We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Solar South West Ltd

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb ssw logo 1

4.9

32 Reviews

About

Solar South West Ltd (SSW) pride themselves on the reputation and trust they have built up among customers going into their 8th year of operation.

From their base in Somerset, SSW have tackled a diverse range of projects in bespoke PV design, development and construction. Their unrivalled expertise has been gained through a constant commitment and passion for renewable technologies.

Having grown with the industry, SSW also offer complimentary solar support services covering maintenance, optimisation, consultation and energy storage solutions.

SSW will apply their specialist ability into the operation and maintenance of your PV system, including: PV system installation, solar battery storage systems, solar system maintenance and energy management. For an estimate on your maintenance costs visit: solarsouthwest.co.uk/cost-estimator/

Taking their knowledge of large scale commercial projects and using it to maximise the productivity of the PV system in your home is what Solar South West are all about.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical installations
  • Cleaning services

    • Solar panel cleaning
  • More Services

    • vehicle charging points
    • batteries
    • pv maintenance

Customer reviews

4.9
32 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.8
Sort by
Very efficient and responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initial contact was very positive, helpful and knowledgeable in terms of information provided. Engineer despatched was timely, friendly and professional. The work was completed with minimal fuss and no mess.
Customer in Dorset25/01/2019
Quick, clean and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with the pleasant, friendly and efficient service provided by this company. We would have no reservations in recommending their service to any prospective customer.
Customer in Somerset13/12/2018
Brilliant job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really good professional job - friendly and polite and clearly passionate about their trade.
Philip, Somerset29/06/2018
Very good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mat was very helpful. Good service good time keeping. Very easy to deal with and very thorough. Many thanks
Peter, Somerset28/06/2018
Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Problem with invertor of solar installation. Sadly found fuse had dropped out but interestingly no one suggested I check that
Knight, .14/06/2018
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service & information about installation. Thanks very much.
Howard, Dorset13/06/2018
Excellent, courteous and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived when they said they would and kept my fully informed the whole time they worked at my property. Ensured I fully understood what they had done before they left and how I could monitor the work undertaken.
Valerie, Gloucestershire29/05/2018
Prompt & Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, very informative and polite. Checking solar panel after seven years, installed by others.
Christopher, Dorset13/04/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good experiences, solid problem.
Trevor, Avon10/04/2018
Very good services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good customer service and a fast efficient service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer09/04/2018
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thorough job with clear explanations about how to look after the system ourselves in the future (apart from needing their skills & tools to actually clean the panels).
Clare, Somerset23/03/2018
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional. Courteous, job well done! Thank you!
Jeanette, Cornwall20/02/2018
Well pleased.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Competent, courteous, careful. Very satisfied with PV system maintenance check done and advice received.
Chris, Somerset23/10/2017
The trader replied (on 08/11/2017)
Chris, many thanks for your custom and kind review.
Very Satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
PV system at Quaker Meeting received a thorough check and careful cleaning of panels. Full safety was evident in use of scaffolding towers. Pleasant, capable workers.
Chris, Somerset23/10/2017
The trader replied (on 08/11/2017)
Chris, many thanks for your time and kind review.
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very efficient and professional approach. Exchanged the meter and cleaned the panels. A very good job!
Ian, Dorset26/09/2017
The trader replied (on 11/10/2017)
Hi Ian, many thanks for the brilliant review - we're glad you felt we offered a good service!
Prompt
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt attention. Thorough explanation and reassuring service.
Harold, Somerset20/09/2017
The trader replied (on 29/09/2017)
Harold, thank you for the recommendation and brilliant review, we are so glad that you were pleased with our service!
Annual Service and Maintenance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installation on my house is over 6 years old and though there had been no problems I was aware that checking and cleaning should have been carried out. Two pleasant and knowledgeable Solar South West staff came to do this making me feel thoroughly re-assured. I am now on the annual list and would completely recommend this company to anyone with solar panels.
Byrne06/09/2017
The trader replied (on 21/09/2017)
Thank you for your kind words, Byrne. There is a fair deal of caution directed towards the solar industry, so the fact we made you feel re-assured means a lot to us!
Prompt and Courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time. Very clean and tidy. Very cheerful lads, thanks.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer29/08/2017
The trader replied (on 21/09/2017)
Thank you kindly for your recommendation and 5 star review.
Inverter replacement for solar panel
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent in every way
Peter, Somerset18/08/2017
The trader replied (on 21/09/2017)
What a review, thanks Peter!
Neat and professional installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Specified system installed per quotation and very pleased with the finished product. The team cleared up the site to a very high standard and everything is working correctly. Would definitely use SSW again.
Terry O'Neill16/08/2017
The trader replied (on 21/09/2017)
It was a pleasure working with you Terry, glad you were happy with the finished product - Alex.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had an excellent service from Which and this company who was recommended to me. Thank you
Cordelia, Dorset24/07/2017
The trader replied (on 21/09/2017)
Thank you Cordelia, glad to hear you were satisfied with our work.
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My solar inverter stopped working. I looked for a local company to help. Solar South West could not have done more to resolve my problem. Absolutely first class, prompt service. Cannot recommend highly enough.
James, Somerset20/07/2017
The trader replied (on 21/09/2017)
Thanks for this James, as always, we're delighted to receive a brilliant review - much appreciated!
Five stars
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Solar South West have transformed our school's attitude to energy use and production. The installation of 240 PV modules was efficient and worked around the needs of a running school. They continue to offer excellent support and advice and we would recommend them to any school or educational institution. Five stars
Paul26/04/2017
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
We are always happy to instal PV on a community building, Paul, but schools have got to be our favourite! Many thanks for leaving this review, we hope the children like their new solar panels, and the school is using the energy savings to buy new exciting equipment for lessons.
Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Problem with invertor of solar installation. Sadly found fuse had dropped out but interestingly no one suggested I check that
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/04/2017
The trader replied (on 02/06/2017)
Thank you for your feedback on this, and apologies you were unhappy with an aspect of our work. We have used this information to improve our service going forwards, by designing a short list of telephone questions to ask prior to site visits - ensuring we don't get called out to fix any systems which could be solved by the client themselves. Once again, thank you for leaving your feedback, critique from clients helps us improve our customer service going forwards, so thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
Very helpful, professional, good job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Date given, when arriving kept to that date. Good contact, very helpful, very good service. Most impressed.
P M, Avon29/03/2017
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review, we are delighted you are happy with the service we provided! All the best, Solar South West.
The Community Farm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, tidy job and after care assistance with supply and connection. Highly recommended, very pleased with the completed job, lets hope the government don't tax solar generation.
hasellhoff02/03/2017
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review, if the recent changes to taxes on solar have effected you please do get in touch and we will be happy to organise the ownership of your system such that you won't suffer!
Quick and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called them in to inspect my solar panel installation, confirm that it was working, and if necessary replace the monitoring system, which they did.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/03/2017
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
Thanks for recommending us and leaving 5 stars across the board, your feedback is greatly appreciated!
Reliable, trustworthy and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used SSW back in 2012 for a standard solar installation, customer service was excellent, responsive and their site specific proposal was very cost competitive compared to other like-for-like quotes. The system was installed safely and professionally, on time and with all the correct paperwork and follow guarantee. The system has been trouble free for the past 4 years. Very pleased and would certainly use again.
Rob06/01/2017
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
Glad we could be of service! Thanks for this great review, it's really helpful for new customers to see glowing reviews like this one - much appreciated.
Professional & technically capable company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tested inverters & DC infrastructure for resistance faults, replaced damaged solar panels, repaired unsecured DC cables & cleaned whole array.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer04/11/2016
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
Thanks for rating us 5 stars across the board, glad you were happy with our service!
An experienced and helpful supplier
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used solar sw for a variety of jobs, installing and maintaining small and medium large installations and have always found them responsive and helpful, and am satisfied with their work.
C.R 09/10/2016
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
Brilliant review thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, any advice on how we could get those 4 stars up to 5's?
Good service from South West Solar
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called out South West Solar as they are authorised installer for SMA inverters and mine, not installed my them, had developed a fault. They responded, confirmed the fault and dealt with SMA for a warranty replacement. They installed the warranty replacement. I was pleased with the way they helped.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer30/09/2016
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
Glad you were happy with our service, thank you for leaving us a review!
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time to work and on time to complete. Tidy, safe and quiet working team. If I had another roof, they would certainly be the first point of contact for me.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer15/11/2014
The trader replied (on 31/05/2017)
Great review thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback!