love Stuart's Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completed a number of wallpapering and painting jobs in the kitchen and landing. Stuart has been great and its so nice to have a trader you can get in touch with so easily
Claire , West Sussex18/10/2015
All been perfect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely happy with the work. Stuart decorated internally and externally, wall papering, painting and glossing. Stuart gave a great price and is really friendly.
James, Crawley23/07/2015